• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Auto execs are coming clean: EVs aren't working

winners

The 2 main problems of EVs are lack of charging infrastructures and long charging time. Those manufacturers' hypes on their 30 mins to 40 mins charging times are still too long for consumers and furthermore, these high current (fast) DC charging will greatly lead to the premature deterioration of the batteries, shortening their lifespan as at the moment, current battery technologies are not meant to be charged in this manner.

This is akin to the present start/stop feature on ICE vehicles. Manufacturers are forced to implement them due to the country's regulation, otherwise their vehicles cannot be sold there. In actual fact, there are lots of wear to components when using the start/stop feature, whilst the savings from harmful emissions are really negligible.

All those environmentally friendly gigs about EVs are not really true because their batteries will also become a great environmental hazard upon their expiry. Claim of recycling these batteries is also a big farce because in ideal circumstances, only about 20% (at most) of a spent battery can be recovered.

Tiongkok is generated by Hydrodam at Three Gorge
Most of tiongcock power comes from coal.

Why Heat Waves Are Deepening China’s Addiction to Coal​

While pledging to reduce carbon emissions, the country is greatly increasing its use of the fossil fuel to generate electricity.
Two tall thin chimneys rising from an industrial area spewing white smoke.

An industrial park in Shanxi Province in the heart of China’s coal country.Credit...Gilles Sabrié for The New York Times

Two tall thin chimneys rising from an industrial area spewing white smoke.

Keith Bradsher
By Keith Bradsher
Reporting from Beijing
July 20, 2023
阅读简体中文版閱讀繁體中文版
Sign up for Your Places: Extreme Weather. Get notified about extreme weather before it happens with custom alerts for places in the U.S. you choose. Get it sent to your inbox.

China has an answer to the heat waves now affecting much of the Northern Hemisphere: burn more coal to maintain a stable electricity supply for air-conditioning.
Even before this year, China was emitting almost a third of all energy-related greenhouse gases — more than the United States, Europe and Japan combined. China burns more coal every year than the rest of the world combined. Last month, China generated 14 percent more electricity from coal, its dominant fuel source, than it did in June 2022.

EVs should be banned. Hybrid FTW and hydrogen combustion engine is the future.
EV's still evolving. Next generation solid state batteries could solve most of these problems. EV's by design does not need regular maintenance. You only go to service centre if there is a fault. Reason why controls on touch screen is due to ability to update software regularly.

tobelightlight

i dun know why but i dislike the concept of charging batteries. I have to deal with charging phones, bicycle lights and my phone power bank. Damn sian have to wait for it to charge and it is a hassle to me. Imagine to charge a car. i will never get a EV totally. i have AA and AAA charging station too but that is pretty fast so its ok.

blackmondy

so next car iz ev or not ev? anyone can advice?
Is your EV long charging time worth your personal time ?
Can you ensure during a long journey, you will find your charging points not crowded and the charging port in working order ?
Can you ensure you can get out of your EV if it catches fire ? Remember, everything is electronically controlled hor.

superpower

The EV technology is fairly mature, range is more than adequate for a small tropical city like Singapore, the savings on fuel make up for the price premium if you buy a mid-level model. If you have also regular access to a charging port and are able to charge it overnight before you go to work in the morning (time is opportunity cost), then it ticks nearly all the boxes.

Except: for me, until the fire/explosion hazard can be reduced to an acceptable minimum, I'll still stick with ICE cars.

Boliao

The West and their allies are saying this because they know they have already lost the EV wars and are now trying to persuade people not to buy EV so they can protect their economy and oil money.

Byebye Penis

Having EV is stressful if u stay in HDB or condo. You get penalties if u don't drive away your vehicle within stipulated time frame after charging in HDB or Mall carparks. Then if you stay in landed, it is not fast-charging, most models gotta wait 6-8 hours at least for full charge. Singapore is not ready for EV. Even if you are landed, some are using single phase electricity, so imagine your house's aircon to be all activated at night along with your wife using oven while charging your EV.

The good thing about EV is that, there is little for servicing eg. you hardly change brakes in ten years. EV's running cost is about 50-67% lower (the savings are good if your mileage is very high, but if your mileage is very high, your battery life is shorter. Therefore battery warranty (Years and Mileage) are very important, eg. min. 7 years.

Recent changes place EV models to CAT B COE, so some EV companies shipped buay gan models to Singapore to meet CAT A COE requirements.

Citroen also selling their EV for below $150,000 including COE, but I don't know they are good or not.

In Singapore, you don't buy EV, you will be taxed higher. Something in between will be Hybrid cars.

ChanRasjid

I just can't understand how people could even consider the EV idea - it is just simple plain dumb. But the main problem with EV is not that it is still fossil-fuel-driven, but charging time. The mindset of modern man is always having something done "instant", not queuing up and waiting for hours to charge up. Just think about it. How many of you would buy an EV replacing gasoline car?

Our present age is full of fraud, scams, lies and hype even by the most prestigious institutions or government - EV, climate change, Axis-of-evil, AI danger, cloud computing, quantum computer, China Nuclear AA battery and what not!

Quantum entanglement is scientific fraud:
https://physicsdetective.com/quantum-entanglement-is-scientific-fraud/

"... Wooo! You can also read how “the power of a quantum computer grows exponentially with each additional entangled qubit”. The problem is that quantum entanglement is bullshit, so entangled qubits are bullshit, so quantum computing is bullshit too. That’s why it still hasn’t delivered anything, and never ever will. What else would you expect when the quantum entanglement story is a fairy tale? It’s a castle in the air, ..."

China 50-years-AA-size nuclear battery - What happen when they get into our garbage incinerators? Just plain stupid!

"Subud And Opening"
"Big Bang Was A Whisper"
"E=mc² Is Invalid"
http://www.emc2fails.com
Chan Rasjid,
Singapore.

The West and their allies are saying this because they know they have already lost the EV wars and are now trying to persuade people not to buy EV so they can protect their economy and oil money.
we’ve seen it before, from substandard solar panel to toxic laminate flooring to bicycle rideshare to ebike graveyards, and now ev graveyards. ccp will just price dump anything on the global market and destroy every industry in the west. that’s their strategic objective and modus operandi. only thing they cannot sexport and price dump are millions of condo buildings that are unfinished on the mainland. but they continue to sexport and price dump their failed obor projects with tofu building materials and cut-corner workers in the infrastructure trade. and now ev is the “hot” trend. just give tiongcock 6.9 years of ev sexport and they will self-implode just like millions of bicycles and ebikes wasting in graveyards. consumers will see thru’ the scam and these price dumping projects will fizzle out for lack of profits and capital as the ponzi scheme is uncovered. only problem is where is europe and america going to find places to dump and hide their ev graveyards unlike tiongcock where failed ventures just pay local officials to discard millions of junk with no need to bury or hide.
1708449225534.jpeg

1708449260634.jpeg

1708449336731.jpeg