• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Anyone still remember KFC in the 1980s?

Extremist

Whether it's the 80's or current, somehow KFC's chickens are aLways tastier across the causeway.Dont know why..
:wink:

here's the reason y it's always tastier across the causeway:eek::eek:

<iframe width="640" height="480" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/jgHSZQhP630" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Actually,,I remember KFC in the early 80s, some did not like it as the chicken was frozen and not fresh. Remember those days,,Chicken was really fresh, the markets sold live chicken and the poultry chap will slaughter it,,,and we bring it home for dinner,,now its all done at the factory and chilled,,,

Funny when I was in Vietnam,,the locals dont like KFC as they prefer their 'Running' chicken (Aka Kampung Chicken) to frozen factory chicken.. just my rants

The dining experience in the 70's was a much better experience whether you went to KFC, A&W, MacD

Nowadays it has really become "junk" food :(

For those who want better junk food should go to LOS. The McD hamburgers in LOS is much nicer than Spore, but why bother with McD with all the great thai food :smile: Haven't tried KFC in LOS so can't comment.

Fishypie

here's the reason y it's always tastier across the causeway:eek::eek:

<iframe width="640" height="480" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/jgHSZQhP630" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
Oh yes, the turn of the events were so bad that that the CEO have to make pubLic apoLogies then..:eek:

lianbeng

579135_439115379457782_655170966_n.jpg

It was restaurant-styled with forks and knives and they have an Automatic hand wash machine?

that was lianbeng's 1st date with ex-gf many, many, many, many...years ago!:biggrin: fond memories! botak head NSF recruit $90 monthly allowance... very impressive for 1st date!

lianbeng

that was lianbeng's 1st date with ex-gf many, many, many, many...years ago!:biggrin: fond memories! botak head NSF recruit $90 monthly allowance... very impressive for 1st date!

lianbeng replies to self: those days the chicken thighs were real big chicken thighs but nowsdays mostly hormone-injected chick thighs lah! :biggrin:

back in the 80s, going to KFC was only possible during festive seasons or when my uncles struck lottery big time.

remembered going to the Kallang outlet one evening, we asked for the bill but the waiteresses were too busy, the whole lot of us went out, my uncle waited for 20 mins and the waiteresses still bo hiew him, and we all ate a free meal :p:p:p

My favourite KFC was along Orchard Road, located in a shophouse to the left of Specialist Centre. Must be in the mid or late 70s.

There was also one at Kg Java. Col Saunders was once stolen and dumped elsewhere.

Agoraphobic

579135_439115379457782_655170966_n.jpg

It was restaurant-styled with forks and knives and they have an Automatic hand wash machine?

Chicken (and ribs) are what I call "Warrior Food" that is, you take them with your hands and tear the meat off the bones with your teeth. Eating them with forks and knives just doesn't work for me. I prefer them barbecued.

My favourite KFC was along Orchard Road, located in a shophouse to the left of Specialist Centre. Must be in the mid or late 70s.

There was also one at Kg Java. Col Saunders was once stolen and dumped elsewhere.

Yes bro. That branch in Somerset was the first one....they even had table cloth...

The kampong java one was where the squash centre used to be

Extremist

the first KFC restaurant I visited was Serangoon garden (ang sa li) I was 6 yr old when my mum brought me there. A lot of fond memories

Whether it's the 80's or current, somehow KFC's chickens are aLways tastier across the causeway.Dont know why..

Not just the chicken, the side orders too were more delicious.

I believe it was back in 1994/1995, my school had an excursion to JB. Our chartered bus stopped at a KFC outlet in the JB city area and we alighted to buy some food (and pirated CDs :wink: ).
The fries were well made, fluffy, not too salty and no burnt parts. The whipped potato was thick, not watery and had a good consistency. That brown sauce on top of the whipped potato was actually delicious.

The chicken too, was excellent. Crispy and juicy. Generous with the batter coating. I believe they used chicken from their local farms, the meat was firmer.

Not just the chicken, the side orders too were more delicious.

I believe it was back in 1994/1995, my school had an excursion to JB. Our chartered bus stopped at a KFC outlet in the JB city area and we alighted to buy some food (and pirated CDs :wink: ).
The fries were well made, fluffy, not too salty and no burnt parts. The whipped potato was thick, not watery and had a good consistency. That brown sauce on top of the whipped potato was actually delicious.

The chicken too, was excellent. Crispy and juicy. Generous with the batter coating. I believe they used chicken from their local farms, the meat was firmer.

I believe KFC Malaysia breed their own chicken.

cocobobo

i just da pao a few pieces from gelang patah rest stop. yes you are right they taste different and tastier than the ones here

Yes bro. That branch in Somerset was the first one....they even had table cloth...

I recall my friends and I once had a competition there to see who could makan the most. I ate 6 pieces. The winner I think masuk 10! Nowadays, 2 pieces just nice. Third piece also hard to consume.