• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Another quake-hit Japan reactor in trouble: operator

Singapore better don't touch nuclear tech. Just look at the healthcare system now. Even NS boys who died/injured aren't properly compensated. Imagine it a radioactive leak occurs, the government will adopt the same 'you die your own business' policy to affected parties.

Better not. If can't keep limping detainee from escaping and evading detection for months, nuclear? Pau see.

Spock

The problem with alternative sources of energy like wind, solar or tide is that these sources are unpredictable. You can't simply turn them on when you want power, the conditions have to be right. If you ask why not store the power in advance, the problem is that power storage is not advanced enough to store the huge amount needed to satisfy demand. Just think of how much space is taken up by the batteries for a car run only using them. Extend that to the power needs of a country and you will soon realise the problem.

It is ok to use these sources as a supplement to the main power sources but they cannot be relied on as the main sources, at least not yet. If you can solve the storage problem, then all kinds of power sources can be used.

Johore or Batam loh.

Johore or Batam distance less than 20km from Singapore border. Best is to fly out ASAP from Changi and only come back when stable/problem solve. Why small island like Singapore need nuclear power generator?
Why not putting up 200 unit of wind turbine in coastal area each 1Mw~2Mwatt capacity). Can easily find a place like 50 unit in Tuas, 50 unit in west cost, 50 unit in east coast and another 50 unit in Punggol. That already have 200~400Mwatt capacity.
Adding solar panel and small wind turbine on to of high rise building will add another 200Mwatt or more. :smile:

Spock

Why not putting up 200 unit of wind turbine in coastal area each 1Mw~2Mwatt capacity). Can easily find a place like 50 unit in Tuas, 50 unit in west cost, 50 unit in east coast and another 50 unit in Punggol. That already have 200~400Mwatt capacity.
Adding solar panel and small wind turbine on to of high rise building will add another 200Mwatt or more. :smile:

You obviously have no experience in the energy industry if you think wind and solar sources can replace mainstream sources today. Everyone will start to kpkb when they frequently get blackouts on windless and sunless days.

Ah Hai

Explosion at Japan nuclear plant: live TV

TOKYO: An explosion shook a quake-damaged Japanese nuclear power plant Monday and plumes of smoke rose from the building, live television showed.

Japan's nuclear safety agency said the blast, at the number 3 reactor at the Fukushima No. 1 plant, was believed to be caused by hydrogen.

"We believe it was a hydrogen explosion. It is not immediately known if it affected the reactor," said spokesman Ryo Miyake.

Nuclear plant operator TEPCO subsequently said that the reactor survived the explosion.

-AFP/ac

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/afp_asiapacific/view/1116328/1/.html

tioliaohuat

Japan reels as second blast rocks nuclear plant

SENDAI, Japan - A new explosion at a nuclear plant hit punch-drunk Japan Monday as it raced to avert a reactor meltdown after a quake-tsunami disaster that is feared to have killed more than 10,000 people.

Panic selling saw stocks close more than six percent lower on the Tokyo bourse on fears for the world's third-biggest economy, as power shortages prompted rolling blackouts and factories shut down in quake-hit areas.

As the nation struggled with the devastation wrought by the twin disasters of a shattered land and a surging sea, tales of terror, death and miraculous survival emerged.

But it was the fear of a nuclear disaster looming on top of the quake and tsunami that gripped the embattled nation as it struggled with a crisis described by Prime Minister Naoto Kan as the worst since World War II.

Japan has been battling to control two overheating reactors at the ageing Fukushima plant after the cooling systems were knocked out by Friday's 8.9-magnitude quake and the resulting tsunami that swallowed up whole towns.

A first explosion blew apart the building surrounding the plant's number-one reactor on Saturday but the seal around the reactor itself remained intact, officials said.

On Monday, shortly after Kan said the plant was still in an "alarming" state, a blast at its number-three reactor shook the facility and sent plumes of smoke billowing into the sky.

The plant's operator TEPCO said that six people were injured in the blast, which authorities said was probably a hydrogen explosion.

Chief government spokesman Yukio Edano said TEPCO reported that the reactor was probably undamaged and there was a low possibility of a major radiation leak at the plant, 250 kilometres (160 miles) northeast of Tokyo.

Radiation levels at the plant were "normal", the UN atomic watchdog IAEA said.

Later Monday the cooling system at the number two reactor failed, Jiji Press reported -- the sort of failure that preceded the explosions in the number one and three reactors.

Authorities have declared an exclusion zone within a 20-kilometre (12-mile) radius of the plant and evacuated 210,000 people.

The US nuclear-powered aircraft carrier Ronald Reagan, on a humanitarian mission to Japan, reportedly passed through a radioactive cloud from the plant and its crew received a month's worth of radiation in about an hour.

There was no indication that any of the military personnel had experienced ill effects from the exposure, the New York Times reported citing unnamed government officials.

But the episode showed that the prevailing winds were picking up radioactive material from the crippled Fukushima plant, the newspaper noted.

Tsunami survivors who were able to outrun Friday's killer wave meanwhile recalled how they saw those behind them consumed by the torrent of m&d and debris.

Miki Otomo's sister was one of the fortunate, though the image of victims violently swept away last week by the black tide of wrecked houses and cars near the hard-hit city of Sendai will be forever seared in her memory.

"My older sister was in a bus when the wave came behind them. The bus driver told everybody to get out of the bus and run," said Otomo, a mother of three teens who herself managed to escape the deadly wall of water in her car.

"My sister was able to get away but some people just couldn't run fast enough," she told AFP.

Otomo, whose home near Sendai was destroyed in the twin disasters, says she quickly piled her father and her dog in the car in her own desperate bid to survive.

"The tsunami wave was coming and I grabbed grandfather and our dog and drove. The wave was right behind me, but I had to keep zigzagging around obstacles and the water to get to safety."

Otomo is now staying at an evacuation centre in a local school with about 1,000 other exhausted survivors who cheated death.

A new tsunami scare triggered evacuations on the devastated northeast coast Monday after a large wave was spotted rolling in to shore, but authorities later lifted the alert.

With ports, airports, highways and manufacturing plants shut down, the government has predicted "considerable impact on a wide range of our country's economic activities".

Leading risk analysis firm AIR Worldwide said the quake alone would exact an economic toll estimated at between US$14.5 billion and US$34.6 billion (10 billion to 25 billion euros), without taking into account the effects of the tsunami.

Kan said in a televised national address Sunday that Japan was facing its worst crisis since the end of World War II -- which left the defeated country in ruins after two US atomic attacks forced its surrender.

The United Nations said a total of 590,000 people had been evacuated in the quake and tsunami disaster.

Japan's biggest ever earthquake sent waves of churning m&d and debris racing over towns and farmland in the northeast, destroying everything in its path and reducing swathes of countryside to a swampy wasteland.

The police chief in badly hit Miyagi prefecture said the death toll was certain to exceed 10,000 in his region.

The national police agency said the confirmed death toll now stood at 1,597, but groups of hundreds of bodies were being found along the shattered coastline.

Many survivors were left without water, electricity, fuel or enough food, as authorities appeared overwhelmed by the monumental scale of the disaster.

Japan committed 100,000 troops -- about 40 percent of its armed forces -- to help survivors as the world rallied behind the disaster-stricken nation and the USS Ronald Reagan began ferrying in food.

Japan sits on the "Pacific Ring of Fire", and Tokyo is in one of its most dangerous areas, where three continental plates are slowly grinding against each other, building up enormous seismic pressure.

The immense force of Friday's quake has moved Honshu -- the main Japanese island -- by 2.4 metres (eight feet), the US Geological Survey said.

- AFP/ir

tioliaohuat

Indian PM orders safety checks on nuclear plants
Posted: 14 March 2011 2019 hrs

Photos 1 of 1

NEW DELHI : India's Prime Minister Manmohan Singh said on Monday that the safety of all of the country's nuclear power plants would be checked in the wake of Japan's devastating earthquake and tsunami.

Singh told parliament that the department of atomic energy and its agencies "have been instructed to undertake an immediate technical review of all safety systems of our nuclear power plants."

The inspection was aimed to "ensure that they would be able to withstand large natural disasters such as tsunamis and earthquakes," he said.

"I would like to assure members that the government attaches the highest importance to nuclear safety."

Energy-hungry India is one of the world's biggest markets for nuclear technology, with plans to reach a nuclear power capacity of 63,000 megawatts by 2032, from the current level of 4,560 megawatts.

In 2008, following approval by the US Congress, then president George W. Bush signed into law a nuclear deal with New Delhi that ended a three-decade ban on US nuclear trade with India.

- AFP

tioliaohuat

Swiss suspend nuclear plant plans amid Japan disaster
Posted: 14 March 2011 2014 hrs
Smoke billows from fires raging at the port in Tagajo, Miyagi prefecture on March 13 following a massive earthquake and tsunami on March 11.

Special Report
• Japan Post-Quake Nuclear Meltdown

GENEVA - Switzerland on Monday suspended plans to replace its ageing nuclear power plants amid fears of a nuclear disaster in Japan, stressing that safety was an absolute priority.

The Federal Office for Energy said authorities decided to suspend ongoing procedures regarding authorisation requests for the replacement of nuclear power plants "until security standards can be carefully re-examined and, if necessary, adapted."

It added that the Federal Inspectorate for Nuclear Security had been ordered to "analyse the exact causes of the accident in Japan and to draw conclusions on possible stricter new standards."

The energy office said that any authorisation requests to replace the country's five nuclear plants "cannot be evaluated before these clarifications".

"The security and well-being of the population is the absolute priority," said transport and energy minister Doris Leuthard.

In Switzerland, where there is a chance of a 7.0-magnitude earthquake in one in every 100,000 years, all but one nuclear plants are able to withstand quakes of up to that scale, the Swiss news agency ATS reported.

But fears of a catastrophic meltdown at the Fukushima-Daiichi nuclear plant in Japan has revived the debate in Switzerland, where cantons are in the process of holding consultation polls on renewing three of its plants.

An explosion rocked a building housing a nuclear reactor at Japan's quake-damaged Fukushima power plant earlier Monday, the second such blast in two days following Friday's devastating earthquake and tsunami.

The cooling system has also failed at a third reactor there.

Japan's operator TEPCO said Monday a fuel rod meltdown at the plant could not be ruled out after water levels dropped sharply, Jiji Press reported.

Engineers are struggling to cool down three reactors at the Fukushima 1 plant, which has been hit by two explosions.

The unfolding disaster has sparked a debate around the developed world, where nuclear energy has been sold as a clean alternative to coal and fuel.

In Washington, lawmakers have called for a slowdown in nuclear development.

US President Barack Obama is aiming to increase nuclear power as part of a US effort to decrease the nation's dependence on coal and imported oil.

While the White House said Sunday that policy remains in effect, it sounded a note of caution.

"Information is still coming in about the events unfolding in Japan, but the administration is committed to learning from them and ensuring that nuclear energy is produced safely and responsibly here in the US," White House spokesman Clark Stevens told The New York Times.

The Japan crisis has also put German Chancellor Angela Merkel under pressure over her decision to postpone the switch-off of all nuclear reactors by a decade.

Germany decided in 2000 under the SPD and the ecologist Greens to switch off the last of its 17 nuclear power stations by 2020, but Merkel's government in 2010 postponed the exit until the mid-2030s, despite strong public unease.

And Britain's energy minister Chris Huhne said Sunday that lessons needed to be learned from the Japanese nuclear accident.

"We have to learn the lessons from what has gone on in Japan and make sure we take them on board," he said.

In June, British authorities are due to authorise the use of EPR (European Pressurised Reactor) technology by the French Areva and EDF groups and the AP1000 design of the US company Westinghouse in the building of new nuclear reactors.

- AFP/ir

You obviously have no experience in the energy industry if you think wind and solar sources can replace mainstream sources today. Everyone will start to kpkb when they frequently get blackouts on windless and sunless days.

You never read properly. Do I said 100% change to wind/solar. Of course we need hybrid system ( mix solar/wind turbine with control able generator system such as oil/gas in Singapore).
Most electric demand are on daytime. So Solar work well on day time of course not stable when there is no sunlight that when electric power station kick in.
Wind also not stable at least it work day/night when there is wind.
If we can get 30% electric city from wind and solar will be good enough. The rest can come from oil/gas power station. So we will not have to build new power station or nuke power station. :biggrin:

silverfox@

Fxxk the Indonesians they can't even handle tomatoe ketchup properly :oIo:
Year after year forest catch fire.
Expect the rest in the region to be thankful to Indonesia if we have fresh air to breathe.

Indonesia should be nuked before any nuclear reactor is built.

All these countries will plan and plan... SG will quietly build.

If nuke Indonesia, then Singapore will kenna tsunami wave:o

cheowyonglee

Yeah,even the bestest minds with double first distinctions from cambridge or harvard cannot beat the forces of nature.
OMG! Play billions with monopoly not thrilling enough ? Now want to play nuclear reactor ??? If don't have a big head,better don't wear a big hat .
Anyway ,sinkees lives are cheap and dispensable so why worry ???Yeah,give sinkkes some sweets and goodies and throw in some upgrading and they will be happy like fark !

If the government is going to build a nuclear plant here, and without our approval... i will be the first to protest in hong lim park!!! confirm...!!! :mad: :mad: :mad:

NuclearPowerNoThanksBadge.jpg

myo539

Singapore better don't touch nuclear tech. Just look at the healthcare system now. Even NS boys who died/injured aren't properly compensated. Imagine it a radioactive leak occurs, the government will adopt the same 'you die your own business' policy to affected parties.

So what? Third World Indonesia is going ahead to build nuclear power stations - not one but TWO - on Banka island - same distance from KL.

If advance nuclear countries like Japan, Russia and USA encountered nuclear accidents and found them hard to control, you think the Indon can?

Singapore keeps its air free of pollution in spite of many anti-pollution measures to control cars, factories and burning, but what happens? The Indons happily burnt their forests and farmland causing haze throughout Southeast Asia - year after year.

How is Indonesia going to account for the 230 million Indons and another 100 million Southeast Asian people if a nuclear accident happens after an earthquake or through sheer Indon incompetence?

http://www.voanews.com/english/news...donesia-Pursues--Nuclear-Power-117924389.html
Despite Japan Crisis, Indonesia Pursues Nuclear Power

myo539

....Year after year forest catch fire.
Expect the rest in the region to be thankful to Indonesia if we have fresh air to breathe.

Yes, the Indons are famous for that!
No haze, should thank them.
Got haze, must help them.
Otherwise angry - why KPKB with a little bit of haze when we Indons ourselves don't complain?

So thank you Indonesia - more rain for you. Don't KPKB if there are floods and landslides!
No worry, our SAF men and supplies are all ready hor.

Spock

You never read properly. Do I said 100% change to wind/solar. Of course we need hybrid system ( mix solar/wind turbine with control able generator system such as oil/gas in Singapore).
Most electric demand are on daytime. So Solar work well on day time of course not stable when there is no sunlight that when electric power station kick in.
Wind also not stable at least it work day/night when there is wind.
If we can get 30% electric city from wind and solar will be good enough. The rest can come from oil/gas power station. So we will not have to build new power station or nuke power station. :biggrin:

I have considered your proposal and I consider it non-feasible due to the constraint of space. You need a huge area to install a wind farm or solar panels for them to have any significant contribution. You can't just build them on top of buildings because you will need to build the proper connection points to feed into the national grid. It is not feasible to build connection points into the grid all over the island because you need equipment to monitor and maintain these points as well. The extra costs involved per connection point will not make sense for the little output from each point.

In the context of SG, it is ok to talk about having these alternative sources of energy for one household or a small community but it is simply impractical for the country as a whole. One possibility is to build solar panels on top of each building and that can serve as a supplement to the main source of power for that particular building. However, I doubt the government will foot the bill for doing that as it will eat into their revenue as well. If you live in HDB, you can probably forget about that as you have no decision rights even if you are willing to pay for the installation.

Kohliantye

I have no doubt they will go ahead with a nuclear generator... or even build two at one go.

This is what they did with the casinos. Haha
Having a nuclear-generating power plant in Singapore. Blimey. It gives me the creeps. So many people have migrated to other countries. This would be another reason for many millions to do so. So, just a word of caution.
We Should NOT allow the construction of nuclear-power generating plants in Singapore. We are a small nation and being close to these demonic centres will only make us more vulnerable to radiation and other related-illnesses. Health costs are high here and after-care for sick people not sufficient and too expensive.
What happenened in Japan, a truly developed nation, is indeed very tragic. Innocent people are made to suffer from such disasters. The cowardly bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki made thousands of innocent Japanese suffer. Those still alive are leading miserable lives. Just slightly more than half a century these unfortunate disaster visited Japan. Take a closer look and you will see that Honshu's coastline is dotted with many other nuclear power-generating plants. In a nation sitting right atop the Pacific Ring of Fire, which is prone to earthquakes and accompanying tsunamis, this is a very dangerous move which ought to be re-looked into seriously now with the current disaster.
If Japan, a nation whose people are so well-prepared in drills connected with such natural disasters, who take such incidents in their stride and abhor acts of rudeness, this trgic results can happen, what about a first-world nation like Singapore, whose people (new citizens included), who are more often than not rude, cut queues and whine unneccessarily. Will the original anak Singapura and pendatang baru (true-blue Singaporeans and newly-appointed citizens), be as disciplined as the Japanese? Surely NOT. Just take a look at people seating on seats reserved for the old and needy (on buses and trains). Such am attitude leaves much to be desired.
If such a disaster should happen to our " future intended" nuclear power-generating plants, I am sad to say, that it would be day of pain and misery for all of us.
So, to our future planners, I have this to say. Rely on the sea surrounding us or seek the help of our neigbours in getting along in this area. Love their neighbours and thou shall prosper and have peace. Refrain from talking ill of others, lest there be another Wikileaks episode. If you think you are smarter than the others, prove it to the populace.Stand up and say in simple English, that we have erred in setting up two casinos here. We have 4d gambling 3 times a week, toto on 2 days. This means Mon, Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sundays are 5 days are dedicated to our people to line up and gamble on games of chance, not realising the Probabality Factor and chance of winning. We also have football, F2 and many other gambling past-times, not forgetting those operating illegally in Singapore and on the internet.
Our children, who are over 18, are allowed to carry weapons during NS, smoke as they wish, drink alcohol everyday and see adult-rated movies at any time. BUT they are considered too young to vote at that age. Ha ha ha ha. It tickle my bones.
Admit, we have made a mistake. Tell the truth and shame the devil in you.
Remember, the old Bedouin wise saying, "He who digs a pit, fail to realise that his own brother will fall into it".
Please comment on this thread

I have considered your proposal and I consider it non-feasible due to the constraint of space. You need a huge area to install a wind farm or solar panels for them to have any significant contribution. You can't just build them on top of buildings because you will need to build the proper connection points to feed into the national grid. It is not feasible to build connection points into the grid all over the island because you need equipment to monitor and maintain these points as well. The extra costs involved per connection point will not make sense for the little output from each point.

In the context of SG, it is ok to talk about having these alternative sources of energy for one household or a small community but it is simply impractical for the country as a whole. One possibility is to build solar panels on top of each building and that can serve as a supplement to the main source of power for that particular building. However, I doubt the government will foot the bill for doing that as it will eat into their revenue as well. If you live in HDB, you can probably forget about that as you have no decision rights even if you are willing to pay for the installation.

For huge or big wind turbine of course we need big space an also big power grid connection. We can build it in Tuas area and coastal area(east coast ,west coast and Punggol) near the sea where higher wind speed . No asking to install in the middle of the island. That why cannot install one unit not economical to lay the big grid cable.
Those some turbine and solar on top of the building only generated maybe less than 200Kw or less in total average each building . Does not cost a lot for electrical component. Can use grid tie inverter which is available in market and not very expensive. Almost all power will be consume within the building it self if not enough then use SP grid(that called hybrid). Extra maybe only at night time when high wind can sale it back to SP (of course at discount price now is easily done just need to apply they will come and change the meter).
Is not economical to store electric on battery that why better sell back to SP(no need to maintain battery, buy battery and battery storage).:biggrin: