• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

allegations against Steve Tan affairs force him to quit election

†††††

Why Tan withdrew
By Jessica Cheam
ST_IMAGES_GERCSTEVE28.jpg

Young NTUC executive secretary Steve Tan with his wife Sarah, His withdrawal was announced just hours before nominations opened, making him the first candidate in the PAP's history to be dropped at the eleventh hour after being formally introduced. --ST PHOTO: LIM WUI LIANG

I DID not have the ideal love story or love life, but my conscience is clear.

That is what People's Action Party (PAP) candidate Steve Tan had to say about the 'personal reasons' behind why he made the shock decision to pull out of the election at the 11th hour.

Since the news broke yesterday, rumours about the 38-year-old unionist's conduct have surfaced and spread online.

They referred to allegations made against him by female former colleagues who used to work at the National Trades Union Congress (NTUC), where Mr Tan is executive secretary of the youth wing.

The Straits Times understands that these allegations were made known to party members on Tuesday, the night before Nomination Day.

Speaking to The Straits Times in an exclusive interview, Mr Tan said last night that he 'absolutely refutes' those allegations, saying 'my conscience is clear'.

'I did not have an ideal love story or love life, and I dated people. But my conscience is clear.I took a long time to decide who to spend the rest of my life with, but I'm very happy that I'm now married to her,'
said Mr Tan, referring to his wife Sarah, whom he married last year after proposing in late 2009.

Mr Tan said he had stated his position to the party very clearly, that the allegations are inaccurate. But he offered to step down as 'this GE is not about me, it's about Singapore's future'.

'There are so many pressing issues, so many debates to resolve. I don't want this campaign to be about me,' he said.

'I've taken a personal decision, after discussing this with my wife, who is fully behind me. And I hope everyone can respect that,' he said. 'Sarah's been a rock through all these allegations,' he added.

Mrs Tan, 38, who is a volunteer, said yesterday that the allegations caught them off-guard.

'I don't know why they were made. But I know Steve, and am fully behind him. And I will support him in whatever decision that he makes,' she said.

After Mr Tan's announcement yesterday, Tanjong Pagar GRC incumbent Baey Yam Keng, 40, replaced him in the Tampines GRC line-up, while a new face, orthopaedic surgeon Chia Shi-Lu, 40, took Mr Baey's place in Tanjong Pagar.

When he was first introduced as a PAP candidate, Mr Tan, who joined NTUC in 2001, said he saw being an 'ordinary guy' as a strength.

He came from a humble background: His father was a technician with national water agency PUB and his mother was a nurse. He was also noted for his ability to connect with Mandarin- and dialect-speaking residents due to his bilingual and bicultural background.

He has been involved in xinyao, Singapore's Chinese folk-pop music scene, since his secondary school days, and still keeps in touch with xinyao concert organisers.

'This series of events is unfortunate, but I want to just continue with my work now. I'm still willing to serve, where I get the opportunity to,' said Mr Tan.

Debonerman

'This series of events is unfortunate, but I want to just continue with my work now. I'm still willing to serve, where I get the opportunity to,' said Mr Tan.

Yes, ask your PAP masters to carve an SMC out from Geylang Lor 4 to 44 for you to manage. I am sure you are the most appropriate talent for the job!

... allegations made against him by female former colleagues ...(NTUC)

The Straits Times understands that these allegations were made known to party members on Tuesday, the night before Nomination Day ...
female colleagues ... means @ least 2 la ... so many, ah? ... :eek:

dey shud make known dose allegations oni after nomination day ... :rolleyes:

PM seems to have a different story to tell........

SINGAPORE - The People's Action Party "could have pretended there was no problem" with the candidacy of unionist Steve Tan, the party's secretary-general and Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said yesterday.

But, rather than "just carry it through", the PAP decided to make a change after Mr Tan, 38, disclosed to the party leadership his "personal reasons" for opting out.

Mr Lee said: "We're honourable people ... Steve Tan is honourable and we are. And we decided that, awkward as it is, we just have to go through with this and make the last-minute change and explain to people, 'I'm sorry, something has come up, we couldn't do what we intended to do, and we needed to make the change'."

Had the PAP leadership known earlier, it "wouldn't have made the change at such a last minute", Mr Lee said as Mr Tan's failed candidacy came up repeatedly for question at the PAP press conference.

Mr Tan, who was introduced on March 23 as a PAP candidate, was supposed to be one of seven new faces from the labour movement but decided otherwise less than 24 hours before Nomination Day.

Labour chief Lim Swee Say told Straits Times Interactive he was "glad", though, that the executive secretary of Young NTUC made the decision before the GE.

"I suppose he came to the decision in the interest of the party, in the interest of the voters," said Mr Lim, who added that Mr Tan was put up as a candidate "based on our knowledge of his track records over the last 10 years".

In his place comes doctor and President's Scholar Chia Shi-Lu - but in Tanjong Pagar Group Representation Constituency - the only walkover constituency - and not in Tampines GRC, where Mr Tan was to have been fielded.

When asked about this decision, Deputy Prime Minister and PAP first assistant secretary-general Wong Kan Seng said the switch was decided before it knew that Tanjong Pagar GRC would not be contested.

Dr Chia, 40, met the media shortly after he became an elected Member of Parliament.

And with the unprecedented pullout for the party, PAP chairman Lim Boon Heng was asked, as he introduced Dr Chia, if the PAP could assure voters of the commitment of its new candidates.

Mr Lim replied: "If he's not on the starting line-up but on the reserve list, he's still willing to work. And the fact that even being on the reserve list and he's willing to continue to work the ground demonstrates the commitment to serve."

The PAP pointed out that some Opposition parties also introduce their candidates at the eleventh hour.

"Somebody was introduced at 7.30am (on Nomination Day)," quipped Mr Lee, referring to the Reform Party's team for Ang Mo Kio GRC. "(But) Chia Shi-Lu is a known quantity, he has (been) introduced, he's seen and he will prove himself."

Asked if Dr Chia's admission into Parliament would instead fuel criticism about GRCs, Mr Lee defended the system and said it allowed for minority representation.

Mr Lee stressed there was "no absolute certainty" in any process of choosing people: "We've planned for this ... We have back-up candidates and we fielded our back-up candidate in Dr Chia Shi-Lu."

The PAP pretended that nothing was wrong and that it was a personal reason to step. Steve Tan claimed that after talking to his wife, he stepped down. Thats rubbish. If the ex-colleague had not threathened to bring in two other victims, this would not have hit the press.

He was told to step down. Nothing to do with his wife. This guy is now fighting for his career. He will likely be given 6 mths to find a job.

The PM needs to be honest and not spin rubbish. If the allegation did not surface yesterday, we won't be having this exclusive that was arranged by the PAP.

Good ideas. But that area was the most happen at night in Singapore. Have all the thing there drug, casino,girl,drink.......................

Yes, ask your PAP masters to carve an SMC out from Geylang Lor 4 to 44 for you to manage. I am sure you are the most appropriate talent for the job!

1. bro, remember!
2. some sheep has declared that the flock has some 24 new betterer sheep mah.
3. so, this sheep is not so whiterer after all or what.

Debonerman

1. bro, remember!
2. some sheep has declared that the flock has some 24 new betterer sheep mah.
3. so, this sheep is not so whiterer after all or what.

Don't touch Foo Mee Har........I had suddenly developed the shivers for any scroowy trojan horses..........

KuanTi01

PAP full of crap and spin! Discerning citizens knew that the whole party machinery went into full damage control mode yesterday! If things are not that serious enough to warrant a last minute withdrawal of Steve Tan, PAP would have pretended as if nothing was wrong. Poor Steve-his inglorious past has come back to haunt him just when he was riding on the crest of a wave to a huge career boost and material wealth. Wearing white but not white enough!

nato33

I believe the ex colleagues had a strong personal agenda against Steve and time the release of the info so that he cannot get into Parliament and enjoy a big fat increase in salary.

Releasing the info after Nomination may have some impact but very likely Steve will still get elected, being part of a GRC.

Releasing earlier before the eve of nomination day will also have less impact as it will allow Pap and Steve to come up with some stupid story.

So doing what they did at on the eve of nomination delivered the maximum impact and cause Pap to look disorganized and also play up the issue and poor Stevie has to step down from a big pay increase just when he was one night away ....

seebaysong

Is this something new ??! :biggrin:
Most certainly not... but of course... cannot put all blame on papee... although they do hv the best of the BEST :biggrin:

karmabear

Embarrass PAP and force LHL to address it in public... Good job Steve Tan, you did more for the opposition than the so called Opposition of NTS!

Ashinigami

Hasn't PAP always said they will sue in court to disprove allegations? If nothing wrong they will sue? So if don't sue means they wrong?

Where did your balls go to Steve? LOL

Porfirio Rubirosa

what a bloody joke...reflects terribly on PAP's so called best in the world selection method of its mp candidates...i mean what the hell...go thorugh so much vetting, interviews, even physchiatric tests...n u can miss out on this kinda of thing!!...bloody tight metaphorical slap on ng eng hen, wong kan seng and lee hisen loon's faces...how to trust them if they can miss out on such a common character flaw???!!...wearing white cannot mask bad foul odour...and what happened to harry's all miw will sue if name/character/credibility brought into disrepute???!!...hello stevey boy why so scared ah...just follow yr old oracle's simple tactic sue lah...what conscience is clear mumbo jumbo...talk is cheap...get it stevey boy...

Why Tan withdrew
By Jessica Cheam
ST_IMAGES_GERCSTEVE28.jpg

Young NTUC executive secretary Steve Tan with his wife Sarah, His withdrawal was announced just hours before nominations opened, making him the first candidate in the PAP's history to be dropped at the eleventh hour after being formally introduced. --ST PHOTO: LIM WUI LIANG

I DID not have the ideal love story or love life, but my conscience is clear.

That is what People's Action Party (PAP) candidate Steve Tan had to say about the 'personal reasons' behind why he made the shock decision to pull out of the election at the 11th hour.

Since the news broke yesterday, rumours about the 38-year-old unionist's conduct have surfaced and spread online.

They referred to allegations made against him by female former colleagues who used to work at the National Trades Union Congress (NTUC), where Mr Tan is executive secretary of the youth wing.

The Straits Times understands that these allegations were made known to party members on Tuesday, the night before Nomination Day.

Speaking to The Straits Times in an exclusive interview, Mr Tan said last night that he 'absolutely refutes' those allegations, saying 'my conscience is clear'.

'I did not have an ideal love story or love life, and I dated people. But my conscience is clear.I took a long time to decide who to spend the rest of my life with, but I'm very happy that I'm now married to her,'
said Mr Tan, referring to his wife Sarah, whom he married last year after proposing in late 2009.

Mr Tan said he had stated his position to the party very clearly, that the allegations are inaccurate. But he offered to step down as 'this GE is not about me, it's about Singapore's future'.

'There are so many pressing issues, so many debates to resolve. I don't want this campaign to be about me,' he said.

'I've taken a personal decision, after discussing this with my wife, who is fully behind me. And I hope everyone can respect that,' he said. 'Sarah's been a rock through all these allegations,' he added.

Mrs Tan, 38, who is a volunteer, said yesterday that the allegations caught them off-guard.

'I don't know why they were made. But I know Steve, and am fully behind him. And I will support him in whatever decision that he makes,' she said.

After Mr Tan's announcement yesterday, Tanjong Pagar GRC incumbent Baey Yam Keng, 40, replaced him in the Tampines GRC line-up, while a new face, orthopaedic surgeon Chia Shi-Lu, 40, took Mr Baey's place in Tanjong Pagar.

When he was first introduced as a PAP candidate, Mr Tan, who joined NTUC in 2001, said he saw being an 'ordinary guy' as a strength.

He came from a humble background: His father was a technician with national water agency PUB and his mother was a nurse. He was also noted for his ability to connect with Mandarin- and dialect-speaking residents due to his bilingual and bicultural background.

He has been involved in xinyao, Singapore's Chinese folk-pop music scene, since his secondary school days, and still keeps in touch with xinyao concert organisers.

ahkow

Steve Tan scored an own goal for the PAP this time. Words like "could have pretended there was no problem" and "just carry it through" already is very telling!!! PAP, pls help clear the air.