• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Airbus A330 BROKE APART in the air, SIA : A330 Very SAFE

potato29

GPS measures altitude more accurately than latitude / longitude :biggrin:

With P codes the altitude measurement accuracy is about 1m.

There is however datalinks needed to send the GPS readings from planes to ground control, otherwise pilots only will know their own position. Radar is the reversed. The ground control can know the plane target's position, but the pilots don't know.

so u saying GPS can replace radar?

motormafia

so u saying GPS can replace radar?

GPS can replace radar in the purpose of navigation, knowing your own location and where you are heading, the GPS can do this better than radar in multitudes. The traffic control and guidance should abolish dependencies on radar in this aspect.

E.g. SQ006 should know that they were waiting to take off on the WRONG RUNWAY via GPS. Radar in the plane will not help much because radar will not see a runway different from another. PAP govt argued that airports should had radar to see the plane on wrong runway and warn the pilot. I insist that pilots should see their own mistake because the controller only directed them to go to an allocated runway which was correctly give, but WRONGLY FOLLOWED.

The pilots of SQ006 had wrongly reported their locations to the controller, they were actually at the wrong runway, but they had wrongly reported that they were awaiting for clearance to take off at the correctly allocated runway. They had misled the control tower.

Radar can still be of some use, e.g. collision avoidance. When e.g. helicopters fly low in the dark night in terrain. e.g. for search and rescue to locate downed airplanes etc.

Radar is stupid and can be easily fooled, as seen in the stealth fighter technology.

Lot of planes disappeared from radar, but they were actually OK. Just the radar had fucked up. If you had been air controller you will know that planes had been disappearing from radar on daily basis, just because of radar's limitations.

In airports such as HK's Chek Lap Kok, there are tall mountains near to the airfield, and radar can not see many planes behind the mountains. Depending on radar is unreliable and dangerous.

GPS locations can be data linked and computer assisted. Traffic controller can allocated a certain path and altitude and schedule to pilots, and computer linked to GPS can guide and check that planes are within the allocated routes and altitude and schedule, safely apart from other planes. Computer can warn pilots that they are out of places or wrong altitude or too far ahead or behind, and alert controller and other pilots.

Radar can complement that just playing the role of collision warning, there is already this device on board planes to alert pilots. Even cars with proximity reverse sensors are similar to miniature radars to warn drivers against reversing into a collision. Proximity sensors measures in range within a meter or so, and tells the driver how far more can he reverse before hitting something. It will not tell diver where his is. GPS will tell divers where they are and how far more to reach their destinations. :biggrin:

potato29

GPS can replace radar in the purpose of navigation, knowing your own location and where you are heading, the GPS can do this better than radar in multitudes. The traffic control and guidance should abolish dependencies on radar in this aspect.

E.g. SQ006 should know that they were waiting to take off on the WRONG RUNWAY via GPS. Radar in the plane will not help much because radar will not see a runway different from another. PAP govt argued that airports should had radar to see the plane on wrong runway and warn the pilot. I insist that pilots should see their own mistake because the controller only directed them to go to an allocated runway which was correctly give, but WRONGLY FOLLOWED.

The pilots of SQ006 had wrongly reported their locations to the controller, they were actually at the wrong runway, but they had wrongly reported that they were awaiting for clearance to take off at the correctly allocated runway. They had misled the control tower.

Radar can still be of some use, e.g. collision avoidance. When e.g. helicopters fly low in the dark night in terrain. e.g. for search and rescue to locate downed airplanes etc.

Radar is stupid and can be easily fooled, as seen in the stealth fighter technology.

Lot of planes disappeared from radar, but they were actually OK. Just the radar had fucked up. If you had been air controller you will know that planes had been disappearing from radar on daily basis, just because of radar's limitations.

In airports such as HK's Chek Lap Kok, there are tall mountains near to the airfield, and radar can not see many planes behind the mountains. Depending on radar is unreliable and dangerous.

GPS locations can be data linked and computer assisted. Traffic controller can allocated a certain path and altitude and schedule to pilots, and computer linked to GPS can guide and check that planes are within the allocated routes and altitude and schedule, safely apart from other planes. Computer can warn pilots that they are out of places or wrong altitude or too far ahead or behind, and alert controller and other pilots.

Radar can complement that just playing the role of collision warning, there is already this device on board planes to alert pilots. Even cars with proximity reverse sensors are similar to miniature radars to warn drivers against reversing into a collision. Proximity sensors measures in range within a meter or so, and tells the driver how far more can he reverse before hitting something. It will not tell diver where his is. GPS will tell divers where they are and how far more to reach their destinations. :biggrin:

if GPS can replace radar and perform better then why no one doing it? are they stupid?

FuckSamLeong

your words so strong one ah??? waaa... soooo scarrry... hehe... :smile:

Hey Cheebye mouth! Don't act goody goody with me lah! You can't change your nature, enlarged clitoris boy...remember how you started all this or not? your lover..the one whom you had been cocksucking so hard for so long had deleted all the evidence hor! Some people will do anything!:rolleyes: I remind you ...remember how you provoke with "ah chek , kon simi lanjiao"...this is your payoff for being a cheebye mouth!:wink: You have yet to answer the question....You said you were a Guardsman? Which guard unit? Tell leh ! :smile:
What vocation? Guardsmen all have balls, not your shrivelled peanuts pondan! OC runner cum balls licker cum blowjobber cum cheebye replacement? issit lol....lol...lol.. When are you going to use tiulehlohmoh clone?:biggrin:
Why dare not show your "Superiority" in asiaome.com forum anymore lnchwmn3?:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

FuckSamLeong

thanks 4 the heads up dude. we all know where his logic comes from.... that's somewhere v near the jamban. :smile:

You want head? Sam Leong's not enough issit? lol.....lol....lol My head good enough for you to suck or not? lol....lol...lol

FuckSamLeong

Oooooooo... scary scary some1 so angry.. dont take it out on your kids ok.

bet u dont even know the implication when u ask some1 if he wants head!???

this is sooooo fun. im being entertained by a not so bright, lonely and cranky old fart :smile:

Don't be so fucking lame lah cheebye mouth! where is the "Superiority?" oh yah! with an enlarged clitoris, what can one expect?:p Pondan tell us leh how high you got promoted with all the blowjobs you had performed on your Guard unit OC?:biggrin:
Yah one more thing hor Ingilish professor Cheebaijwee Lanjiaobee, son of a thai prostitute mother, don't embarass your lover Sam by challenging comprehension of grammar lah....you don't want me to explain end to end threesome sex do you? I only use my big monstrous cock my dear...ask your mom!:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

FuckSamLeong

i will show u something really interesting (which will definitely involve u) at 1am tonight. see ya :smile:

Will you be dressed in the lingerie that I so love to see you in when you suck cocks? lnchwmn3 of asiaone.com forum fame aka lancheowman with an enlarged clitoris for a penis and shrivelled balls! don't make me wait, Cheebye mouth!:wink:

MM_DURAI

judging from your spelling and logic, u are either moronmafia himself or... his twin brother.

either way, u are a perfect match mentally so do hook up and enjoy each other :smile:

You clown!

Get your pea brains checked!

Sky is beautiful most of the time, and there is Cloud Appreciation Society, check out the news!

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20090611/ap_on_re_us/us_new_cloud

capt.408bf4e4288844dea6eafec51251fde1.new_cloud_ny126.jpg

Iowa woman's photo sparks push for new cloud type
AP

This June 20, 2006 photo provided on Monday, June 8, 2009 and taken by Jane AP – This June 20, 2006 photo provided on Monday, June 8, 2009 and taken by Jane Wiggins from a downtown Cedar …
By MICHAEL J. CRUMB, Associated Press Writer Michael J. Crumb, Associated Press Writer – Thu Jun 11, 4:40 pm ET

DES MOINES, Iowa – Looking out the 11th floor window of her law office, Jane Wiggins did a double take and grabbed her camera. The dark, undulating clouds hovering outside were unlike anything she'd seen before.

"It looked like Armageddon," said Wiggins, a paralegal and amateur photographer in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. "The shadows of the clouds, the lights and the darks, and the greenish-yellow backdrop. They seemed to change."

They dissipated within 15 minutes, but the photo Wiggins captured in June 2006 intrigued — and stumped — a group of dedicated weather watchers who now are pushing weather authorities to create a new cloud category, something that hasn't been done since 1951.

Breaking into the cloud family would require surviving layers of skeptical international review. Still, Gavin Pretor-Pinney and his England-based Cloud Appreciation Society are determined to establish a new variety. They've given Wiggins' photo and similar pictures taken in different parts of the world to experts in England, and are discussing the subject fervently online.

"They (the clouds) were the first ones that I noted of this type and I was unsure which category to put them under," said Pretor-Pinney, author of "The Cloudspotter's Guide." "When we put pictures up online we list the category, and I wasn't sure how to categorize it."

Some scientists are skeptical. They argue that researchers who have long watched the sky haven't seen anything distinctly new for decades.

There are three main groups of clouds: cumulous, cirrus and stratus. Each has various sub-classifications built on other details of the formation.

Brant Foote, a longtime scientist at the National Center for Atmospheric Research in Boulder, Colo., said the clouds photographed by Wiggins already fit into the existing cumulous classification.

But Pretor-Pinney, who never studied meteorology, believes the clouds merit their own cumulus sub-classification. He proposes they be called altocumulus undulatus asperatus. The last word — Latin for roughen or agitate — is a reference to the clouds' undulating surface.

"Not necessarily gentle or steady, but quite violent-looking, turbulent, almost twisted in its appearance," he said.

The group has compiled several photographs documenting the formations from the billowy, rolling clouds shot by Wiggins in Iowa to ones from New Zealand that were much more menacing, hanging lava-like in the sky.

Foote said it would be "very unusual" for such a formation to be recognized as a new variety of cloud.

"People have been looking at clouds for hundreds of years and the general cloud classification is well defined," Foote said. "It's not as if someone discovered a new plant in the Amazon. It's what you've seen every day. There was no atmospheric condition that caused a new kind of cloud to form."

Pretor-Pinney is working with the Royal Meteorological Society in Reading, England, to prepare his case. If that group signs off, the proposal will go to the United Nation's World Meteorological Organization in Geneva.

Society executive director Paul Hardaker said a small panel within the society is gathering evidence to review. Their efforts include talking with those who took the submitted photos to determinine when, where and amid what weather they were taken. Hardaker said meteorologists tend to be skeptical of such proposals.

"We like to believe that just about everything that can be seen has been, but you do get caught once in a while with the odd, new, interesting thing," Hardaker said. "By this stage we think it's sufficiently interesting to explore it further and we're optimistic about the information we've got."

FuckSamLeong

Don't spoil your moods with this pondan with the enlarged clitoris...leave the tight arse hole to me! he loves my big manly cock ...just like his mum!:cool:

thanks 4 the heads up dude. we all know where his logic comes from.... that's somewhere v near the jamban. :smile:

Yeah, this idiot thinks that in the year 2000, SQ 006 could have navigated around CKS runways, taxiways, and tarmacs with a $500 GPS kit like a taxi in downtown. LOL. WHat a moron. The technology has changed in 9 years, Back than, no such thing. Anyway, even my buddies in SQ admit CKS is particularly confusing, especially at night and in a storm. One of them even taxied onto the wrong runway before realising his mistake. And he is very experienced. Moronmafia aka Durai aka CSJCSKCSJ does not know that there is a detailed map of the CKS runway network in the cockpit of the plane, and that is usually what the pilots use when taxiing or landing.

GPS measures altitude more accurately than latitude / longitude :biggrin:

With P codes the altitude measurement accuracy is about 1m.

There is however datalinks needed to send the GPS readings from planes to ground control, otherwise pilots only will know their own position. Radar is the reversed. The ground control can know the plane target's position, but the pilots don't know.

wrong. gps offers better precision with lat-long than elevation or altitude.

conventional altitude instrumentation relies on a geoid reference while gps relies on an ellipsoid reference. a geoid reference model or plane is undulating and hugs the earth including mean sea level and terrain much more closer than an ellipsoid, which is smooth. error correction on x and y is much more easily done with the same 3 to 4 visible navstar satellites at or more than the minimum inclination angle than measurement and error correction on z, which are subjected to multipath and other atmospheric interference. in almost all cases, the altitude measurement using gps is 1.5 to 3 times less precise than lat-long. even with good carrier phase gps systems, the altitude measurement can achieve precision of less than 10cm, but it is still less precise than horizontal coordinates which can achieve precision of less than 2cm.