• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Ah Loong Warns Sinkies on Tiong News about AI Deepfakes of Him Promoting Crypto!

Pinkieslut

PM Lee Hsien Loong warns public of deepfake crypto-trading promotional video featuring him in CGTN interview​

Singapore's Prime Minister expresses concerns over drawbacks of AI and spread of misinformation, urges vigilance from the public​

Ronald Goh
Ronald Goh
·News and Lifestyle Producer
Fri, 29 December 2023 at 3:55 am GMT

Screen grab of deepfake video of Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong promoting an investment platform (Photo: Facebook/Lee Hsien Loong)

SINGAPORE — Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong is urging the public not to be taken in by a deepfake video online which purportedly showed him promoting an investment platform.
In a post on his Facebook page on Friday (29 December), PM Lee uploaded a 14-second video snippet which supposedly showed him in an interview with a presenter from Chinese news network CGTN, as both parties discuss an investment opportunity allegedly approved by the government.
PM Lee is seen talking about the benefits of a "hands free crypto trading" platform, which is able to "compute algorithms, analyse market trends, make strategic investment decisions, and execute trades; all without any manual input from the user."
"‘Tis the season for scams!" PM Lee wrote in his Facebook post. "Recently, there have been a number of audio deepfake videos of me purporting to promote crypto scams. DPM Lawrence Wong has also been targeted!
"The scammers use AI technology to mimic our voices and images. They transform real footage of us taken from official events into very convincing but completely bogus videos of us purporting to say things that we have never said.
"If you see or receive these scam videos promising guaranteed returns on investments or ‘giveaways’, please do not respond to them."
Deepfakes are generated using artificial intelligence to modify or manipulate visual and audio content. The altered video snippet appears to have been manipulated from an actual interview conducted by CGTN with Lee back in March.

PM Lee urges vigilance against deepfake technology​

According to CNA, the full deepfake video shows PM Lee claiming that the investment platform is "revolutionary" and "designed by Elon Musk". It ends with the presenter urging viewers to click on a link to register for the platform, to earn "passive income".
PM Lee has warned the public against responding to the video. He also reminded Singaporeans to remain vigilant as the use of deepfake technology to spread disinformation will continue to grow.
"We must learn to protect ourselves and our loved ones against such scams. Thanks to alert Singaporeans who took the time to flag this to me," said Lee.
In July, CNA reported that fake online advertisements of PM Lee selling investment opportunities had surfaced. Earlier this month, Deputy Prime Minister Lawrence Wong also took to Facebook to address fake posts of him endorsing commercial products.
The public is encouraged to report scams, fake news or advertisements via the official ScamShield Bot on WhatsApp. Official Prime Minister's Office (PMO) videos can be found on its Youtube channel.

Here's an idea: recall Sinkies and your diplomats from China, and banish those fuckers at 150 Tanglin Road.

And start hunting down the CCP spies on this island. Start the ball rolling by shutting down the Confucius Institute.

Willamshakespear

How it works:-

Once you click on the scam ad,
1) it will direct you to another site, to register - meaning FULL details of yourself even bank accounts. & download an app that 'would take care of everything'

Such innocuous apps have a hidden agenda - to TAKE OVER your computer or handphone, & than start messing with your bank accounts to siphon off your hard earned money.

2)Should it be unable to do so, then it will 'teach you how to use the app to invest' by depositing a small sum of money, eg $1000 for trade. (It may even be a phone number harvesting site, to sell your information to other scammers & thus the MANY scamming calls to your phone suddenly)

a)Should you lose that sum, all manner of excuses will be used, to convince you to deposit another, & another.....till you wake up to the reality that you had been scammed.

b)Should you win, you would NOT be able to retrieve any money, because NO investments were made. Your trade figures may be real in realtime, but ROI are fakes as your deposits only went into their personal bank account.

When you attempt to get even your deposits refunded, they will tell you all kind of excuses, - 3 months time, minimum sums, etc, etc, till you either cry to the police or simply give up to the reality that you had been scammed.

3) There are REAL legitimate online investment firms & there are scammer investments site - Thus, do your own research, read thru every review, good or bad, discuss with others, before parting with your savings.

mahjongking

most of us spend too much time on the internet.......too much of a good thing is always bad
lots of zombies starring at HPs walking around....

k1976

PM Lee Hsien Loong warns public of deepfake crypto-trading promotional video featuring him in CGTN interview​

Singapore's Prime Minister expresses concerns over drawbacks of AI and spread of misinformation, urges vigilance from the public​

Ronald Goh
Ronald Goh

SINGAPORE — Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong is urging the public not to be taken in by a deepfake video online which purportedly showed him promoting an investment platform.
In a post on his Facebook page on Friday (29 December), PM Lee uploaded a 14-second video snippet which supposedly showed him in an interview with a presenter from Chinese news network CGTN, as both parties discuss an investment opportunity allegedly approved by the government.
PM Lee is seen talking about the benefits of a "hands free crypto trading" platform, which is able to "compute algorithms, analyse market trends, make strategic investment decisions, and execute trades; all without any manual input from the user."
"‘Tis the season for scams!" PM Lee wrote in his Facebook post. "Recently, there have been a number of audio deepfake videos of me purporting to promote crypto scams. DPM Lawrence Wong has also been targeted!
"The scammers use AI technology to mimic our voices and images. They transform real footage of us taken from official events into very convincing but completely bogus videos of us purporting to say things that we have never said.
"If you see or receive these scam videos promising guaranteed returns on investments or ‘giveaways’, please do not respond to them."
Deepfakes are generated using artificial intelligence to modify or manipulate visual and audio content. The altered video snippet appears to have been manipulated from an actual interview conducted by CGTN with Lee back in March.

According to CNA, the full deepfake video shows PM Lee claiming that the investment platform is "revolutionary" and "designed by Elon Musk". It ends with the presenter urging viewers to click on a link to register for the platform, to earn "passive income".
PM Lee has warned the public against responding to the video. He also reminded Singaporeans to remain vigilant as the use of deepfake technology to spread disinformation will continue to grow.
"We must learn to protect ourselves and our loved ones against such scams. Thanks to alert Singaporeans who took the time to flag this to me," said Lee.
In July, CNA reported that fake online advertisements of PM Lee selling investment opportunities had surfaced. Earlier this month, Deputy Prime Minister Lawrence Wong also took to Facebook to address fake posts of him endorsing commercial products.
The public is encouraged to report scams, fake news or advertisements via the official ScamShield Bot on WhatsApp. Official Prime Minister's Office (PMO) videos can be found on its Youtube channel.
On YouTube?

k1976

Ronald Goh
Ronald Goh

Really 为国为民

Thank you PM Lee, Because of your confidence and promotion of crypto investment, I will put in more money.

searcher1

In future, IF any policy cockup, will they also blame Deepfake ?
It will be easy to shift blame now, they can claim no such statement.
They should reveal who created this deepfake video, if Local then put him in jail
If the creator of the fake video is foreigner, put him on Interpol arrest, announce to public
Asking the Citizen to be more vigilant ... they better go eat shit

In future, IF any policy cockup, will they also blame Deepfake ?
It will be easy to shift blame now, they can claim no such statement.
They should reveal who created this deepfake video, if Local then put him in jail
If the creator of the fake video is foreigner, put him on Interpol arrest, announce to public
Asking the Citizen to be more vigilant ... they better go eat shit

If you're depending on law enforcement to clamp down on deepfakes... you will be sorely disappointed. :wink:

The PAP regime has opened the Pandora's Box of 'generative AI', which they hype as the next big thing for amazing huat (sounds familiar if you have been watching its antics over the years and decades). :cool:

AI deepfake may be fake, but the advice is as good as pap tell u biotech ah, banking lah, IT lah they is to be the next big thing. All bad advice that will cost u dearly if u bet ur life savings and believe them. :unsure: