• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

hehehe. how you know?!?! a very exclusive teapot set is on the way from sg in month end. and also very exclusive oo long tea leaves. me dont know how to appreciate lah, cheap and expensive tea or taste the same to me.

Amazing bro, coffee, Chinese tea, beer, whisky, soft drinks, what next buddy? Hey how about gourmet ice cream, don't forget serve cheese and cold-cut too. Hey what about somtam and gai-yang to cater for the huge Isaan population there surely you have not forgotten them? Oh yes I did not forget, you said when I come got Cordon Bleu also right?

cheers bro

Bro chon

The questions to ask depends on what job he want to do:

Typical small company IT guy you need a jack of all trades, i.e.

1. Desktop/PC/end-user support
a) Can troubleshoot routine PC/printer/LAN connectivity issues
- ask for his desktop software certs or experience - Microsoft certs, Windows 7, XP, Vista desktop experience (depends on what your office uses)
- can ask him to look at your current office PCs/desktop environment and give recommendations as a "practical test".

b) Knows basic networking
- ask for networking - either CISCO certificates or experience
- how to set up/trouble-shoot/maintain wireless/router, hub, apply for relevant ISP connectivity

c) Knows basic Microsoft Office - to help your admin staff with MS Word, Excel, Powerpoint or Access (usually Word/Excel/Powerpoint is required)
- ask for any cert in Microsoft Office apps
- ask if he knows where to search for solutions if users give him problem he dunno how to solve

d) Knows basic personal anti-virus/firewall installation, maintenance

e) Know how to manage simple office intranet/shared folder (for common working documents to be shared within office)

e) Know how to maintain your email server (if in-house) or if you subscribe for those USD 10-20 a year domain plus free webhosting/email services

f) Know how to backup office server/shared folder regularly for archival

Other skills depends on what's the focus.

Hope this helps :-)
thanks bro for the detail write up. i already confirm the it technician prior to reading this. :smile: anyway, he told me all the pcs and printers in my offices he can handle so i made an offer onthe spot and will start next monday.

Amazing bro, coffee, Chinese tea, beer, whisky, soft drinks, what next buddy? Hey how about gourmet ice cream, don't forget serve cheese and cold-cut too. Hey what about somtam and gai-yang to cater for the huge Isaan population there surely you have not forgotten them? Oh yes I did not forget, you said when I come got Cordon Bleu also right?

cheers bro
hehehehe. johny black with one blue ribbon can? knd lah, want u to come nia. i die die also get one bottle of real blue belt.

Re: A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand ? Feasible?

Bro joetys

$2 looks value-for-money :-)

like I'd said. Standard is 35baht ($1.45) which is the most popular and special is 45baht ($1.85) this one is extra meat. Mine is 50baht ($2.05) extra special because separate meat and rice and extra meat.

Ya it's very value for money but cannot compare with Singapore la standard if living very different. Actually maybe 2 years ago its only 30baht.

i remember paying 20 baht at saiyoke camp for chicken rice in 1997 but the portion much smaller. but it very nice, much better than spore. i ate it almost everyday while in camp. but must early as the stall owner cater mainly to the thai soldiers and spore perm staff so will sold out by 11am. most training troops (spore battlion troops) will buy from the main canteen while ignoring this stall that is outside the main canteen.

Saiyoke? Hehehe you know I was there on Friday/Saturday right?

According to someone in another post can survive with less than S$1000. Actually I am working now but also colleciting rent from my Jurong West 4-room flat about $2,500. So if you can find me something to do I really don't mind to work for you for free to pass time. This country is fucked and I better leave soon before I get mad. Why don't I jagah your new place for you and I can sleep there too so you no need to pay me?

bro, u siao arh? no such things as work for free lah. i still not so mean lah. all my biz got local jagah liaoz but if you are keen, do pay a visit here and i see if can work something out.

if my junior ang moh staff can live on thb 20000 and got savings, and the locals who get less, can live sabai sabai, sgd 2.5k can really day day night night drunk.

cheers bro
hehehe. chinesr tea for old office lah. new shop will have chinesr tea but non-premium ones. btw, decide to go ahrad with a small wine cabinet. think about 12 bottles. shop advise me to get 8 red and 4 white. from his experience.

hehehe. tomorrow mae baan will faint when she see this. anyway, help by clearing a little here and there.

think cannot make it on time liaoz cos' still quite a lot to do. good thing is there is one new staff coming in tomorrow do i don't need to be around all the time.

20130114_181806.jpg

epicure9

Bro Joetys,
I have been following this thread ninja mode.Today have registered and want to ask you
whether you have plans to open an outlet for Chicken rice spore style?Want employ me?
I can cook up a version of chicken rice with my own version of chill sauce to go.I am not a pro
chef but have been cooking for my family for few years.

hehehe. chinesr tea for old office lah. new shop will have chinesr tea but non-premium ones. btw, decide to go ahrad with a small wine cabinet. think about 12 bottles. shop advise me to get 8 red and 4 white. from his experience.

Like I said yesterday, the shop will be able to help you on this, they are the expert. As you mentioned you know nothing about wine its perfectly ok, if customer ask for wine invite them to choose the wine themselves. If they need help you should prepare a short comment on each wine and I am sure you can get it from your supplier if not google. As far as wine is concern I am a sucker for good glasses. Go for some nice crystals for your wine I advise because customers will be impressed and come back just because you're different from the other wine places. In Thailand you can hardly find a wine place with decent wine glasses.

As for nice crystals you don't need to look very far and spend too much, surprisingly the world famous OCEAN Thai brand glass maker had invested in a world class crystal production in Thailand and the brand is Lucaris (I actually discovered this only recently while shopping in CK Tang Singapore for some nice brandy glasses to take it to my Jakarta condo). Its really good quality and inexpensive compared to the european brands. Funny, cannot find it in Bangkok but when I look at their website for the first time a few minutes ago they are all over outside Bangkok except in Bangkok. Here's the Pattaya contact if you'd like to know.

null-576.jpg

rotikosong

Mae Sai is a border town. Like all border towns everywhere else in the world, it sees its fair share of immigrants.
However, in recent times, the number of immigrants have exploded to the point that it seems that there seems more of them than incumbent Thais.

In Mae Sai establishments such as clinics, post offices, stores etc. you will find dual-language signage. Thai and Burmese language.
A4E67268-142B-4035-A526-6B9B504659C7-2588-0000044E66F9CE7D.jpg

Most of the immigrants are either Burmese or Tai Yai. Although Tai Yais hail from the Shan state in Myanmar, and so are technically Myanmarese, they are different and not only just in appearance. Different language, culture, food, clothing etc.

One way you can tell is by clothing. Burmese men wear a sarong-like cloth called the lungyi.
9BB66C9B-0055-4284-92EC-D84B3A345813-2588-0000044E4039C850.jpg

Burmese women put a yellow powdery substance called Thanaka (from the bark of a tree) on their faces to beat the heat. This is different from northern Thais and Tai Yai who merely use talc. Not my photo but this shows an example
1530058302_32fbec065c.jpg

A Tai Yai women in traditional dress. She is probably in town to make tamboon - they dress up to go to the wat as people used to do in the west to go to church.
0B5AB411-ADF0-402C-92A5-9D0DA6C62B00-2588-0000044E49F7730F.jpg

Tai Yai male in traditional wat-going dress
AB8F8C1F-6BF3-44E3-BE4A-E81C38B51BFA-2588-0000044E518674E9.jpg

Burmese nuns
59BB740F-F8F3-42F4-98B8-49C3940FE2AB-2588-0000044E851F91C0.jpg

And how do they come from Tachilek. A common mode of transport is the Burmese tuk-tuk which is different than the Thai version. It is significantly bigger for one and uses a bigger bike. Thye smaller ones (as here) seat 12 and the larger ones seat up to 18. You can tell it's Burmese by the license plate as well.
B954ED54-E916-446D-9418-A73E3B6C22D0-2588-00000450738383BF.jpg

Like I said yesterday, the shop will be able to help you on this, they are the expert. As you mentioned you know nothing about wine its perfectly ok, if customer ask for wine invite them to choose the wine themselves. If they need help you should prepare a short comment on each wine and I am sure you can get it from your supplier if not google. As far as wine is concern I am a sucker for good glasses. Go for some nice crystals for your wine I advise because customers will be impressed and come back just because you're different from the other wine places. In Thailand you can hardly find a wine place with decent wine glasses.

As for nice crystals you don't need to look very far and spend too much, surprisingly the world famous OCEAN Thai brand glass maker had invested in a world class crystal production in Thailand and the brand is Lucaris (I actually discovered this only recently while shopping in CK Tang Singapore for some nice brandy glasses to take it to my Jakarta condo). Its really good quality and inexpensive compared to the european brands. Funny, cannot find it in Bangkok but when I look at their website for the first time a few minutes ago they are all over outside Bangkok except in Bangkok. Here's the Pattaya contact if you'd like to know.

null-576.jpg

hehehe. gamsia bro. guess what? the address given is the place i used to stay for 3 years. to be more precise, they specialise in kithcenware and dining stuff. just visited 2 days ago. btw, they are beside foodland.

sinkiesnotdumb

bro, u siao arh? no such things as work for free lah. i still not so mean lah. all my biz got local jagah liaoz but if you are keen, do pay a visit here and i see if can work something out.

if my junior ang moh staff can live on thb 20000 and got savings, and the locals who get less, can live sabai sabai, sgd 2.5k can really day day night night drunk.

Thank you boss for your reply, can I call you boss now first? Thank you very much for your invitation. I understand that you have local jagah now its ok, I can be your FT jagah la and I don't ask for much unlike FTs in singapore. I just checked my schedule, I will make a trip early April just before the Thai New Year because between now and then I need to travel to Taipei, Jakarta, Shanghai, Bangkok, Hong Kong and Shanghai again, I must accompany my FT Bangalore boss travel, carry his bags and help simple translation because other parties always have difficulties understanding his Inglish. Only early April I have a week's off days from all these travel.

No you may not call me boss as I am not one. Just an investor and shareholder here.

See that you have a job that take you too many places. This to me is very important, even more important than the salary cos' allow you to check out lobangs outside sinking land. Are you sure you want to quit this job?

Anyway, I am available here 365 days (as I decide not to return to SG for 2013).

Mae Sai is a border town. Like all border towns everywhere else in the world, it sees its fair share of immigrants.
However, in recent times, the number of immigrants have exploded to the point that it seems that there seems more of them than incumbent Thais.

In Mae Sai establishments such as clinics, post offices, stores etc. you will find dual-language signage. Thai and Burmese language.

Most of the immigrants are either Burmese or Tai Yai. Although Tai Yais hail from the Shan state in Myanmar, and so are technically Myanmarese, they are different and not only just in appearance. Different language, culture, food, clothing etc.

One way you can tell is by clothing. Burmese men wear a sarong-like cloth called the lungyi.

Burmese women put a yellow powdery substance called Thanaka (from the bark of a tree) on their faces to beat the heat. This is different from northern Thais and Tai Yai who merely use talc. Not my photo but this shows an example

A Tai Yai women in traditional dress. She is probably in town to make tamboon - they dress up to go to the wat as people used to do in the west to go to church.

Tai Yai male in traditional wat-going dress
AB8F8C1F-6BF3-44E3-BE4A-E81C38B51BFA-2588-0000044E518674E9.jpg

Burmese nuns

And how do they come from Tachilek. A common mode of transport is the Burmese tuk-tuk which is different than the Thai version. It is significantly bigger for one and uses a bigger bike. Thye smaller ones (as here) seat 12 and the larger ones seat up to 18. You can tell it's Burmese by the license plate as well.
Hehehe. Thanks roti for the rare Burmese pics.

Today was the original targeted opening of shop but look at this :p :

20130114_181806.jpg

you say can open or not?

Russian neighbor see we work so hard and offer us a plate of Russian smoked pork. Aroi but missing the chilli sauce.
20130113_171936.jpg

Went to spy on a bar near my shop.
20130114_195018.jpg

Finally, late dinner at my usual teochew porridge joint.
20130114_202241.jpg

20130114_202252.jpg

sinkiesnotdumb

Ok bro chonburifc.

Yes my job takes me to many places but then always behind my big ass Bangalore boss. He stay in 5 star hotels while I have to stay in motels and every morning go to his 5 star hotels at 6.30am to standby in case he need me. Every night got to pimp for him and make sure until he go to his room at don't know what time. 5 years is enough. So when I come across this thread I'm so happy and full of hope. I will come to see you late March or early April ok?

No you may not call me boss as I am not one. Just an investor and shareholder here.

See that you have a job that take you too many places. This to me is very important, even more important than the salary cos' allow you to check out lobangs outside sinking land. Are you sure you want to quit this job?

Anyway, I am available here 365 days (as I decide not to return to SG for 2013).

Russian neighbor see we work so hard and offer us a plate of Russian smoked pork. Aroi but missing the chilli sauce.
20130113_171936.jpg

Bro how about you try this I made last Thursday for our outing in Kanchanaburi over the weekend. This is specially made to go with the Corbon Bleu

null-2458.jpg

null-1575.jpg

null-1898.jpg

滷牛腱