• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

154th use old stats to con sinkies: Happiness Index

jim007jimmyboy

Singaporeans a happy lot
By Imelda Saad, Channel NewsAsia |
Posted: 24 August 2009

SINGAPORE: Singaporeans are generally a happy lot, especially when compared to people in countries such as China, Vietnam, Korea and Japan.

That's according to a 2006 study on the quality of life that covered seven East Asian economies.

Asked if they were happy, a whopping 70 per cent of Singaporeans said they were.

They ranked number one in the Happiness Index compared to people in other East Asian economies.

People in Vietnam were in second place, at 64 per cent, while the Japanese were third, at 54 per cent.

People in Taiwan were the least happy, with only some 30 per cent saying they were happy.

Happiness was measured according to respondents' perceptions of various areas such as standard of living, family life and their job.

76 per cent of Singaporeans were satisfied with their standard of living, up more than 20 percentage points compared to 10 years ago.

On family life, about 92 per cent expressed satisfaction compared to just about 80 per cent in 1996.

On the jobs front, about 70 per cent said they were satisfied with their jobs - up about 10 percentage points from 1996.

But as more Singaporeans are enjoying material comfort, they now want to see greater satisfaction in other intangible areas.

For example, Singaporeans rank the lowest when it comes to being satisfied with the right to criticise the government.

They are also at the bottom just before China, when it comes to being satisfied with the right to gather and demonstrate.

While Singaporeans are generally a happy lot, this survey was done in 2006, at a time when the world was very different.

Today, there is the onslaught of the global financial crisis and there have been some significant changes in the political landscape in Singapore.

[full report here]
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stori...000531/1/.html
==============================================

Latest 2009 is different!

base on this year July 2009 scoring for world happiness index singapore only score 48.2% out of 100%
Costa Rica is happiest country in the world with 76.1%

==================================================

Imelda do u like sucking old man lanjiao? Are u able to get him erected...do u know he will be dying this 7th MTH??

jim007jimmyboy

images

TeeKee

Singapore is an Unhappy Place
July 3rd, 2007

word-hpi.jpg

We all know how stressful it is to stay in Singapore.

There’s a website that does a study on a global scale the Happiness Index (HPI) of each country, and Singapore is ranked 131st out of 178 countries.

We’re in the ranks among Armenia and Slovakia, quite the developing oppressed countries

HPI =
Life satisfaction x Life expectancy
Ecological Footprint
Ecological footprint – Ecological footprint accounting measures the extent to which the ecological demand of human economies stays within or exceeds the capacity of the biosphere to supply goods and services.

Life satisfaction – Satisfaction with life overall, tends to be generally stable since it reflects a summary of ‘judgments about feelings’. Whilst on the individual level, day-to-day changes in happiness are of interest, at a policy level it is overall satisfaction that gives the best indication of how groups of people are faring. If a majority of people in a country report dissatisfaction with their lives, this seems to be a reasonable indication that something is awry, either with government policy, with society, or with both.

Life expectancy – Life expectancy at birth is an estimate based on the prevailing conditions in the country, and is calculated through large-scale data collection of mortality rates at different ages.

Tiny Vanuatu is the happiest country in the world, Vietnam the happiest in Asia while Singapore the unhappiest in Asia. And the secret of the country Vanuatu?

“People are generally happy here because they are very satisfied with very little, This is not a consumer-driven society. Life here is about community and family and goodwill to other people. It’s a place where you don’t worry too much. The only things we fear are cyclones or earthquakes”, said Mr Marke Lowen of Vanuatu Online

Study Link: Click Here
http://www.happyplanetindex.org/list.htm

Getloud

Just look at faces of the common people on the street, you will know whether people are happy or not.
Bloody kong jiao wei!!!

Blazars

Bullshit report!! If Sporean is so happy, then we all be bonking like rabbits and producing like pigs. No need for all the FTs shit anymore. I hope someone wil go tel this reporter to stop writing articles that was done in 2006. KNN!!
!&!!