• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

15 arrested for loansharking activities

PhilOakey

15 arrested for loansharking activities

20120413.153006_odpd.jpg

AsiaOne
Friday, Feb 22, 2013

SINGAPORE - Police arrested 13 men and 2 women on Thursday for suspected involvement in loansharking activities.

The suspects, aged between 24 and 53 years, are believed to have opened bank accounts and gave away their ATM cards and Personal Identification Numbers (PIN) to loansharks to facilitate the business of unlicensed moneylending.

Under the Moneylenders Act 2010 (Revised Edition), where a bank account or ATM card of any person is used to facilitate loansharking, that person is presumed to have assisted in the carrying on of the business of an unlicensed moneylender.

First-time offenders found guilty of assisting in the carrying on of the business of an unlicensed moneylender may be fined not less than $30,000 and not more than $300,000.

They also face a jail term of not more than 4 years and caning of not more than 6 strokes.

First-time offenders found guilty of acting on behalf of an unlicensed moneylender, committing or attempting to commit any acts of harassment shall be punished with imprisonment for a term not exceeding 5 years, a fine of not less than $5,000 and not more than $50,000, and shall also be liable to caning of not less than 3 and not more than 6 strokes.

[email protected]

Seems like our polis can only catch runners.Their power got limit:biggrin:

Agree.. This SPF fucktards are only capable of arresting the small fishes.. But when it comes to busting the asses of these syndicate leaders and their lieutenants, our Poodles are fuckin hopeless.. Every week you'll read the same old headlines 'Loanshark runners arrested'..

Fuckin hopeless Police Force that we have and yet they can brag on their fucked up so called achievement of reducing the Loanshark harassment cases in S'pore..

presssomemore

Is there no way to catch loanshark?

SPF can send under covers to act as borrowers. Trace phone communications and follow the money trail. I'm sure technology is there to do it. Sure, it's not easy to catch the head of heads but this way sure can catch alot of people and understand how loansharks work, and chance of uncovering the whole network.

Instead of curbing loansharks, we open a road for them by legalizing money lending biz.

Is there no way to catch loanshark?

SPF can send under covers to act as borrowers. Trace phone communications and follow the money trail. I'm sure technology is there to do it. Sure, it's not easy to catch the head of heads but this way sure can catch alot of people and understand how loansharks work, and chance of uncovering the whole network.

Instead of curbing loansharks, we open a road for them by legalizing money lending biz.

The SPF are just farkin hopeless and they can't be bothered to do all these as there are already many unsolved Ah Long case files in their office..

They'll just chuck aside the police reports of these victims and the IO would only advice the victims to be vigilant and promising them more police patrols.. Thats all.. They won't go thru so much work to bust these syndicates even though they have the technology and the means to do it...

In short the SPF just can't be bothered to help these victims of loansharks..

They'll only arrest those runners and tell the whole country that they are working hard to clamp down these bastard blood leeching syndicates..

Never ever put your faith and hope in our useless Poodles.. They won't give a damn on the sufferings of these victims of loan sharks..

hokkien

Bro presssomemore what I know is that their lines are begin divert few times using overseas network.Its quite hard to trace unless it got to do with the whites than it will be a different story liao:biggrin:

presssomemore

Yeah, I know phone communications is quite difficult to trace due to overseas diverting and unregistered mobile line. But the question is whether they got try or not. Further more, I'm very sure by following the money trail they should be able to yield something. Another words is "ai ga mai nia" right?

On a side note... I don't think debtors are victim of ah long. Because they jolie well know the terms and conditions when they borrow from ah long. They are the victims of society. Maybe they are addicted to gambling, maybe they cannot find jobs and no banks is willing to lend money. Who got money and in the right frame of mind will borrow from ah long? It's bo lor kia liao then look for ah long. If nobody borrow from ah long, who want to be ah long? Is it a surprise that pawn shop and money lending business start booming after the casinos open?

Bro presssomemore what I know is that their lines are begin divert few times using overseas network.Its quite hard to trace unless it got to do with the whites than it will be a different story liao:biggrin:

hokkien

Bro presssomemore as bro zeddy said the polis dont borther much bout it.Its a sad case really :biggrin: