• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The OTHER forum is HERE so please stop asking.

“We must give the PAP 48 %, wake them up!”

DannyBoyBoy

Alfrescian
Loyal
April 05, 2011 Tuesday, 06:23 AM

Chua Mui Hoong goes on a Workers' Party walkabout in Nee Soon GRC and talks to a supporter

I’VE been covering politics for 20 years, chalking up dozens of walkabouts by ministers, MPs and would-be MPs.

Yesterday, I wasn’t assigned to cover the Workers’ Party walkabout (that honour went to my colleague Zakir Hussain) but I gave up a Sunday morning anyway to trail behind the WP morning tour of Chong Pang market in Nee Soon GRC.

I like to linger on, after the party entourage has left, to talk to residents about their encounter with the MP or candidate.

One man I targeted was a man in his 50s, with a tanned, weather-beaten face. He was leaning on a rail, cradling in his arms a dog on a leash, as the WP group of about 30 walked past. He pumped a fist in the air and shouted in Mandarin: “Gong ren dang! Jia you!” (Workers’ Party! Keep it up!)

The WP team led by secretary-general Low Thia Khiang came by to shake hands. They left. I stayed, introduced myself as a reporter, and we talked.

Q: Why do you support the opposition?
“I support the WP. They are a responsible, mature party. I listen to them in Parliament. Low Thia Khiang and that Lin Rui Lian (Sylvia Lim) , they don’t talk nonsense.