• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Peesai: Highest Living Cost, Lowest Quality of Life, Highest Paid Ministers!

[h=2]Rebutting ST letter: Good quality of life need not come at high
cost of living
[/h]

dmca_protected_sml_120n.png

PostDateIcon.png
July 10th, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Ng Kok Lim

merlion-singapore201356132915-300x210.jpg
I refer to the 4 Feb 2013 Straits Times letter “High cost
of living comes with good quality of life” by Ms Tan Lin Neo [1].

Ms Tan found Singaporeans’ lament on high cost of living puzzling given the
hundreds and thousands who throng condominium show flats and travel
fairs. While hundreds and thousands may seem like large numbers, they are just
0.01% and 0.1% respectively of the Singapore population. The good life of the
0.01% or 0.1% should not be misconstrued as representing the good life of all
Singaporeans.

Ms Tan took issue with Singaporeans who complain about high HDB prices but
yet don’t mind selling their flats at high prices. But who in the first place
sold Singaporeans the asset enhancement drug that got Singaporeans hooked?

Ms Tan asserted that high cost of living comes with living in a First World
country with good quality of life while low cost of living means dirt roads,
poor housing and low quality amenities. But there are many countries and cities
that combine better quality life with lower cost of living.

For example, International Living’s 2011 Quality of Life Index listed 93 out
of 192 countries with better (or same) quality of life as Singapore but with
lower (or same) cost of living as Singapore.

CountryQuality of Life Final ScoreCost of Living (higher score means lower cost)
United States8676
New Zealand7669
Malta7668
Belgium7565
France7558
Monaco7547
Japan7461
United Kingdom7460
Austria7458
Germany7450
Portugal7372
Andorra7361
Australia7355
Italy7354
Netherlands7352
Hungary7279
Argentina7273
Slovenia7266
Norway7253
South Korea7176
Uruguay7167
Iceland7165
Spain7162
Greece7159
Ireland7151
Denmark7148
Poland7067
Czech Republic7064
Canada7061
Bulgaria6980
Estonia6976
Latvia6967
Finland6957
Sweden6949
Lithuania6870
Croatia6854
Mexico6777
Slovakia6770
Israel6756
Liechtenstein6750
Taiwan6675
Brazil6673
Antigua & Barbuda6580
Ecuador6578
Costa Rica6573
Romania6573
Bahamas6566
Cyprus (Greek)6561
Panama6478
Albania6475
Saint Kitts & Nevis6464
Barbados6457
Paraguay6384
Colombia6372
Jamaica6369
Chile6368
Cayman Islands6365
Mauritius6274
Serbia6270
Bolivia6188
Marshall Islands6186
Bosnia-Herzegovina6176
Dominica6174
Macedonia6170
Turkey6168
Tunisia6079
Dominican Republic6076
Botswana6076
Namibia6074
Ukraine6067
Morocco6064
South Africa6057
Trinidad & Tobago6055
Cuba5986
Lesotho5984
El Salvador5982
Malaysia5980
Guatemala5976
Belize5975
Moldova5973
Grenada5965
Macau5947
Kiribati5883
Thailand5877
Georgia5876
Bahrain5853
Bhutan5786
Suriname5778
Cape Verde5778
China5773
Tonga5772
Qatar5759
Singapore5747

<tbody>

</tbody>

The Economist Intelligence Unit listed 18 cities that are simultaneously
better than Singapore in the Best City ranking and less expensive than
Singapore. Its list
of top 50 most liveable cities also does not include Singapore.

CityEIU 2012 Best City rankEIU 2012 top 10 most expensive cities
Hong
Kong
1#N/A
Amsterdam2#N/A
Osaka3#N/A
Paris46
Sydney57
Stockholm6#N/A
Berlin7#N/A
Toronto8#N/A
Munich9#N/A
Tokyo102
Rome11#N/A
London12#N/A
Madrid13#N/A
Washington DC14#N/A
Chicago15#N/A
New
York
16#N/A
Los Angeles17#N/A
San Francisco18#N/A
Boston19#N/A
Seoul20#N/A
Atlanta21#N/A
Singapore229

<tbody>

</tbody>

Mercer’s 2012 Quality of Living index and Cost of Living Index together show
23 cities that have simultaneously better quality of living and lower (or same)
cost of living than Singapore.

CityMercer quality of living 2012 rankMercer cost of living 2012 rank (higher ranked means more costly)
Vienna148
Zurich26
Auckland3#N/A
Munich4#N/A
Vancouver5#N/A
Düsseldorf6#N/A
Frankfurt7#N/A
Geneva85
Copenhagen921
Bern1014
Sydney1011
Amsterdam12#N/A
Wellington13#N/A
Ottawa14#N/A
Toronto15#N/A
Berlin16#N/A
Hamburg17#N/A
Melbourne1715
Luxembourg19#N/A
Stockholm1946
Perth2119
Brussels22#N/A
Montreal23#N/A
Nurnberg24#N/A
Singapore256

<tbody>

</tbody>

Finally, the UBS Prices and Earnings report 2011 also listed Singapore
amongst the priciest of First World cities.

CityPrice level excluding rentCityPrice level including rent
Oslo139.1Oslo108.9
Zurich135Geneva106.5
Geneva133.1Zurich105.5
Copenhagen118.4New York100
Stockholm117.5Tokyo94.2
Tokyo112.6Copenhagen89.4
Sydney107.7Sydney89.1
Helsinki103.5Stockholm88.5
Toronto102.8Singapore88.3
Singapore102.4Paris82.8
Vienna102London82.5
Paris100.9Toronto82.1
Luxembourg100.1Helsinki81.5
New York100Dublin78.8
London99.8Montreal77.6
Munich99.7Luxembourg77.1
Montreal99.4Hong Kong76.5
Frankfurt98Frankfurt76.3
Dublin95.7Vienna75.2
Brussels93.3Munich75
Rome92.8Brussels74.5
Lyon92.2Rome74.4
Auckland91.7Auckland73
Barcelona90.9Los Angeles72.7
Amsterdam88.2Chicago72.3
Los Angeles88.1Barcelona71.1
Madrid88.1Miami69.2
Tel Aviv87.6Milan68.9
Berlin87.5Madrid68.7
Milan84.5Amsterdam68.4
Seoul84.5Seoul68.4
Hong Kong82.3Lyon67.2
Chicago82.3Tel Aviv66.5
Athens80.1Berlin64.6
Lisbon79.9Lisbon62.4
Miami78.8Athens60.1
Taipei73.2Taipei57.3

<tbody>

</tbody>

So this is the reality reflected in many international surveys: that there
are many cities and countries that have simultaneously better quality of living
and lower cost of living than Singapore. It is a truth larger than the one
advocated by Ms Tan which Ms Tan claimed to be the entirety. Singaporeans don’t
need the government to fulfil every whim and desire, only to face up with
reality entirely and responsibly.

Thank you

Ng Kok Lim

[1] Straits Times, High cost of living comes with good quality of life, 4 Feb
2013, Tan Lin Neo (Miss)

MANY Singaporeans lament the high cost of living here.
I find this rather
puzzling.
At almost every condominium launch, there would be hundreds of
Singaporeans thronging the showflats. This is so even after the recent round of
property cooling measures.
And at travel fairs, there are thousands of
Singaporeans thronging the booths and snapping up travel deals, with some
bookings sold out months ahead.
It seems that Singaporeans often complain
about the high cost of an HDB flat.
And yet, when they sell their flats and
pocket hundreds of thousands of dollars in gains and cash over valuation, they
do not mind the high prices.
Would Singaporeans prefer to buy HDB flats at a
low cost, and subsequently sell them at low prices?
Many seem to fail to
recognise that the high cost of living comes with living in a First World
country with a good quality of life.
Visitors to a country with a low cost of
living will find that it comes with poorly made dirt roads, poor housing
standards and low-quality amenities.
I urge my fellow Singaporeans to see
things in their entirety.
The Government has made the effort to listen and to
accommodate the wants of Singaporeans.
Singaporeans should not see the
Government as existing to fulfil our every whim and desire.
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

Rating:
+26 (from 26 votes)

Anecdotal evidence seems to suggest that the cost of living has skyrocketed within the last 5-6 years. The increased population definitely contributed to the problem, but I suspect there are other factors at play. Too much credit is sloshing about in the economy.

escher

The ranking of cost of living showed clearly how smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY got his hundreds of billions into his Stinkapore sovereign funds

SINKIES ARE SCREWED AND FUCKED OF THOSE HUNDREDS OF BILLIONS VIA MUCH HIGHER COST OF LIVING SO THAT SMEAR OF SHIT ON SOLE OF SHOE AND PAP MAGGOTS COCKROACHES CAN LAUGH ALL THE WAY TO THEIR FUCKING BANKS WITH THE RUNNING DOGS BARKING ALONGSIDE OF THEM

VOTE THEM ALL OUT OUT OUT IN 2016

" But who in the first place sold Singaporeans the asset enhancement drug that got Singaporeans hooked?"

the answer we all know the "peanuts" husband aka Woody now known as Amir Rattus...hmmm!! still collecting fat salary..but 60% love it, what to do??

"assets enhancement"...your 99,999.99 flat now sells for 999,999.99 but you buy a new condo it cost you 1,000,000.00 , "more good years"...he is living it, not you & "Swiss Standard Of Living" his again, whereas yours is a 1st world country but below 3rd world living at worse...( you give your jobs away forcibly).

Equalisation

" But who in the first place sold Singaporeans the asset enhancement drug that got Singaporeans hooked?"

the answer we all know the "peanuts" husband aka Woody now known as Amir Rattus...hmmm!! still collecting fat salary..but 60% love it, what to do??

"assets enhancement"...your 99,999.99 flat now sells for 999,999.99 but you buy a new condo it cost you 1,000,000.00 , "more good years"...he is living it, not you & "Swiss Standard Of Living" his again, whereas yours is a 1st world country but below 3rd world living at worse...( you give your jobs away forcibly).

And to add salt to the wound, they stopped giving us back OUR har-earned CPF at age 55.:mad:

Dark Knight

All these screwed up was caused by our woody wood pecker GCT.
No thanks to his incompetency in running Sillypore as a local family owned company.

greenies

Wonderful analysis with pool of data/ facts worldwide.
They look very fair and extensive... not seem to be selective approach.
Thank you.