• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Income opportunity for sinkies] Cleaner crisis at Bukit Merah View Hawker Center!

Hawker centre has only two cleaners, stall owners upset

by Lianhe Wanbao
- 19 June 2012 6:17 PM | Updated 6:36 PM

pc_600x450.jpg

Vendors at a hawker centre located at block 115 in Bukit Merah View are upset that for the past few days, their contractor has only sent two cleaners to help clear dishes and clean tables.

And it’s not a small hawker centre. There are 84 stalls.

To make matters worse – stall owners say sometimes there are no cleaners at all.

Pang Xiu Zhen, 72, the owner of a vegetable-rice food stall, said that she has no choice but to clear and clean the tables on her own.

According to 10 vendors interviewed three weeks ago - 13 cleaners, who held student passes and visas, were arrested for working without valid permits recently.

The two cleaners assigned to the hawker centre, said they were sent by their company as a temporary solution.

When contacted, Tan De, the chairman of the Bukit Merah View Shop Vendor Union, confirmed that there is problem with the contractor.

He said that the contractor told him he could not find more cleaners.

“The contract with the contractor has not expired. We are unable to find temporary staff as many locals are not willing to do this job,” Mr Tan said.

Source: Lianhe Wanbao, 18 June 2012.

Re: [Income opportunity for sinkies] Cleaner crisis at Bukit Merah View Hawker Center

The cracks of the low labour cost economic model are showing.

How long can singapore go on like this? Very soon we have to train monkeys to clean up after us.

Re: [Income opportunity for sinkies] Cleaner crisis at Bukit Merah View Hawker Center

They renovated the place?
The fish ball noodles with its home made fidu cake is damn tokong

When you pay shit wages, and wants workers to work shit hours, expect nothing more than a shit response to your shitty recruitment ads.

Input shit = output shit.

What goes around comes around.

That law of attraction.

wMulew

The cracks of the low labour cost economic model are showing.

How long can singapore go on like this? Very soon we have to train monkeys to clean up after us.

U want to eat $10 chicken rice and bak tuk teh at Kopitiam? That's the kind of price we'll be seeing if we go the alternative

Employers who over-relied on cheap foreigners finally meet their days. Hope to see more of such SME flushing into the drain. This will teach them the meaning of innovations and productivity.

What is wrong with the hawkers themselves clear up the utensils and wash themselves. First can save money and personally I think more clean and less risk of utensils go missing. If 15 years ago can then why now cannot.

wMulew

What is wrong with the hawkers themselves clear up the utensils and wash themselves. First can save money and personally I think more clean and less risk of utensils go missing. If 15 years ago can then now cannot.

15 years ago they hire helpers. Now the boss bao ka liao. It's called Productivity. Less pple same earnings. U want more productivity and less FTs that's the way to do it. Same number of pple overworked to do job but still same salary

U want to eat $10 chicken rice and bak tuk teh at Kopitiam? That's the kind of price we'll be seeing if we go the alternative

Limit the profits of the rent-seeking bloodsucking landlords (you know who those fuckers are), and the cost will not be passed onto consumers. Problem solved.

The argument that 'higher wages drive prices up' is a highly repugnant and invalid point. A labour movement that is heavily skewed towards employers will result in a corporate fascist state that exploits workers... what you are seeing now.

15 years ago they hire helpers. Now the boss bao ka liao. It's called Productivity. Less pple same earnings. U want more productivity and less FTs that's the way to do it. Same number of pple overworked to do job but still same salary

I think u got the wrong way round. It because the boss now lazy and workers unwilling to do more. In the past, hawkers were pop n mom operation. One cook one served plus clear dishes. Now one stall can squeezed 4-5 ppl inside yet still must self service. Productivity my arse!!

No need to tell how hard a hawker work as I had experienced as a hawker helper at a tender age of 10 years old. Compare then to now, current hawkers productivity are much lower.

Agree wholeheartedly.
Stupid sinkies always see queue at hawker stalls then that means that stall must be good and join the queue.
Knn it's the hawker service slow lah Goondu!

I think u got the wrong way round. It because the boss now lazy and workers unwilling to do more. In the past, hawkers were pop n mom operation. One cook one served plus clear dishes. Now one stall can squeezed 4-5 ppl inside yet still must self service. Productivity my arse!!

No need to tell how hard a hawker work as I had experienced as a hawker helper at a tender age of 10 years old. Compare then to now, current hawkers productivity are much lower.

If you want to witness slow service at a hawker stall, go to:

Stall.jpg

Chinatown Complex hawker centre 02-023 (closed on Mon and Tue)

Deliberately slow to form a long queue? Or is the ah pek a bak chor mee perfectionist? You decide.

soIsee

Agree wholeheartedly.
Stupid sinkies always see queue at hawker stalls then that means that stall must be good and join the queue.
Knn it's the hawker service slow lah Goondu!

If you claim yourself as so smart then may I ask you a question in return?

If those Sinkie are not stupid, would they still be queuing and eating at hawker centers?

They would just be 'striking a pose' and have a picture taken eating at hawker centers, to be used to show that they can be 'in touch' with the common man, wouldn't they?:biggrin:

There's a very good yong tau hoo in this HC. Soup very spicy type. But i prefer to eat the teochew porridge in the front kopi tiam. Cheap and good.

Heshe

Don't need to 'make noises' - this is the EXPECTED and ANTICIPATED OUTCOMES of good leadership and good corp govrnance of the PAP's INCLUSIVE society drive...

Sit BACK and RELAX - inclusive society IS THE PAP Desired WAR-CRY TEMPLATE OK!!! DONT PRAY PRAY ah boys...

Ants Diue You C hawker center sells chee kang rice for $1.99 what!, somemore got famous chef to over see budgteing & cooking & sourcing &....someday all food will be $1.99

Thank you Ants Dieu U C!:biggrin:

Once again, dumb sinkies like you use rising costs as a threat whenever your bangla wants a pay rise.

Think out of the box for once can?

Can sinkies use technology instead of relying on cheap labour? Can the hawker center encourage self service instead of relying on cleaners?

Fucking no imagination and no problem solving abilities. If the world is full of people like you, we would still be living contentedly in caves.

wMulew

Once again, dumb sinkies like you use rising costs as a threat whenever your bangla wants a pay rise.

Can sinkies use technology instead of relying on cheap labour? Can the hawker center encourage self service instead of relying on cleaners?

Fucking no imagination and no problem solving abilities. If the world is full of people like you, we would still be living contentedly in caves.

The technology to collect plates and then wash the dishes themselves haven't been invented yet. Same goes for the machine that can automatically clean then entire hawker centre. If they were, we would not need FTs

the white scums dun squeeze so much rental the problem can solve liao.....but then that is machiam telling dracula not so suck blood.

wMulew

the white scums dun squeeze so much rental the problem can solve liao.....but then that is machiam telling dracula not so suck blood.

How much rental do U think they are paying. The average rental unless its from Kopititam and food court which are private controlled is only about 2K. The government needs the money to pay civil servants to pay for more welfare that you idiots keep demanding. Where do you think the money that runs the country comes from. Drop from the sky?