• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Funds Transfer

Agree bro. The writing is already on the wall. Singapore will be comfortable if you are truly rich. Many Singaporeans are stressed on the job. They worry about making mistakes and breaking their rice bowl in the process,..why?..cos they have a huge car and house to pay and worse if got some medical problem, there goes the savings. Such self preservation makes people more and more selfish and even willing to compromise ethics/values for money. This is also partly the reason why our tolerance level for foreigners working in Singapore is getting lower and lower. I think the government should take a look at our group's statistics...number of Singaporeans who own houses in JB. I can bet my last dollar it has been rising consistenly over the years and is directly correlated to the number of FTs they bring in. The more they make us feel being Singaporeans is nothing special in Singapore, the more Singaporeans want to look elsewhere to call home.

cheers.

The missing link is always the lack of a hinterland in Singapore - as always reminded by Bro Wuji.

All these FTs, even if they sustained the same pressures, costs, punishments, etc, they can retire back to their homelands and enjoying either the benefits or the low prices that come with their economies.

My Canadian friend worked here and would be very happy to be looked after properly back home.
My Indian colleague are buying properties and land back home; taking advantage of the Rupees' plunge over the past months.

In short, let us make the best of opportunities available and seize them when it becomes available!

Paying $800K for a HDB flat or $1,300 psf for Punggol condo may not give the best returns on the face of the earth presently. We need to look further.

jasonjst

wait till your kids grow a bit older.. start to take adult portions.. and during this stage, they may eat even more than normal.
even myself find the usual stuff not enough. need add extra noodle, or upsize (if its priced like $3, $4, $5).
nowadays i budget up to $20 per hawker center meal. 2 adults, 2 kids.
also stop getting drinks from the stalls.. own water bottle. cheapo, but also healthier. :smile:

Bro , 3 meal means 60 bucks a day or 1,800/= a month , eating hawker food ? Plus your petrol and parking , another 200 bucks .

greddy88

Bro , 3 meal means 60 bucks a day or 1,800/= a month , eating hawker food ? Plus your petrol and parking , another 200 bucks .

aiyo.. not everyday eat outside lah.. like that pok leow lah.. only about 5 meals a week we eat hawker.. usually when we send the kids to their enrichment classes

arsenal

Last few years we saw so many old hakwer centers went for upgrading, many times nobody really want any upgrading to take place.. The end result is always a sharp increase of rental fee after upgrade.. Usually we don't see the store getting better or place become more windy.. It is just a good excuse to up the rental cost.. Only this year then we heard they are building up new hawker centers.. In the first place they shouldn't even commercialised the hawker stalls.. Is it because they have vested interests? To match hawker rentals to match those in food courts..which were primarily owned by GLC..

In Singapore, due to land scarcity I guess, everything related to cars are heavily regulated. Lost count the number of times being summoned for parking at my HDB service road to unload grocery and bring up my sleeping child on a stroller.

When in Australia and Malaysia, the feeling of being able to park without any car park attendants on the prowl is really refreshing. So what if I need to give 'kopi money' along the highways. Definitely less than the fines and road taxes levied on me every year.

DREAMorACTION

Okay, back from being a tour guide. It was a rushed day but an enjoyable one, nonetheless.

Brought them to HH, NI and taman laguna. It was totally an eye opener to them about the space and quality of houses in JB and how advanced the town has become. The last time they stepped into JB was about a good 8 to 9 years ago, and that was only a quick stopover at city square. They were impressed on all these hidden and high class tamans outside city center, which they had never ever imagined they existed.

Taman laguna
A quick update. Found out that several building specs were actually upgraded, as compared to what was shown in the brochure I shared earlier. Don't know how I missed out these details, maybe i was overwhelmed with info. Examples of the upgrades are:
1) the a/c points have been increased to all bedrooms, instead of the original 1 point
2) the heater points will be available in all bathrooms, instead of the original 1 point. (bro wuqi, FYI, all a/c and heater points come with the switch with red light, just like what u have pointed out earlier)
3) the wall tiles for bathroom and kitchen will be up to ceiling height, instead of the original 7' height
4) additional tile skirting throughout the house
5) a few more minor ones - cant remember all

They have actually released the last few rows of houses for this phase 3 and the price has increased to a minimum of $638k. Still quite a number of visitors today. Like bro funds transfer has pointed out, the foreign quota is full. But there will be a last phase 4 to be launched maybe around mid-year. It will comprise terrace houses of 28 x 90 (built-up about 3200 sq ft), and semi-d (built-up over 4000 sq ft). There will be a lot more foreign quota for this last phase and the registration list (especially by singaporean) is substantially long already ... The whole taman will be fully developed after this phase 4, and there will be no land left by nusa utama. I asked if they will develop any other part of JB. They said no and most likely they will concentrate in selangor again, where their firm was initially set up.

Btw, my cousin and her husband have already hinted to me that they will be a regular guest at my house (and that haven't included the 2 kids they have!).... I just smiled and said ok, and told them when it's time for house warming, they can send the furnitures to furnish a room, and they can stay comfortably on the furnitures they have chosen :p ... Planting seeds ahead, see if they will sponsor :p heheheheh

They also had a wonderful time at jusco indah. They bought tons and tons of shoppings and I was being blamed for their overspending! haha .... They chalked up a total bill of about RM1200, just on shopping. I never got their indication if they will venture into JB houses just yet, but they vouched that they will be back for more shopping, and they found it extremely easy to get to indah from 2nd link. To sweeten it all, I kept bragging about jusco tebrau and they are dieing to go there, and asked if I would bring them there next week. Told them Will play it by ear and arrange again :smile:

All in all, it was a good day and everyone was happy :smile: i'm really glad that it turned out well and they enjoyed the experience. Hopefully thru the words of their mouths, it will break the barriers of my old folks sooner! :smile:

Exhausted now. Time to shower and hit the bed. god bless you all. Good night.

Funds Transfer

Last few years we saw so many old hakwer centers went for upgrading, many times nobody really want any upgrading to take place.. The end result is always a sharp increase of rental fee after upgrade.. Usually we don't see the store getting better or place become more windy.. It is just a good excuse to up the rental cost.. Only this year then we heard they are building up new hawker centers.. In the first place they shouldn't even commercialised the hawker stalls.. Is it because they have vested interests? To match hawker rentals to match those in food courts..which were primarily owned by GLC..

It is a vicious cycle.

Rental gives income to landlords.
Landlords are either corporations or REIT owners.
Corporations and REIT owners are mostly Government.

Policy setters are Government.

Go figure. :confused:

Property prices cannot soften too much or the whole house of cards will fall. So in that sense, maybe it is good for us who have properties in Singapore.

Funds Transfer

At this rate, quite irrelevant if we look at Vivian Balakrishnan's comment on whether one wants 3 meals in a hawker centre, food court or restaurant.

avalon74

It is a vicious cycle.
Rental gives income to landlords.
Landlords are either corporations or REIT owners.
Corporations and REIT owners are mostly Government.
Policy setters are Government.

Go figure. :confused:

Property prices cannot soften too much or the whole house of cards will fall. So in that sense, maybe it is good for us who have properties in Singapore.

Just back from Sembawang Shopping Centre.. quite a lot of shops closed & most likely due to high rental prices..
shops closed includes NewYork x2, MOF, Challenger, Dano, Cotton On, Eu Yen Sang, Food Court & many other shops...
Hope Capital Mall will keep rental prices reasonable as I do not see changes as much in Sun Plaza, NorthPoint & Causeway point.. (former under Koh Bros & latter under Frasers)

streams

Hi Wuqi,

nice to meet you too :smile:

I purchased this ppty on my own. My friends bought places in HH and Bukit Indah.
It will be nice if i really do know your friend but i don't think so. Not now anyway...(:

Perhaps one day I'll. Afterall, it is always important to lookout for each other.

Have a good day!

crystal_tiong

Doa

Popular book store no discount for Id magazine n can't find Eric LEONG book too. Didn't buy any as I was able to flip thru all , no designs caught my eyes. Later Watch channel u at 1130pm. Something abt sg investment.

crystal_tiong

This morning got another summon from Certis Cisco.. Too much traffic in parkway area, kid is late for lesson.. so I pulled my car at the side, bring my kid across the 2 lane road.. When I turned around, I saw a china national parking attendant already issued a summon.. Obviously see saw me cross the road with my kid... Last month I also have a $200 fine and 12 demerit points.. I agreed I parked illegally temporarily but I always made sure I won't cause any inconvenience to anyone.. And this time, I guessed it is less than a minute... I felt very sick.. Driving a car in Singapore is like a walking ATM.. The china national officer obviously don't care and understand..

Wow ,

Didnt Know u r married with kids!

crystal_tiong

Hi avelc,

Happened to be at the Matta Fair today too. Entrance fee is RM3 per person. Was eyeing M'sia tours mainly cos this year travel budget much lower. Can book tours to Desaru, Melaka, Kuantan, islands off Mersing, KL hotels, they also have some time share scheme there but not interested.

Legoland was also promoting their annual passes there. RM195 (usual RM275) for adult, RM150 for children aged 3-11. Legoland expect to open in Oct this year and the pass can allow unlimited entry until end of 2013. According to them a day pass will cost RM140, so the annual pass will be worth it if you intend to go in at least twice in those 15 months. This pass is transferable until your first entry when they will give you a card tagged to your name and face.

There will also be a property and home fair at KSL City Mall from 16 - 18 March for those who are still looking. KSL are showcasing some of their devt now - D'Esplanade, Bestari Heights, Kempas Heights.

I though usually this type of fair , Singaporeans can't buy? My friend staying in jb told me so. Thats y she travel bk to sg to take plane to US.

contra

Wuqi

Ok and noted wat u said. Thanks

Btw, anyone knows which interior design book is gd n famous in Msia? Needs to start buying n know more designs n space to be maximized. Tks.

I wish to use ID but have heard disappointing stories of JB ID firms. Thus like many here, I will probably DIY over some time.

Have you noticed that one of the seduction of show houses is that they are air conditioned, so can easily ID with heavy curtains, ac, thick inviting bed covers etc. Making it look very nice. Like in ang moh country. I often go to EL terrace showhouse & Ikea for inspiration. BUT careful of the practicalities because our hot climate normally makes ceiling fan & lighter furnishings most optimal instead of showrooms and ikea brochures, really..

But I do buy magazines of the "Impiana" series, "Laman", "Dapur" for inspiration. Can find them in any magazine shop in Malaysia. Heck cares if cant read Malay. Pictures are nice.

The best however are the "Haven" magazine that are issued free every quarter with the Edge Malaysia. They are in English. I like it because they showcase Malaysian houses (terrace, condo, semi-d) with contemporary ID. You see ceiling fans etc, ie real and can relate to it. Where to get them? Would you believe it, your local library? I go to Marine Parade Library magazine section. Can colour photocopy too...

crystal_tiong

I wish to use ID but have heard disappointing stories of JB ID firms. Thus like many here, I will probably DIY over some time.

Have you noticed that one of the seduction of show houses is that they are air conditioned, so can easily ID with heavy curtains, ac, thick inviting bed covers etc. Making it look very nice. Like in ang moh country. I often go to EL terrace showhouse & Ikea for inspiration. BUT careful of the practicalities because our hot climate normally makes ceiling fan & lighter furnishings most optimal instead of showrooms and ikea brochures, really..

But I do buy magazines of the "Impiana" series, "Laman", "Dapur" for inspiration. Can find them in any magazine shop in Malaysia. Heck cares if cant read Malay. Pictures are nice.

The best however are the "Haven" magazine that are issued free every quarter with the Edge Malaysia. They are in English. I like it because they showcase Malaysian houses (terrace, condo, semi-d) with contemporary ID. You see ceiling fans etc, ie real and can relate to it. Where to get them? Would you believe it, your local library? I go to Marine Parade Library magazine section. Can colour photocopy too...

Wow , thanks for sharing, will Go library see see.

Status
Not open for further replies.