• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Never been to USA, never had the need or inclination, so I wont comment but I have heard the stories.
I carry a Malaysian passport and only in Europe, did I ever get questions... but thats Europe for you.
Friends from Indian or China or MidEast passport, have a far far higher chances of getting asked.

Personally, I dont have any issues with officers asking to see a return ticket or letter of invitation, etc.
They are well within their rights to do so and if it takes a couple of minutes longer, so be it.
I dont think they want to do it for the sake of doing it but I am certain that profiling is part and parcel of their job description.

Concluding, I can safely say Spore passport is still the Asian gold standard for international travelers, high up therer with Japan, USA, most Western Europeans...

Thanks on the info on CPF for West Malaysians, good to know.

That's why even though you lived in SG and worked in SG, you still see things from a different perspective simply because you are behind a glass partition in a way. Just like myself, I see things differently from some of the locals here which was why I was encouraging my friends to buy properties here back when everyone thinks this was bad.

As a foreigner here, I will always do y best to understand and know to respect their comments as they are entitled to complain about their own country, I won't keep telling them how lucky they are if they are clearly in a bad shape. It's like telling a roasted chicken or duck, but, you are still luckier than a pheasant which is best eaten only when it's starteing to decompose, with it's neck just snapping after being strung.

Going to a holiday camp is very different from those who had to go for field camp. End of the day, only those who carry the SG passport will know, regardless where you went to, your passport was never red, hence you will never experience it for yourself,

maxpark

You forgot to mention also those who came out here to avoid the high cost, etc. not everyone who came out here is an investor or have the means to invest. Many and I can say many as they PMed me asking for help to get lowest rental and how to buy with the little that they have. In the end 2 families shared to buy 1 terrace here.
Thanks for paying your dues too, I know some will ask you did you do NS but I won't as quite a few don't even have the decency to work and pay back their bonds. Absconding and what can we do about it? International extradition treaty for those who break their bonds? Bro Maxpark, everyone needs to count the blessings that their country gives them, not only Singaporeans. Only those who cared and sacrificed the most knows the deepest depths of disappointments.

Yes, let us praise.
Praise them who helped to make life of those poor and middle classed miserable, who ignored the plights of the people and made them leave their own country to seek the shelter of another. Really must be thankful as the tough love they gave only made us stronger.

We must thank them when we break the bread here because at least we still get to eat bread instead of having to pick cans and bottles to survive in SG.

Someone even posted in this forum to show them beggars and those who are homeless,etc in SG. Yes indeed there are no poor in SG, all those meals on wheels charity stuff is fake. Only middle class and rich appears to inhabit Singapore.

We need to take care of our parents regardless of how they treated us.

Bro, there is no Utopia on earth, no country is perfect... at least, so far I have seen.
Singapore has, in two generations, lifted it's people from 3rd to 2nd to 1st world status, so that has to count for something.
Inevitably, some will fall behind, some will surge upwards, some like me isn't going nowhere fast but perfectly contented.
Some will be more capable, some smarter, some dumber, some more cunning, some totally lost - thats life, it takes all kinds to make this our world.
Nobody owes us a living, that is also a real fact of life but to say that the "parents" (I guess you mean Spore Govt of the day) has ill-treated us(?), is putting it a bit far.
I think there is a lot to be said about PAP and some of its policies but as a Malaysian, I would still take most of its policies over most (not all) of Malaysia's any time of the day.

maxpark

That's why even though you lived in SG and worked in SG, you still see things from a different perspective simply because you are behind a glass partition in a way. Just like myself, I see things differently from some of the locals here which was why I was encouraging my friends to buy properties here back when everyone thinks this was bad.

As a foreigner here, I will always do y best to understand and know to respect their comments as they are entitled to complain about their own country, I won't keep telling them how lucky they are if they are clearly in a bad shape. It's like telling a roasted chicken or duck, but, you are still luckier than a pheasant which is best eaten only when it's starteing to decompose, with it's neck just snapping after being strung.

Going to a holiday camp is very different from those who had to go for field camp. End of the day, only those who carry the SG passport will know, regardless where you went to, your passport was never red, hence you will never experience it for yourself,

OK if you really feel so, then I guess you feel so.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
I have respect for my our finance minister mr Tharma..
However when he said $S1k income is sufficient to buy HDB in Singapore.. I am thinking what happen to him? Don't need to eat, pay water, electricity and transport meh? A bunch of idiots talking and acting in parliament...
People want to tell the world bad things so that they can do sometime about it.. How can they everything paint such a picture as if telling the story of emperor without clothes? The Orr Sim Dr Susan Lim just sold her sentosa house for record $36m.. How these crooke make so much dead people money and I really don't understand... It also show no one will find money enough... So to pay govt till they won't corrupt is something not practical. It just make them talking more cocks and pretending everything is good so they have time to make more money for whom? If not because of social media, they are still enjoying their pensions and drawing million pay and bonus..

Politicians have to survive while scoring points. If they project just the truth, how do they justify staying up there and drawing the salaries? For a competent minister, really no amount of money is good enough but few realized that it's not about the money when you are in public service. Serving the people has been something quite lost now.

The sheepdogs and shepherds never realized that it is because of the sheep that they have their jobs. Their jobs are to take care of the sheep and not just to keep complaining every time a sheep makes some noise. A quiet sheep is either a dead sheep or a sheep that has given up and gone away.

maxpark

You forgot to mention also those who came out here to avoid the high cost, etc. not everyone who came out here is an investor or have the means to invest. Many and I can say many as they PMed me asking for help to get lowest rental and how to buy with the little that they have. In the end 2 families shared to buy 1 terrace here.

Thanks for paying your dues too, I know some will ask you, did you do NS but I won't as quite a few don't even have the decency to work and pay back their bonds after getting free scholarship. Absconding and what can we do about it? International extradition treaty for those who break their bonds? Bro Maxpark, everyone needs to count the blessings that their country gives them, not only Singaporeans. Only those who cared and sacrificed the most knows the deepest depths of disappointments.

Yes, let us praise.
Praise them who helped to make life of those poor and middle classed miserable, who ignored the plights of the people and made them leave their own country to seek the shelter of another. Really must be thankful as the tough love they gave only made us stronger.

We must thank them when we break the bread here because at least we still get to eat bread instead of having to pick cans and bottles to survive in SG.

Someone even posted in this forum to show them beggars and those who are homeless,etc in SG. Yes indeed there are no poor in SG, all those meals on wheels charity stuff is fake. Only middle class and rich appears to inhabit Singapore. Everyone should be grateful. All hail.

Hmmm... relax bro.
What is this question about NS?
What bond?
Save the hail mary sarcasms, I'm beginning to feel this forum is becoming a Singaporean bashing place for PAP or those who think Singapore is still a decent place to live in or anyone who deigns to think JB is anything less than perfect!
Jeezzz...

maxpark

We are talking facts here unless you were travelling with a SG passport which you already said you were not so how would you know?

My wife is Singaporean, my in-laws are all Singaporeans, my colleagues are 70% Singaporeans.
We travel extensively together.
Nevermind, I will certainly never 100% know how a Singaporean feels as I dont have those damn red papers, that is a fact, my bad.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi Ginfreely,

There is one but expensive, its AAC +60735 71725
I will PM you and Arsenal about the other one.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hmmm... relax bro.
What is this question about NS?
What bond?
Save the hail mary sarcasms, I'm beginning to feel this forum is becoming a Singaporean bashing place for PAP or those who think Singapore is still a decent place to live in or anyone who deigns to think JB is anything less than perfect!
Jeezzz...

Peace.

You are well entitled to your views but please don't begrudge others when they air views about their own country, it's just putting things into perspective as you said Singaporeans are lucky to be able to invest and i said not all who came are here to invest. I already said you paid your monetary dues and unlike many who did nothing to give back, you did.

I didn't start this at all, just to put things into perspective from a SG point of view.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
My wife is Singaporean, my in-laws are all Singaporeans, my colleagues are 70% Singaporeans.
We travel extensively together.
Nevermind, I will certainly never 100% know how a Singaporean feels as I dont have those damn red papers, that is a fact, my bad.

Peace.
Of course then you will know right? So you should have said that from the start, it is my bad then. Apologies.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Cleaners for Bukit Indah area:

+6019 750 1255 Matthew

+60127270103 Joanne
+60177760385
+60167101111

For HH
+60162754261

Some numbers may have changed overtime by the time folks get this, so do call and check early first.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Awning

+60127 829532 Ah Chong (wooden blinds too)

+60197780911

Please note that each number represents a different firm.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Sharing school bus information as well since someone was asking earlier:

School Bus services to SG
+60167172077

Another firm:
http://centurybus.com.my/htm/aboutus.html

CENTURY BUS SERVICE SDN BHD
No. 66, Jalan Harimau, Century Garden,
80250 Johor Bahru, Johor,
Malaysia.

Mobile: +65-9396 8459, +6012-787 2852, +6016-717 6332 (Mr Lee)
+6019-714 1516 (Ms Susan)

edragon

Hi Bro Wuqi,

Do you have any contacts for glass contractors or shops for tempered glass shower partitions/doors and frosted glass partitions/clear mirrors?
Thanks.

DREAMorACTION

Ok. Just managed to check out edl and permas jaya second bridge. Edl is not opened at all, even thought they announced in the media on 25 feb that it'll be opened on 1 mar 12.

Second bridge is in operation, although the workmen is doing the finishing work/final touch up/clearing work and occupied one of the lanes. Nevertheless, the traffic Was smooth as silk :smile:

Status
Not open for further replies.