• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I don't understand the animosity against FTs in this forum.

Ash007

Maybe I've been out of the country for too long. But I never quite figured out the animosity against, Filipinos, PRCs, Indians in this forum. This occurred to me when I have to ring up my medical insurance for some assistance. After the problem was resolved, the caller asked if I was Korean, I mentioned no, I was Chinese. I asked if she was, she replied she was Filipino, I tend said "Kumusta ka na", and she began laughing out loud and said there are just so many asians here and how I know that. I said I have korean and Filipino friends and learned a little. Everything was very jovial and I could continue the conversation if I need to. Too bad I'm married I suppose. Are things really that bad in Singapore that most people can't seem to live harmoniously with these FTs? My company has migrants from all over the world, Indians, PRCs, Filipinos, Vietnamese, Americans, Koreans, Japanese. Is it purely the "quality" of the FTs Singapore is getting?

Ash007

To work in Australia you need to have a valid visa. We getting some Indian "contractors" but they will only be here for a couple of months and gets shipped back.

Err...wait till your job was taken up by a foreigner?

Agoraphobic

The anti-FT voices in this forum are a minority. The majority of S'poreans welcome and love the foreigners who come to this warm and hospitable country. Many also would gladly marry of their daughters to FTs.

To work in Australia you need to have a valid visa. We getting some Indian "contractors" but they will only be here for a couple of months and gets shipped back.

It's very competitve in Spore & when you have the PAP favoring foreigners with free education, housing policies, no NS requirements, etc you are going to get unhappiness among the natives. The PAP trademark is that they never do things half way. There's about 3+ million foreigners in Spore.

I often see those police signs looking for witnesses to snatch thieves, house breaking, etc.

I use the MRT & it's very, very crowded with foreigners. You can tell that they are not locals by their race, age, dress & speech. Spore is now so crowded that I try to avoid going out unless it's necessary :(

Ash007

Oh...so you working in Australia?

Then you're considered FT there. Maybe you try to talk to some Australian and see if you're welcome there.

http://asiancorrespondent.com/12130/racism-against-indians-in-australia/

I have many local, aussie friends. In fact, I got aussies to sign my citizenship form here. Maybe only against the Ah nehs, but you won't be shouting about that in Sydney. The Filipino call operator was saying how we are the majority in Sydney in fact.

It's very competitve in Spore & when you have the PAP favoring foreigners with free education, housing policies, no NS requirements, etc you are going to get unhappiness among the natives. The PAP trademark is that they never do things half way. There's about 3+ million foreigners in Spore.

I often see those police signs looking for witnesses to snatch thieves, house breaking, etc.

I use the MRT & it's very, very crowded with foreigners. You can tell that they are not locals by their race, age, dress & speech. Spore is now so crowded that I try to avoid going out unless it's necessary :(

I doubt I'll be called a Singaporean when I return to visit it. My dress and speech have changed over the years. I wear a fedora, akubra hat, five finger vibram and carry a GGTS.

singapore not so such against foreigners who work here. but against those that bring their whole families, from grandparents to distant relatives, to singapore. if u as much as point out that their habits are not social norms here, they will quickly accuse you of being a racist. As much as i dont agree with many of Jah's opinions, i must said some of his points are valid. i encountered a chinese granny, abt 60+yo asking a keling family at the back of the bus to keep the noise down, and instead of keeping quiet, the young females then accuse her of being racist and said it a public bus so they entitled to make as much noise they like, if the granny not happy, she can jolly well take a taxi. that to me was too much as the granny was in fact asking them politely in the first place so i turn round to make my point. The sad thing was the rest of the passengers, plenty of chinese just act blur and see show, sigh... it become me against 8 of them. not so much i scare of them but i scare i cannot control my temper and slap each one of them. singaporean too mellow and scare of trouble to even stand up to their rights. A couple of them, chinese men, change seat to the front because they dont want to be involve. knn....

Ash007

Maybe they are all FTs also ? Not Singaporean?

singapore not so such against foreigners who work here. but against those that bring their whole families, from grandparents to distant relatives, to singapore. if u as much as point out that their habits are not social norms here, they will quickly accuse you of being a racist. As much as i dont agree with many of Jah's opinions, i must said some of his points are valid. i encountered a chinese granny, abt 60+yo asking a keling family at the back of the bus to keep the noise down, and instead of keeping quiet, the young females then accuse her of being racist and said it a public bus so they entitled to make as much noise they like, if the granny not happy, she can jolly well take a taxi. that to me was too much as the granny was in fact asking them politely in the first place so i turn round to make my point. The sad thing was the rest of the passengers, plenty of chinese just act blur and see show, sigh... it become me against 8 of them. not so much i scare of them but i scare i cannot control my temper and slap each one of them. singaporean too mellow and scare of trouble to even stand up to their rights. A couple of them, chinese men, change seat to the front because they dont want to be involve. knn....

Thick Face Black Heart

Ash, hope you are feeling much better and recovered.

No, Singaporeans are not born xenophobic, it is the screwed up PAP policies that causes much of the anger and resentment.

Prior to the FT influx we had decades of race-based policies that slowly segregated the nation, which was highly unfortunate as we started off truly multicultural and colour blind. When the FT floodgates were open it left even greater resentment because PAP was not caring about quality but rather about GDP and pure asset price appreciation.

The social manners of immigrants is also a factor which those in the ivory tower don't see. The elites only see the well-heeled PRC man or the wealthy indian national who probably has more ties to USA and UK than to their homeland and whose kids probably spent much of their life studying at top class schools abroad, and they think the heartland population is the same. It is not.

Then some time back, PRs started protesting that they were not being given equal privileges in terms of flat balloting, education, fees, taxes, etc.

Maybe I've been out of the country for too long. But I never quite figured out the animosity against, Filipinos, PRCs, Indians in this forum. This occurred to me when I have to ring up my medical insurance for some assistance. After the problem was resolved, the caller asked if I was Korean, I mentioned no, I was Chinese. I asked if she was, she replied she was Filipino, I tend said "Kumusta ka na", and she began laughing out loud and said there are just so many asians here and how I know that. I said I have korean and Filipino friends and learned a little. Everything was very jovial and I could continue the conversation if I need to. Too bad I'm married I suppose. Are things really that bad in Singapore that most people can't seem to live harmoniously with these FTs? My company has migrants from all over the world, Indians, PRCs, Filipinos, Vietnamese, Americans, Koreans, Japanese. Is it purely the "quality" of the FTs Singapore is getting?

Ash007

I meant the other bus passengers. I actually am guilty of this many times as well. But I have slowly learned to fight back when the situation allows. Looking back, I really have no idea why I would behave this way. I really believe it boils down to the social climate in Singapore where everyone prefers to be told what to do rather then take its own initiative. I hope that my kid won't be like this.

cannot be local, accent different, no singlish. not your average tamil look.

if u ever step into local public swimming pool, u see more horrible things done by the kelings from keling. i dunno what the man rub onto his body before he step into the baby pool but the water become visibly oily and yellowish in his wake as he led his noisy kids around the pool. It cause an exdous as other parents quickly gather their own children from the pool as the oily stuff spread in the water. it was funny as a crowded pool empty of small kids within a minute. haha... of course the man's wife angry at what she perviced of racism by the other parents (malay and chinese) but for pete sake, nobody want to take a chance of touching the yellowish stuff in the water.

Ash007

Thanks for the concern. I'm going through physio now and going through well. As to the points both of you raised. I don't think bringing families, culture is such a big issue. I don't know how the PAP handles "integration" in Singapore, but it can be done. Look at the many vietnamese restaurant in Sydney, and the many Yum Cha place here. I was at a Yum CHa restaurant here this morning and there was table full of aussies on it enjoying their weekends. Over here, they have family reunion programs. English classes for new migrants that teaches you not just the basic, everyday conversational English but also the various aspects of living in Australia including laws and regulations. My wife just went for her first visit to the hospital, and they even offered a chinese interpreter if needed. That is not to say there are no frictions here. Example, during the financial crisis of 2008, the government here immediately made it tougher to get a working visa. There was also an Indian student protest over Indian students getting robbed here.

Ash, hope you are feeling much better and recovered.

No, Singaporeans are not born xenophobic, it is the screwed up PAP policies that causes much of the anger and resentment.

Prior to the FT influx we had decades of race-based policies that slowly segregated the nation, which was highly unfortunate as we started off truly multicultural and colour blind. When the FT floodgates were open it left even greater resentment because PAP was not caring about quality but rather about GDP and pure asset price appreciation.

The social manners of immigrants is also a factor which those in the ivory tower don't see. The elites only see the well-heeled PRC man or the wealthy indian national who probably has more ties to USA and UK than to their homeland and whose kids probably spent much of their life studying at top class schools abroad, and they think the heartland population is the same. It is not.

Then some time back, PRs started protesting that they were not being given equal privileges in terms of flat balloting, education, fees, taxes, etc.

Ash007

If this was to happened here. They would be called up immediately by the life guard and told to take a shower first before entering the pool. Over here, you need to take a shower before entering it.

if u ever step into local public swimming pool, u see more horrible things done by the kelings from keling. i dunno what the man rub onto his body before he step into the baby pool but the water become visibly oily and yellowish in his wake as he led his noisy kids around the pool. It cause an exdous as other parents quickly gather their own children from the pool as the oily stuff spread in the water. it was funny as a crowded pool empty of small kids within a minute. haha... of course the man's wife angry at what she perviced of racism by the other parents (malay and chinese) but for pete sake, nobody want to take a chance of touching the yellowish stuff in the water.

I meant the other bus passengers. I actually am guilty of this many times as well. But I have slowly learned to fight back when the situation allows. Looking back, I really have no idea why I would behave this way. I really believe it boils down to the social climate in Singapore where everyone prefers to be told what to do rather then take its own initiative. I hope that my kid won't be like this.

oh.. the passengers, my bad, i misunderstood. even there are foreigners also cannot be whole bus be me and that granny only singaporean aboard. i dunno about others, i will fight for my rights since young, that why i always in the bad book of my PC/OC during NSF because i wont follow illogical and unsafe orders. i also dunno want my son to be a docile kid, i want him to stand up for himself.

Ash007

I find the education, social system in Singapore to be more inclined like the Japanese. As the saying goes, "If a nail sticks out they will hammer it in like the rest". I hope there are more Singaporean like you. I see a lot of migrants here to be the same as well over here. That is why I'm getting a place with the aussies. Sick of getting surrounded by Asians here.

oh.. the passengers, my bad, i misunderstood. even there are foreigners also cannot be whole bus be me and that granny only singaporean aboard. i dunno about others, i will fight for my rights since young, that why i always in the bad book of my PC/OC during NSF because i wont follow illogical and unsafe orders. i also dunno want my son to be a docile kid, i want him to stand up for himself.

If this was to happened here. They would be called up immediately by the life guard and told to take a shower first before entering the pool. Over here, you need to take a shower before entering it.

everywhere also take a shower before entering the pool but apparently it not the case in india.

the problem, it not only the kelings, the filipinos and PRCs are doing the same thing. it not so much as look down on them but their unwillingness in following social norms. By the way, the angmos are not much better, i once had an angmo barged into my office and insist we shift our van from the load/unloading bay. as i was busy and the driver was on leave, i ask whether can wait a few minutes for me to clear up my work first. no... he cannot wait and make a scene in the office so i boh chap him until the building management come up. so i follow them down, KNN, u know what, there are still empty lots available but the farking angmo die die want the lot where the company van was parked. i see liao damn tulan and head back to the lift to go back. Then he curse and swear till the management toloong me to shift the van. dont understand why the management so scare of angmo, anyway i boh chap them and went back up. the angmo and the kelings also like to push those big mothercare three wheel prams to take public transport, in peak hour somemore. as for those courteous angmo drivers u guys praise while u guys encounter overseas, i never met one in singapore road. Most if not all drive their big SUV machiam like their grandfather road, switch lane without signal, road hog, talk on the phone, never give way etc etc... maybe u find me bias against everything foreign but that the way it is.

singapore not so such against foreigners who work here. but against those that bring their whole families, from grandparents to distant relatives, to singapore.

The sad thing was the rest of the passengers, plenty of chinese just act blur and see show, sigh... it become me against 8 of them. not so much i scare of them but i scare i cannot control my temper and slap each one of them. singaporean too mellow and scare of trouble to even stand up to their rights. A couple of them, chinese men, change seat to the front because they dont want to be involve. knn....

If I was in the bus, I would have helped you.
Make it a point these days to defend Singaporeans especially the elderly or disabled, against unruly and illogical foreigners.
Currently trying to resist the urge to ask this question: "Where did u serve your NS?"
"Singaporeans first" is now my policy and I don't mean those who applied for and got their pink ICs last year.

Too many foreigners in Singapore. Today, about 1 in 3 people on the island isn't a born and bred Singaporean. That is disgusting.

No thanks to PAP's overly liberal immigration policy and over-reliance on foreign labour.

If you cut away the bullshit Orwellian rhetoric such as a declining fertility rate, 'we should welcome citizens because we were once immigrants' or 'foreign talent creates jobs', the issue boils down to nothing more than an insatiable greed for more GDP (which is conveniently pegged to ministers' pay) at all costs.

Even if you disregard the local vs foreigner issue, it is irrefutable that the island is overpopulated and bursting at its seams. You can see the signs everywhere: crowded malls, crowded roads, crowded trains and buses, shrinking size of new flats, green spaces vanishing etc. The quality of life for Singaporeans has been seriously compromised. There will be hell to pay - hell in the form of social tensions and worn down infrastructure.

A country run like a profit-maximizing corporation cannot last for long.