• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

yonglip

I did not say that i was expecting the house to be "FREE" i am just trying to highlight the higher costs... not only the rate of interest but the Real estate taxes and Insirance premium as something that adds up to the monthly commitments.. which everyone should be aware of.... I have not heard of real estate taxes of 100 over sgd per month in singapore HDB or condos... to add to it if one has to compulsorily take out an Insurance for the loan then that too adds to your cost ... hope yiou get my point.

chill bro...not trying to belittle u la..haha. yes i think quit rent/prop tax is indeed higher in JB...

Qube3

My bad.

Thanks, yes, prices are differing 10times thereabouts.
Am vested now, it did not take me too long to plunge into it. I missed out on Somerset Seri Bukit Ceylong, and I was not about to miss out on Somerset Puteri Harbour which was just launched in Singapore last weekend

:smile:

Qube3

nice buy bro, I heard from another Ujana investor/friend that a certain education institute wishes to snap up 160 units for rent once it receives CF....

LGLab

Hi LGLab, you can check the HH office, they can help you with roomservice folks on a daily basis .. who could help you to do the clean up and all .. they charge 50 rm per month.

wow, daily basis cleaning for only 50 RM / mth ?
I am very glad to hear that.. I will check it out..

Thanks for recommending..

Another, is i just have to look for a eatery that caters for delivery service and I am all done.

LGLab

if not employ from SG lor , my friend does that ....
once a mth bring her out to chop passport nia , since u have to do for wife and parents too .

I do not have a car yet, once i get a car, all these are pretty easier.

Moreover, i gonna pay $170 per mth to SG Government to hire a maid?
Ridiculous..

I can get $250 to hire a maid in JB i heard it is 600RM..

My intention is after i passed my license, i will get a red plate or a malaysia car...

i will ride bike to sg daily for work..

Hitesh

its 50 rm per day LGLab... u can get them at alternate days

Another, is i just have to look for a eatery that caters for delivery service and I am all done.

Hitesh

Hi Narmi, i read rom the same website that if ur loan is more than 80 % then u have to take an insurance.. i am not sure.. can some experts comment?

Hi hitesh

I thot the insurance is not compulsory right? It was not imposed on me when i took d bank loan.

Aisanbo

IS THIS CORRECT?? IF SO THEN IT IS INFACt mORE EXPPENSIVE TO OWN PROPERTY IN MSIA THAN IN SGP....

I was using the Mortgage calculator at http://www.malaysialoan.com.my/financial-calculator/ and it indicated that i will have to pay insurance as well as real estate taxes which as per below is a high amount per month... all these compared to the price in SINGAPORE is not less but MUCH MORE EXPENSIVE.....

IF YOU ARE ALREADY STAYING IN MSIA THEN PLEASE COMMENT.... my loan amount is 650k rm.

Monthly Principal & Interests RM 3,371.15
Monthly Real Estate Taxes RM 250.00
Monthly Insurance RM 125.00
Loan To Value Ratio 86.67%
Months With PMI 54
Monthly PMI RM 270.83

Total Monthly Payments RM 4,016.98

I thought property tax the most rm1k per yr for a normal terrace or semi d? But Singapore property also need to pay tax.
I paid rm3k+ insurance for 10 yrs. I think you can buy minimum insurance and for the money paid you get insurance in return...not pay for nothing.
What's monthly PMI?

Hitesh

ideal comparision should be a sgp condo with a jb landed house... it is slightly cheaper to buy ( but since it is distant than the main city it is a generic trend throughout the world. Unless Johor becomes a major city creating work itself) but more expensive to maintain with real estate tax + estate maintenace + compulsory Insurance on loan

i may prefer johor because it is less crowded... but if i stay there then there will be the inconveninece of travelling each day..

cheap movies.. i am not sure may be but one watches a movie at teh most once a week... the expensive toll every day more tahn offset the cheap movies....

Quality of life good at week end bad at traveling

Besides untill some good schools are opened in johor the place might not be very attractive for someone who have children...or who are thinking of starting a family ...

i think its a 50-50 confusion to go or not to go... i think basically it may boil down to if i get a worth deal for a good unit with decen location .. that may direct my decision... besided i have to convince my family to leave sgp and stay there.. so wait and watch...

if u compare jb condo versus sg condo , also cheaper with all the misc fees right ?
How abt quality of life ? good and reasonable food prices in jb ? Cheap movies and services.
Plenty of space , no need to worry might bump to ppl like in SG , too crowded ....
5 yrs ago , SG is 1 of the best place to stay but its no longer like that anymore .. our city has is like developing country now , all rojak , cant speak gd english , tourist might think how come sporeans speaks and behave like that etc ....look at our local food , all cooked by those FW , so yucky now ....
look at the cheena bus drivers , see how they drive , jerked and braked most of the times .....

LGLab

ideal comparision should be a sgp condo with a jb landed house... it is slightly cheaper to buy ( but since it is distant than the main city it is a generic trend throughout the world. Unless Johor becomes a major city creating work itself) but more expensive to maintain with real estate tax + estate maintenace + compulsory Insurance on loan

i may prefer johor because it is less crowded... but if i stay there then there will be the inconveninece of travelling each day..

cheap movies.. i am not sure may be but one watches a movie at teh most once a week... the expensive toll every day more tahn offset the cheap movies....

Quality of life good at week end bad at traveling

Besides untill some good schools are opened in johor the place might not be very attractive for someone who have children...or who are thinking of starting a family ...

i think its a 50-50 confusion to go or not to go... i think basically it may boil down to if i get a worth deal for a good unit with decen location .. that may direct my decision... besided i have to convince my family to leave sgp and stay there.. so wait and watch...

today straits time last page, there is Bukit Indah -The Address- Advertising...
saying we can buy landed for 230K SGD , blah blah blah..

maybe u can check that out..

http://www.spsetia.com.my/bukit_indah_johor/contact_us.htm

juzanee

certain a valid mindset coming from a fresh perspective. but if you like condo and the community lifestyle (everything within walking distance), Singapore has many condo that fit into the criteria, furthermore with a safer environment (you know how is it to walk around in Bukit Indah especially you are aged)

Furthermore, Singapore is well connected with MRT and bus. You are not prevented frm having a car too!

One thing is the condo in Singapore is much more expensive. But, if you sell off the landed I think you can still afford to buy it...no?

to add another perspective, meanwhile you would want to rent out your unit because it is near to bus interchange. Looking at the selling price, you will need RM2k per month to at least cover the installment+maintenance fee for the 1+1 unit. How many of them would pay RM2k (SGD$800+) for 1+1 unit and commute everyday via public bus? Not saying it will not happen but certainly something to be fondled on...again just my two cents.

Uh, the landed is not mine (I just live there), how to sell? :p Of course if could afford a condo in Singapore, would get one. Its hard enough trying to save up a 20% deposit (actually almost impossible at the rate property prices are rising), but now we would have to fork out 40% downpayment because of our HDB mortgage.

There is a likelihood that the rental will not be able to cover the total mortgage, but it should cover quite a good part of it. Any cash we have to fork out is seen as an investment. I think the returns would be better than other forms of investments because of leveraging.

I'm sure as Iskandar gets more developed, the demand for housing will increase as more people move over to work. Also, SP Setia is building a business park nearby, so there is potential tenants from there I hope!

Oh yah, the 1+1 studio is actually the same size as a 4-room flat in Singapore. Now to rent a small room in Singapore is already at least SGD600. Maybe there might be those who are willing to commute for the privacy, extra space and condo facilities? :biggrin:

Aisanbo

Hitesh,
Option 1) buy to stay in around 2020 when MRT link is up, their internal transport network is ready, but at higher price.
Option 2) buy now at probably lower price, try to rent out in the mean time, and move in around 2020.

My personal take is that MRT will happen. Iskandar will happen. So I take option 2 since it is affordable to me now.
Affordability should not depend on rental income.
If I take option 1, I'm not sure how affordable it will be in future....and I may end up not able to own one or only a smaller one, or a further one.
Others may prefer to buy a brand new one only when we are really moving in. For me, I'm ok with lving in a older house. My house only ready in 2014, so in 2020, it is only 6 yrs old .... Okay lah. In Singapore, my house is probably older than me anyway. It is how we renovate and decorate e interior.

Like many bros out there, the plan is to eventually rent out Singapore, stay in malaysia.
With the house for you to stay, and income from singapore rental, life won't be too bad....

jasonjst

Sure or not , 50rm per cleaning or 50 rm per month ?

Icyraine

Scary for someone has been in safer singapore for a long time... Which place in Msia was this... i think may not be johor which i believe is much safer ..?

Bro, sorry to say but u think this is dangerous? lots of things much worse out there.

Narmi

Hi Narmi, i read rom the same website that if ur loan is more than 80 % then u have to take an insurance.. i am not sure.. can some experts comment?

I think its not compulsory anymore. I took 90% loan btw on 30yr tenure. Of course planng to clear the loan asap. Targetg 10yrs. Dun wan d bank to eat my hard earned money.

Status
Not open for further replies.