• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

teck21

Am not up to date, would like to know if anyone here, already register their kids at malbourgh college or any of the schools, thanks

I haven't, but I have confirmed that they begin admissions for children from year 5 of age. Checked with them since I heard someone mention they start school for children as young as 3 (my own boy's age), but it's definitely 5.

crystal_tiong

from bukit indah...head towards Pulai interchange...instead of turning to tuas (going to sing)..head towards KL..then its just another straight 14km drive towards Genting Indahpura...you should see signs along the way pointing to shopping paradise land...haha.

Hi Yonglip

Thanks for the direction.
Cheers

aangsc

Anyone with lobang for a reliable car polish station around Bukit Indah <-> Sutera Mall areas ?
Anyone done it and is it worth it compare to SG ?

saratogas

JPO promise up to 65% discount on luxury products comparing to Retail stores in Singapore...

I must travel up for a visit one day.

toyohon

(Even) Sheng Siong targets Malaysia

Supermarket retailer Sheng Siong Group is in talks with a potential partner to help it expand into neighbouring Malaysia, its chief executive said.

Sheng Siong, which owns 25 stores in Singapore, aims to own at least 50 outlets in Malaysia over the longer term, to tap a fast-growing population and rising income that will boost demand for basic necessities like groceries.
“Have you planned for your future?"

"Singapore and Malaysia's cultures are similar... Malaysia has a rising population, a lot of natural resources to boost its economy and thus grow consumer spending," Mr Lim Hock Chee, Sheng Siong's chief executive and co-founder, told Reuters.

Sheng Siong is planning to open its first Malaysian supermarket in Johor, and is in discussions to form a joint venture with a listed company in the country, he said.

It does not plan to compete in the hypermarket space, which is already crowded with larger rivals like Carrefour.

Shares of Sheng Siong have risen 19 per cent since it listed on Aug 17, outperforming the Straits Times Index's 5 per cent decline in the same period.

The company, which targets low- to middle-income consumers, is eyeing revenue growth of about 10 per cent annually, implying it will take market share from rivals FairPrice and Dairy Farm International as it hopes to open four to six stores a year in Singapore's suburbs.

"If we open four to six outlets a year, we hope to see revenue growth of about 10 per cent annually," said Mr Lim.

"Even in times of economic difficulty, we can still do well and expand. Some customers that used to buy more expensive products will trade down, benefiting us."

He added that Sheng Siong also stands to gain from the Government's plan to build more public housing over the next few years for a growing population, giving the firm the chance to open more supermarket outlets to cater to the new housing estates.

The supermarket retailer is the third largest here, with a market share of 17.5 per cent, behind FairPrice and Dairy Farm, according to brokerage firm IIFL.

Last year, it booked revenues of S$628.4 million, 0.5 per cent higher than in the preceding year.

Mr Lim said Sheng Siong plans to introduce an e-commerce service by 2014, allowing customers to order groceries on the Internet and have them delivered to their homes.

Sheng Siong posted a 33.6 per cent fall in net profit for the nine months ending in September to S$23.5 million, while its revenue slid 8.5 per cent in the same period to S$439.6 million.

yonglip

(Even) Sheng Siong targets Malaysia

Supermarket retailer Sheng Siong Group is in talks with a potential partner to help it expand into neighbouring Malaysia, its chief executive said.

Sheng Siong, which owns 25 stores in Singapore, aims to own at least 50 outlets in Malaysia over the longer term, to tap a fast-growing population and rising income that will boost demand for basic necessities like groceries.
“Have you planned for your future?"

"Singapore and Malaysia's cultures are similar... Malaysia has a rising population, a lot of natural resources to boost its economy and thus grow consumer spending," Mr Lim Hock Chee, Sheng Siong's chief executive and co-founder, told Reuters.

Sheng Siong is planning to open its first Malaysian supermarket in Johor, and is in discussions to form a joint venture with a listed company in the country, he said.

It does not plan to compete in the hypermarket space, which is already crowded with larger rivals like Carrefour.

Shares of Sheng Siong have risen 19 per cent since it listed on Aug 17, outperforming the Straits Times Index's 5 per cent decline in the same period.

The company, which targets low- to middle-income consumers, is eyeing revenue growth of about 10 per cent annually, implying it will take market share from rivals FairPrice and Dairy Farm International as it hopes to open four to six stores a year in Singapore's suburbs.

"If we open four to six outlets a year, we hope to see revenue growth of about 10 per cent annually," said Mr Lim.

"Even in times of economic difficulty, we can still do well and expand. Some customers that used to buy more expensive products will trade down, benefiting us."

He added that Sheng Siong also stands to gain from the Government's plan to build more public housing over the next few years for a growing population, giving the firm the chance to open more supermarket outlets to cater to the new housing estates.

The supermarket retailer is the third largest here, with a market share of 17.5 per cent, behind FairPrice and Dairy Farm, according to brokerage firm IIFL.

Last year, it booked revenues of S$628.4 million, 0.5 per cent higher than in the preceding year.

Mr Lim said Sheng Siong plans to introduce an e-commerce service by 2014, allowing customers to order groceries on the Internet and have them delivered to their homes.

Sheng Siong posted a 33.6 per cent fall in net profit for the nine months ending in September to S$23.5 million, while its revenue slid 8.5 per cent in the same period to S$439.6 million.

Hopefully with more space in bolehland...it will not be the squeezy aisles business model typical of sheng siongs in SG.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Anyone with lobang for a reliable car polish station around Bukit Indah <-> Sutera Mall areas ?
Anyone done it and is it worth it compare to SG ?

Yes, my friend just did recently, about 370 MYR though. Pretty good job as there were different layer options provided. Its at the covered carpark at Giant.

crystal_tiong

Guys

Any comments with regards to this loan package offer by Public ?
85% loan , is it standard for all MRTA terms and conditions?
Thanks

The loan pricing we going to offer u as below : -

1st year BLR -2.50%
2-3rd year BLR -2.45%
T/after BLR -2.40%
BLR @6.60%

As for the insurance part, i've calculated the premium for u. RM19,150 for 30 years premium. U may pay by cash or bank in to the loan.

If u intend to pay by cash , the instalment as below : -

1st year BLR -2.50% - RM2217
2-3rd year BLR -2.45% - RM2230
T/after BLR -2.40% - RM 2243

If u intend to finance the MRTA , the instalment as below : -

1st year BLR -2.50% - RM2310
2-3rd year BLR -2.45% - RM2323
T/after BLR -2.40% - RM2336

kennyc

Crystal..if you go to Raffles @ Jurong Point, remittance for 10000 RM and above - there is no $10 svc charge.

We tired once to remit more than RM10k to our malaysia account and were told by the money changer that for non-malaysian bank account, deposit or incoming funds is limited to RM10k per day. So the poor guy have to go back many days to deposit RM10k each day.

checkers, you don't have this problem with Raffles @ Jurong Point?

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Dear geritan,

My parents do not know how to drive. My parents have problem walking, therefore I dont think it is advisable for them to move around much.
My mother is with walking frame and my dad is with parkinson disease.

I am thinking to get a cheap SG proton car to allow them to come to SG once/twice per week and go back JB - just to get hold of the 'chop' and visit temple.

I have planned to have my kid to study in childcare in SG till age of 6 and see how it goes,

I have heard that the childcare in Singapore take them in as early as 8am and we must fetch them by 7pm.

I see, i really hope that it goes for you. You can get the MACS from Jusco and easily get it so that they don't have to fill in white cards and VISA stamps. Each time they can also stay in MY for 30 days before needing to go back to SG. You are a good son, your adopted parents should be proud you care for them so much. If you need directions or any help at all with your MACS, just let me know.

You could also consider sending your child to a preschool in Johore. We have a small and modest preschool franchise from SG using curriculum and teaching methods from SG but you can also consider others here as there are some others that are good. You don't have to spend so much time travelling and we take in kids at 8am and close at 7pm. Primary medium of instruction is in English.

If you are ever keen though, i can ask my wife to give you a perm discount to help. You will get a larger discount if you can show us a 11B. Its honoured wherever i have business, wherever i am .

investjb

Guys

Any comments with regards to this loan package offer by Public ?
85% loan , is it standard for all MRTA terms and conditions?
Thanks

The loan pricing we going to offer u as below : -

1st year BLR -2.50%
2-3rd year BLR -2.45%
T/after BLR -2.40%
BLR @6.60%

As for the insurance part, i've calculated the premium for u. RM19,150 for 30 years premium. U may pay by cash or bank in to the loan.

If u intend to pay by cash , the instalment as below : -

1st year BLR -2.50% - RM2217
2-3rd year BLR -2.45% - RM2230
T/after BLR -2.40% - RM 2243

If u intend to finance the MRTA , the instalment as below : -

1st year BLR -2.50% - RM2310
2-3rd year BLR -2.45% - RM2323
T/after BLR -2.40% - RM2336

do you intend to stay/owe the house for 30 years? otherwise my personal opinion: buy MRTA with number of years that intend to owe the house.

ODYSSEY

For bros who need a school bus to send Singapore, there are many, including this one:
http://centurybus.com.my

Disclaimer: Wuqi is not affliated with any bus companies or any developers and will continue to be so. His personal choice was, is and always has been clear. Its his personal choice and your mileage may differ. More power to you if you feel you found a better place. Wuqi will be happy for you as long as you took the time and have the guts to see things for yourself. Again, it does not even have to be Johore or even Malaysia. It can be anywhere. There is a real world beyond our borders.

Haha, Wuqi, u r so funny. But I guess u cannot afford to take any chances as people can sometimes turn around to bite and accuse u of giving them bad advice! For me, I will always value all the advice or suggestions u so unselfishly share and without malice. Thks bro for another hot tip on the bus thingy, I m sure many here appreciate it.

Jogs1

I'm intend to get a new myvi, bro wuqi or any bro here can recommend a reliable new car dealer in JB or nearby area? Thanks!

Jogs1

Guys

Another qn , I wan to go Johor Premier Outlet this friday , how do I go from Bukit Indah or Mydin ?
Do I need to go back to tebrau to take expressway and to Skudai , Senai ?

Thanks in advance.

Sis crystal, do update us the new JPO if u going this Friday. Many Of us undoubtedly very excited to know more!

Batok Seri

.. You will get a larger discount if you can show us a 11B. Its honoured wherever i have business, wherever i am .

My hats off to you Wuqi. Unlike the Sing govt, you honour holders of SAF 11B.

Every year I applied for National Day tickets to bring my kids. Every year never get.
Why not family of 11b holders be given priority like HDB balloting for 1st timers?

Early reservist years, I was once called up when in between jobs. High key in camp training.
Pok-pok 28 days. The govt very happy no need to pay any make-up pay.
Just rank allowance of $300. WTF? Nobody up there bother to do right by their citizens.
How much of a dent to the defence budget if they give a prorated army pay equivalent to a regular combat soldier doing the same shit?

My pink ic was cracked and breaking apart. It was the original plastic one issued in the early nineties nationwide exercise. I went to ICA to exchange for a new one. Must pay $50. WTF? Why treat me no different from someone who lost his ic? Close to 20 years! Its reasonable wear and tear. I handle my ic gently but over the years of drawing weapons and handling by oily armskote hands, it gets a little tatty.
Sorry, no. You must still pay $50.

Among many experiences which steeled my resolve to get my family and myself out of the clutches of that soulless kiamkana of a government...

darrkie.y

hi bros and sisters, any reliable plumbers to recommend? have been absent from forum lately as busy moving stuff into MY. unifi is available in taman molek :biggrin: , now looking for reliable plumbers who can advice on water pump installation... till now still can't get use to the low water pressure.. imagine holding on the shower head and water is so low.. :(

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
I'm intend to get a new myvi, bro wuqi or any bro here can recommend a reliable new car dealer in JB or nearby area? Thanks!

You can call Allan from Perodua, tell him no one recommended you and tell him he can save the recommendation money and pass the savings to you +60 1276 27625

If he really insists, PM me, i will pass you a name and you will just tell Allan that this person has no need for commissions. He will understand.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Ok, i will try to find for you as the only thing i know to really counter low water pressure at the main areas in the house,is a pump at the water tank . A bit too strong and slightly noisy though. Solves all the problems with water pressure and if you install at your own internal water tank. Your neighbours water won't be affected too much.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
My hats off to you Wuqi. Unlike the Sing govt, you honour holders of SAF 11B.

Every year I applied for National Day tickets to bring my kids. Every year never get.
Why not family of 11b holders be given priority like HDB balloting for 1st timers?

Early reservist years, I was once called up when in between jobs. High key in camp training.
Pok-pok 28 days. The govt very happy no need to pay any make-up pay.
Just rank allowance of $300. WTF? Nobody up there bother to do right by their citizens.
How much of a dent to the defence budget if they give a prorated army pay equivalent to a regular combat soldier doing the same shit?

My pink ic was cracked and breaking apart. It was the original plastic one issued in the early nineties nationwide exercise. I went to ICA to exchange for a new one. Must pay $50. WTF? Why treat me no different from someone who lost his ic? Close to 20 years! Its reasonable wear and tear. I handle my ic gently but over the years of drawing weapons and handling by oily armskote hands, it gets a little tatty.
Sorry, no. You must still pay $50.

Among many experiences which steeled my resolve to get my family and myself out of the clutches of that soulless kiamkana of a government...

I am really sorry to hear. Definitely 11B holders have a place in my heart. We need to support them rather than laugh, sneer or doubt their efforts to serve the nation. Sisters, if you don't/can't/won't support NSF/NSmen, at least don't belittle their efforts, please.

Everytime i see groups of our NSFs walking for long distances especially in the rain when booking out (when i am back in SG), i would wish to ferry them but my wife and sometimes parents wouldn't as they think the car will be dirty. The next time i see an NSF, i will ask him where he is going, as long as on the way, sure will take him.

Status
Not open for further replies.