• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Even an angmoh worries for Singapore

myo539

Singapore's success: an observer's concerns -- by David Mason

I'VE been coming to Singapore for the last 48 years, which makes me feel ancient. Mind you, the first visit in 1963 was merely a one-day stopover on a ship back to the UK.

We berthed at what is now the container terminal and I bought my first transistor radio at what is now Raffles Place, from a small shop which was near Change Alley. We could not afford Robinsons on the other side of the park.

Immediately, I can hear young Singaporeans saying, 'Huh?'

Singapore has changed dramatically. I came to live here in 1979 and stayed until 1997. Since then, I have worked here on and off every year and have had the opportunity to see the place change and grow.

The modern Singapore is a success story. From a swampy island, beset with mosquitoes, whose only claim to success was its geographical location and its huge harbour, it has become one of the world's leading cities.

You all know the statistics, because you are brought up on them. Shipping, oil refining, transport hub, banking centre, high-tech R&D, regional centre in every way. Singapore is a success.

Yet this is fragile. The world is truly global economically and Singapore exists only because of economics. The current outlook for the global economy is scary, to say the least, so Singapore must take stock.

You have had the same governing party since independence and if I have learnt one thing from them, it is that the nation requires stability. Without it, you are lost. I'll avoid the arguments about democracy because I'd like you to let me in next time I come to Changi.

But the message is very clear - do not throw away what your forefathers fought so hard to establish.

The modern Singapore shocks - in the nicest sense. Our first home was in Upper Thomson, with kampongs on three sides. The night-soil tanker visited every morning and woke me up, to get to work in a non-aircon bus. Being an ang moh and not used to the weather, I used to leave wet marks under my shoes by the time we got to Ocean Building. Now you have the most modern of buildings, an advanced transport system (okay, it gets crowded, but the aircon works) and fairly full employment.

You are also known as a place of enjoyment for the well-heeled, and some of them now live here. You have casinos, Formula One racing, the best zoo in the world, arguably the world's best food and an amazing number of foreigners.

Which is where this starts to get serious. Singapore started and sustained itself through the incredible efforts of its people. The government was tough and restrictive, but for a good reason - to establish and prosper as a nation.

Discipline was key to this and I know - I had my hair cut in 1979, but I didn't really mind. I had the privilege of working with several of the 'Old Guard' and admired their ethic. Singapore prospered and built so much of its current infrastructure because of it.

The HDB estates are the best public housing in the world. Don't believe it? Try another country. Jurong has just gone unbelievable for its size. The CBD has to be close to the best in the world for businesses.

But there is a problem. Years ago, if a taxi driver even mentioned political dissent, we would both look around to see who was listening.

Today, I hear dissent from many Singaporeans. The last general election is testament to a growing sense of unease among the population. The haves and the have-nots are getting further apart and the discipline is fading.

There is much dissent about the apparent unchecked immigration from Asian sources, despite the agreed need for it on macro-economic grounds.

What worries me as a sympathetic observer is not the development and the immigration - I can only applaud it. It is the lack of knowledge and sensitivity of the younger generation of Singaporeans.

Singapore was fought for and won as a globally important nation by the mid-1980s. Its younger management have been born since then and display two general problems. The first is that 'it has always been like this, so it will continue' - an awful sense of birthright and complacency. The second is a lack of understanding of how the country was born in the first place.

Asians have a tradition of respect for their elders. Singaporeans are in danger of losing it. If you do so, you put your nation at risk.

The writer was a partner with Price Waterhouse Singapore for 18 years. He now runs his own consultancy in business communications in the UK. He spends several months a year with clients in Singapore. This article was published in the Business Times on 25 October 2011.

This angmoh displays a clarity of perception even better than many Singaporeans - especially the 40-odd percent who think Singapore lacks political excitement.

While overseas conversing with these foreigners, sometimes it is difficult for a Singaporean to downplay the achievement of Singapore - because it is them who voluntarily tally up our achievements and not us, who refrain from boasting about our achievements. We may even have to tell them that we are not the happiest people compared to the happy people in Bhutan!

Sadly, some Singaporeans just cannot - or refuse to - see the big picture - even when they are the direct beneficiary of government policies.

Sinkieloser

That old fart still telling other how sinkies should think of him.. I thought human being have the brain of their own.. maybe sinkies do not have it.

Sinkieloser

Hey sinkie Myo,

If the country have some economic result, then what about social and political result... Holding on to other people's balls to enrich themselves is called success?

When you go to a restaurant to eat it is better not to visit the kitchen was well. You never know what shits, dirty and dodgy things are in the ktichen when they cook your food. Same as politic.

Blame it on PAP if Singaporeans cannot see the big picture.

sammyboi

you can't blame the young, their front-end cortex of their brain aren't yet developed to have real thinking abilities, only senseless violence and risk taking abilities such as (setting up a business,gambling,buying luxurious cars,chalking up credit card debts).

They can only think using on their backside of their brains which sadly controls mostly emotional aspects.

Fook Seng

My my. Just because an Ang Moh opens his mouth, all the Sinkies think it is the Gospel truth.

Debonerman

Stephanie myo539 Chia's love for angmoh cocks is second only to Lee Kuan Yew's PAP whiter than white ones. Suck it baby Steph!

Loofydralb

I can easily poke holes in his argument. But I won't. I will let others dissect and read between the lines.

But he has his biases ESP since he worked with the older guards and profited from it.

Fook Seng

Loofydralb said:
I can easily poke holes in his argument. But I won't. I will let others dissect and read between the lines.

But he has his biases ESP since he worked with the older guards and profited from it.

He is talking history. He is saying for 46 years nothing needs to change.

Ash007

Eh, I'm not sure how you guys interpret what this ang moh said. But he is saying Singaporean should stop complaining and let PAP in power leh.

A partner with Price water house for 18 years, if he is good,he 'd have started out on his own earlier. It's nothing great being a partner there, as long as you do your job,they will auto convert you to partner. My friend was there for 2 years,got offered to be partner after he wanted to quit but on condition he clocked in 10 years. He left and raking in 10 to 14 million a year now.

Received_by_Kings

My my. Just because an Ang Moh opens his mouth, all the Sinkies think it is the Gospel truth.

Not really cock face. Like many others here I am one of those who believe in the government and we have already come up with our own conclusions before we even need a mat salleh to spell out what we are already aware of. We use his equal-wisdom reasoning merely as complementary material.

kiss

A partner with Price water house for 18 years, if he is good,he 'd have started out on his own earlier. It's nothing great being a partner there, as long as you do your job,they will auto convert you to partner. My friend was there for 2 years,got offered to be partner after he wanted to quit but on condition he clocked in 10 years. He left and raking in 10 to 14 million a year now.

How come you neber join yr fren to earn more...??

Instead, thinking of some cronies wanting to screw you or driving yr taxi in bedok reservoir... almost everyday ! :p

Received_by_Kings

The HDB estates are the best public housing in the world. Don't believe it? Try another country.

The mat salleh is especially true on this one. These local commoners do not know how public housing is like in Malaysia and Hong Kong before we talk about elsewhere to even open their mouths in the first place.

They should learn to be grateful and really feel blessed instead of uselessly whining and all that.

you think so easy,say join will set you sailing smoothly.if things are so simple this way, i'd be a millionaire by now.

btw, i swear that my encounter with lky's cronies who mess me up is TRUE, if this is a lie, i will not have Mc Donald to eat anymore,vicious enough?

How come you neber join yr fren to earn more...??

Instead, thinking of some cronies wanting to screw you or driving yr taxi in bedok reservoir... almost everyday ! :p