• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

cathylmg

Re: Investing in Nusajaya

....For now, my intention is to not shift in upon getting the keys... i'll give the house 1 year to withstand the rain, the heat, the soil shifting and also at the meantime wait for more occupants to shift in... every now and then i will go in and check for new defects....(also do more good deeds hopefully will help make everything soon soon) ensure that everything is okie liao then start reno...

I did just that. Although it took 4 months to finish all the rectification works, my renovation only started 1 year after I got the key. I think its the norm for a lot of JB houses. My house in Setia Tropika. So far no problem for me. If that is any consolations to you. :wink:

cathylmg

Tutucake,

I can assure you whether you buy an appt in Seaview Singapore, Orchard Road or a house in Sp Setia, they might also have problem.

Quoted this message which I think is quite meaningful.. (Just ignore any religion parts..)

"
Man: I understand. But I still can’t figure out. By the way, I was not expecting YOU to buzz me on instant messaging chat.

Jesus: Well I wanted to resolve your fight for time, by giving you some clarity. In this net era, I wanted to reach you through the medium you are comfortable with.

Man: Tell me, why has life become complicated now?

Jesus: Stop analyzing life. Just live it. Analysis is what makes it complicated.

Man: why are we then constantly unhappy?

Jesus: Your today is the tomorrow that you worried about yesterday. You are worrying because you are analyzing. Worrying has become your habit. That’s why you are not happy.

Man: But how can we not worry when there is so much uncertainty?

Jesus: Uncertainty is inevitable, but worrying is optional.

Man: But then, there is so much pain due to uncertainty.

Jesus: Pain is inevitable, but suffering is optional.
Man: Frankly in the midst of so many problems, we don’t know where we are heading.

Jesus: If you look outside you will not know where you are heading. Look inside. Looking outside, you dream. Looking inside, you awaken. Eyes provide sight. Heart provides insight.

Man: Sometimes not succeeding fast seems to hurt more than moving in the right direction. What should I do?

Jesus: Success is a measure as decided by others. Satisfaction is a measure as decided by you. Knowing the road ahead is more satisfying than knowing you rode ahead. You work with the compass. Let others work with the clock.

Man: In tough times, how do you stay motivated?

Jesus: Always look at how far you have come rather than how far you have to go. Always count your blessing, not what you are missing.

Man: What surprises you about people?

Jesus: When they suffer they ask, “Why me?" When they prosper, they never ask “Why me” Everyone wishes to have truth on their side, but few want to be on the side of the truth.
Jesus: Seek not to find who you are, but to determine who you want to be. Stop looking for a purpose as to why you are here. Create it. Life is not a process of discovery but a process of creation.

Man: How can I get the best out of life?

Jesus: Face your past without regret. Handle your present with confidence. Prepare for the future without fear.
"

To code 1 example. The wall of my HDB flat crack at year 3. Rain water sipped in through the wall. In the end, my buildin wall cabinate dropped off. HDB only repaired the external part. There goes my cabinate! :(

arsenal

My brother has a crazy but interesting idea. He suggested to buy a land in guarded place like leisure farm. Then buy a container to use as a house. Everynow and then he can go there for camping and barbecue, and can use the club house toilets for washing and so on.. and wait for capital appreciation on the land... and may pass the land for future generation..

yonglip

Hi all, does anyone know about the 5-storey lifestyle office at Indah Walk 3?
Keen to invest in a small office around the central area...
Or you might know any other office that is nearby?

hi bro..this is my take on investing there...

setia is a sensible developer who is keen to see the whole place come together and work beautifully. couple of years ago, i was similarly skeptical when the meek sales girl told me "we are going to build a big shopping mall called JUSCO here, there will be bla..bla.." haha..the rest is history..

i understand they have kept level 1 of the retail stretch along indah walk for themselves and selling only levels 2 & 3 onwards...that tells you they are in it for the long haul....preferring rental income so that they can control the ambience of the place...to have a good tenant mix for indah walk...not a rojak mix of tenants that normally plague owner occupied shops.

the place is a centre of gravity for things...you can be assured there will be demand for ancillary services (office rentals) once the whole place is built up..

cheers.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
All,

My humble 2 cents, things to look out for houses whether buying from developer or subsale:

Check out for wet stains or dried yellowish or dark stains on the ceilings
Check for signs of water seepage into the walls especially near the outdoor area
Check for serious cracks especially around 2nd floor, near the corners/edges of the rooms where
the wall meets the ceiling

I would agree definitely with some forummers here, all of the houses have no false ceiling, occupational
hazard as i always want to ease up on troubleshooting.

Your preference and inclination may vary/differ. There are always lemons in every development, even the
world best watches or car makes may have lemons. Just don't accept it as a lemon and get the developer
to make good.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section

Your brother is not crazy, the only issue is will the developer allow him to do that over time, as in long term. Once or twice, i definitely don't think they will even notice. If i have bullets, i would definitely consider but shops at Bukit Indah, etc are a better bet right now if you want appreciation and fast. This sounds feasible though and is good for future generations.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
yes. i think i saw it too the last time i went to see..it could be structural or the aircon pipes leaking onto the false ceiling..

thats why i am not making the L box or false ceiling for my new house..as any leaks will be v difficult to repair. I learnt this the hard way in Sing...i currently stay on the top floor of my block and the ceiling does leak too....so my Lbox/false ceiling is slightly damaged as well..HDB come and say cannot do repair unless want to remove false ceiling..

cheers.

I didn't see it though as it was a dry day when i went there and they might have cleaned up already. One time, the worst showhouse was during the time we went to the Setia Show village long ago. It was raining outside, it rained inside too. This was the unit with the red egg shaped seat.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Prices for shophouses very big range , can be from 1M to 2.5M for a typical 3-storey unit ! Very difficult to tell which one is "wang or not" . But I feel is a good move, since it has not move as much as residential units .

Hey jasonjst, actually shops have moved more than residential depending on where you are looking. Some have more than doubled and are costing as much as a semi-d in HH or more. Any shops that is 3 storey, freehold and below 1m around Bukit Indah, i will get if i could.

yonglip

I didn't see it though as it was a dry day when i went there and they might have cleaned up already. One time, the worst showhouse was during the time we went to the Setia Show village long ago. It was raining outside, it rained inside too. This was the unit with the red egg shaped seat.

haha...yep. i remembered that unit bro..not too long ago only..

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
haha...yep. i remembered that unit bro..not too long ago only..

It was actually more than 2 years ago when i first went there and saw it raining, i even tried to move things out of the way and closed the door for them when i saw water splashing in through the side entrance.

cathylmg

Heard from a relative that next year there will be a downturn. Any advise on rental return for JB houses?

arsenal

Heard from a relative that next year there will be a downturn. Any advise on rental return for JB houses?

All the news and even feng shui masters are saying there will be a downturn next year especially on property.. Not just in malaysia, but everywhere in the world... So buy within your mean..and prepare to hold longer term... Malaysia property especially just beginning to have a rise after so many years as compared to Singapore..should be able to tahan better right?

crystal_tiong

All the news and even feng shui masters are saying there will be a downturn next year especially on property.. Not just in malaysia, but everywhere in the world... So buy within your mean..and prepare to hold longer term... Malaysia property especially just beginning to have a rise after so many years as compared to Singapore..should be able to tahan better right?

buy within mean is 1 issue , losing job is another issue .....
hearing all this news makes me wonder wan to commit a property leh ...
if only we can withdraw CPF money out anytime then I am not afraid of recession ...

euphony

:biggrin: imagine telling people, I am going to LF to camp! wah lao. I think finally, EL/LH/LF will see some potential action from its proximity to medini yet still be landed residentials. let's see what the future brings!

My brother has a crazy but interesting idea. He suggested to buy a land in guarded place like leisure farm. Then buy a container to use as a house. Everynow and then he can go there for camping and barbecue, and can use the club house toilets for washing and so on.. and wait for capital appreciation on the land... and may pass the land for future generation..

arsenal

buy within mean is 1 issue , losing job is another issue .....
hearing all this news makes me wonder wan to commit a property leh ...
if only we can withdraw CPF money out anytime then I am not afraid of recession ...

Hi Crystal, I have a friend holding very high post in govt on urban planning.. He should be an expert in property.. However until today he has yet purchased any property.. Since year 2004, he has said the property price is too high and not sustainable.. Until now he is saying the same thing.. If you are buying a house in Singapore, I will ask you to think twice as it is too expensive... If you are buying a house in JB, I think it is still affordable by Singapore standard.. So have some cushion in case you lose your job.. maybe 0.5 to 1 year of saving in case you can't find a job?

Donkey years ago when I first purchase my exe flat at a high, I was very worried if I lose my job.. However thanks goodness, youth is a strength and easily employable.. Don't wait until you are too old.. I think... Maybe find a hubby to share the burden with you? ha ha.. A good hubby worth 10 houses..

Status
Not open for further replies.