• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

euphony

am quite happy to see many have found neighbors here in different residential enclaves. makes crossing over just that bit easier.

for those who do groceries I thought I just chip in a few stuff here and there. Amongst all the supermarts seems like tescos offer more dollar for dollar. if you do pay in SGD the exchange is very good currently they're doing 1=2.46 to 2.47 you pay sing they return you rm.

Jusco's the equivalent of cold storage sort of vaguely. They have a good collection but are the most expensive. Fruits and vegs tend to be much better than tescos in terms of quality. Tescos is a bit of hit and go. sometimes good mostly just ok and can be very bad esp. for fruits. Giant/carrefour/mydin are the inbetween of the 2 mostly. Tescos are not created equal either. Tescos bukit indah is freaking cold and this coming from someone who can generally withstand or like cooler temperatures... Seems like Tescos plentong is the cheapest amongst the whole chain in JB. I always manage to find very good deals from there e.g. nestle biomega enriched UHT milk retails for there abouts rm5.5 but can go for rm3.50 even cheaper then the usually cheapest, marigold (rm 4.45 thereabouts) when i see those i swipe at least 10 saving me rm20 just on milk alone (uht milk can keep longer). they also do more reduced/discard priced items (yellow price labels) than other branches. Though you've really got to hunt for the intact/good stuff. The cheeses omg, i swear all the leftover cheese are sent to plentong. I have bought ricotta for rm 5, mascarpone for rm3, cheddar for rm4-5, feta/goat cheese for rm7-9. the last one usually original priced at ~rm40. Italian chianti is almost always on sale and its of good quality.

Those looking for fresh meats. Kipmarts have more to offer comparatively.

Finally, don't be fooled by 'promo price'. I like to get individually oat biscuits weekly and i ever see items on full price but with a promo tag??! must shop enough to remember the approximate price to know when is it a deal or not. Also, good deals usually begins fri through to sun (sat is BYOB across the board or pay for plastic bags). don't buy the engine oils there. First they have insanely thick oils mostly e.g. 5/10/15W50 and they are exp compared to SG even after factoring conversion for 'discounted' oils. Giant in sg have very good engine oil deals once in a while. esp. mobile 1 fully synthetic series. those really cheap ones you see in JB are mostly mineral oils or semi synthetic so be careful when you buy. Giant in JB seems to have one of the best collection (compared to others) for car barang barang like the shampoos, dashboard cleaner etc.

that's it for now i think?

lastresort

The Malaysian side is also planning a JB to KL electric train project (besides the high speed rail), "Gemas-Johor Baru double tracking project".

This would shorten train travel time to around 2hr 48mins. Imagine our weekend trip, we can go to melaka or KL for breakfast and shopping, come back JB for lunch and golf, and back in Singapore for dinner and supper. Makes our weekend trip more interesting and fun. Maybe can pull in more investors from Singapore and KL to JB.

Quote from their newspaper 至於尚未動工的金馬士通往新山雙軌電動火車鐵路計劃,翁詩傑表示,有關計劃一旦竣工,載客量將較目前人數增加10倍;而原本從吉隆坡前往新山的路程,也由目前的6小時20分,縮短至2 小時48分鐘。

euphony

The Malaysian side is also planning a JB to KL electric train project (besides the high speed rail), "Gemas-Johor Baru double tracking project".

This would shorten train travel time to around 2hr 48mins. Imagine our weekend trip, we can go to melaka or KL for breakfast and shopping, come back JB for lunch and golf, and back in Singapore for dinner and supper. Makes our weekend trip more interesting and fun. Maybe can pull in more investors from Singapore and KL to JB.

Quote from their newspaper 至於尚未動工的金馬士通往新山雙軌電動火車鐵路計劃,翁詩傑表示,有關計劃一旦竣工,載客量將較目前人數增加10倍;而原本從吉隆坡前往新山的路程,也由目前的6小時20分,縮短至2 小時48分鐘。

the train project have been talked about when I was still in school, i really really hope it'll materialize. would love to take it up to KL to catch an MPO performance and then scoot back to JB in a heartbeat. :smile:

lastresort

the train project have been talked about when I was still in school, i really really hope it'll materialize. would love to take it up to KL to catch an MPO performance and then scoot back to JB in a heartbeat. :smile:

I really hope they improve the connectivity between all the major cities from Penang to Selangor to KL to Malacca to JB and Singapore. This is what many developing countries are trying to do, build efficient mode of travel between major cities (even China has connected Tibet and Mongolia to the more urban cities), then there will be more economic activities between these cities, I hope one day JB would benefit more and catch up with KL and be equally well developed. :smile:

I see the MY gov getting more pressured to get things done because many neigbouring countries are catching up.

vincentck

Excellent chox bro vincent
Coming fr spore hdb pigeon hole the small land beside the hse seems to me like a soccer field alreadyso i am fine and even if got big one may hv prob keepg grass short lol cos the last thg i want for my weekend is 2 be used for cuttg grass heheh and d basement rm concept is cool n i chop already for my MAN CAVE hehhehe..btw i got uob lah cos its d one that can give me 90% loan for 30yrs tho I plan to clear mortgage earlier than that.

*What i like abt this forum is that it is non exclusive n not based on on wic residence u reside. So we can interact wif diff jb residence owners n get pleasant surprise to get to know ppl fr ur residential area also in d forum..all thanks to bro wuqi.

*Btw long time never hear fr bro AP..where is he?

Yup, I understand what you mean... i had an idea to use the basement room as an AV or home cinema room. Install black-out curtains with a 7.1 sound system and 3D TV system... cool... What was UOB's package like? BLR-xx%?

Yup, altho bro wuqi bought in HH, but this forum is to share on living in JB...

vincentck

for those who do groceries I thought I just chip in a few stuff here and there. Amongst all the supermarts seems like tescos offer more dollar for dollar. if you do pay in SGD the exchange is very good currently they're doing 1=2.46 to 2.47 you pay sing they return you rm.

Jusco's the equivalent of cold storage sort of vaguely. They have a good collection but are the most expensive. Fruits and vegs tend to be much better than tescos in terms of quality. Tescos is a bit of hit and go. sometimes good mostly just ok and can be very bad esp. for fruits. Giant/carrefour/mydin are the inbetween of the 2 mostly. Tescos are not created equal either. Tescos bukit indah is freaking cold and this coming from someone who can generally withstand or like cooler temperatures... Seems like Tescos plentong is the cheapest amongst the whole chain in JB. I always manage to find very good deals from there e.g. nestle biomega enriched UHT milk retails for there abouts rm5.5 but can go for rm3.50 even cheaper then the usually cheapest, marigold (rm 4.45 thereabouts) when i see those i swipe at least 10 saving me rm20 just on milk alone (uht milk can keep longer). they also do more reduced/discard priced items (yellow price labels) than other branches. Though you've really got to hunt for the intact/good stuff. The cheeses omg, i swear all the leftover cheese are sent to plentong. I have bought ricotta for rm 5, mascarpone for rm3, cheddar for rm4-5, feta/goat cheese for rm7-9. the last one usually original priced at ~rm40. Italian chianti is almost always on sale and its of good quality.

Those looking for fresh meats. Kipmarts have more to offer comparatively.

Finally, don't be fooled by 'promo price'. I like to get individually oat biscuits weekly and i ever see items on full price but with a promo tag??! must shop enough to remember the approximate price to know when is it a deal or not. Also, good deals usually begins fri through to sun (sat is BYOB across the board or pay for plastic bags). don't buy the engine oils there. First they have insanely thick oils mostly e.g. 5/10/15W50 and they are exp compared to SG even after factoring conversion for 'discounted' oils. Giant in sg have very good engine oil deals once in a while. esp. mobile 1 fully synthetic series. those really cheap ones you see in JB are mostly mineral oils or semi synthetic so be careful when you buy. Giant in JB seems to have one of the best collection (compared to others) for car barang barang like the shampoos, dashboard cleaner etc.

that's it for now i think?
Bro euphony, thanks for sharing on the grocery tips.... will come in useful when I move to Nusajaya.

I really hope they improve the connectivity between all the major cities from Penang to Selangor to KL to Malacca to JB and Singapore. This is what many developing countries are trying to do, build efficient mode of travel between major cities (even China has connected Tibet and Mongolia to the more urban cities), then there will be more economic activities between these cities, I hope one day JB would benefit more and catch up with KL and be equally well developed. :smile:

I see the MY gov getting more pressured to get things done because many neigbouring countries are catching up.
I've a friend who works in a property research firm; she says that Iskandar Malaysia has to succeed because Msia doesn't have any other cards to play. This is their last card and "die-die", Iskandar Msia must succeed. Also, with Vietnam coming up economically, Thailand is more stable now with the new PM and Indonesia with its 200+million people, if Msia doesn't bring in the investors and big businesses, Msia might just stagnate. Just my thoughts...

lastresort

contra

Hi all,
Is the Homefair worth a visit? Thinking bw making a visit today or spending family time (since my kids would probably not enjoy such a fair..) Any advice?

crystal_tiong

Hi vincent

Ytd I brought my mum to see the terrace house , she didn't say much but I think she kind of like it
Anyway, can I ask how much u r paying now ? As in haven ready , we can just pay e interest instead of full mortgage ?
Can pm me yr sales person? Mine is like disappear in thin air coz maybe I small fish. Hahah

geritan

I think it is fair to say that there will always be pros and cons of having a religious place near your home. I'm a Catholic, but I wouldn't like to stay next to a church because of the parking problems that will occur on Saturday evenings and Sundays. And some people may not like the incense smell from neaby Buddhist temples, etc. It's all about how much one can tolerate it and whether we want to accept it or not.

When I was in uni, I stayed in the hostel and my room was above the surau (small mosque). Every morning around 5/6am, the Muslims will have their morning prayers. After a few weeks, I got used to it and wasn't woken up by the prayers being aired thru the loudspeakers.

What do you think, bro Batok Seri?

Hi, would like to check with you, will the priest in jb help to bless the house?

Lord Aragorn

Hi all,
Is the Homefair worth a visit? Thinking bw making a visit today or spending family time (since my kids would probably not enjoy such a fair..) Any advice?

I just went there yesterday to get some reno ideas for my new Straits View house that will be ready next year. There are 2 levels of exhibition - level 3 and level 1. Level 3 is more on electronics and some ID design. I prefer level 1 where there are some nice marble tables direct from the factory suppliers (which means much cheaper lor). Not excellent, but all in all not bad lah... I would visit again next year just before my Straits View Residences completion :smile:

lastresort

Hi Euphony

This is more and more like reality

Current double tracking projects under construction are:

- Ipoh - Padang Besar ( 329 km long)

- Seremban - Gemas ( 94 km long)

That left Gemas - Johor Bahru section.

So it is more likely to be done.

lastresort

I've a friend who works in a property research firm; she says that Iskandar Malaysia has to succeed because Msia doesn't have any other cards to play. This is their last card and "die-die", Iskandar Msia must succeed. Also, with Vietnam coming up economically, Thailand is more stable now with the new PM and Indonesia with its 200+million people, if Msia doesn't bring in the investors and big businesses, Msia might just stagnate. Just my thoughts...

agree agree, it was Badawi who suggested this brilliant idea. If not, Johor would still be a cowboy state haha. For their last card, they have no choice but to work with Singapore. That's why they said this whole development is to complement Singapore.

Do you think Iskandar Malaysia has in any way complemented and benefitted Singapore economically, not just Singaporeans living in JB, but the Singapore economy as a whole, or it is more of a one sided benefit?

jasonjst

agree agree, it was Badawi who suggested this brilliant idea. If not, Johor would still be a cowboy state haha. For their last card, they have no choice but to work with Singapore. That's why they said this whole development is to complement Singapore.

Do you think Iskandar Malaysia has in any way complemented and benefitted Singapore economically, not just Singaporeans living in JB, but the Singapore economy as a whole, or it is more of a one sided benefit?

More of a competition to Singapore economy lah , that explain the reasons why SG gov keep a low profile in its participation. Imagine the amout of Sing dollar out flow into Iskandar , in the region of 10Billion RM so far , and more to come . The real benefits are ppl like us to take advantage of the cheaper living ! :smile:

lastresort

More of a competition to Singapore economy lah , that explain the reasons why SG gov keep a low profile in its participation. Imagine the amout of Sing dollar out flow into Iskandar , in the region of 10Billion RM so far , and more to come . The real benefits are ppl like us to take advantage of the cheaper living ! :smile:

that's what my father says too. Like what I found out, Singapore government actually has a lot of investments in JB, City Square owned by GIC, other townships like sutera utama, Seri Austin, Seri alam, etc. I fear for Singapore's future if one day next generation of true Singaporeans have to relocate to JB, spur up the economy there and leave our motherland to the foreigners.

2bFree

For those who aren't aware, the Coastal Highway from Danga is now linked to HH and beyond. Just went for a short drive earlier and it is very convenient! Do take note that certain stretches are still very dusty and you could be facing oncoming heavy vehicles! Please be careful.

Just outside HH, choice between JB (left) and 2nd Link (right):
6225130339_a968662cbd.jpg

Southern Entrance to HH:
6225656082_ab68d2d863.jpg

Puteri Harbour area:
6225650740_d83f8c564d.jpg

The 3 massive structures at Kota Iskandar:
6225652356_56de9ec35b.jpg

Fresh tarmac for the enthusiastic driver:
6225130751_f89cefbcbd.jpg

Sanur

Hi Sanur,

Could you tell me when you get the info regarding no more a need to go KL for endorsement.
I understand that you would require medical certification and insurance.
Thanks.

Hi

That's wat the my MM2 agent said as my Sis in law is applying for the application now.

Sanur

The medical n insurance comes only after the documentation submission n initial approval. Once the submission is approved , then you need to go for medical checkup n take up a Hospitalization insurance plan.

Sanur

But I don't have any unit in HH yet

Hi, wanted to share the price lists of cars for MM2 holders, but do not know how to attach. Anyone interested to received it via email n post it here for all?let me know yr email so I can forward to u

Status
Not open for further replies.