• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

mallow

There are so many massage parlours, so many decent hair salon, spa etc that I am spolit for choice. The only thing I dont like it here in Nusajaya is that life is too slow. I have a fierce competitive streak in me so this is just a place for me to recharge my energy, not to stay everyday.

Then don't you truly have the best of both worlds, Singapore and Johor? Actually, isn't it even better than that? Meaning that if you are staying in Johor most of the time, your cost of living is waaay down and the savings can be blown when the competitive streak goes rampant and you head to Singapore.

Because of our garden and heow cats and dogs, we're constantly busy around house and garden. Somehow it does not seem like work. Then work, astro, friends, internet, eating out ... busy busy!

Wuxi - your mailbox is full

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi wuqi,

I understand your blog is a work-in-progress thus not ready to 'open' yet. Some quick feedback. .

1/ You could put in Google ads for cost-recovery...You have expended so much personal resources for the benefit of others, you should make some cost-recovery.

2/ I like the Q&A format with some look-back-in-time reminescence. Only comment is the "A" should be highlighted so that your replies can be distinguished from the Q. (It does make me remember some pioneers like dapbest - am yet to search for his 'traffic lights' money changer in Perling :wink: )

3/ I like the photos. At last I can understand the Hills Cluster. Did not know that HH has decided to make show houses now. I remember clusters only from my visit to Nusa Duta...

Cheers & keep up the good stuff. I will click on any Google ads that pop-up.

Thanks bro Contra for the feedback, sounds like a good idea. The cluster house i displayed is actually in The Gateway.
Many thanks, i will follow your guidance.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Yeah, its good in a way but if I were to pay for both the instalment of my house in JB and Spore, I would have to fork out S$5000 a montn. Prefer to rent either one of them out to get some cash

I would humbly recommend to rent out your SG one, that way, with the high exchange rate now, you benefit more if you are living on the other side of the causeway. :smile:

I am glad that this forum is so lively and mostly full of folks like you and skippy, RT and the regulars who are positive. Unlike most i meet whenever i am back in SG prefer to always dwell on the problem, think negative about everything and yet do nothing about it. Worse is imaginary fear.

One minute, its the coming of the disease plague, next the locusts. Me? I will make fried locust sandwich. Not exactly appetizing but it will do. :P

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
wow Bro HH... i'm full of envy.... i just cant wait to shift in by the way you describe... the comfort and the serenity make me so wana chiong over.. U are indeed lucky and surely relaxed... not forgetting u oso pocket full full cos of your wisdom... saving and planning wisely for retirement as well. I'm sure i've got lotsa to learn from you! Of course many other brothers & sisters here too.... thanks for the sharings... Cheers!

Hey Skippy, you will soon enjoy it. Walking around even in the middle of the night, a local friend came, saw and then told me he got his brothers buy in and recently
got one. He will be doing his renovation soon. The serenity and the lifestyle, its really different.

I know some will come by and say its no big deal as each house is only a HDB flat. A learned neighbour asked me this, how many in SG own or can afford more than 1 HDB flat though especially with current pricing?

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
I find the Dim sum at Restaurant Chaw Yuan to be nice, so far.
It is located at - 1 Jalan Jati 2, Tanan Nusa Bestari Jaya, 81300 Skudai, Johor.
http://maps.google.com/maps?q=1+Jalan+Jati+2,+Tanan+Nusa+Bestari+Jaya,+81300+Skudai,+Johor.&hl=en&ll=1.497897,103.65665&spn=0.007883,0.013078&sll=1.352083,103.819836&sspn=1.009074,1.674042&z=17

Thanks for sharing abugumgum, i am actually there or at the Perling place most of the time for Tim Sum. I don't find the one at the HH coffeeshop that good. Chaw Yuan is really nice with conversion to Teochew food in the evening. Their ginseng tea with red dates and "guiling" gao is good too.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
In the future I am not sure but at least now, today, S$1000 = RM 2460. I sometimes want to pay my stuff in Singapore with Ringgit.. because I am so used to spending money without thinking in Nusajaya. There are so many massage parlours, so many decent hair salon, spa etc that I am spolit for choice. The only thing I dont like it here in Nusajaya is that life is too slow. I have a fierce competitive streak in me so this is just a place for me to recharge my energy, not to stay everyday.

Happened to me too until i went to SG and found that pricing has got so crazy back in SG. Even an ex colleague of mine who earn more than the average Joe is struggling. Once you have family, its a real challenge. Maybe you can consider to start a business here as well?

Investor

I had the freedom of staying in my house in HH over the weekends. Must say that the place is serene and peaceful, even on weekend nights. The roads inside are deserted but that does not mean its dangerous. I feel so safe to be walking along the main road outside my house at 9pm.. except for a few speeding cars who become too complacent. I love to stroll along the golf course perimeter, overlooking The Golf Semi-dees where its under construction.

As the days progressed, the capital appreciation is on-going. I am contented that I have secured some units here for my investments and retirement.

The dim-sum at the corner shoplot around Fairways Suites is nothing to shout about.. But at least it is a decent place to hang out and have a decent breakfast.. I love to drive around the clubhouse on weekends... just to observe the fast and luxury cars gathering there for their weekly golfing sessions. I always associate a place success and potential with the number of supercars parked around the place..

Life suddenly become slow in HH.. Too slow for my comfort during the weekdays when I became relaxed. I enjoy washing my car inside the car pouch with water running, not worrying about the cost as water is still cheap here.

Air at night is too. I dont even on the aircon and close up all the windows with fan at just level 1!

Hi horizonhills,

A forumer here did mentioned that your style of writing seems to be like another forumer Dxxxxxt, I'm guessing the same :smile: Someone also mentioned that Lemans seems to be Cxxxxxxxt and I guess it's likely too. Anyway I consider both of you as old forum friends.

Although 3 of us bought properties in Nusajaya at around the same time, I'm only enjoying half of what both of you have already been enjoying and that's being happy with my decision to invest in Nusajaya. The feeling is definitely great when our investments appreciate right after we committed, whether it's in properties or daily trading of stocks :smile: The other half which I still can't enjoy is the weekend stay in Nusajaya since my units are not ready yet :mad:

I've never, in any single moment, worry that my investments in Nusajaya might be a wrong move. No investment in this world has 100% chance of profiting but I see a 95% chance of profiting from Nusajaya when I judged it last year. I gave it only a 5% chance for something bad which might happen and affect my investments, like for example the change of government's plan(but even if that happen, it still won't be financially threatening to me since we don't place all eggs in one basket anyway). Of course we don't just pluck an imaginary figure of 95%, we judge it after doing our own due diligence on Nusajaya's prospect and background at that point of time(Just like what Temasek should have done to make them decide to select Nusajaya's Medini instead of other areas like say JB city at Woodlands side).

Even when crimes happened, I did mentioned that I wasn't worried about my investments, just that I might not wanna use one of my units for weekend stay and that's about it. When Nusajaya develops further and further with all the new attractions, schools, mega malls, hospitals, Government bodies, amenities, infrastructure etc springing up but crime in Johor 'remains the same', do you think that it will deter buying interest? The key to note is that 'crime rate remains the same', meaning it's 'nothing new to anyone', whereas the new attractions and others mentioned above are great 'plus points' to Nusajaya. Well if crime rate worsen, it'll definitely affect demand but not if it maintain. Moreover, the chances of having a lower crime rate in future is more possible than having a higher crime rate since the government had invested billions trying to improve security of Iskandar and they will certainly invest more if situation don't improve since they need to lower the crime rate in order to attract investments for the next 15 years. Give them a few years, even if the billions of dollars doesn't work, it still won't hurt(as mentioned above).

Some naysayers might worry too much and think that it'll be very very difficult for the Malaysian Government to attract enough investments into Iskandar and successfully develop it into a sustainable city, creating enough jobs with medium to high income in order to sustain it's economy etc etc. These are definitely genuine concerns but they are talking about achieving Peak success when all the concerns can be tackled. Who says Nusajaya needs to be 100% successful in order for our investments at RM240psf to make profit? What I think is firstly, you have to know what kind of price you're being offered now and whether or not it's already too high. Eg. For Nusajaya, if I was offered RM700psf for a terrace, I won't invest due to limited upside and even potential loss as price might go lower than RM700psf after I buy. But at RM240psf, I think the potential upside is really good, I like investments with at least 100% potential profit. As a Singaporean, I would like to see it as SGD100psf. Some might say "Why not invest in Singapore or KL? It'll give you faster return." Try telling that to Warren Buffett, Bill Gates, Temasek or just any rookie investor that you know of an investment which guarantees a 100% winning chance and 0% risk of losing(That might be savings account or fixed deposit's interest, not investments in properties). You can say that there's a smaller risk in investing in Singapore's properties than investing in Johor's and I would agree to that. But based on present Singapore's mass market price of SGD1,000psf, I think it'll take a miracle for me to make 100% profit out of it as it'll have to reach SGD2,000psf for mass market properties(Not high end ones). Lower risk? Yes, but definitely not higher potential return when compared to Nusajaya.

We all know that for a region which is 3 times the size of Singapore, definitely not every single corner will appreciate in price, we have to be really selective on the area and even the development and most of us here have chosen certain developments in Nusajaya since most of the foreign investments, including Temasek's developments, are pouring into Nusajaya. Truthfully, I dare not say that I have the same confidence in the whole of Iskandar region. But from the beginning, I only have eyes for Nusajaya. I'm not saying that all other areas in Iskandar will fail, some other good locations like eg. our friends' Kempas area is good locations too. LeisurFarm? Yes but only if they can get the approval for a new entrance/exit point nearer to Highway or Medini, that'll definitely be Great.

Thus at RM240psf, I reckoned that I'll be making profit even if Nusajaya is just 50% successful.

lastresort

Hey guys,

Fairway Suites South Tower will be launched tomorrow. We're going in now to attend the launch and meet new neighbours tomorrow. There is an average of 3 or more people booking any available unit that will be launched. So it could be sold out within hours, less those lousy units, bumi units or under 500K units. =)

Will update here again. Wish I have a good camera. Didn't have time to read the long messages HH and the rest have written, but have browsed thru a bit, it's really good to hear from lao jias and senior bros all your thoughts!

contra

Grand Iskandar taking shape

Two lead players involved in the planning, implementation and funding of the project are Iskandar Regional Development Authority (IRDA) and the Khazanah Nasional-driven Iskandar Investment Bhd.

Johor Mentri Besar Datuk Ghani Othman, who is also co-chairman of IRDA, has been hands-on since the inception to ensure the smooth implementation of the projects by having briefings at his office in Nusajaya and at IRDA's headquarters in Danga Bay.

Singaporean interest and participation in Iskandar is also expected to be further boosted through the settling of some of the thorny issues in the Points of Agreement between Malaysia and the island republic.

“It is just a matter of time before Singa-porean companies start investing in Iskandar in a huge way due to the warming bilateral relations between both countries,” a diplomat said.

IRDA has kept the public informed of the various projects through its Open Day events, including exhibitions.

It has welcomed public feedback and suggestions, and is also engaging the Facebook generation through its Facebook page, “Friends of Iskandar Malaysia”.

Thanks for this horizonhills. Looks like IRDA has been having events in JB to reach out to investors, via its Facebook page. Next one, see you guys there then. Got to start somewhere...

arsenal

I think the best part is to do business and making good profits in JB while staying in HH. You dont even need to worry about cheonging the jams back and forth the custom. I have known a few neighbours who are doing just that.. working from home even .... cos the bills are so cheap together with the internet... and can save on office rent

It will be perfect if I can start a business and live in Nusajaya too.. I have several sleepless nights thinking of what I can do in my next 20-30.
I was stopped by Malaysia traffic police for stopping in the yellow box just now. 50 dollars to settle.. Anyway still cheaper than Singapore..

Investor

It will be perfect if I can start a business and live in Nusajaya too.. I have several sleepless nights thinking of what I can do in my next 20-30.
I was stopped by Malaysia traffic police for stopping in the yellow box just now. 50 dollars to settle.. Anyway still cheaper than Singapore..

Next time just give RM30 and act confident like you know it's the norm, they'll definitely accept it. But as a forumer mentioned before, he always pay kopi money for such traffic offences and thought that he had gotten away but only to find out in the end that he had a record of a whole list of traffic summons O.O

STUCK_HERE

Actually its hard to compare clusters at Gateway/Golf VS the Hills. For a start, the size is much bigger for new terraces at the Hills and I think the design and layout of the units are totally different too. IF I am not wrong, the developer sale of Cluster intermediate at the Golf was priced at RM 400K or so when they first launched and RM 600k is the market rate without good views.

Dear Bro horizonhills,

Can you please tell me where to look for the sales office or show house at horizon hills? I would like to go there this week or next. I just want to buy a small terrace in a safe place like you described.

I don't want to be stuck_here anymore.

Thanks.

arsenal

Hi,
whether you are driving from causeway 1 or 2nd link, follow the sign to Nusajaya.. Once you are in Nusajaya, I am sure you can find the sign to Horizon Hills.. In Horizon Hills, just head towards the clubhouse (or look for sign for property gallery). Show room is just in the clubhouse, beside the cafe...
rgds

Dear Bro horizonhills,

Can you please tell me where to look for the sales office or show house at horizon hills? I would like to go there this week or next. I just want to buy a small terrace in a safe place like you described.

I don't want to be stuck_here anymore.

Thanks.

arsenal

Next time just give RM30 and act confident like you know it's the norm, they'll definitely accept it. But as a forumer mentioned before, he always pay kopi money for such traffic offences and thought that he had gotten away but only to find out in the end that he had a record of a whole list of traffic summons O.O

True.. will learn to be smarter next time.. Think I'll feel safer driving a Malaysian car..

checkers

Forgot a message. If anyone is interested in a corner unit at Setia tropika, can let me know and i will ask owner to contact you. nicely done up already. selling at around 500 plus plus . pls contact owner direct. you can pm me for the number.

Sorry ..first time joining the forum. How to pm ? Can you pm me instead? Thanks>

jasonjst

Hi,
whether you are driving from causeway 1 or 2nd link, follow the sign to Nusajaya.. Once you are in Nusajaya, I am sure you can find the sign to Horizon Hills.. In Horizon Hills, just head towards the clubhouse (or look for sign for property gallery). Show room is just in the clubhouse, beside the cafe...
rgds

If you use 2nd link , exit at 307C and then exit 308 , you should see Jusco and a big size board Horizon Hill , cant go lost at this point ..

STUCK_HERE

Hi,
rgds

Thanks bro arsenal, I will go on this Monday.

Status
Not open for further replies.