• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Australian MPs attacks PAP over SGX takeover of ASX

aurvandil

Australian MPs attack PAP over SGX takeover of ASX. With the recent shenanigans involving TH attacking TR, it will be very hard to defend the point that Temasek, GIC and the GLCs are not a de-facto part of the PAP government.

ASX decision to be guided by the national interest: Wayne Swan

WAYNE Swan has told politicians threatening to scuttle the proposed takeover of the Australian Stock Exchange that any government decisions will be guided by the national interest.
“And I ask all members in this parliament to do the same,” the Treasurer told parliament.

Both the Coalition and the Greens have raised concerns about the merger of the ASX with the Singapore Exchange, demanding an assurance it is in the national interest.

Greens leader Bob Brown today also cited Singapore's human rights record in warning his party could move to block the takeover.

In the government's first detailed comment on the proposal, Mr Swan said it would be considered “in the normal way”, and advice sought on whether it could be contrary to the national interest.

“So we will continue to consider all transactions with the objective of carefully and methodically building Australia's reputation as a financial services hub and as always we will always do this in the national interest,” he said.

The ASX merger has to be approved by the Foreign Investment Review Board as well as the Australian Securities and Investments Commission.

But because the ASX is subject to legislation imposing an ownership limit, the proposed merger would also require a regulation change that could be disallowed in the Senate.

If the Greens combined with the Coalition, the merger could be scuttled.

While emphasising the Coalition is in favour of foreign investment, Tony Abbott told colleagues today there were legitimate concerns about the proposal and it would be looked at carefully.

Opposition treasury spokesman Joe Hockey told a joint Coalition parties meeting the pressure would be on Mr Swan to prove the takeover was in Australia's interest, if approved by the FIRB.

Mr Hockey warned that the takeover could have a major impact on Australia as a regional financial centre, describing the ASX as a “signature monopoly” that had been used in the past to promote Australia as a regional financial centre.

Senator Brown recalled Singapore's 2005 execution of Australian drug trafficker Van Tuong Nguyen as he explained his party's concerns about the takeover.

The hanging went ahead despite government pleas for the Australian man's life.

“We should tell them nothing doing,” Senator Brown told reporters in Canberra.

“This is a state that tramples all over freedom of speech, democracy, the rights of oppositions, the ability for public discourse,” he said.

“(They) don't respect this nation in the way they should, they don't respect our aspiration for a more democratic and fair society, and have a poor track record in regarding Australians as equals.

“One only has to recall (former Singapore prime minister) Lee Kuan Yew's backhanded reference to white trash to understand that Singapore has a lot to do to show that Australians should be taking easily this bid to take over our stock exchange”

Senator Brown questioned whether the merger was in Australia's interests.

“The proposal here is that effectively the Australian Stock Exchange in Sydney should be subjugated to Singapore and we will see it whither on the vine and the Greens will not be facilitating or supporting that unless it can be shown to be in the nation's interest,” Senator Brown said, adding that he did not want it ruled by the “oligarchs” of Singapore.

“We want to know what the impact will be not only on the Australian market and shareholders but also superannuation accounts and financial service and other workers.”

Federal independent Bob Katter, who yesterday called the takeover “lunacy on a grand scale”, said today he intended to table a resolution in parliament to block the takeover.

He said he opposed the takeover on all grounds.

“We will be moving a resolution opposing it,” Mr Katter said. “I would remain very confident all of the crossbenchers will support it.

“I have a desire some things in my country are left owned by my country. I do not wish to live in a country of serfs working for foreign landlords.”

zack123

Australian MPs attack PAP over SGX takeover of ASX. With the recent shenanigans involving TH attacking TR, it will be very hard to defend the point that Temasek, GIC and the GLCs are not a de-facto part of the PAP government.

ASX decision to be guided by the national interest: Wayne Swan

WAYNE Swan has told politicians threatening to scuttle the proposed takeover of the Australian Stock Exchange that any government decisions will be guided by the national interest.
“And I ask all members in this parliament to do the same,” the Treasurer told parliament.

Both the Coalition and the Greens have raised concerns about the merger of the ASX with the Singapore Exchange, demanding an assurance it is in the national interest.

Greens leader Bob Brown today also cited Singapore's human rights record in warning his party could move to block the takeover.

In the government's first detailed comment on the proposal, Mr Swan said it would be considered “in the normal way”, and advice sought on whether it could be contrary to the national interest.

“So we will continue to consider all transactions with the objective of carefully and methodically building Australia's reputation as a financial services hub and as always we will always do this in the national interest,” he said.

The ASX merger has to be approved by the Foreign Investment Review Board as well as the Australian Securities and Investments Commission.

But because the ASX is subject to legislation imposing an ownership limit, the proposed merger would also require a regulation change that could be disallowed in the Senate.

If the Greens combined with the Coalition, the merger could be scuttled.

While emphasising the Coalition is in favour of foreign investment, Tony Abbott told colleagues today there were legitimate concerns about the proposal and it would be looked at carefully.

Opposition treasury spokesman Joe Hockey told a joint Coalition parties meeting the pressure would be on Mr Swan to prove the takeover was in Australia's interest, if approved by the FIRB.

Mr Hockey warned that the takeover could have a major impact on Australia as a regional financial centre, describing the ASX as a “signature monopoly” that had been used in the past to promote Australia as a regional financial centre.

Senator Brown recalled Singapore's 2005 execution of Australian drug trafficker Van Tuong Nguyen as he explained his party's concerns about the takeover.

The hanging went ahead despite government pleas for the Australian man's life.

“We should tell them nothing doing,” Senator Brown told reporters in Canberra.

“This is a state that tramples all over freedom of speech, democracy, the rights of oppositions, the ability for public discourse,” he said.

“(They) don't respect this nation in the way they should, they don't respect our aspiration for a more democratic and fair society, and have a poor track record in regarding Australians as equals.

“One only has to recall (former Singapore prime minister) Lee Kuan Yew's backhanded reference to white trash to understand that Singapore has a lot to do to show that Australians should be taking easily this bid to take over our stock exchange”

Senator Brown questioned whether the merger was in Australia's interests.

“The proposal here is that effectively the Australian Stock Exchange in Sydney should be subjugated to Singapore and we will see it whither on the vine and the Greens will not be facilitating or supporting that unless it can be shown to be in the nation's interest,” Senator Brown said, adding that he did not want it ruled by the “oligarchs” of Singapore.

“We want to know what the impact will be not only on the Australian market and shareholders but also superannuation accounts and financial service and other workers.”

Federal independent Bob Katter, who yesterday called the takeover “lunacy on a grand scale”, said today he intended to table a resolution in parliament to block the takeover.

He said he opposed the takeover on all grounds.

“We will be moving a resolution opposing it,” Mr Katter said. “I would remain very confident all of the crossbenchers will support it.

“I have a desire some things in my country are left owned by my country. I do not wish to live in a country of serfs working for foreign landlords.”

All these actually stems from their fear of being taken over by Asians. They should realise that being decendents of the worst of prisoners, they shouldnt be too cocky about their position.

aurvandil

Lucky's analysis. I tend to agree with him that the deal will collapse.

SGX takeover of ASX faces political opposition...

http://singaporemind.blogspot.com/2010/10/sgx-takeover-of-asx-face-political.html

SGX offer to buy ASX for S$10.7B looks like a good financial deal for the Australians. SGX is paying a huge premium of 37% above the price based on AGX's current stock market valuation. This reminds me of SingTel takeover of Optus which proved to be drag on its performance for many years. The new CEO of SGX perhaps feels pressured to impress with a big move given his other ideas like getting rid of the lunch time, high frequency trading and introduction of black pools have not been well received. The previous SGX CEO brought in many (sometimes crappy) Chinese companies known as S-shares which was great for SGX and its stakeholders i.e. brokerages but sometimes painful for small shareholders of S-chips. Singapore companies have had a number of major takeovers of foreign counterparts more often than not the outcomes are not positive especially so when Singapore companies overpay - what comes to mind are Shin Corp, Americal President Line (by NOL) etc.

The ASX deal is opposed by Australian politicians who view the Singapore political system negatively:
"Singapore is a state that tramples all over freedom of speech, democracy, the rights of oppositions, the ability for public discourse," -Greens leader Bob Brown told Dow Jones [Link]
“(They) don't respect this nation in the way they should, they don't respect our aspiration for a more democratic and fair society, and have a poor track record in regarding Australians as equals." - Green leader Bob Brown
"I have a desire some things in my country are left owned by my country. I do not wish to live in a country of serfs working for foreign landlords," - Independent lawmaker Bob Katter [Link]
I think the deal is likely to be derailed given ASX is an Australian monopoly and it is clearly against their national interest to have it under the control of foreign company. Singapore political system is viewed as unacceptable by certain Australians politicians and they cringe at the thought of Singapore companies coming in to dominate various business sectors because of PAP's lack of respect of human rights and undemocratic ways. Bob Katter worries that such invasions by "foreign landlords" will result in a country of serfs working for foreigners. In Singapore we get to hear PAP's explanation that foreigners will create jobs for locals and there is nobody as powerful as Bob Katter around to warn us that we might turn into serfs in our own country and stop that from happening.

silverfox@

It's business.
A willing buyer and a willing seller.
No intention to sell, no matter how big an offer from buyer also cannot buy. And as for you, what's new? the usual story spinning all over again?

borom

Compare what happen in the two countries and it clearly illustrate why it is important to have a free press ,strong opposition and check and balances in any political system.

Whether the deal goes through, at least the Aussies get to hear ALL OPINIONS
and decide for themselves.ALL PARTIES get to say their piece openly and freely without fear. .If there s is strong public opinion against it, the Australian Treasurer will have to take that into consideration before he makes a decision-otherwise he or his government may get the sack in the next election.

no_faith

aussie MP attack simi?
their govt dun nod head? tink deal can go thru meh?

MPs neber attack their own govt? how come miss_aussie neber complain abt her screw up govt?:rolleyes::biggrin:

NoelVermillion

Nobody is going to be happy especially when the sale involves a national interest. Maybe Singapore should set an example and ask another country to buy Temasek Holdings. :rolleyes:

You think they don't dare when the price is right or there's no precedence? Even power stations have been sold.

It was one of those Ho Ching deals. Paid several hundred million for a kindergarten operator in Oz. It went belly up and it ended up being sold for a nominal $1.

Was about to tell this alamak...about the Ho Jinx ABC 'giam chye, chao loti'....the ABC learning centres..that was bought with whose money ( muddy waters)....and sold for $1...so clever!

ABC ABC 'giam chye chao loti'...it is our Roti that went bakar...that is why we wait till we are 101 to get our CPF money...or whatever..

ABC..ABC....:p

cooleo

>>“This is a state that tramples all over freedom of speech, democracy, the rights of oppositions, the ability for public discourse,” he said.<<

Wait a min...is he talking about Sinkapore or North Korea? Sounds same same leh

borom

......... Senator Brown told reporters in Canberra.
“This is a state that tramples all over freedom of speech, democracy, the rights of oppositions, the ability for public discourse,”
......adding that he did not want it ruled by the “oligarchs” of Singapore.

Federal independent Bob Katter....said...
“ ..... I do not wish to live in a country of serfs working for foreign landlords.”

Despite all these fierce criticisms, have yet to hear any rebuttal from any of the highest paid ministers in the world.

Can any staunch supporter of the party care to comment?

Silence means consent?