• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sell New HDB flats at cost instead of asking citizens to sell flats for retirement

theDoors

Re: Sell New HDB flats at cost instead of asking citizens to sell flats for retiremen

Yes, that is true. SOme external event has to happen. Plus with some manipulation on the part of the govt. to start back at zero again by selling new flats at cost. Infact, a govt. subsidy of some sort could assuage the pain of those who paid too much for their flats, thru no fault of theirs.

You wish. Those who bought high in 96 were left out to hung high and dry.

I was one of the beneficiaries of the now defunct build to sell (BTS) scheme. HDB had a backlogged of 30,000 flats with no buyers.

In 2004, HDB flats in Sengkang and Jurong West 4 rooms was going for $120,000-$150,000, 5 rooms was going for $165,000- $200,000. In Tiong Bahru 4 rooms: $230,000-280,000, 5 rooms :$320,000-360,000.

In order to avoid situation of surplus flats, and the looming subprime situation in 2007, HDB pursue a deliberate policy of under building, and adopted the BTO scheme.

longbow

Re: Sell New HDB flats at cost instead of asking citizens to sell flats for retiremen

That is what I have been trying to say. Any tinkering with the foundation of the Singapore prop market - HDB new and resale flats will have tremendous impact on the rest of prop mkt not to mention the viability of the banks.

MAJORITY of Singaporeans already own their own property (ok they still have mortagage on a 99 year lease but they are sitting on equity like GMS who plns to cash out to finance his campaign) and they will not take too kindly to taking a 30 to 40% hit on their assets.

However cost to build a flat is not $80K. The public tenders are - public so we can see what HDB is paying the main con to built the flats. Avg price closer $150K per 4rm flat.

See here for list of awards for public tenders to build BTO. Contract price, company and number of flats (2,3 4 rm flats are show). No time but good way is to divide by sf built, 2 rm have small sf and then multiply by sftage of 4rm flat. this gives building costs.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Build-To-Order_(HDB)

The HDB and PAP cannot reverse their sales practice. U know this and they know this. If you think the cost is $120K, you are overestimating this by a factor of 2. Considering the land cost is almost zero to them. If they sell a flat at a true cost of say $80k (That is my estimate), they will cause an overnight collapse in the resale market and those who have booked. Imagine people in the last few years who paid anywhere from $250K to $400K for their new flats and now the HDB is flooding the market with flats build at cost from $80K to $120K. Those who have booked the BTO will be trying to get out of their contract. But those people will see the value of their flats drop like crazy. If I am in the market for a flat, whether resale or not, I will wait a couple of years to get these cheap flats. It will cause a negative equity situation with people who paid $400K for their flats only 2 years ago, as the value will plummet.

manokie

honestly its good for singaporeans to buy at cost price

but if we can buy a flat at 80k now, all the prices of the other flats will be lowered and alot of ppl will lose 100-300k in asset value

that's gonna be disastrous for a lot of singaporeans

theDoors

HDB new flat prices have more than doubled in a span of 6 years. Selling at cost now will caused too much upheavals to the market.

I think the first step to defusing the exponential increase in new HDB flat prices is to de-link the pricing of new HDB flats with resale flats. Prices of resale flat is currently used to determine the pricing of new HDB flats.

De-linking allows gradual increases in prices. New HDB flat prices will be buffered from sudden spike in resale flat prices, due to say speculation or bubbles.

yellow_people

Yes, that is true. SOme external event has to happen. Plus with some manipulation on the part of the govt. to start back at zero again by selling new flats at cost. Infact, a govt. subsidy of some sort could assuage the pain of those who paid too much for their flats, thru no fault of theirs.

Artificially low interest rates. It discourages savings and encourages borrowing. Should interest rates go up some 2-3% there will be significant defaults and property prices will depress 30-40%.

In order to avoid situation of surplus flats, and the looming subprime situation in 2007, HDB pursue a deliberate policy of under building, and adopted the BTO scheme.

Also, the HDB overestimated the demand that FTs would have for HDB flats. AFter being told that FTS by the ship load were coming to singapore to be PRs and Citizens, HDB build assuming they would absorb the flats. But FTs are not stupid. Why should they play on a level playing field with native born sinkies who have the burden of a large HDB mortgage? They just cramp 10 people to a flat and rent it instead of buying it. Big miscalculation on their part.

That is what I have been trying to say. Any tinkering with the foundation of the Singapore prop market - HDB new and resale flats will have tremendous impact on the rest of prop mkt not to mention the viability of the banks.

MAJORITY of Singaporeans already own their own property (ok they still have mortagage on a 99 year lease but they are sitting on equity like GMS who plns to cash out to finance his campaign) and they will not take too kindly to taking a 30 to 40% hit on their assets.

However cost to build a flat is not $80K. The public tenders are - public so we can see what HDB is paying the main con to built the flats. Avg price closer $150K per 4rm flat.

See here for list of awards for public tenders to build BTO. Contract price, company and number of flats (2,3 4 rm flats are show). No time but good way is to divide by sf built, 2 rm have small sf and then multiply by sftage of 4rm flat. this gives building costs.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Build-To-Order_(HDB)

The problem with your theory is that the tenders show only the winning bid. It does not mean it was the lowest bid. The HDB does not disclose the price of ALL the tenders. HDB winning tenders get shuffled among a few large contractors. These players have been in bed with HDB for many years, and in fact, HDB does not always pick the lowest tender. Are we to believe that a flat that sold for $50K 25 years ago now cost $150K to build, given that the 2 major inputs like labour and materials have not changed that significantly during that time, and also given their established and supposedly more efficient economies of scale? A construction worker paid $600 per month 25years ago is not earning $2000 now. He is earning maybe $200 more. The contractors are still getting them from low cost countries. Material costs have also not increased that much due to PRC products and other factors.
Lets say we have a disagreement on this. I have advocated in other post that the smart thing to do is cash out now if you can and move to JB and operate from a low cost country while earning S'pore wages. Play the game the FTs are playing.

original intention of HDB was to provide AFFORDABLE LOW COST GOV SUBSIDISED PUBLIC HOUSING.

since now hdb flat owners are making $$, the gov of course would want a share of it too.

but why, who or what drive up the hdb prices and escalated it into such a frenzy?

both the flat owners n gov should share the blame. or could it be becos of the big influx of rich and loaded FTs be one of the driving forces behind all this crazy frenzy?

gbomega

There is no other way out don't dream about the intention to lower the price of flat. Either Stinkies income was increased significantly or this country need to go through a huge war to restart from zero again .

Artificially low interest rates. It discourages savings and encourages borrowing. Should interest rates go up some 2-3% there will be significant defaults and property prices will depress 30-40%.

I have mentioned this factor before in a prior thread. The deliberate depressing of savings rate for the CPF accounts along with the allowing of CPF to be used for both DP and monthly payments is one of the big problems that people faced. If they were getting 5-10% return on their CPF money, versus 2.5% now, and even 1% in times past, how many would be willing to take CPF money out to buy flats? Their rate of return is so low in their CPF account, theyare in fact wuthdrawing it to "speculate" their flat will rise in value to replace the CPF lost.

ManBearPig62

That figure also includes the contractor's profit margin...

Australian building costs are 12-15K per square (9-10 square meters) including foundation works and roofing. Do HDB flats built using templated designs and enjoying such economies of scale really cost so much?

Not to mention the wage differential between the two countries... the construction workers here are skilled professionals having gone through 4-year apprenticeships; thus they earn much more.

ManBearPig62

If they sell a flat at a true cost of say $80k (That is my estimate), they will cause an overnight collapse in the resale market and those who have booked.

If that ever really happens I will happily break the contract and lose my deposit :p

kingrant

What if we tweak GMS plan and have a restriction that they cannot sell except back to HDB?. That will delink the resale market and selling at cost plus.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]

What if we tweak GMS plan and have a restriction that they cannot sell except back to HDB?. That will delink the resale market and selling at cost plus.

It is not a good idea.

Anyway, there is an alternative method available in HK. HK government sold some flats to the lower income group at cost price, minus the land cost. When these people want to sell, they could sell to people with an income ceiling of X amount as well i.e. lower income group. But if they are to sell to other people without income restrictions, they must top up the land cost while selling.

I think this is a fairer system.

Goh Meng Seng

ChaoPappyPoodle

It is not a good idea.

Anyway, there is an alternative method available in HK. HK government sold some flats to the lower income group at cost price, minus the land cost. When these people want to sell, they could sell to people with an income ceiling of X amount as well i.e. lower income group. But if they are to sell to other people without income restrictions, they must top up the land cost while selling.

Goh Meng Seng

The HK system you mentioned is good if the system started off as such. If you implementit now, you will create distress amongst the underprivileged.

What we have here today is wo decades of mismanagement and greed.

The best way to cater to the population at this stage is to acknowledge the problems. The PAPies say it is working but the people know it is not.

Just mention the issues today and how things can only get worse if nothing is done to correct the inherent problems of the current system. Also< you must use economic theory when talking to the press - things like floor pricing that is based on market prices can only result in escalating prices when demand outstrips supply. And in our case the population growth thanks to FTs will only lead to higher and higher prices at the detriment of the population.

The only one that gains is the garment.

I don't think any one person has a solution. The solution will require a lot of great minds to solve and this can only be done when the PAP is out of power and a group of consultants covering the banking system, real estare, economists< financiers etc meet up and look into the issue before coming up with a solution.

By trying to come up with a solution you will endanger yourself by creating as many enemies as you will win friends. This isn't about being smart or acting smart. It is about knowing that you can do a better job than your enemy, the PAP and the only way to do that job is to be elected.

longbow

This is not a theory. I used to tender for HDB business and the bids for all tenderers are open (there is a notice board in HDB for all this info). So all those that tendered can see who won and their bids. If I were the lowest bidder and did not get awarded, i would raise a bloody stink.

HDB selects the lowest bid which is why a few years back we had contructors that went bankrupt because they underbidded the project. Many contractors hope to use HDB as launching board for their business. They hope that by doing an HDB project they get the cred with all the Gov stat board and that might mean more business down the road - a new community center a school.

So all HDB has to do is set the specs (including financial strength of company) and then choose the lowest price.

Furthermore if premise is that HDB is trying to max profits then why choose a more expensive contractor? If they are awarding projects to GLCs then we can understand why but these are your local construction companies.

To be fair, the Singapore Gov is usually very very transparent about their transactions.

I think the material inputs have increase tremendously over 25 years. I think just building materials alone have gone up many folds in pricing. Just look at major material for HDB flats, sand, granite, iron bars, copper wiring - China's rise has impacted world prices.

Also flats of today have much better specs, better QC, added requirements like bomb shelter, lifts on every floor, better fixtures like sitting toilet vs hole on the floor. Old school contractors will tell you about using seasand (very cheap vs river sand) for the concrete and using more sand vs cement. Result is rusting rebar, spalling etc etc.

Anyway I believe in fair market value. And this whole idea of HDB paying more than market is nonsense

Contrary to what many think, there is little of this "in bed with the HDB" type of incidences. Most of the HDB officers are straight lace matter of fact people. The only potential advantage is if you are selling new service. HDB may then ask you to help write the tender contract. But award still goes to lowest bidder in 99% of the cases. Must not forget that HDB flats are cookie cutter in design so pricing because the game. Hard for people to rig the process because it is all so low tech.

Remember that we went from a 3rd world to first world nation over that time. I know for a fact that just a scant 10 years ago during prop slump construction cost for a house was S$120/sf (building house from ground up without fixtures. Today to make the same house would cost you closer to $250 psf without fixtures.

The problem with your theory is that the tenders show only the winning bid. It does not mean it was the lowest bid. The HDB does not disclose the price of ALL the tenders. HDB winning tenders get shuffled among a few large contractors. These players have been in bed with HDB for many years, and in fact, HDB does not always pick the lowest tender. Are we to believe that a flat that sold for $50K 25 years ago now cost $150K to build, given that the 2 major inputs like labour and materials have not changed that significantly during that time, and also given their established and supposedly more efficient economies of scale? A construction worker paid $600 per month 25years ago is not earning $2000 now. He is earning maybe $200 more. The contractors are still getting them from low cost countries. Material costs have also not increased that much due to PRC products and other factors.
Lets say we have a disagreement on this. I have advocated in other post that the smart thing to do is cash out now if you can and move to JB and operate from a low cost country while earning S'pore wages. Play the game the FTs are playing.

manokie

It is not a good idea.

Goh Meng Seng

I am curious

Are you thinking that everyone should own a house? Whether they are poor, stupid, ill or have some special reasons?
If so, why do you think that should be the case?

I am curious

Are you thinking that everyone should own a house? Whether they are poor, stupid, ill or have some special reasons?
If so, why do you think that should be the case?

Very few people in Singapore own their homes. Should be around 10% generously. The rest are leaseholds and rentals. The question is not home ownership, but a home till death. It's quite OK for anyone to think that poor or stupid shouldn't have a home till death since they're too poor or stupid to afford it. It's really OK, don't have to feel bad about it. You richer and cleverer don't owe them a living anyway.

longbow

I think few would want to buy such restricted flats. If you are poor, under this HK scheme you will buy a 4 rm flat from Sengkang at $140K (cost - building cost with land thrown in for free). But you would be restricted from much capital appreciation since you can only selling to similar poor people (even chnages in quota rules has huge impact on selling rpice of HDB).

If I were poor I would rather buy that low floor Sengkang flat for $210K, get the $30K grant and pay $180K for my flat. That is $40K more but if I finance over 30 years $40K is not msuch but I stand to reap a $200K gain when and if I sell down the road in. Of course if I have no money then I go for 3rm flat and still hope for equity windfall. Anyway, demand for such flats will be very small.

If the person the person in HK flat is doing better he has little equity to upgrade to a better condo (something that is happening enmass in Singapore). If he stay till he dies, there is less equity to pass on to his children.

BTW I keep using 4rm flats because when you look at the new 2 and 3rms, HDB is selling at below cost!

It is not a good idea.

Goh Meng Seng

longbow

GMS - instead of your HK plan why not look at HDB offerings for the poor.

New BTO Yishun. Studio flats 37sm $64 to $84K

Based on $140 psf building cost = $52K building cost

Housing Grant $40K-$70K = $30K for flat. That is below cost with equity down the road!!