• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Let's collate solutions for our problems and let us be heard!!!!!!!!!!!!

iamtalkinglah

Please post CONSTRUCTIVE COMMENTS/SUGGESTION ONLY

What are you unhappy about? For me:
1) Low bank interest rates
2) Low CPF interest rates
3) Too expensive to buy a property for myself to raise a family
4) Too many FTs in Singapore
5) Standard of living too high/not enough salary

I have thought of a possible solution to get companies to hire Singaporeans over FT.

1) Write to the newspapers (e.g. Temasek Review or ST forum or The Newpaper), whenever you experience a FT that is in a job position that clearly should be able to be done by a Singaporean. E.g. PRC doing receptionist job but cannot speak English.

It would create awareness among Singaporeans and when everyone makes noise, the Gov't will hear about this and have to do something about it. The Reform party supports for "minimum wage" policy.

2) One possible solution is to have a minimum wage policy for Singaporeans and for foreigners, they will get a lower wage but the employers need to pay a levy for the foreigners so net impact is, the same cost to hire Singaporeans (or marginally lower to hire Singaporeans) and foreigners for the Company but when using foreigners, the Singapore as a nation will get more income from the levy.

Since it is the same cost to the employer, employers will feel indifferent about hiring foreigners or Singaporeans.

I am not that smart, but those smart people such as the Gov't or the opposition party should think of a best solution for this.

Internet Brigade

I have thought of a possible solution to get companies to hire Singaporeans over FT.

1) Write to the newspapers (e.g. Temasek Review or ST forum or The Newpaper), whenever you experience a FT that is in a job position that clearly should be able to be done by a Singaporean. E.g. PRC doing receptionist job but cannot speak English.

It would create awareness among Singaporeans and when everyone makes noise, the Gov't will hear about this and have to do something about it. The Reform party supports for "minimum wage" policy.

2) One possible solution is to have a minimum wage policy for Singaporeans and for foreigners, they will get a lower wage but the employers need to pay a levy for the foreigners so net impact is, the same cost to hire Singaporeans (or marginally lower to hire Singaporeans) and foreigners for the Company but when using foreigners, the Singapore as a nation will get more income from the levy.

Since it is the same cost to the employer, employers will feel indifferent about hiring foreigners or Singaporeans.

I am not that smart, but those smart people such as the Gov't or the opposition party should think of a best solution for this.

The thing about a minimum wage is just that.... unscrupulous employers will pay just that... the minimum. And foreigners will be willing to be paid less than the minimum.

So what happens here is you actually made singaporeans more expensive vis-a-vis foreigners.

So some policies sound great from the populous standpoint. Be they end up doing more damage.

ksgd0717

Broading Scope of PMETs

1. "...may need to know how to undertake human resouces management to manage & motivate his staff"

Ans : Traditions.

2. "...may need to know techniques on productivity improvements"

Ans : Voting is compulsory. Please Bring This Poll Card And Your Identity Card To The Polling Station.

3. "...a little bit of finance"

Ans : COV = Bank's Valuation - Actual Selling Price.

4. "...a little bit of marketing"

Ans : To Those Who Trusted Me. Thank You.

5. "..will also need cross-cultured skills as they need to go overseas"

Ans : Which Is Better?

iamtalkinglah

The thing about a minimum wage is just that.... unscrupulous employers will pay just that... the minimum. And foreigners will be willing to be paid less than the minimum.

So what happens here is you actually made singaporeans more expensive vis-a-vis foreigners.

So some policies sound great from the populous standpoint. Be they end up doing more damage.

What is the salary of the offer cleaner now? $900?
What is the salary of the dish washer now? $700?
What is the salary of the people who clear your plates at foodcourts? $850?

Then make the minimum wage $1,000 (example la). Do you think it is fair for the Singaporean to earn $800/month when cost of a chicken rice is $3?

Public transport cost $2/trip = $4/day
Breakfast = $2
Lunch = $3
Dinner = $3
Total cost per month = $12/day * 30days = $360
That is almost 50% of gross salary $800. How about rental cost? Utilities cost? CPF?

I think you have mis-understood my suggestion. In fact, the suggestion I have given would make employers hire Singaporeans over foreigners.

EXAMPLE:

Minimum wages for Singaporean = $1,000

Foreigner willing to be paid $800
Then let Levy for foreigners = $220
Net cost for employer = $1,020

If you are an employer you would hire Singaporean or foreigner?
If the employer still want foreigner as PRC perceived to be more hardworking then that employer pay $20 in addition lah.
Gov't earn money then can reduce income tax.

If the Gov't cant commit on the Levy fees then dont. Have a law in place to say that the Levy will determined in the next accounting year when the Gov't received market information on how much a Singaporean earn in the previous year then the Gov't will use this as a basis to price the Levy.

This is just a suggestion, like I said, I am not smart and need the Gov't to work.

iamtalkinglah

Broading Scope of PMETs

1. "...may need to know how to undertake human resouces management to manage & motivate his staff"

Ans : Traditions.

2. "...may need to know techniques on productivity improvements"

Ans : Voting is compulsory. Please Bring This Poll Card And Your Identity Card To The Polling Station.

3. "...a little bit of finance"

Ans : COV = Bank's Valuation - Actual Selling Price.

4. "...a little bit of marketing"

Ans : To Those Who Trusted Me. Thank You.

5. "..will also need cross-cultured skills as they need to go overseas"

Ans : Which Is Better?

Bro, I don't understand what you are trying to say and as mentioned above, please post CONSTRUCTIVE COMMENTS/SUGGESTION ONLY hor :smile:

PAPsupporter

I would like to send my gratitude to our great PAP government for turning Singapore into a great country. 3 cheers. :smile:

DrPanacea

Item (5) - don't confuse standard and cost of living. These are two different aspects.
- We have high cost of living, but we do not have the Swiss standard of living promised by GCT.
- Australia has a high standard at a lower cost than Singapore.

DrPanacea

I would like to send my gratitude to our great PAP government for turning Singapore into a great country. 3 cheers. :smile:

You are a sycophant boot and arse licker. If your masters have sent you here, you are doing a poor job indeed. They will lose more votes because of you.

iamtalkinglah

Item (5) - don't confuse standard and cost of living. These are two different aspects.
- We have high cost of living, but we do not have the Swiss standard of living promised by GCT.
- Australia has a high standard at a lower cost than Singapore.

Where is your valuable comments? Please don't comment on my Grammar, Spelling etc, it is not counted.