• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

7 ways that Taipei beats Singapore - mrbrown

That's because Mr Brown has not been to Japan!

Besides all those listed, in Japan, it is impolite the use the phone on buses and train.

Go to China and you'll get a shock when you hear the Chinese talking and spitting all over the place. Singapore is fast regressing into that.

Indeed whenever u hear some loud mouths on the street, the likelihood is that he or she is some lan cheow PRC/Indian/Pinoy/Vietcong/Burmese and what have u not FOREIGN TRASH! Of course, to the likes of Josephine Bitch, they help to improve the human stock.

Wang Ye

IMy conclusion: The best place for Singapore is somewhere between current Singapore and Taiwan.

You mean old singapore right? Pre-GRC singagpore right? :biggrin:

All the same Singapore Society needs to continue to improve without sacrificing too much in the name of progress. At the rate we are going Singapore is going to end up as a giant overpriced shopping mall which everyone likes to drop in for a look but not spend money.

sufferwell

are there many taiwanese in s'pore?

anyway, FTs in s'pore will always declare s'pore to be heaven while their homeland is shit..

so logically the govt would want more FTs who are eternally grateful unlike s'poreans

scoobyhoo

Want to beat back, easy. if any one dirty any places, 100 strokes of canes. if any one pretend to sleep and never offer seats to the priviledged, 200 strokes of canes. if any one .... 300 strokes of cane, if any one...... 400 strokes of cane........

sure can be much much better!

i_am_belle

3. Yes, people in Taipei and HK stand to the right when using escalators. People in Singapore stand to the right or to the left. Some singaporeans who know the etiquette in SG stand to the left, the foreigners stand to the right, some ignorant singaporeans stand to the right as well. :smile:

u forgot to mention the ones who stand smack in the centre ...

Einfield

Ah Bian's party have a history of fearless struggle against the KMT, people like Chen Ju and Shi Min De face death sentence in the mei li dau case, Ah Bian is their lawyer, he also take risk defending them.

I understand why people still support the party even after Ah Bian's corruption case, they understand fully that never ever allow one party to control everything.

LKY is trying to sell to us that only PAP can rule SG or we will all go back to be a fishing village and racial riot will break out. And some brainwashed Sinkies brought it.

My conclusion: The best place for Singapore is somewhere between current Singapore and Taiwan.

1. Taiwanese street food is good and cheap.

yeah but the place to eat them are filthy and dirty, PAP did a good job for continuous upgrade.

2. Taipei has a kick-butt MRT system.

I do not see any difference.

3. Taipei people stand to one side when riding escalators.

So has a lot of country who promote such practise.

4. They do not pretend to sleep

I am sure some do.

5. Taiwan has a fantastic High Speed Rail.

singapore is tiny.

6. Taiwan has freedom of speech

only recent history, before the changes, they were much stricter than LKY.

7. Taipei is really, really clean.

maybe, but taiwan in the whole not so clean.

Taiwan is not yet a country yet the people treated it as a nation, a country. Singapore is a nation, a country yet PAP do not recognise it. So who is more doomed in comparison. By voting PAP out, Singapore still got hope.

The thing that struck me when I took the trains was how well-behaved people were. At the escalators, people automatically stood to the right (they drive on the right there, unlike us), so that those who wanted to move ahead can use the left side of the escalator.

Singaporeans have never understood the concept of standing to one side of an escalator. It is almost as if we believe that by not giving way, we win. Letting someone else go faster than we do, even if we just want to stand all the way down the escalator, is against our religion.

This escalator behavior of the Taipei folks was not just confined to the MRT. Everyone behaved in the same way even when riding escalators in shopping malls. How refreshingly civilized.

4. Taipei people don't pretend to sleep on trains while sitting in reserved seats.

We were traveling with a child and an elderly person most of the time (they were our friends' toddler and her grandma), and we never had any problems getting a seat for them. Passengers in the Taipei trains automatically gave up their seats for you, with a smile too.

Try being pregnant, disabled, elderly or with a kid in a Singapore train. You will discover the talent that the typical Singaporean commuter has for falling asleep precisely when you show up in front of their faces.

These behavioral patterns are learned and acquired from western (particularly US) social norms. The absence of such US and western influence in PRC from 1949 to 1979 marked the deviation of behavioral evolution between PRC and Taiwan.

What about Hong Kong and Singapore? Both were founded as inherently western (i.e. British). So, the people in Hong Kong and Singapore don't feel the need or make the conscious effort to learn things western, unlike in Taiwan. It's the same case as in Japan. In the past, hey made the effort learn Confucianism and social etiquette from China that they became more cultured and courteous than Chinese. The Chinese took it for granted and eventually lost all residues of Confucianist courtesy (the famous Japanese bow as a greeting originating from we know where).

Queen Seok Duk

http://www.cnngo.com/singapore/none/mrbrown-7-ways-taipei-beats-singapore-432166

I was surprised by what I found. Let me share some ways Taipei kicks Singapore's behind.

1. Taiwanese street food is good and cheap.

This one, we can't argue. Sg's food is too oily.

2. Taipei has a kick-butt MRT system.

This one, we can't argue. It's amazingly frequent, and very orderly. They even have LED lights in the train to tell you the previous stop, current stop and next stop. In Sg, you struggle to hear the announcement.

We've even lost out to Thailand.

I believe many years back this issue was brought up. And all that SMRT could do was to say that they did their own calculations and found little difference.

4. Taipei people don't pretend to sleep on trains while sitting in reserved seats.

This is because certain seats are expressly allocated to elderly folks and pregnant women. Even if the seats are vacant, it's against the protocol to occupy if you don't belong to that description.

5. Taiwan has a fantastic High Speed Rail.

Sg wouldn't need one.

6. Taiwan has freedom of speech

Yes.

7. Taipei is really, really clean.

Clean ? It's untidy with scooters scattering all over the places, including the corridors of shophouses. It's so bad that you can't walk through the corridors of shophouses; instead you need to walk along the main road to get from one end to another.

You're referring to Taipei City, and not Taipei province. The rest of Taiwan is not as clean as Sg.

Queen Seok Duk

Taipei is a city, not a province. There's no such thing as Taipei province. Taiwan itself in its entirety is a province, recognised as so by both ROC and PRC.

Within Taiwan itself, there is a difference between Taipei City 台北市 and Taipei Province 台北縣. The same goes for Taichung and Kaoshiung. The Taipei that the rest of the world are accustomed to is Taipei City.

OldPlaza

#8 - the service in Taiwan (Taipei) is 10x better than the fuck service you have here. There, the waitress in restaurants take care to explain the menu not here where the dumb fucks cannot even speak clearly to save their lives.

This is an unfair comprison, The salepersons (HK/TWN) basically speak their mother tongue to you. If you understand/speak, the SG salepersons mother tongues, (instead of judging the saleperson's service base solely on their language skill, probably English, I am sure you will be a happier customers. Remember, if the sale person speaks like an English professor, they would probably not serve you a $4/bowl of noodle soup in the first place.

#9 - there are no Chinamen and Banglas in Taiwan...You don't hear China-accent on the streets. They are opening their doors to tourists yes, but not importing container loads of China birds to degenerate the society

Our mixed-society is our strength not liablility. It is precisely why the world (East and West) come to live in our country. If you do not speak chinese, you will be shut out of many local happening/interesting places in HK/TWN. If you have issues with chinese speaking with chinese accents, that is your problem. Even, local SG, come in many different accents.. some use fake/mixed Aussie/UK/US accents.. some with do-not-know-where-it-comes-from pronociation/accent..

#10 - there is little or no government intervention. You see night market everywhere, Taipei itself have countless night markets, each with its characteristics. Here, night market is extinct.

Do you like to have night-market around where you live? (presumably you live in HDB). I do not mind going to other HDB to check out the night market, but I totally 'dislike' if they hold it in close proximity. Each country has its own characteristic and uniqueness, if you find yourself so disagreeing with SG culture, then you have to move on or move out..

#11 - Taiwan mei mei is 100X better than the S'pore girls. Mind you, the GDP level of Taiwan is higher than Singapore and women there receive high education too. But Taiwan mei mei knows how to satisfy a man.

Do you want TWN girl to be your girl/wife (assume that you are a man)? this will add to your frustration/misery, since you are so repulsed by foreign accents.

#8 - the service in Taiwan (Taipei) is 10x better than the fuck service you have here. There, the waitress in restaurants take care to explain the menu not here where the dumb fucks cannot even speak clearly to save their lives.

This is an unfair comprison, The salepersons (HK/TWN) basically speak their mother tongue to you. If you understand/speak, the SG salepersons mother tongues, (instead of judging the saleperson's service base solely on their language skill, probably English, I am sure you will be a happier customers. Remember, if the sale person speaks like an English professor, they would probably not serve you a $4/bowl of noodle soup in the first place.

@@This is Singapore. I will be happy that they can speak English. No problems. Bcos English is the official language here. But alas no, they don't speak no English properly for you to understand. I am not asking for Phd English level, just simple plain English that is communicable. And secondly, its their service quality - in Taiwan, their service staff at food outlets are courteous and they greet you warmly and take care even to explain their menu. I was impressed by one outlet when they even ask politely if I came before and whether I know how to order. If not, they will explain to me. I have yet to come across the same service standard here. And mind you, the price of food is cheaper if not comparable in Taiwan and Singapore.

And even in Thailand where both the staff and I cannot communicate in Thai- I can feel the quality, the smile, the greeting...

#9 - there are no Chinamen and Banglas in Taiwan...You don't hear China-accent on the streets. They are opening their doors to tourists yes, but not importing container loads of China birds to degenerate the society

Our mixed-society is our strength not liablility. It is precisely why the world (East and West) come to live in our country. If you do not speak chinese, you will be shut out of many local happening/interesting places in HK/TWN. If you have issues with chinese speaking with chinese accents, that is your problem. Even, local SG, come in many different accents.. some use fake/mixed Aussie/UK/US accents.. some with do-not-know-where-it-comes-from pronociation/accent..

@@ There are many foreigners in Taiwan. Go around in Taipei and you see foreigners. Even their bookshops stock a wealth of English / French books. Yes, I agree, if you go to other parts of Taiwan, you will suffer if you don't understand Chinese. My point is, we have been importing so much foreigners here that instead of asking them to fit and learn to accustom to us, we are asked and made to accustom to them??? Where in the world you see this? Likewise if you want to survive in Taiwan, you oughta learn Chinese, ditto for Japan, Japanese - so on so forth.

#10 - there is little or no government intervention. You see night market everywhere, Taipei itself have countless night markets, each with its characteristics. Here, night market is extinct.

Do you like to have night-market around where you live? (presumably you live in HDB). I do not mind going to other HDB to check out the night market, but I totally 'dislike' if they hold it in close proximity. Each country has its own characteristic and uniqueness, if you find yourself so disagreeing with SG culture, then you have to move on or move out..

@@ Night markets need not be located in HDB estates. Chinatown used to have a triving night market, ditto Bugis...what happened? And then STPB tried to hatch an artificial one in Chinatown, fell flat on its face.

Night markets are actually a huge magnet for drawing tourists - Hong Kong, KL, Taiwan, Thailand all have night markets. Even in the Western world, they have weekend bazars / flea markets. Singapore?

#11 - Taiwan mei mei is 100X better than the S'pore girls. Mind you, the GDP level of Taiwan is higher than Singapore and women there receive high education too. But Taiwan mei mei knows how to satisfy a man.

Do you want TWN girl to be your girl/wife (assume that you are a man)? this will add to your frustration/misery, since you are so repulsed by foreign accents.

@@ I am not repulsed by foreign accents. I am repulsed by foreign behaviors . Spitting, talking loudly, pissing on streets, unbathed bodies are all foreign behaviours that disgust me.

Within Taiwan itself, there is a difference between Taipei City 台北市 and Taipei Province 台北縣. The same goes for Taichung and Kaoshiung. The Taipei that the rest of the world are accustomed to is Taipei City.

That means prefecture, not province. A prefecture is about equivalent to county. A province is about equivalent to state.

When we do comparison. We must also bring in Hongkong, Tokyo as well so that we know where we stand. I have been to all this cities including Seoul and Shanghai. The latter two I will not be able to give my correct vies as I was on tour holidays. So I only compare Hong Kong, Tokyo, Taipei and Singapore only.
1. Taiwan street food is clean and cheap
a) Agree, Taiwan food is clean and cheap, something different from Singapore.
Where else Singapore only famous for hawker food. The enviroment have improved a lot, but then the leftovers are not cleaned fast enough leaving a bad sight to tourist. Hongkong are slightly more ex then of fine cuisine, so it is value for money, Tokyo is heaven but food is more ex but also value for money for its freshness.
3. Taiwan people stand to one side of the escalator
In this case, Singapore lose out to them. When I was in Taipei, there were not many people, so I don't notice. For Hongkong, you don't find many escalators thats a problem for weak and elderly people. There are more people taking MTR than in Singapore MRT. Overcrowding, Hongkong is the worst. For Tokyo, my goodness never seen so many people walking so fast, rushing to MRT but very orderly. Even before reaching the escalators, they already started queuing up to the escalators to the right side and right up to doorstep and orderly get inside the train. Very Japanese. As for we to reach Swiss standard, I say forget it. We must follow Japanese. Its not too late for us to start this etiquette before we reach the population of 7 millions. Just spend half an hour at around 6pm at City Hall, you know what I mean.
7, Taipei is really very clean
Of the four cities, Hongkong is the worst, Taipei and Singapore are on par, but one point about Singapore is the neighbourhoods, we must look into it. Too many litters all around the blocks and markets. Tourist have a good impression of Singapore cleaniness purely because of Orchard Road and the Airport. I would say Singapore stands out a beautiful city that the rest, but Tokyo is generally all round clean city. I spent nine days travelling on trains and every town, so I know. The good thing about Toyko is smoking. You are not allow to smoke while walking along any streets. There are many smoking area alloted. I think Japanese are the greatest smokers in Asia.
Overall, we must learn the way Japanese are before we reach 7 millions otherwise we are in the same league as Bombay. Swiss standard are only for MIWs, let our people follow Japanese standard.

Char_Azn

Many Taiwanese think Singapore is better than Taiwan, Sinkies think TW is better than sg..the tree is always greener than the other side

This is true in some ways. I was there just before the Panda attraction started. I was talking about it to a colleague and she calls it a national joke. They spent more then a few months debating about it and for all she cares, she just want to see Pandas. To the average guy on the street its really "Wu Liao"

But Taiwan TV is really interesting, not like the crap we get here. The have all types of TV Channel

1 with news all day, a few with nothing but variety shows, 1 - 2 Pan Green, Pan Blue political channels, etc

Well me brown ,

By now u should have understand the quality of sinkie behavior. The quality of being a human is not there. Whenever there is a sinkies around, quality is the last thing I can think of.