• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

7 ways that Taipei beats Singapore - mrbrown

SNAblog

http://www.cnngo.com/singapore/none/mrbrown-7-ways-taipei-beats-singapore-432166

7 ways that Taipei beats Singapore

Singapore likes to think of itself as a modern and high-end Asian city. We are cleaner, greener and leaner than our Asian neighbors, we are constantly reminded by our media and our government.

In subtle ways, our media draws attention to the flaws of our neighboring countries. Look at Malaysia and their church burning religious zealots! Look at Thailand and the instability caused by the Red Shirts versus the Yellows Shirts! Look at Taiwan and their politicians who constantly fight in Parliament!

"Aren't you glad you live in Singapore, where things are better?" seems to be the message.

It was the mental image of chair-wielding politicians that I carried with me when went to Taiwan recently. The wife and I and some friends flew to Taipei (on Singapore Airlines, of course, because it is better than any Asian airline) and spent a week there on holiday.

I was surprised by what I found. Let me share some ways Taipei kicks Singapore's behind.

1. Taiwanese street food is good and cheap.

Singapore used to be known for cheap food. We still have it here and there but really, food prices have been rising to what we call "air-conditioned food court prices". Where we used to pay SGD2 for a bowl of noodles in a hawker stall, it is now SGD3 minimum. At the food courts, it is hitting S$4.50 for that bowl.

So much so that when we hear of a wet market or hawker centre undergoing renovations, we expect prices to go up and the food quality to drop.

In contrast, in Taiwan, you would find a meal for less than NT$50, which is about two Singapore bucks. Sometimes with a free cup of tea thrown in.

Needless to say, we totally pigged out at the night markets. We made the mistake of having a full dinner on the first few nights. The trick is to just snack your way through the stalls at the night markets and not have one big meal first.

2. Taipei has a kick-butt MRT system.

Singapore has always prided itself as having a world class public transport system. But with a growing population, mostly from the influx of "foreign talent" is stretching our transport infrastructure.

The best that the Singapore MRT can do is an interval of 2 to 5 minutes between trains during peak. We are told it is due to the signaling system that needs to be upgraded to decrease that interval.

Trains in Taipei come as frequently as 1 minute apart during peak hour. The trains never feel as packed as Singapore trains, even though our populations are about the same (actually Taipei has about a million more people).

Which brings me to my next point...

3. Taipei people stand to one side when riding escalators.

The thing that struck me when I took the trains was how well-behaved people were. At the escalators, people automatically stood to the right (they drive on the right there, unlike us), so that those who wanted to move ahead can use the left side of the escalator.

Singaporeans have never understood the concept of standing to one side of an escalator. It is almost as if we believe that by not giving way, we win. Letting someone else go faster than we do, even if we just want to stand all the way down the escalator, is against our religion.

This escalator behavior of the Taipei folks was not just confined to the MRT. Everyone behaved in the same way even when riding escalators in shopping malls. How refreshingly civilized.

4. Taipei people don't pretend to sleep on trains while sitting in reserved seats.

We were traveling with a child and an elderly person most of the time (they were our friends' toddler and her grandma), and we never had any problems getting a seat for them. Passengers in the Taipei trains automatically gave up their seats for you, with a smile too.

Try being pregnant, disabled, elderly or with a kid in a Singapore train. You will discover the talent that the typical Singaporean commuter has for falling asleep precisely when you show up in front of their faces.

5. Taiwan has a fantastic High Speed Rail.

You can travel from the north to the south of Taiwan in 90 minutes using the Taiwan High Speed Rail express train. It is fast, clean and comfortable.

I am told it has its share of financial troubles and scandals but riding it was a pleasure. The only complaint I had was that the stations tended to be located somewhat out of the way.

Buying a ticket was painless and the stations had all the amenities you would expect from an airport terminal.

On the trains, food and drinks were sold at reasonable prices and the food was actually tasty. In Singapore, if we had a service like this, with a captive customer, you would most likely be buying a soft drink at triple the street price. Hey, you are on my train, there is no where else you can buy a drink, so I am going to sell you a drink at restaurant prices.

Not in this Taiwan bullet train. I found that buying a drink from the THSR train food trolley to be about the same as getting it from their 7-Elevens.

To be fair, we don't need a high speed rail for our tiny Singapore city. But it would be nice if we could travel from Singapore to Penang or even Bangkok via high speed rail. That would mean collaborating with Malaysia and we all know that it is not going to happen. We can't even agree on simple things like a crooked bridge connecting our straits.

6. Taiwan has freedom of speech

I was struck by how freely people discussed politics and current events in Taiwan. The taxi drivers spoke with passion about what they felt about their government and political parties (do check whose side they are on before you start whacking). TV and newspapers ask tough questions and grill politicians daily.

While it is true that truth can sometimes fall by the wayside in the pursuit of sensationalism and media ratings, I found it refreshing to see this lively exchange of ideas and opinions.

I am told this was not always the case and things improved only after the lifting of martial law in 1987 and even more so, after the KMT lost their dominance at the 2000 elections.

The chaotic energy of its culture is infectious. You feel it even walking through shops run by entrepreneurial young people.

7. Taipei is really, really clean.

I know this is odd but the air in Taipei smells cleaner than even Singapore's. Perhaps they don't have neighbors who burn forests every year willy-nilly, and perhaps their leaders have really cleaned up the city's air. Regardless of the reason, I am impressed.

And the streets! They are so clean! And they manage to do it without having a dustbin at every corner too. We tried to look for a place to throw our rubbish when we finished eating our street snacks and could not find a trash can easily. Yet we noticed people did not litter. When I asked the hawker where I could dispose of my litter, he just said, give it to me.

Singaporeans have to be fined into submission before they can stop littering. Even with the trash cans and cleaners at every corner. And we are so repressed, we become littering monsters in other countries, like Malaysia.

And the Taiwanese seemed more conscious of recycling too. The convenience store clerk asked me if I wanted a plastic bag because it would cost extra. And shops also gave out less disposable chopsticks.

In Singapore, we use styrofoam plates and wooden single-use chopsticks and Disposable Everything like our lives depended on it. You have to beg the supermarket auntie not to double-bag your groceries.

There you go, seven ways that Taipei is better than Singapore as a city. I can keep going, like how their cabs don't have as many ridiculous surcharges, and how much swankier their karaoke chains are but I won't. I don't want to be accused of being unpatriotic.

And don't have to remind me, I know, I know...

Singapore is still better because our politicians don't fight in Parliament by throwing chairs.gl

Watchman

It goes to show our people are slacking in all areas .

And town councils love to chase hawkers away so that they can get kick backs from contractor for allowing them to built air-condition food courts .

RonRon

Many Taiwanese think Singapore is better than Taiwan, Sinkies think TW is better than sg..the tree is always greener than the other side

Boliao

That's because Mr Brown has not been to Japan!

Besides all those listed, in Japan, it is impolite the use the phone on buses and train.

Go to China and you'll get a shock when you hear the Chinese talking and spitting all over the place. Singapore is fast regressing into that.

Devil Within

Go to China and you'll get a shock when you hear the Chinese talking and spitting all over the place. Singapore is fast regressing into that.

It may happen sooner than we know it. Already in some places (in Singapore), I thought I was in China with so many mainland Chinese serving me. In other places, I thought I was in India!

theDoors

And don't have to remind me, I know, I know...

Singapore is still better because our politicians don't fight in Parliament by throwing chairs.gl

Not working hard for the money.

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Taiwan MPs are busy hurling insults and fighting in Parliament while our MPs are so happy with their policies that they can relax, catch lost sleep and making dreams.

One up for Singapore.:rolleyes:

Taiwan people don't depend on their government to live and prosper. While their government throw chairs in parliament, their electronics sector is still giving their PRC, japan and korean competitors a good fight.
Singaporean without PAP don't even know how many children to give birth, or which school to send their children to.

Man in the streets

One man history with no culture, no moral values, no true history.....how to compare to Taiwan.

Taiwan is a country, Singapore is rogue factory.

RonRon

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/mPur4DMx_X0&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/mPur4DMx_X0&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

Devil Within

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/mPur4DMx_X0&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/mPur4DMx_X0&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

Big business religion is now finding more suckers from Taiwan. Woohoo! Alibaba alibaba Pastor Kong is gonna be filthy rich!

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
In Hong Kong, people will stand to the right side as well when taking the escalators. It is a common practice in both Hong Kong and Taiwan.

Goh Meng Seng

I can gladly add on to the list:

#8 - the service in Taiwan (Taipei) is 10x better than the fuck service you have here. There, the waitress in restaurants take care to explain the menu not here where the dumb fucks cannot even speak clearly to save their lives.

#9 - there are no Chinamen and Banglas in Taiwan...You don't hear China-accent on the streets. They are opening their doors to tourists yes, but not importing container loads of China birds to degenerate the society

#10 - there is little or no government intervention. You see night market everywhere, Taipei itself have countless night markets, each with its characteristics. Here, night market is extinct.

#11 - Taiwan mei mei is 100X better than the S'pore girls. Mind you, the GDP level of Taiwan is higher than Singapore and women there receive high education too. But Taiwan mei mei knows how to satisfy a man.

Enuff said.

i_am_belle

PAP has brainwashed alot of s'poreans to think that other countries are inferior to singapore, and these sinkees actually believe it ... that is sad ...

s'pore is inferior in alot of ways too ... the hawker food isnt that fantastic, and when the place is crowded, standards fall even further ... i was having satay on new year's eve but bcos the place was packed with ppl wanting to order satay in bulk for home barbecue parties, i was served burnt satay ... in addition to the long wait ...

satays are not meant 2b burnt or presented as small tiny hard pieces of meat on a stick ... goto any good indonesian restaurant and you'll see that the genuine variety is chunky succulent meat ...

ditto s'pore wonton & HK wonton ... i think HKongers will laugh at our wonton ... to rub salt to wound, our miserable looking wontons arent cheap bcos our eating places pay high rent which they pass on to customers ...

i usually hate local drama, but 'the best bet' (mark lee & his gang) - is good ... witty dialogue, interesting plot, talented comedians - i bet the scripwriter & directors are from HK ?

as i said b4 and i'll say again - the only good thing abt s'pore is its geographical location - no eathquakes, no typhoon, etc. at least so far we've been safe, read abt haiti and its really scary ...

popdod

Serious or not....Ah brown talk until Taiwan is like heaven lidat.
How can it be?

Taiwan Tourism Board pay him $$$ to write a review issit?
must be!

:o :biggrin: :o

there is always a difference between going to a country for a week or so for holiday and staying there for good.. a big difference may i add...

but nonetheless, taiwan is a much better country to go for holiday as compared to ah-neh-land or ah-tiong-land..:biggrin:

VIBGYOR

One way a Church beats the GARBRAMEN!!

_mg_7768.jpg

there is always a difference between going to a country for a week or so for holiday and staying there for good.. a big difference may i add...

Good wisdom from Sifu. Alot of foreigner and tourist praise Singapore but they aren't staying here for life.
On the other hand, Taiwan is one of the best kept secret tour destination for a while. Good service, pretty mei meis, best sushi outside japan, many natural spa. if you want a japanese holiday but cannot afford, go to Taiwan.

I have been to Taiwan many times and been following Taiwan news closely in recent times due to interest in Ah Bian's corrupton case. Although I agree that Taiwan is a great place and the people really know their rights, we should not always assume that the grass is totally greener on their side.

1. Taiwan street food is indeed good and cheap. But you can also find good bargains in SG. Don't go to the food courts especially those in town. Go to the hawker centres in the surburbs and one or two in town area.

2. Taipei MRT station is good but SG's is not bad either, just simply too crowded due to the increasing population. But if you want to see real overcrowding, you should go to HK, Japan or Shangai during peak hours.

3. Yes, people in Taipei and HK stand to the right when using escalators. People in Singapore stand to the right or to the left. Some singaporeans who know the etiquette in SG stand to the left, the foreigners stand to the right, some ignorant singaporeans stand to the right as well. :smile:

4. They do pretend to sleep as well, you haven't been there long or often enough.

5. They don't have an mrt extending to the airport, you either have to take a cab or a bus. And there are many problems with the company that runs the rail from Taipei to Kaoshuing.

6. Yes, freedom of speech, but frequent outbreaks of violence. There was fighting in parliament just yesterday and their protest rallies frequently end in violence, with even the police getting hurt.

7. Yes, clean in the uptown places in Taipei, but try going to the surburbs.

My conclusion: The best place for Singapore is somewhere between current Singapore and Taiwan.

Taiwan MPs are busy hurling insults and fighting in Parliament while our MPs are so happy with their policies that they can relax, catch lost sleep and making dreams.

One up for Singapore.:rolleyes:
SG needs to be somewhere in between current SG and current Taiwan bro, somewhere in between.
The former is too lack lustre, the latter too combative.