• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WTF!! DBS minimum DAILY balance now $1500

Boliao

From 1 September 2009, the average daily balance requirement for POSB Current Account will be S$1,500. The fall-below fee remains unchanged at S$2 per month for accounts with average daily balance of less than S$1,500.

People's bank??!!! Fuck I'm closing my account.

diversifyx2

From 1 September 2009, the average daily balance requirement for POSB Current Account will be S$1,500. The fall-below fee remains unchanged at S$2 per month for accounts with average daily balance of less than S$1,500.

Wise choice, i closed long long ago.

angie

2l919it.jpg

"Dey... Va doo u think? Of courze this iz doo zapport my fat pay check"

source? i checked the POSB site and it's still SGD$500.00?

any bank to recommend?:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Maybank seem to be a good bank. Currently I only have a credit card from them. I don't know why more people don't use them:confused: You can sit while waitig for the next teller is available :eek: With the aging population this is a plus :smile:

borom

As there are now only 3 local banks in Singapore (thanks to the 66% who elected this "world class highest paid govt" ), the local banks can pretty much do what they want in terms of pricing and types of services.

An oligopoly ....in which a market or industry is dominated by a small number of sellers (oligopolists)...... oligopolistic markets and industries to be at the highest risk for collusion....the firms may employ restrictive trade practices (collusion, market sharing etc.) to raise prices...Where there is a formal agreement for such collusion, this is known as a cartel. A primary example of such a cartel is OPEC which has a profound influence on the international price of oil.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oligopolies

There were many local banks in Singapore until this govt decide to toy with banking consolidation and the result was massive job losses , increase in prices and drop in service level.They followed it up with their billions investment in failed foreign banks.

Where is the accountability for they follies?

boring

tis is the problem of sillyporean, always suffer with silent. closing posb/dbs account the best protest, save time and won't get arrested by internet poodles when protest at road. i will close my account soon....

Maybank seem to be a good bank. Currently I only have a credit card from them. I don't know why more people don't use them:confused: You can sit while waitig for the next teller is available :eek: With the aging population this is a plus :smile:
You can sit while waiting for the teller.
But do they get a relationship maanger to serve you when you indicate that you want to place a time deposit?

From 1 September 2009, the average daily balance requirement for POSB Current Account will be S$1,500.

It's pittance. What's the big deal?:rolleyes: Anyone who can't maintain such a small sum should keep his money under his pillow instead. The bank does not want your custom.

angie

But do they get a relationship maanger to serve you when you indicate that you want to place a time deposit?

Yes & its a PRC syt (whadaya expect other than FTs?) who happened to serve me & she has serviced me in bed. :eek: But you can forget about requesting an FR or her contact from me. My motto is to f88k & forget. :eek:

pillow ?

I keep mine in the ovaltine tin bury under the papaya tree

Ah chek!, you blaff one lah!, now day, where got anymore ar wah tian?, can get, plastic bor to oredi!..even 'tak kiew' also come in plastic bor to...

where got par par ya tree?...all live 'chen hu chu'...the only par par ya we see these days..are tiong got ah mei one lah!...

you buff..one!:biggrin:

popdod

Where is the shark fin sauce?
I checked/.....didn't state 1.5k leh.

Spreading rumours again?

:rolleyes: :( :rolleyes:

Boliao

It's pittance. What's the big deal?:rolleyes: Anyone who can't maintain such a small sum should keep his money under his pillow instead. The bank does not want your custom.

Maybe you're rich but the lower income group still earns less than $3000. Half of that amount to maintain in a bank is a challenge for them.

Btw... I think you meant "The bank does not want your business"

No I did not mean : "The bank does not want your business".

I meant exactly what I typed ie "The bank does not want your custom"!:rolleyes:

My advice is for you to read widely in order to improve your vocabulary. There are subtle differences between the meaning of the words "business" vs "custom" that make the latter more appropriate in this instance.

http://www.yourdictionary.com/custom

custom definition
cus·tom (kustəm)
noun

1. a usual practice or habitual way of behaving; habit
    1. a social convention carried on by tradition and enforced by social disapproval of any violation
    2. such practices, collectively
  2. under feudalism, a service, rent, etc. regularly paid to a lord
    1. duties or taxes imposed by a government on imported and, occasionally, exported goods
    2. the government agency in charge of collecting these duties, or any of its offices
    1. the regular support or patronage of a business establishment
    2. customers as a group
  3. Law such usage as by common consent and long-established, uniform practice has taken on the force of law
PS: As for the lower income group, I say "to hell with them". They are of no economic significance in the grand scheme of things and there is no necessity for banks to cater to their pathetic needs when it comes to formulating bank policy.