• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Japs Made AV Out of Merlion!

Posted on 31 Jul, 2009 10:53
<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=530 align=center><TBODY><TR><TD>STOMPer asks: Are Japanese treating our national icon with disrespect in this video?

STOMPer HearTheLionRoars came across this Japanese advertisement depicting the Merlion and feels that it was done in bad taste.

The STOMPer says:

“I saw this video clip when one of my friends forwarded it to me.

“I might be a bit too sensitive, or lack humour, but as a Singaporean, I think it is done in very bad taste.
“Take a look at it, STOMPers.

“Frankly speaking, I'm sad to admit that I did find it quite amusing when I watched it for the first time, but after a few more times, I think it’s lousy.

“Our Merlion is not something that u can just treat with no due respect.

“No one can just call our Merlion to come and go as they wish!

“It is a country's icon, and in this case, it is our very own Merlion.

“I am sure there are better ways of promoting our country.

“What do you fellow STOMPers think of this?

“Anyway, I’m looking forward to NDP2009!”

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGE:
<SCRIPT language=javascript type=text/javascript src="http://www.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/_lytebox/lytebox.js"></SCRIPT><LINK rel=stylesheet type=text/css href="http://www.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/_lytebox/lytebox.css" media=screen>
<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=2 width=500 align=center><TBODY><TR><TD width=120 align=middle> </TD><TD width=120 align=middle> </TD><TD width=120> </TD><TD width=120> </TD></TR><TR><TD width=120 align=middle> </TD><TD width=120 align=middle> </TD><TD width=120 align=middle> </TD><TD width=120 align=middle> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
<TABLE><TBODY><TR><TD> </TD><TD>Are Japanese treating our national icon with respect? </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Debonerman

Careful now. Does the PAP have the reach to stop them? Next AV, they might do it on top of a Singapore flag!

Meltdown

Japan is a country with free speech like in America.

The gov't in Japan can't ban this type of AV regardless whether it disrespects SG as a nation or not.

Th AV disrespecting SG or not is a matter of personal opinion & interpretation from each individual viewer like you & me.

SG gov't can ban this type of AV bec SG doesn't have freedom of speech.

If Sinkies believes that PAP gov't should ban this type of AV, then Sinkies themselves don't deserve to have freedom of speech, freedom of the press, freedom of assembly, etc...

Sinkies only have themselves to blame for not having freedom & individual liberties in Sinkieland!! Please don't blame the PAP. The PAP is only doing what the Sinkies ask for & deserve in their subconscious mind.

Long live LKY & the PAP for a job well done!!

“Our Merlion is not something that u can just treat with no due respect.

When is sinkie treated with respect?

They have throw away their respect when they allow their govt to screw their ass and they dun even dare to protest and even bend down further to let them screw.

Some even turn around and thank them for screwing and carry their balls to make sure they are screwing them comfortably. They called themselves RC members.

hairylee

Yes, it is a great disrespect to our beloved Merlion. He should replace the Merlion with a statue of LKY instead.

cleareyes

I dun see anything wrong with the advert. In fact I find it cute and in the japanese own way, attracts them to come and visit Singapore.

I think the stomper is way too sensitive and could not draw the line on what is simple fun and what should be serious.

MentisMortis

Oh Puhleeze!

The Merlion is some chimaric entity created by the STPB to fool Sgeans into believing there is a shared national heritage.

Sg lacked a common heritage and viola the PAP decided that something should be done and instructed that one be thought up for the lack of one such icon would tear apart the social fabric of society here at least in the minds of the PAP.

I remember once how the STPB bastardised the Sang Nila Utama legend at one of the FamiLee Day Parades to include the Merlion in it.

So please, there is nothing to be ahamed or angry about, at least the Japanese are creative, I am sure the hip hopping rapping folks at MDA would have killed for the idea if they were not living in a box.

Afterall the Merlion is a mere figment of STPB's imagination.

Cheers,

MM

shOUTloud

One strange thing about Japanese, the guys usually fark-up looking but the obasan in this ad looks not bad leh. weird.

simonsays

Er.. Yah, what's wrong with the video?

I dun see anything wrong with the advert. In fact I find it cute and in the japanese own way, attracts them to come and visit Singapore.

I think the stomper is way too sensitive and could not draw the line on what is simple fun and what should be serious.

mercbenz

Seriously, when was the Merlion ever taken seriously by SGreans? It's just a concoction that the tourism board came up with.