• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Foreigner stunned by $20 plate of Nasi Padang at Ion Orchard

Hangover

this is correct.
Just a troublemaking malaysian wanting his 2 minutes

A plate of chye peng in Aust or US chinese eateries will also cost almost S$15-25

Ion Orchard could be the most unaffordable place that the malaysian visited.
Cannot afford then don't go. Still wanna share on social media.

Only local can complain because of low salary. Filthy rich foreigner come here also want to eat cheap cheap, they never hear Singapore is the most expensive city in the world? I would have charged him $50 and served small portion and asked him to compare the price with their own country food.

bobby

Obviously this FT never heard the famous remark by our learned Chindian doctor minister with a girlie name.....

Annunaki

Cannot afford moved to the most expensive city in the world for fuck!
Want cheaper food go to Low ses hdb estates outside Orchard!

kkbutterfly

we the consumer can alwa
Perhaps to enhance consumer protection...all stores must put the prices for each serve. I do not understand why the reluctance to out prices. For example 1 serve of rendang 4 bucks. Etc etc..the hawkers scares they cannot get away with overcharging?

we can alway gang up together and order a lot of dishs. when paying time just tell the cashier oh i thought is $3.50. i only have $5 in my wallet. dont want already.
1 day have 10 to 20 this type of prank their stall is finish. see if they want to hide their price.

whoami

Let's be frank here. Nasi padang will usually cost more to buy when one is a non-malay.

BS! I always patronise nasi padang "Sinar Pagi" at Geylang serai mkt. Just a plate of rice, rendang and sayor kacang. Cost me $5. My Cheena friend ordered same also cost $5. Where got my friend being overcharged? U go to tat stall, order same lauk, then come here and tell me how much u r charge lah?

On the contrary whenever i bought things from hardware or any Chinese shops i would get poor quality product. At times also ignored my presence and continue chit chatting away mandarin with other customers.:rolleyes:

whoami

much cheaper at nor's nasi padang at jalan tua kong. only $6.90 for same stuff.

photo-15.jpg

U r absolutely rite. Husband Chinese. I ordered fish (potong), sambal goreng and rice. Cost me $4.00. Reasonable. Cos fish not cheap.

Cottonmouth

U r absolutely rite. Husband Chinese. I ordered fish (potong), sambal goreng and rice. Cost me $4.00. Reasonable. Cos fish not cheap.

Halimah that cb already declared fish to be cheaper than chicken.

'For example, the price of chicken may be rising fast, but we can encourage Singaporeans to turn to alternative sources of protein, such as fish,' she told The Straits Times.

ToaPehGong

$20 for nasi padang is definitely expensive. That's why everyone aspire to be a Minister with multimillion dollar salary. It'll make the 20 dollar nasi padang sounds like peanut. Long live PAP

whoami

Halimah that cb already declared fish to be cheaper than chicken.

'For example, the price of chicken may be rising fast, but we can encourage Singaporeans to turn to alternative sources of protein, such as fish,' she told The Straits Times.

Maybe shes referring to ikan bilis.:smile:

whoami

Tat day order nasi goreng fm mamak stall at Marine Parade coffee shop. Add kambing instead of ikan bilis. So just rice and kambing meat. Cost me $7. Ridiculous!

Maybe you don't look m&d muslim enough. It's an open secret that m&ds hawkers overcharge non-muslim customers and will play victim card if they think the chinks are doing the same to them.

whoami

Maybe you don't look m&d muslim enough. It's an open secret that m&ds hawkers overcharge non-muslim customers and will play victim card if they think the chinks are doing the same to them.

Whether i look fair or dark, my essence in Malay is tere. 100% ethnic Malay i am.

If i look like Cheena i wouldnt be overcharged by Cheena tow kay.

Whether i look fair or dark, my essence in Malay is tere. 100% ethnic Malay i am.

If i look like Cheena i wouldnt be overcharged by Cheena tow kay.

Maybe they thought you were pinoy. Pinoys are also ethnic m&ds. But they are catholic m&ds. Do you look pinoy?

whoami

Maybe they thought you were pinoy. Pinoys are also ethnic m&ds. But they are catholic m&ds. Do you look pinoy?

Ehh...u dont ustand english. I said my essence is 100% Malay. Pinoy have Malay essence meh?:rolleyes:

So if is a pinoy, a non cheena, cheena towkay also overcharged them rite.