• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Newbie questions

freedom

Thinking of semi retiring or retiring in my jb home in 8 years time when the rts and Thomson line is up. Wondering how much does a family of 4 need to get by monthly with a car and part time maid? Any advice from forummers who have lived there for a while? Can I retire with S$3500 passive income? Have a feeling it is prob not enough. Children can commute to school in singapore, so save on international school fees.

malpaso

Don't know. Was under the impression that that was the norm like in Singapore till I read your post.

so far i know in KL if i buy house i don't pay agent. maybe JB agent greedy, i guess. Just tell the agent you not payin commission or you find other agent, so many.

3k passive income = 7.5k RM for sure you can retire in JB. If you can live be like malaysian and cook at home, shop at pasar, drive proton wira, why not.

whati would worry is.. how SURE is the 3k passive you getting?

freedom

so far i know in KL if i buy house i don't pay agent. maybe JB agent greedy, i guess. Just tell the agent you not payin commission or you find other agent, so many.

3k passive income = 7.5k RM for sure you can retire in JB. If you can live be like malaysian and cook at home, shop at pasar, drive proton wira, why not.

whati would worry is.. how SURE is the 3k passive you getting?

Good to know that it is possible to retire with S$3500 in Malaysia. Passive income from rental of landed terrace in Singapore . It may not be very consistent being a rental income so I think safer to work a bit.

malpaso

Good to know that it is possible to retire with S$3500 in Malaysia. Passive income from rental of landed terrace in Singapore . It may not be very consistent being a rental income so I think safer to work a bit.

oh, hi..! forgot, it's you! austin heights right? definitely doable but since you have 2 schooling kids might really have to scrimp & save, esp when they hit varsity age.

good2

Hi all,
Want to ask fellow forumers who don't drive and you have to cmmute brw JB and Sg regularly, can you share your experiences and how you go about commutig?
Thanks a lot!

whoami

Very true. Our Msian relatives may agree to help us by using their names so tat we could purchase a property there. All in good faith. But after we leave this world, their children may come claiming the property as it was under their parents name.

Grago

Very true. Our Msian relatives may agree to help us by using their names so tat we could purchase a property there. All in good faith. But after we leave this world, their children may come claiming the property as it was under their parents name.

Go to the lawyers and do a legal document stating that property is held in trust for you and your family by your relatives.

Frodo

Never buy house using another person's name, history has taught us many times even parents, spouse (especially foreigner spouse), children and siblings cannot be trusted where huge amount of money is concerned...

Actually I was also tempted to use mother/father/in law name to buy while I try BTO (try to bypass HDB lah) but somehow don't feel the peace to do that. So in the end use my own name and forget about BTO, just keep and rent HDB. Somehow the feeling is different, no more the queasy uneasiness when you know the property you buy is in your own name. Will never have ownership issue unless I bipolar or have multiple personalities problem.:biggrin:

JBless

Re: Married couple looking to spend CNY arond Nusajaya/HH for 2 nights(Any house/Reso

Selling My House Semi-Detached House - Taman Pelangi, Johor Bahru, Johor

• 5 minutes to CIQ
• 10 minutes to the CBD, Church, Mosque, Temple, Cinema etc
• Basketball, badminton and Futsal court within 5 minutes of walking distance
• 2 stories semi-d house
• quiet neighbourhood with 24 hours security
View Photos here.
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.455960164512971.1073741827.295988607176795&type=1

Actually I was also tempted to use mother/father/in law name to buy while I try BTO (try to bypass HDB lah) but somehow don't feel the peace to do that. So in the end use my own name and forget about BTO, just keep and rent HDB. Somehow the feeling is different, no more the queasy uneasiness when you know the property you buy is in your own name. Will never have ownership issue unless I bipolar or have multiple personalities problem.:biggrin:

Haha bipolar or multi personality also no problem, kicked yourself out one day and go back to the house the next day lor...

snowbird

Go to the lawyers and do a legal document stating that property is held in trust for you and your family by your relatives.

Sorry, Malaysians are NOT allowed to "held in trust" a property for a foreigner but can bequeath to one. Even if such a legal document is drafted, its not recognised in the courts.

whoami

I have thought of tat too. But some of my friends told me theres no such procudure. And is not safe too. But if really got such lobang, really i dont mind.

whoami

Sorry, Malaysians are NOT allowed to "held in trust" a property for a foreigner but can bequeath to one. Even if such a legal document is drafted, its not recognised in the courts.

I thought so too. But maybe a smart lawyer may come up with something...

potter

Provided u r the only child. for -in law nei.., not so good or rather avoid it. :p

good2

Has anyone bought a unit at Horizon Residence or considering it? If u have kindly give your opinions on the place, eg how much psf u think it can fetch now, TOP date, mgt fees.
Its still under construction, would you advise to buy now or wait till its TOP?
Thanks and good weekend!

good2

I am using windows 7, I bought the notebook when Win 7 first came out, so no service pack. But when i surf, there's always a pop up telling me to upgrade my browser. When I click upgrade to a newer browser like explorer X, it says my notebook cannot upgrade. Anyone tried Chrome or Firefox, care to share whether u recommend it, pros and cons, etc. Tks