• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Over 100 complain to CPF Board against NTUC Income

[h=2]Over 100 complain to CPF Board against NTUC Income[/h]
dmca_protected_sml_120n.png
PostDateIcon.png
September 7th, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author:
Editorial

ntucincome.png
More than 100 financial consultants have filed a joint complaint to the CPF Board against their employer NTUC Income. NTUC Income has allegedly over-deducted from their income to pay into their CPF over many years. These over-deductions were not submitted to CPF Board but kept by NTUC Income which has not returned the bulk of these over-deductions to the financial consultants. This practice went on for many years in NTUC Income, according to the financial consultants TR Emeritus (TRE) spoke to.

A letter from CPF Board (shown to TRE by the financial consultants) acknowledges that a complaint was formally lodged with CPF Board on 14 September 2012 [Link]. Over 100 signatures accompanied the complaint:
NTUC-Sign1.png

NTUC-Sign2.png

In their collective letter to CPF Board, the financial consultants said that they had been chasing their union representatives to “expedite resolving many long outstanding issues” with the management of which one “big item” is the “employee’s portion of CPF over-deducted upfront from our basic remuneration, retained by our employer but was not being deposited into our CPF accounts as was the original intent and purpose”.
They submitted the NTUC Income CEO’s circular dated 26 April 2012 to CPF Board as evidence. The circular was sent by the CEO to all the financial consultants, announcing several matters including the refund of employee’s portion of CPF, but only for 2 years – 2010 and 2011. This is despite the over-deductions which NTUC Income had made for more than 20 years. In the circular, the CEO called the 2-year refund a “gesture of goodwill”:
ntuc-circular.jpg

The financial consultants want all the over-deductions over the years to be refunded and not just for the 2 years.
One financial consultant told TRE, “We just want to get back what rightfully belongs to us. It’s been a year since we last filed the formal complaint with CPF Board which have yet to resolve this issue for us.”
Currently, 141 of NTUC Income’s financial consultants [Link] are embroiled in a High Court suit with their own union, the Singapore Insurance Employees’ Union (SIEU). 3 of them, in their capacity as elected union branch representatives, have filed a High Court application against SIEU for failing to secure complete representation of the interest and welfare, as well as failing to look after the economic or social status, of its members (‘Union members go to court when union fails to represent their interests‘).
In an affidavit filed by SIEU President Terry Lee, TRE saw an attachment [Link] which mentions the unresolved CPF matter. The attachment is a copy of minutes of a meeting held on 6 February 2012, between the management of NTUC Income and officials of SIEU.
At the meeting, SIEU President Terry Lee confirmed that the CPF over-deduction matter had been an outstanding issue for years. He said that the union had raised this issue with management for many years but nothing was done.
He also said that if there really was an over-deduction, it would be best for management to address and resolve it. He added that SIEU had informed the financial consultants that management would not shortchange them and it would be good if management could demonstrate their good faith on this issue.
At the meeting, it was also noted that NTUC Income CEO would only consider refunding the over-deducted payments for a period of 1 to 2 years but not more:
“The CEO said that he will review this with Mr Chai (SVP & Head of Finance Division of NTUC Income) to see if management can allow a refund of the over-deducted payments for a period of say 1 to 2 years. It will not be possible to go further back than this.”
It remains to be seen how CPF Board will deal with NTUC Income on this matter.
In March 2013, NTUC Income was actually fined about $3 million by IRAS for under-declaring the income of its financial consultants for two decades (‘NTUC Income pays $3m in fines, back-taxes’):
SINGAPORE – Insurance giant NTUC Income paid around $3 million last month in back-taxes and fines, after it emerged that it had under-declared the incomes for its agents for two decades.
The issue came to light recently after the tax error was mentioned in a lawsuit filed by three NTUC Income agents against the Singapore Insurance Employees’ Union.
Speaking to The Straits Times last Friday, NTUC Income’s senior vice-president and general manager for distribution, Mr Ken Ng, said that the error was an oversight, and added that it had voluntarily approached the Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore (Iras) to make good. “We took full responsibility for it,” he said.
Incidentally, SIEU President Terry Lee himself was a CPF Board member from 2006 to 2009.
The High Court hearing on the issue of SIEU failing to represent the interests of the financial consultants has been scheduled on 9 September 2013.

DuYunQi

And the NTUC income insurance is aggressively doing a ad campaign on tv.. "trust them", seems to be the very very "big" message to viewers.

Now this.. what a load of crap!!

all unwholesome deeds will swing back to hit the wrong-doers
this is the non-judgemental law of the universe
so be very careful the way you treat people

ChoBohLan

all unwholesome deeds will swing back to hit the wrong-doers
this is the non-judgemental law of the universe
so be very careful the way you treat people

Chee bye kopi, resort to calling mother is a very wholesome deed indeed. Pui!!

good morning Uncle Cho
how are you this morning
good morning to you
happy sunday Singapore!!!
may you strike 4d this evening
huat ah!!!!!!!!!

Administrator

Anyone else experienced a huge jump in premiums for any of your Medishield Insurance

suka suka increase and peasants like us will suffer.

7111234032_19679356050188.jpg

This ST letter writer had a shock when told by NTUC Income that the premium for his Enhanced Incomeshield with Rider had jumped by 50% from$1.879 to a whopping $2,900 upon renewal! He asked how this could be justitfied even though NTUC balmed the increase on the enhanced benfits announced by the Govt, rishing medical healthcare cost and serving customer needs.

Trim the damn costs I say and the unneccessary frills, and the Govt needs to get its act together with its selfish shitty healthcare plans for Singaporeans where we are already paying high co-payments which deter many from seeking necessary treatment, We also pay higher prices for medicine cos the G pays no subsidy and cos prices of meds are priced by manufacturers according to each country's GDP per capita. Next check into the rising and high rentals and the over priced charges by many private doctors and specialists. Even European expats here such as those from Germany say operations and healthcare cost in Singapore is expensive here more so than where they come from.

TopSage

Re: Anyone else experienced a huge jump in premiums for any of your Medishield Insura

you ain't seen nothing yet!

all this is before major changes to mediahield
announced by PM in NDR. They are usingmediahield to
do what progressive taxation is suppose to do

1. trusting what those dafter sheep peach is definitely suicidal hoh:kma:
2. ntu-no c is just useless:kma:

escher

Re: Anyone else experienced a huge jump in premiums for any of your Medishield Insura

Until sinkies kick out everyone motherfucker of those PAP maggots cockroaches, just
keep your head down down and arseholes up high high to be screwed and fucked and shut up!

bryanlim1972

you ain't seen nothing yet!

all this is before major changes to mediahield
announced by PM in NDR. They are usingmediahield to
do what progressive taxation is suppose to do

why you scared? if we don't like the premium increases, we will let them know in 2016 :biggrin:

don't have to wait until 2016
just terminate the insurance cover asap

Bigfuck

Wah. Goodwill my ass. You have committed a crime so you must pay the full extent of the law. What is more, can you even trust such a company with your money if it fucked up with monies of its own staff? Is it really oversight? Let investors not stay to find out.

Members ..."baaa. baaa, baaa", that is why they appointment members as president & in 'them are sick', with 'faulty compasses' & say the compass is good..they have a lot of good holey men!

and leave myself uninsured?? are you mad??:confused::confused:

why not
insure yourself by living a good healthy and wholesome life
if there is a need to be hospitalised, opt for the cheapest ward
go through AE and use your Medisave...medical treatment is still the same
minus all the physical comfort...we have a world class medical care system
so no worry....time to die, got your AMD and wave good-bye to all
no need to pay and pay for unnecessary drugs and treatment...that's the way to go