• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

We don't want 6.9m population. What can we do?

LITTLEREDDOT

Dot don't want 6.9m population by 2030. Dot is opposed to this stupid master plan. How can we stop the juggernaut that is the PAP and the technocracy? What can we do?

Some solutions may seem obvious e.g. vote the PAP out. But the PAP is likely to retain a majority past 2030, so voting them out of power is a slow process and is not the solution.

Someone has to got to stop this madness, and it has to be the citizens!

Dotology: are dots dense?

denzuko1

Dot don't want 6.9m population by 2030. Dot is opposed to this stupid master plan. How can we stop the juggernaut that is the PAP and the technocracy? What can we do?

Some solutions may seem obvious e.g. vote the PAP out. But the PAP is likely to retain a majority past 2030, so voting them out of power is a slow process and is not the solution.

There are people who wait for things to happen and there are people who make it happen, most importantly which one are you?

To vote them out, you need a credible replacement, and that comes from nurturing a party or coalition from the opposition. the reason why the oppositions are still fuck up at this moment is because the people are complacent and letting them having their way.

If the people become critical of the oppositions making them aware of how their action would affect the people support, do you think they will not buckle up?

jubilee1919

That's where Opposition parties can play their part. Not WP but the rest so Singaporeans will not hesitate to support them in 2016 if they show some leadership in this issue.

There are people who wait for things to happen and there are people who make it happen, most importantly which one are you?
To vote them out, you need a credible replacement, and that comes from nurturing a party or coalition from the opposition. the reason why the oppositions are still fuck up at this moment is because the people are complacent and letting them having their way.
If the people become critical of the oppositions making them aware of how their action would affect the people support, do you think they will not buckle up?

The WP is credible. Not all opposition parties are as you described. If I have to choose between a party that sells us out to foreigners and the current opposition, I will take the latter which is the lesser of two evils.

Sir_Fcuk

Lunch Corporal
Vote PAP out or stop having sex.

Oh wait.... they (PAP) can import Singaporeans to replace you.

batman1

By 2030 the number of foreigners will be 45% out of projected 6.9 million population.So why are we doing NS for what ? To protect this small island from foreign invasion ? No need lah,the foreigners have already invaded this small island called singa-pura by courtesy of the Great Leaders of PAP.

Boliao

Singaporeans did too little too late in the last election. They think they're smarter than the PAP and that PAP would 'repent' by giving them a slap by giving Aljunied and Punggol East to the opposition. Well, little do we realized, we have already lost in 2006 election.

The PAP has chosen the nuclear option of opening the floodgate wider. The are telling you "Fuck You! I'm going to drown all of you with my beloved FT".

Today, the PAP has already privatized majority of the state's assets, placed their cronies all over key positions, put FT into the parliament and pull in enough FT to dilute the Singaporean votes. WE ARE FUCKED!

What's wrong with 7 or 8 million Singaporeans in the Republic Of Singapore? It will make this place ROCK LIKE HELL!!!

1. Your ancestors are immigrants.Why deprive others of this chance to come to this golden mine to prosper?
2. Immigrants is good for the economy. The more the better.The economy will boomz!!! Otherwise the malls will be empty.
3. Singaporeans are in fact a country of immigrants.So what is the big angst over more mass immigration ? The more the merrier!!!
4. Immigrants do work many Singaporeans do not wish to even touch or smell.We need foreign workers badly.
5. Mass immigration is good for a racial mix. Only those opponents are racially inclined. Singapore is now multi-national.
6. Singapore is built by our ancestors and immigrants without them, we will still be a big swampland and barren ground.
7. Immigrants like all of us want a better life for themselves and for their loved ones.Why are we being so selfish and myopic?
8. Immigration adds diversity and spice up our lives with different cultures,different faces and different colourful people .
9. The more people we have, the more our economy will grow and the more prosperous we will be. Why curb immigration?
10. Although we are small, we can still use many areas for the intake of more immigrants. We have enough space!!!

Old Uncle welcome 10 million people in Singapore. This will make Singapore the bustling HUB OF ASIA, THE NEW YORK OF ASIA AND THE MONACO OF ASIA....MAJULAH SINGAPURA!!!

Between the years 1925 and 1965, immigration to the United States was so low the number of immigrants in the United States actually decreased. Yet during that time Americans built the richest country the world has ever seen. They also invented computers, put a man on the moon, accomplished huge civil rights gains, successfully prosecuted a world war against two major powers simultaneously, and still managed to get their lawns mowed.

But the debate continues to rage as to the various economic advantages and disadvantages of immigration.

But the basic position on the economic question is this:

1.If mass immigration is bad for the economy, we are merely stupid.

2.If mass immigration is good for the economy, then we are both stupid and base: We are saddling future generations with an overcrowded, polluted urban sprawl-land filled with balkanized factions thus proving ourselves too stupid to preserve our heritage and country and so base we are willing to sell it for a buck.

http://www.projectusa.org/arguments/09-immigration_good_for_economy.php

1. aiyoh!
2. nothing else matter except the gdp.
3. what a load of crap about the quality of life & world-crass living.
4. at 7mil, you literally smell each other's rear hoh:biggrin:
5. kopi, at 10mil, there is even kosong place to cremate!

The idea that somehow we suddenly can't run a country without an endless supply of foreigners is absurd.

The falsehood repeated endlessly, that immigrants do the jobs Americans won't, is really tantamount to something like this: Imagine the owner of the local McDonald's puts a sign in the window that says: "Dishwasher wanted. $1.00 / hour." Suppose he leaves the sign in the window for a month, but no one comes in to apply for the dishwashing job. "See?" the McDonald's owner might say, "Dishwashing is a job Americans won't do. But there are a billion people in China who work for less than a dollar per hour. I need to import some cheap workers from China (or Bangladesh or Mexico)."

Then he or she will import the worker, undercut American wages, and, as a bonus, stick the taxpayer with the cost of the new worker's health care, of educating his children, and so on.

And politicians will talk about how our economy "depends" on immigrant labor.

A country should do its own work.

Bloody lazy Singaporeans, do your own cleaning, do your own laundry and do your own washing ...Buck up or else tomorrow will never come!!!

SgGoneWrong

What's wrong with 7 or 8 million Singaporeans in the Republic Of Singapore? It will make this place ROCK LIKE HELL!!!

1. Your ancestors are immigrants.Why deprive others of this chance to come to this golden mine to prosper?
2. Immigrants is good for the economy. The more the better.The economy will boomz!!! Otherwise the malls will be empty.
3. Singaporeans are in fact a country of immigrants.So what is the big angst over more mass immigration ? The more the merrier!!!
4. Immigrants do work many Singaporeans do not wish to even touch or smell.We need foreign workers badly.
5. Mass immigration is good for a racial mix. Only those opponents are racially inclined. Singapore is now multi-national.
6. Singapore is built by our ancestors and immigrants without them, we will still be a big swampland and barren ground.
7. Immigrants like all of us want a better life for themselves and for their loved ones.Why are we being so selfish and myopic?
8. Immigration adds diversity and spice up our lives with different cultures,different faces and different colourful people .
9. The more people we have, the more our economy will grow and the more prosperous we will be. Why curb immigration?
10. Although we are small, we can still use many areas for the intake of more immigrants. We have enough space!!!

Old Uncle welcome 10 million people in Singapore. This will make Singapore the bustling HUB OF ASIA, THE NEW YORK OF ASIA AND THE MONACO OF ASIA....MAJULAH SINGAPURA!!!

Kopi, u earn pittance from pap for betraying Singaporeans but you will pay your heavy dues in hell when your time is up.

1. aiyoh!
2. nothing else matter except the gdp.
3. what a load of crap about the quality of life & world-crass living.
4. at 7mil, you literally smell each other's rear hoh:biggrin:
5. kopi, at 10mil, there is even kosong place to cremate!

you are spot on general..spot on...we will be breathing down each others' necks...
i was queueing for my bakchomee when this guy behind me was literally breathing into my neck...nahbeh stand so close for fcuk!

ahsoo

Singaporeans are really angry this time. SDP should organize gatherings at Hong Lim park every other week to force the PAP to relent. Imagine if we have 10,000 people showing their anger at the PAP each time....

This is a good chance for SDP or any other opposition party to build their credential among Singaporeans. It is an urgent issue that requires urgent action.

Kopi, u earn pittance from pap for betraying Singaporeans but you will pay your heavy dues in hell when your time is up.

yes sir, you are spot on!
this is a debate sir, the one with the convincing figures will win...
please read the link provided and you will see the other side of the story..
kopi is merely stimulating some alternative views here....see??:smile:

The idea that somehow we suddenly can't run a country without an endless supply of foreigners is absurd.

The falsehood repeated endlessly, that immigrants do the jobs Americans won't, is really tantamount to something like this: Imagine the owner of the local McDonald's puts a sign in the window that says: "Dishwasher wanted. $1.00 / hour." Suppose he leaves the sign in the window for a month, but no one comes in to apply for the dishwashing job. "See?" the McDonald's owner might say, "Dishwashing is a job Americans won't do. But there are a billion people in China who work for less than a dollar per hour. I need to import some cheap workers from China (or Bangladesh or Mexico)."

Then he or she will import the worker, undercut American wages, and, as a bonus, stick the taxpayer with the cost of the new worker's health care, of educating his children, and so on.

And politicians will talk about how our economy "depends" on immigrant labor.

A country should do its own work.

SgGoneWrong

yes sir, you are spot on!
this is a debate sir, the one with the convincing figures will win...
please read the link provided and you will see the other side of the story..
kopi is merely stimulating some alternative views here....see??:smile:

Your conscience knows best. Tell that when you are at level 18th in hell.

MaiTuLiow

Singaporeans are really angry this time. SDP should organize gatherings at Hong Lim park every other week to force the PAP to relent. Imagine if we have 10,000 people showing their anger at the PAP each time....

This is a good chance for SDP or any other opposition party to build their credential among Singaporeans. It is an urgent issue that requires urgent action.

Totally agree. Singapore for Singaporeans!

Opposition Unity working towards 2016.

Mai tu liow... cepat cepat

good for nothing singaporeasn can't even survive without a maid!
cannot survive without the foreigner washing the stair-case!
cannot survive without the IT fella trouble shooting for you!
cannot survive without the technician coming to your office to fix the bulb!
cannot surivive without the bangladeshi worker coming to your house to clear the shithole!

singaporeans are useless and too dependent liao - that's why we need mass immigration....majulah singapura!!!