• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

India Indians Brings Cows Into HDB Flat - WTF!

I hope no FT Ah Neh is reading your post now..

You just gave them a good suggestion..

One of this days, a newly arrived Pundek PR family from India will call the zoo to try rent a baby elephant for the housewarming party for his newly accquired resale flat..

good what, later elephants and cows stampede mah hor lor.........

[h=2]幼稚園老師慶喬遷之喜‧2500租2牛入屋祈福[/h]
2012-12-23 19:15
<!-- Top_News_Banner_Sci --><!-- Zone Tag : SinChew-I News Banner -->

emnb_18_27776.gif
<IFRAME id=google_ads_frame3 height=60 marginHeight=0 src="http://googleads.g.doubleclick.net/pagead/ads?client=ca-pub-1832805187275639&output=html&h=60&slotname=4227117988&w=468&lmt=1356436685&ea=0&flash=11.5.502.135&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.sinchew.com.my%2Fnode%2F272653%3Ftid%3D2&dt=1356436690661&shv=r20121206&jsv=r20121214&saldr=1&correlator=1356436687576&frm=20&adk=1271114334&ga_vid=222558744.1356436687&ga_sid=1356436687&ga_hid=183013178&ga_fc=1&u_tz=480&u_his=0&u_java=1&u_h=768&u_w=1366&u_ah=728&u_aw=1366&u_cd=32&u_nplug=0&u_nmime=0&dff=times%20new%20roman&dfs=16&adx=-2&ady=-2&biw=1345&bih=645&oid=3&ref=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.sammyboy.com%2Fshowthread.php%3F138581-India-Indians-Brings-Cows-Into-HDB-Flat-WTF!&docm=7&fu=0&ifi=3&dtd=32" frameBorder=0 width=468 allowTransparency name=google_ads_frame3 marginWidth=0 scrolling=no></IFRAME>
<STYLE> #midtext { width:300px; } </STYLE>

• 292x300.2012.12.23.sm1.jpg
    宗教師在單位里主持儀式,並指牛進入住宅是一種福氣,可以驅邪。​
  • 292x300.2012.12.23.sm2.jpg
    兩頭牛同乘一部組屋電梯,抵達組屋單位。​

spot_arrowleft.jpg

1 of 2
spot_arrowright.jpg

(新加坡23日訊)新加坡一戶家庭要為新入伙的組屋單位祈福,花1千元(約2千500令吉)向農場租了2隻牛,讓牛乘電梯入屋“光臨"。
這戶家庭的新居,是位於榜鵝坊5樓的一個組屋單位。

<!-- MidAdQuote_Sc -->【特別企劃】心里,是不是藏著一句“謝謝”?星洲網邀你將那份感激之情都寫出來,一起坦然迎接2013。

女屋主瓦蘇琪德維(44歲,幼稚園老師)表示,她是花了1千元,向蔡厝港的一間農場,租了一隻母牛和一隻小牛。
她指出,為慶祝遷居,父母曾在印度這麼做,她因此決定效仿
“我們相信,牛只會為我們的新加坡帶來祝福和好運。"
儀式於12月14日進行。當天,400公斤的母牛和50公斤的小牛,分別“穿戴"了色彩繽紛的披巾、花環、玲子等裝飾物,同乘一部組屋電梯,抵達組屋單位。
它們隨後被領入屋內,並在裡頭逗留了10分鐘。
屋主也在當天進行了近一小時的宗教儀式,其中包括將牛奶煮滾,並用草喂食牛只。
宗教師:牛能驅邪納福
主持教儀式的宗教師指出,能讓一頭牛進入自己的住宅,其實是一種福氣,因為他們相信牛能驅邪。
興都教中心的副會長冉芬德然也同意,表示在興都教中,牛是個神聖的動物,迎接它將帶來興旺。
(星洲日報/國際)

OverTheCounter

I like to hear Shanmugam’s explanation. His previous explanation for allowing the PRC family to restrict the local Indian family cooking was a shocker.

When the Law Minister spoke up, his first instinct was to caution Singaporeans against xenophobia, rather than protecting our cultural heritage and way of life.

Make no mistake about it — K Shanmugam’s primary focus and concern was that we accommodate foreigners, not that foreigners learn to respect our traditions and adapt to our local customs.
The Law Minister took pains to emphasize that the CMC which acted as the mediator in this matter is a neutral and independent party that does not impose its wishes on the parties in dispute. He also stressed that it is also not the CMC’s role to point out whether an agreement is reasonable or not, and that the solution must be provided by the disputing parties themselves.

By making the CMC sound more like a passive and innocent bystander rather than an active enforcer which is supposed to provide both leadership and clarity in any dispute, K Shanmugam in fact was not helping matters at all.
In this instance, citizens have been told that a foreigner has made a complaint against a Singaporean family concerning a local custom that has been alive in our nation for generations, and that the Singaporean family has yielded to their demands.

Would the Law Minister please explain to us how a passive and lame-duck CMC helps to alleviate people’s concerns about the willingness of foreigners to adapt to our local ways?

The day that curry became political was not the day the Indian family acceded to the demands of their PRC neighbours. Compromise is often necessary in life, and respect and tolerance must work both ways. Perhaps both parties really did come to an amicable solution and both were genuinely pleased at the outcome. At least, that is what I hope happened.

Instead, the day that curry became political was the day that a cabinet minister demonstrated that his first instinct, his first reaction, was to protect foreigners from any potential xenophobia, rather than trying to assure Singaporeans that the government would do its best to get foreigners to adapt and adjust and be part of our community.

We should all abhor xenophobia, whether against foreigners or against any specific community.
I believe that given our history as a nation of immigrants, Singaporeans from diverse ethnic and religious backgrounds have learnt over the generations to coexist harmoniously and peacefully.

Do the newcomers to our land, the foreigners that we welcome to our shores, share these same ideals too?
It is the responsibility of the government to ensure that foreigners who come to live and work here respect our local traditions and customs and appreciate our way of life.

Tolerance and understanding cannot be a one-way process. It must be a shared journey, a common path forged between Singaporeans, foreigners and the government. However, the government has yet to show it is keen on sharing this journey with Singaporeans.

chupacabra

Why ahneh need to bring cow into their homes? I thought their wives and mother in laws suppose to fill in that role?

Religion does not mean can do anything...that's y some people use religion as reason to kill, rob, steal n cheat. It's simply not practical to have cows , I am surprised their combined weight did not spoil the elevators.

Next time I must ask zoo for a couple of lions for lion dance for my new place...religion mah

In India, if a cow wanders into your shop, you'll have to welcome it. You cannot drive it away.

Cow-in-tailoring-shop1.jpg

Thick Face Black Heart

Religion does not mean can do anything...that's y some people use religion as reason to kill, rob, steal n cheat. It's simply not practical to have cows , I am surprised their combined weight did not spoil the elevators.

Next time I must ask zoo for a couple of lions for lion dance for my new place...religion mah

Not just the elevator weight. Its a matter of being willing to integrate into the kind of urban living that exists in countries like Singapore. Obviously those who bring cows into HDB flats still think they are living in a kampung or in a low built area where livestock roam freely and its okay to have large cattle strolling around. Why don't they look around to see if other people behave similarly. Its a case of wanting to live in a 1st world environment with high population density and yet unable to accept the consequences of that decision which entails a change of habits, lifestyle and culture.

The adage "while in Rome do as the Romans do" obviously doesn't apply to the foreigners we bring in. What the fuck.

Goldeneye

Some practices that are appropriate in rural situation not OK in urban area, that too in a case where you ate only 5% or so... It would be like some slaughtering goats in void deck or roasting dog meat in condo barbecue

Gahmen should ban this, even if someone object

Thick Face Black Heart

Some practices that are appropriate in rural situation not OK in urban area, that too in a case where you ate only 5% or so... It would be like some slaughtering goats in void deck or roasting dog meat in condo barbecue

Gahmen should ban this, even if someone object

When the govt razed down our kumpungs our folks accepted that rearing livestock was no longer acceptable in urban environment. We've come down this path before and we adjusted. We adapted. We expect no less from foreigners who want to settle here. Either adjust to our ways or don't come.

Ironically the forced settlement of villagers led to a group of dissidents in Hougang who later voted in Low Thia Khiang.

Goldeneye

Totally agree, either adapt or go back...

BTW USA / UK has so many rules on moving, handling cattle even in rural areas and farms...

hey frens,, can tell me where the indians got the cows from in singapore? dont need approval to move them from place to place? and singapore still got cow farm meh?

and in bangkok,,i heard,,in the past the elephants and the trainer will go from house to house as it was good luck,,than the congestion got from bad to worse and the gahmen there banned it for the city,,rural area still ok,,so customs make way for practicality,,,

dietcoke

Let me give u guys an example .. If a Chinese family wanted to use the viod deck for wake but at the same time a Malay couple wanted to held heir wedding there at the same place .. So who will get to use the void deck ?

i have seen it. the void deck was spilt half half. half for funeral, half for malay wedding. i am serious..