• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Young Malays Reject Equal Rights: “We Need Our Privileges”

Franjipani

Stupidman

Young Malays Reject Equal Rights: “We Need Our Privileges”​

Story by Fernando Fong
• 2d
1732695079881.png

In a revealing snapshot of Malaysia’s racial divide, 73% of young Malays have voted to maintain their special privileges – effectively endorsing unequal treatment of their fellow citizens in a country where they form 60% of the 32 million population.

The Merdeka Center’s recent survey of 1,605 young people aged 18 to 30 lays bare an uncomfortable truth.

While respondents across all ethnicities were evenly split on equal rights, with 48% supporting equality and 49% favouring special privileges, the breakdown among Malay respondents tells a different story.

An overwhelming 73% backed continuing bumiputera privileges, with only 24% supporting equal rights for all Malaysians.

Defending Inequality
“I wouldn’t be where I am without bumiputera rights,” says Aidil Azmady, 23, an engineering student at Universiti Kuala Lumpur Malaysia France Institute (UniKL MFI).

Living in Bangi, Selangor, a Malay-majority enclave near Kuala Lumpur, Aidil has few friends from other races and views these special privileges as “citizen’s rights” that should be maintained.

“I studied in a private college before – the fees are not affordable for Malay students,” he said.

In the northern state of Kedah, 30-year-old padi farmer Syakir Hamzah offers another perspective from rural Malaysia.

Working his family’s one-hectare rice field on Malay reserve land, he earns barely RM950 monthly.

For him, these privileges aren’t about advantage but survival.

His land, protected by affirmative action policies, has been in his family for generations.

Privilege By Design
This stance effectively endorses a system where university admissions, housing rates, government positions, and business opportunities are allocated based on ethnicity rather than merit.

While defenders frame it as protection for disadvantaged communities, critics see it as institutionalized inequality that divides modern Malaysia.

The survey findings appear to reflect deeper concerns about economic security and cultural heritage rather than racial prejudice.

Young Malays consistently express concern about maintaining Bumiputera representation and protecting disadvantaged members of their community.

However, after over half a century of affirmative action, the policy’s effectiveness remains questionable.

Nationwide Sentiment
From Melaka, where over 70% of the population is Malay/Muslim, to the bustling streets of Kuala Lumpur, where diverse communities intersect, the sentiment remains surprisingly consistent among young Malays.

Their strong support for continued privileges suggests Malaysia’s racial divide may persist well into the future, even as the country aspires to compete in an increasingly merit-based global economy.

The findings present a challenging paradox for Malaysia’s future: how can a nation progress while its majority youth population actively supports unequal treatment based on ethnicity?

As one young respondent put it, these privileges are seen as “birthright” – a perspective that raises serious questions about Malaysia’s path toward true economic competitiveness and social cohesion.

I'd always say: Malaysia is not called for nothing. All other races there have to accept the fact that they are just "in-transit".

“I studied in a private college before – the fees are not affordable for Malay students
All university students are accorded, if they wish, student loan to study in any local Universities ( public and private) irregardless of race or religion.

The gomen only need to dismantle the need for bumi requirements in gomen procurement and contracts as it has become irrelevant especially for large projects. The bumi partner or company merely a broker only. And a spoiler. Causing project delays.

Sub-humans need a leg up because they cannot compete on an even keel.:biggrin: Please do not say I am racist, because I am not.

if they abolish this bumi rights...and probably in 10 years you will see improvements as they are force to work hard or starve to death... so there will definitely be improvements for them... just my opinion

The real issue is..are these bumi rights given to all bumis? Or just the select few that are link to the political elites..n these soo called bumis are given scraps of the table to make it look like they are given rights?

Coolie gene Sinkies in hdb should also fight for their rights to free education as foreign students currently enjoy.

if they abolish this bumi rights...and probably in 10 years you will see improvements as they are force to work hard or starve to death... so there will definitely be improvements for them... just my opinion
Nonsense. Let see you give CECA equal rights.

The real issue is..are these bumi rights given to all bumis? Or just the select few that are link to the political elites..n these soo called bumis are given scraps of the table to make it look like they are given rights?
The elites get the cream at the top even though by right, if they are wealthy they should not be given the special rights. The aim if NEP is to help the poor move up.

Without the Bumi/Malays, no way the chinese can enjoy chip house, chip car, chip subsidise med, chip petrol. Lists goes on. Still not happy, Chinese can migrate to Spore and enjoy "equal" rights for all races

now you are talking shit. It is precisely due to the chinks' illustrious nature that the malays need their privileges. They want and even demand their privileges.
Chinese won't allow a non Chinese to rule the island. So it's similar mindset.