• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

YOG volunteers threatened with detention if they refused

Watchman

YOG volunteers threatened with detention if they refused

http://uberawesomedinosaur.blogspot....nist-much.html

Wednesday, August 11, 2010

Communist Much?

I received a letter from my school informing me that, as a secondary two student, I was required to welcome the YOG flame with the school by the cheering it on as it ran past Woodlands Mart. I groaned as the teacher emphasized on the word 'mandatory', and when she stated that if I were to absent myself with no appropriate reason, I would be sent to detention. The day after, via an online forum, I learnt that not only in my school, but students from other secondary schools around Singapore were forced to cheer on the YOG flame at certain designated points.

This begs a question - what kind of democratic country are we, if our students are forced to display FALSE support?

The cheering on of the YOG flame should not be mandatory at all! Based on a recent survey, 90% (or more) of the people in Singapore do not care about the Youth Olympic Games. This means that majority of the students cheering the YOG flame on are there agaisnt their will and are forced to show their support. Their false support. And why??? To show other countries that Singaporean youth are active? That we looooove sports? Whichever and whatever the reason, the government forcing us to cheer on YOG and simply putting a facade on for Singapore.

There are other things forced upon us, like education (school). But that is understandable - without education, where would we go to? Our naive minds would definitely choose to not go to school and end up at the bottom of the economy - clearing up the garbage of other countries.

Therefore, I am posting this question for ANYONE to respond to.
What kind of democratic country are we if our students are forced to display false support for the YOG?
http:/twitter.com/snablog

I received a letter from my school informing me that, as a secondary two student, I was required to welcome the YOG flame with the school by the cheering it on as it ran past Woodlands Mart.

True or not? Post the letter if it is true.

Something is really wrong that the PAP need to force people to volunteer!

Take the photo of the letter and post it here, facebook, youtube.........
School leran from PAP do it by force. KNN
The school principal/teacher should not do that . What will the kids/children learn from the example the school showing them. Next time when they grow up they will do the same.
In Western/Japan/S, korea even China they will not force school student to show support.

the kid clearly has much to learn about stinkapore. there r many things in life that we're all forced to do:

1. false support & cheer for YOG
2. serve NS & reservist to protect foreigner desecrated land
3. contribute 20% CPF, while employers r still contributing lesser CPF (that was once upon a time $ for $).
4. buy super over priced HDB flats, that was supposed to be affordable
5. forced to buy 4room or above HDB flat, when u choose to be frugal
6. pay exhoribitant trasnport fares for unsuccessful boarding onto transport
7. pay thru our noses for accelerated inflated prices for necessities in life

no picture, no proof, no punch. compare to that photo of dog food, ah that is good one!