• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Yellow Uses Fake CCTVs @ AyeAssA Prison?

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>More residents use fake CCTVs to deter crime
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Huang Huifen
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
A4-1.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

Mustafa Centre sales promoter Visweswaran Tirugana Sambandam holding up a dummy CCTV. Real CCTV cameras cost between $120 and $400, while dummies are priced from $4.50 to $50. The dummies have become more popular in the last five years because of their low prices and effectiveness in preventing crime. -- ST PHOTO: NG SOR LUAN
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->The next time you walk past your neighbour's closed-circuit television (CCTV) camera, look again.
It may be just a dummy.
HDB regulations do not allow CCTVs - even fake ones - to be installed along common corridors, to protect the privacy of residents.
Despite this, an increasing number of residents are still buying the dummies as a cheap form of deterrence against break-ins, vandalism, theft and loan-shark harassment.
Marketing executive Jason Lee, who used to peddle China-made dummy CCTVs on online forums, said the trend was a reaction to a rise in vandalism and loan-shark harassment.
The police received nearly 4,000 complaints of loan-shark harassment in the first three months of this year, up from just 2,066 in the same period last year.
HDB home owners usually place the dummy cameras along the corridors, said Mr Matthew Ng, the project and channel manager of security services firm Innotec Solutions.
The dome-shaped dummy, made of plastic, has a battery-operated blinking LED light bulb, which gives the illusion that it is in operation. Home owners use screws or strong adhesive glue to attach it to the ceiling.
Innotec, which launched its dummy CCTV cameras about a year ago, sells about 100 units every month. It also supplies them to Home-Fix The DIY Store and ExxonMobil.
A Home-Fix spokesman said an average of 30 units have been sold each month at 17 outlets since June last year.
Mustafa Centre's CCTV section sales promoter Visweswaran Tirugana Sambandam said about 25 units of China-made dummies are sold each day. The product was launched two weeks ago.
The dummies have been on the market for almost 10 years, but have become more high-tech and popular in the last five years because of their low prices and effectiveness. Real CCTV cameras cost between $120 and $400, while the dummies are priced from $4.50 to $50.
Real CCTVs are connected to a television network. They can prevent crime and help in investigations with footage of suspects. But security pundits say dummies are useful only for preventing crimes.
'It is part of human nature to behave yourself when you know that you are being watched. Once someone sees a camera, he won't bother to think if it is real or not,' said Mr Soon Kok Ann, a spokesman for security service firm ShineStar.
'But eventually, it is still advisable to install a real CCTV to protect what is important to you,' he added.
However, Mr Marcius Tio, security adviser of ADT Security, said it is easy to tell the fake from the real.
'There are no cables linking it to a surveillance television, thus it is easily recognisable as a dummy,' he said. ADT does not sell dummies.
Recognising the limitations of the dummy, engineer Lubino Degracia Magsombol, 49, has plans to install it in his house instead, to prevent his two teenage sons from accessing pornographic websites while he is at work.
'If I put it outside my house, people can see it is fake,' said the Singapore permanent resident from the Philippines.
But the police advised that home owners should still be vigilant in preventing crimes.
'Ensure all doors and windows are well secured when you leave the house, keep valuables in a safe, maintain all CCTVs and alarm systems regularly, and inform your neighbours if you are going on a holiday,' said the police spokesman. Would you install a dummy CCTV? Have your say at [email protected]

th_phprQ7rpi.jpg

Un zhua? Cannot ah? If I donch cut cost, who will pay for my $$$million salary? U? *chey*

>>>Recognising the limitations of the dummy, engineer Lubino Degracia Magsombol, 49, has plans to install it in his house instead, to prevent his two teenage sons from accessing pornographic websites while he is at work.
'If I put it outside my house, people can see it is fake,' said the Singapore permanent resident from the Philippines. <<<

Sporns kena hounded by loan sharks cos some BEST PAID minister in the world is only interested in persecuting the Leegime's critic. Yet the 154th is only interested in interviewing and chanting the FTrash theme. Why has Peesai becum such a fcuked up place now? It doesn't deserve to be called a cuntry!

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>Beware! Car fitted with security camera
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Jamie Ee Wen Wei
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
A4-2.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->The car's built-in alarm system is no longer good enough to deter break-in thieves and car-scratchers. Fussy motorists now have cameras fitted too.
Vendors contacted said many motorists have gone to them to install surveillance systems - costing up to $9,000 each - in their cars.
They said this was to ward off vandals and thieves, and to record evidence in case of accidents.
In the past two months alone, the vendors said inquiries have shot up by at least 20 per cent. One vendor reported selling close to 100 units within a few months.
When marketing executive Jack Tan, 33, had his six-month-old Honda Fit scratched at a public carpark four months ago, he installed a $500 closed-circuit television (CCTV) camera on its dashboard.
One vendor, Innotel Solutions, used to sell surveillance systems only to corporate clients, but in the last two months has sold 20 sets to individuals.
For another vendor, the pull factor was a hit-and-run on his car. Sales manager Jason Ho, 33, went into the car surveillance system business after another motorist hit his car and scooted off.
Sensing that there was a demand in the market, he brought in the devices from Taiwan. Within a month, he had sold about five sets. Each cost about $3,000.
'It's a protective measure and, after all, Singaporeans are quite passionate about their cars,' said Mr Ho, who started his company, TK Automotive Security Products, about a month ago.
Most surveillance systems are customised to fit the car owner's needs or to suit the size and shape of the car. But a basic set-up usually comes with a camera and a digital video recorder.
Footage is stored in memory cards and computer hard drives.
Most cars require one or two cameras but larger vehicles like vans may need up to six cameras. Prices are between $300 and $9,000, while car alarms cost between $200 and $300.
Mr Kenneth Low, 24, sales and marketing manager of ZMC Securities, one of the vendors, said: 'This is still a luxury for most drivers.'
The more inventive users have come up with unusual ways to use their cameras. Mr Low said some drivers use the cameras to record their speed thrills in Malaysia.
Ms Serene Sim, business director of Innotel Solutions, said she has seen YouTube video clips of drivers cutting into the lanes of those with cameras on board.
For Mr Tan, versatility was foremost in his decision to fit a detachable camera in his car. 'You can even take it home to monitor your maid or your neighbours.' Would you install a camera in your car? Send your views to [email protected]

Being a fake is actually a sinkie behavior and without honour.

Well, they are in sinkieland , aren't they?