• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

World Cup prices affects coffee shops

Watchman

World Cup prices affects coffee shops
Bryna Sim | The New Paper | Sun May 9 2010

11600.jpg

Some coffee shop owners thinking of raising prices of drinks to cover costs of screening the tournament.
http://www.soshiok.com/article/11600

Singapore, May 9, 2010 - IT’S way too expensive. So we might not pay for the 2010 World Cup broadcast, say some coffee shop owners in Geylang.

That’s because airing the matches will cost them more than $14,000 each.

Madam Eunice Yeo, 55, and Mr Alvin Chan, 35, run 24-hour coffee shops next to each other at Geylang Lorong 15.

Both Madam Yeo’s Tai Say Eating House and Mr Chan’s Ming Li’s Seafood Eating House each have seven TV sets installed.

Both are popular with patrons as they regularly screen football matches all year around.

Madam Yeo and Mr Chan pay about $1,500 a month for both StarHub and SingTel sports packages. These enable them to screen EPL and Champions League matches.

According to SingTel and StarHub’s pricing rates for commercial establishments like coffee shops, it costs $2,888 for the first TV set (screen size under 50 inches) and $1,888 for each subsequent set to show the 2010 World Cup.

Have to fork out
So if they want to show the matches on all seven of their screens, they will have to fork out $14,216 each in total.

“I’m so glad the television sets I recently installed are under 50 inches,” said Mr Chan.

Just last month, Mr Chan changed two of the TV sets in his coffee shop to 42-inch Panasonic flat screen TVs.

These two sets, which were CRT TV sets, had broken down last month and he thought it was time to buy new ones, in time for the World Cup.

If his TV sets are above 50 inches, he would have to pay $4,888 for the first TV set and $2,888 for each subsequent set under the latest rates.

The current rates are a far cry from the prices of 2006.

“Back then, we paid about $600 per TV set (to watch the World Cup),” said Madam Yeo.

The rates for commercial establishments for the 2006 FIFA World Cup were controlled by StarHub.

Ms Huang Shu-Yin, StarHub’s assistant corporate communications manager, could not confirm the 2006 rates, saying that these rates “were not made public”, and that they were “unable to disclose the rates”.

When Madam Yeo, Mr Chan and employees from two other coffee shops at Geylang Lorong 15 were informed of the latest prices, they were shocked.

“I’m seriously considering boycotting this. I will discuss with other coffee shop owners to see what they intend to do,” said Madam Yeo.

Mr Chan shook his head in dismay and said: “If I want to get cable for all seven TV sets, I might consider passing on the costs to my customers.”

This, he said, might come in the form of higher drink prices.

“Instead of charging 60 cents for a cup of coffee, I might have to charge a dollar,” he said.

Coffee shop employees Mrs Gek, 48, and Ms L M Fong, 25, also lamented about how prices “just keep increasing”.

Mrs Gek works for Yun Lai Eating House, while Ms Fong is an employee at Xin Xing Seafood Restaurant – both located along Geylang Lorong 15.

Both coffee shops also have seven TV sets each.

Competition is keen, they say.

“We need all the customers we can get if we want to keep doing well in relation to our rivals,” said Mrs Gek.

That’s why she’s sure that despite the high prices, her boss will pay.

“I guess I just have to work extra hard in getting customers to purchase our beers,” said Ms Fong.

StarHub’s Ms Huang said that she hopes commercial customers will support their carriage of the 2010 FIFA World Cup.

“Businesses generally benefit from screening major sporting tournaments such as the World Cup as they tend to see a positive impact to the number of customers and sales revenue,” she said.

Madam Yeo’s employee Bernadette Arpon, 52, said that during World Cup season, the coffee shops are usually so packed that there’s standing room only.

“The place becomes like a ‘World Cup central’,” she said with a wide grin.

Each of the four coffee shops has about 40 tables, with four to six seats per table.

That makes for a seating capacity of about 200 people per coffee shop.

Mr Chan and Mrs Gek have already installed new TV sets in their premises.

Madam Yeo, however, doesn’t intend to spruce up her coffee shop.

“Our customers told us they like the unpretentious, nostalgic feel of sitting together watching soccer on plastic chairs and at wooden tables. So as long as they’re happy with it, we’re happy too,” she said.

LOL, McDonalds maybe the only 1 earning in this World Cup, LOL

aiya ...

dun sunscribe la ... lidat no nid 2 worry abt raising kopi costs ...

So downgrader fuckhead is lying

He said Geylang can receive RCTI clearly

So why are the coffeeshops so upset

Is it illegal for Coffeeshops to buy antennas to receive Indo channels? :confused::confused::confused:

So downgrader fuckhead is lying

He said Geylang can receive RCTI clearly

So why are the coffeeshops so upset

We are not surprised that a cheapskate like you will use antenna booster for your phantom restaurant. :D

dunno wat the fark is all the hype. just go simlim buy a simple antenna booster to recieve m'sian or indon channels, our neighbors free broadcast, only sinkieland thanks to sinktel & stuckup like to charge exhorbitant prices. the whole island should just boycott subscribing, switch to RTM or RCTI, let sinktel & stuckup clamp their own balls for this worldcup.

let this be 1 solid & painful lesson to teach them a good valuable lesson. so when eurocup comes in 2012, there'd be more free-to-air options.

Owners happily increase price...where got logic? Why dont they just charge those who sit at the coffeeshop watching Football and leave the rest of the customer alone?

Why no one answer my question? Coffeeshops allow to broadcast World Cup from Indo channels to the Public or not har? :confused::confused:

of course not, lah. this is singapore, everything is illegal or ban unless pap said so, since allowing that will cause PAP companies to lose money, of course cannot.

yesterday in Ch 8 news, the 2 major coffee shop association announced maybe kopi will cost $1 to $1.20 during World Cup month, they are still busy coming out with guidelines to members to display price hike duration...

when reporter ask them for comment on consumer fears that the kopi prices once up will not come down after World Cup is over ... the spokeman response is :

不排除这个可能性。。then start to lament last round sugar & coffee costs up, they oredy absorb in view of bad times, now .......

KNNBCCB !PUI ! :oIo::oIo::oIo: