• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Woody speaks on opposition's strategy

G

General Veers

SM Goh speaks on opposition's strategy

Posted: 04 February 2010 2308 hrs

<table align="right" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="260"> <tbody><tr> <td align="right" width="20"></td> <td align="right" width="240">
php3Ofshk.jpg
</td> </tr> <tr> <td height="60" valign="top"></td> <td class="update" height="80" valign="top"> <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"> <tbody><tr> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="138">Photos </td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="47">1 of 1</td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="18"><input disabled="disabled" id="btnPrev" value="<< Previous" onclick="Prev();" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_previous.gif" height="15" type="image" width="18"></td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="19"><input id="bntPlay" value="Play - Stop" onclick="Play()" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_stop.gif" height="15" type="image" width="19"></td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="18"><input disabled="disabled" id="btnNext" value=" Next >> " onclick="Next();" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_next.gif" height="15" type="image" width="18"></td> </tr> </tbody></table>
dotline_240.gif

Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong
</td> </tr> <tr> <td></td> <td class="update"></td> </tr> <tr> <td></td> <td>
</td> </tr> </tbody></table>

SINGAPORE: Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong said the opposition will focus on policies which they think are not working for Singapore.

He was asked to comment on reports that opposition parties want to contest in Tampines GRC with the plan to turn growing concerns over the affordability of public housing into an election issue. National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan is an MP there.

Mr Goh also noted that the opposition is trying to win one GRC or one or two single seats. He added that the ruling People's Action Party would have to convince the voters that the policies of the government are right.

Mr Goh said: "Housing prices have gone up, but is this the work of the minister or is it a wrong policy? Or is it the demand for housing is so high? And the answer lies in liquidity. There is so much liquidity in Singapore and the interest rate is so low.

"So anybody who can borrow money from the bank think they can just hop to property and make a killing. But there is a danger. When the interest rate goes up sometime in the future, are you able to service your loan? Most people don't think that way.

"You can target on such policies, but the voters got to ask themselves - are you just criticising without offering an alternative solution? If they can criticise and offer a superior alternative which the voters believe in, of course the opposition will be in a strong position to win over votes.

"You criticise without an alternative solution and sometimes you criticise without giving the full facts and the context. It is our job to point out that you are just giving wrong information and giving figures out of context. So this is the debate.

"One must expect the opposition to try and find fault with our policies, but we will be able to defend our policies quite well. That is the nature of this contest."

Turning to problems being faced by the Malay community in Singapore, Mr Goh emphasised that there were national problems.

Mr Goh explained: "Their performance in mathematics, in education, dysfunctional families is not peculiar to the Malay community. But for the Malay community, the sense of proportion of the whole community is higher.

"It may be double what we see for the Chinese population or the Indian population. We've got to attend to the problem in two ways - one on the national basis, the national policies must be right and also resources must be given to solve the national problems.

At the community level - that is, outreach and implementation - how do you reach out to dysfunctional families? I still believe that using Muslim leaders will be more effective than using a Christian leader to reach out to the Muslim family on their problems."

Senior Minister of State for Foreign Affairs, Zainul Abidin Rasheed, added: "It is nothing like having the Malay-Muslim leaders themselves being engaged in this, and Dr Yaacob and the Muslim leaders, in fact, all the Malay-Muslim organisations are on hand.

"They are working through the community leadership forum to work out programmes. We are approaching them squarely and being honest about it and we want to tackle as much as we can. We have made much progress." - CNA/vm

popdod

Counter attack launched liao.

Now openly say oppositions only know how to kpkb..
but
dunno how to offer solutions.
no different from those kopitiam ah peis.

Sinkies read tis confirm sure nod head wan and think...
"ya hor...they only know how to comprain..but
no constructive ideas...no different from my pantry aunty."

Now the ball throw back to oppositions liao.

:o :( :o

G

General Veers

Asking for solutions when they are drawing astronomical salaries? How about giving me half of his salary? I will then offer them my solution.

kingrant

The PAP is a Party of the rich, for the rich, and by the rich.

They demand millions of dollars from the people's taxes for their salaries and they ask us to tell them alternative solutions. Goh and all his hangers-on should resign if they cannot solve our problems. They don't have to think they are indispensable. Better and more caring people will come forward and rise to the occasion.

sinren67

Opp members like NSP Goh Meng Seng, RP Kenneth and SDP CSJ are willing to go "live" to debate with PAP, but are they prepared? Then stop commenting opps have no solutions.

iamtalkinglah

Opp members like NSP Goh Meng Seng, RP Kenneth and SDP CSJ are willing to go "live" to debate with PAP, but are they prepared? Then stop commenting opps have no solutions.

There is a same thread under Coffee Talk :smile:

First it was Mah BT trying very hard to defend his HDB policy screaming "AFFORDABLE" using half revealing example of $3000 income buying a $250K flat with 30% of income for mortgage payment. This is the example he used. I have calculated that this is based on a 30 year mortgage term! Even Teh CW was honest enough to point out that with the price increase for HDB flat in 1981, Singaporeans would have to pay 20 years mortgage instead of 5 or 10 years before they could afford their flat.

Then PM Lee came out to show support for Mah BT. MM Lee started to throw his weight around in support Mah BT using the old tactic of putting up the threat that "if Mah BT lost his seat, Singaporeans better sell off their HDB flats and get out" because HDB flats will have no value.

Now, we have SM Goh trying to go into some depth in arguing that its not the Minister Mah's fault that HDB flat prices went up! Well, at least he said PAP will have to debate opposition member like me on my "figures" which happens to come from theirs! :wink:

This is going to be pretty interesting. All the heavy guns have positioned themselves but they are not ready for an open debate? Someone suggested to me, go for a Live TV debate....hmmm....

Goh Meng Seng

I am in support of a live tv interview whereby Singaporeans can make calls to the ministers and of course with Singaporeans as live audiences to shoot them.

popdod

The problem here is.....oppositions do not have the exact figures of facts
to articulate their points.

If oppos. said this this tat tat.....PAP will throw a list of numeral facts
and said tis ish the evidence that flats r affordable, blah blah...

Debating wif them ish like fighting a law suit...
they have the evidence over their side, chips to play.
They oledi can anticipate wat kind of questions that oppos. gonna ask...

ya, man! ...

challenge ppl 2 tok facts ... but dey kip all actual figures 2 demselves ...

kids behavior ... :rolleyes:

sinren67

Debating wif them ish like fighting a law suit...
they have the evidence over their side, chips to play.
They oledi can anticipate wat kind of questions that oppos. gonna ask...

The problem is how reliable is the MIWs' statistics? At one time, they say 60% of the jobs went to FTs, then within hrs, they flipped the roti prata and say 60% of the jobs went to Singaporeans.

No. What GCT is saying it is better to do away with GE as he is more afraid of losing any more seat to oppos. Every coming GE is a threat to PAP and they can see they would lose more seats as they still have the Old Fart who is getting less popular with the people.

PAP need reform and retire all Lees from their party.

popdod

The problem is how reliable is the MIWs' statistics? At one time, they say 60% of the jobs went to FTs,
then within hrs, they flipped the roti prata and say 60% of the jobs went to Singaporeans.

Simple.
They will tell you....itz an honest mistake.
Let's Move On.

If they realised any mistakes they made...
they will cover this up with.....

"Based on the track records......yada yada yada....."

and sinkies will nod their heads....and give them a thumbs up.
for the track records.

And if this ish not enough.....some phantom writer will write to the ST forum page and
re-educate sinkies on history lessons again and again.....

Nong nong ago...in 1950s......sinkies dun hab flats...
fast forward to 2010....everyone live comfortably in their flats...

and once again....sinkies will nod their heads and gib them a thumbs up.

PAP ish lumber 1.

icon14.gif
:o
icon14.gif

hairylee

They can KpKb in 154th. Opposition got nowhere to KpKb. We got sammyboy to release the stress.