• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Wooden: Sporns Are Like Sheep. PAPee Are Like Lions. No Wonder Sporns Kena Makan!

SM Goh stresses importance of leadership for a country's economic devt
By S Ramesh, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 16 January 2010 2226 hrs

Photos 1 of 1
Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong

Video
SINGAPORE: There is a relationship between a country's leadership and how its economy performs, says Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong.
Addressing graduates of the first batch of youth leaders from a leadership programme in his Marine Parade GRC, Mr Goh says it is important to have good leaders in four sectors of the country - political, public service, business sector and the people sector.
Twenty-four youths from the Marine Parade GRC on Saturday became the pioneer batch to graduate from the NextGen Leadership Programme organised by the Marine Parade Leadership Foundation.
The seven-month programme equips the youths with interpersonal and leadership skills for community service. During the programme, the youth leaders had the opportunity to travel to Tanjung Pinang to help the residents with development programmes.
The youth leaders also took part in several Meet-the-People sessions with the Members of Parliament of Marine Parade GRC.
Ng Pei Ling, a graduate of NextGen Leadership Programme, said: "It allows me to see things from the government's perspective and I realise that actually there are a lot of things that come into play when settling things."
Prasanth Selvam, another graduate of NextGen Leadership Programme, said: "I learnt that Singaporeans can actually be very petty with their requests, (like asking for the waiving of traffic summons). The thing is that you made the mistake and you have to pay for it. Some of the requests are very genuine."
Mr Goh was impressed with the work of the youth leaders. He said their involvement reminded him of an ancient saying on the importance of leadership.
Mr Goh said: "(The ancient saying is) 'an army of sheep led by a lion is stronger than an army of lions led by a sheep'.
"In other words, leadership is critical in battles; the leadership qualities, the courage and the ability and getting the team to follow you is crucial."
And Mr Goh said that for a country to succeed, good leadership is critical in four areas - political, public service, business sector and the people sector.
"In a country, of course, leadership is important. In a battle it is crucial, in peacetime (it is important) in terms of generating economic growth," he said.
"If you track the performance of a country in the last 30 years, you will come to the conclusion that there is a co-relationship between the leadership of a country and economic performance of the country," he added.
"The better the leadership, the better the government, more enlightened, more visionary. The more honest the government, the better the economic performance."
However, Mr Goh hopes more can be done in the people sector, especially in grooming leaders in the volunteer sector.

It's time for the sheep too unite and pee on the TRAITOR lion and drown it in urine.

No wonder, so many SINkingporeanS are dying of UNNATURAL DEATHS, for the 'lions' have been 'eating' them..

Trust that Wooden to sprout, "words of wisdom'...as him have we achieve HELVITICA standard of living? or is it comparable to India Standard of living at the current moment?:p

SM GOH is referring to all the Ministers in cabinet including the PM and himself (SM) as the SHEEP cowering in fright of the MM who is the only LION. One wrong move, utterance or disagreement by any of the SHEEP against the LION and it will be HASTA LA VISTA to that million $$ salary and a cushy CEO post in the many GLC/GICs.

I am puzzled by Woodie's statement. Why is the lion leading the sheep?

Perhaps he forgot to mention that it is the sheep who are the paymasters, and that they are the ones who are paying the lions millions of dollars to "lead" them.

If the sheep are not satisfied by the the lions work, they can always hire elephants or men armed with rifles at a cheaper price to trample and chase away the lions.

try to visualise...

1,000 sheeps with a lion leader Vs 1,000 lions with a sheep for a leader....

the sheeps will be eaten and the lion leader join the lion pack,,,,

Wooden Goh getting senile and desperate now,,,,,

btw, what saying is that? from UNDER ONE ROOF, lonoooooong loooooooong time agooooooooooooooo?????

Photos 1 of 1
Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong

Video
SINGAPORE: There is a relationship between a country's leadership and how its economy performs, says Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong.
Addressing graduates of the first batch of youth leaders from a leadership programme in his Marine Parade GRC, Mr Goh says it is important to have good leaders in four sectors of the country - political, public service, business sector and the people sector.
Twenty-four youths from the Marine Parade GRC on Saturday became the pioneer batch to graduate from the NextGen Leadership Programme organised by the Marine Parade Leadership Foundation.
The seven-month programme equips the youths with interpersonal and leadership skills for community service. During the programme, the youth leaders had the opportunity to travel to Tanjung Pinang to help the residents with development programmes.
The youth leaders also took part in several Meet-the-People sessions with the Members of Parliament of Marine Parade GRC.
Ng Pei Ling, a graduate of NextGen Leadership Programme, said: "It allows me to see things from the government's perspective and I realise that actually there are a lot of things that come into play when settling things."
Prasanth Selvam, another graduate of NextGen Leadership Programme, said: "I learnt that Singaporeans can actually be very petty with their requests, (like asking for the waiving of traffic summons). The thing is that you made the mistake and you have to pay for it. Some of the requests are very genuine."
Mr Goh was impressed with the work of the youth leaders. He said their involvement reminded him of an ancient saying on the importance of leadership.
Mr Goh said: "(The ancient saying is) 'an army of sheep led by a lion is stronger than an army of lions led by a sheep'.
"In other words, leadership is critical in battles; the leadership qualities, the courage and the ability and getting the team to follow you is crucial."
And Mr Goh said that for a country to succeed, good leadership is critical in four areas - political, public service, business sector and the people sector.
"In a country, of course, leadership is important. In a battle it is crucial, in peacetime (it is important) in terms of generating economic growth," he said.
"If you track the performance of a country in the last 30 years, you will come to the conclusion that there is a co-relationship between the leadership of a country and economic performance of the country," he added.
"The better the leadership, the better the government, more enlightened, more visionary. The more honest the government, the better the economic performance."
However, Mr Goh hopes more can be done in the people sector, especially in grooming leaders in the volunteer sector.

Talk cock lah!

In a free market economy, it is the private sector (so called sheep) that generate the wealth.

It is the Gov's job to take part of that wealth generated thro taxes, and spends it in a responsible manner for the common good of its CITIZENS!

GOV & the civil service is actually a burden to the people cos we have to pay taxes to keep it going. GOV spends money, we in the private sector make money for them.

he tok cok la ...

evry1 is a lion ... there's no sheep ... :cool:

In reality, when an army of sheep led by a lion clashes with an army of lions led by a sheep.

The army of lions will slaughter the lion leader of the army of sheeps and have the sheep army for dinner.

.....Mr Goh said: "(The ancient saying is) 'an army of sheep led by a lion is stronger than an army of lions led by a sheep'.

...However, Mr Goh hopes more can be done in the people sector, especially in grooming leaders in the volunteer sector.

I am puzzled by Woodie's statement. Why is the lion leading the sheep?

Perhaps he forgot to mention that it is the sheep who are the paymasters, and that they are the ones who are paying the lions millions of dollars to "lead" them.

If the sheep are not satisfied by the the lions work, they can always hire elephants or men armed with rifles at a cheaper price to trample and chase away the lions.
What he "forgot" to mention is that there has only ever been 1 "lion", and it's not him.

It should be DOG leading the sheep, correction Mr. woody

Paiseh to say they are dog. Wake up

It's Goh who have read my post and decide to use for his own adaption .

In the face of facts .

A [COLOR="_______"]strong nation with a weak government [/COLOR]will overrun
a [COLOR="_______"]weak nation with strong government[/COLOR] ,finance and economically .

A strong government will only mean dictatorial rule .

The real idea situation will need both to be at clockwork .

Mr Goh, are you calling us sheep, you b......!

Leaders cannot be appointed. Appointed leaders lack the people's mandate. They have to evolve and emerge through social Darwinism, through the baptism of fire. But the PAP old paper lion has killed off other contending lions using shenanigans and chicanery, and abused the laws and democratic processes to reduce the jungle to a sterile orchard.

Restore the single constituency electoral system, remove the GRCs and stop pork barrel buying of votes using the HDB as a tool for partisan politics, allow a free and independent media, repeal the ISA Act on political dissenters, open up, and let's see whether the next GE you will be the sheep or the lion.

Mr Goh, are you calling us sheep, you b......!

Leaders cannot be appointed. Appointed leaders lack the people's mandate. They have to evolve and emerge through social Darwinism, through the baptism of fire. But the PAP old paper lion has killed off other contending lions using shenanigans and chicanery, and abused the laws and democratic processes to reduce the jungle to a sterile orchard.

Restore the single constituency electoral system, remove the GRCs and stop pork barrel buying of votes using the HDB as a tool for partisan politics, allow a free and independent media, repeal the ISA Act on political dissenters, open up, and let's see whether the next GE you will be the sheep or the lion.

...Excellent summary .

Have to agree with Goh as he is correct. When you have a 75% Chinese population, sheep are what you get, not lions.

arrogance.jpg

The MIW = Lions? You got to be kidding me. Okay the older generation maybe but not the new lot.