• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Wooden Soln to RECESSION: Import More FTrash!

Gone is the talk that FTrash is used to depress wages during boom times and maintain wages during bad times. Where are the 66% goondus who voted for the Papayas to break their coolie rice bowls? Ate and died alone?

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Doors open to foreigners: SM
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><TR>But S'pore must balance economic value with social and political costs </TR><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Kor Kian Beng & Goh Chin Lian
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->SWISS national Richard Illi loves the drive of the Singaporean worker and the vision and efficiency of the Government and businesses.
But in the past few months, the 39-year-old has sensed some dissatisfaction among Singaporeans towards foreigners like him.
'I hear more and more Singaporeans expressing that we're stealing their jobs,' said the vice-president of Firmenich, a Swiss food-related company, who came here with his family four years ago.
However, a speech by Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong left him smiling.
Mr Illi was among 700 international business leaders and human resource specialists yesterday who heard Mr Goh stress the need for Singapore to keep its doors open to foreign manpower.
This is vital for keeping prices and business costs low and the economy competitive and growing at maximum speed.

=> Have costs cum down? Nah cos bringing in FTrash will only allow the Familee to hike costs more daringly! But expect the Papayas to say, "It could be worse...".

But at the same time, Mr Goh acknowledged there are social and political consequences to having growing numbers of foreign manpower in Singapore.
This dilemma was a central theme in the Senior Minister's opening address at the inaugural Singapore Human Capital Summit yesterday.
It is a balancing act that is tough to achieve and some countries, as a result, have taken to restricting much-needed foreign talent and workers at the expense of economic growth.
But not Singapore, which has 1.2 million foreigners, including 757,000 work permit holders and 143,000 on employment passes. It sees foreign talent as part of its overall strategy to build up its human capital. There are two prongs.

=> From 1M FTrash to 1.2M in a space of 1 month since the last report! Wah seh!

One is education, to develop the Singaporean workforce to its fullest potential. Hence, 4 per cent of Singapore's gross domestic product is allocated for it.
Besides spending on educating its young, Singapore has introduced a masterplan recently with a comprehensive scheme for developing workers' skills, including building more training centres.
The other thrust is to attract foreigners to achieve maximum growth.
To draw them, Singapore needs to be a 'cool and funky' place - the kind of city the creative and entrepreneurial types would like to work and live in, he said.
'This means building a distinctive city that is cosmopolitan in outlook and Asian in heart. It is not easy as this goes beyond physical infrastructure, modern buildings and leisure facilities.'
But there is a political cost to having foreign manpower as these workers are often seen as directly snatching jobs away from the locals, Mr Goh said.
'So, governments are often forced to restrict the much-needed inflow of talent and foreign workers at the expense of economic growth,' he added, highlighting a less open attitude recently towards migrants in Britain and Australia.
However, he acknowledged friction is inevitable when the foreign pool is huge.
Singapore is no exception, but with its history as a nation of immigrants, Singaporeans find it easier to accept intellectually and emotionally that foreign labour is overall a plus for the economy, he said.
However, he added: 'It is important for the Government to recognise the anxiety and fear of Singaporeans in the job market with so many hungrier foreign workers willing to do their jobs for less.
'They worry too that their children may be edged out in our schools and universities by foreign students.'
However, he assured Singaporeans that they come first. Among the perks they get are subsidies for public housing, education and health care.

=> He probably has started to believe in his own lies.

'This is not a policy to disadvantage foreign talent in Singapore.
'It is a policy to recognise the nationality of Singaporeans, our citizen core for whom Singapore is their home, for which we defend with our arms and live for with our hearts,' said Mr Goh.
His message was welcomed by Singaporeans like 50-year-old Anthony Lim.
Said the managing director of risk consultancy Acclaim Insurance Brokers: 'Our people are very pragmatic. To survive and prosper, we need to adjust to a competitive and open world. I accept we cannot shut out foreign talent.' [email protected]

myjohnson

When I look at the cocky and arrogant body language displayed by our teenagers today, I really wish they can understand what the future holds for them. I believe it never cross their minds that they will most likely be burdened with a housing mortgage for the rest of their lives even with the combine income of their spouses. That's what our great leaders are telling them knowing it will never be comprehended by PAP nurtured ears. Keep wages low while inflation skyrockets and housing costs reaching for the moon. Have more children. Defend the country by serving NS with patriotic fervour. Cpf that you'll never touch in your lifetime in the form of cold hard cash in your pockets. And I say to myself, what a wonderful world, my Singapore.

myjohnson

If I remember correctly, old fuck in his self glorifying autoeroticraphy, said that Singapore would have succeeded in a much bigger way than where we are today had we been a homogeneous society. But now it's more and more of different colours, culture, attitudes, smells, pussies and what not. But then making uturns without being ridiculed is the privilege of a living God in Singapore.

eQuipment

need for FT to lower operational costs, as they're alot cheaper & alot more efficient?

then its about time we need to suit the chimps in mandai in all white attire to sit in parliament. sure to cut costs significantly, as chimps don't need salary, chimps only need daily dose of fruits & PEANUTS

hongbao, the daughter to the late ah-meng, can be the official hand-shaker to host foreign ambassdors to breakfast in istana. also another major cost saving, as she also need only daily dose of fruits.

The_Latest_H

Well, we need foreigners and we need foreign capital. That's obvious. As an international port and as one of the business capitals of the world, we still need some foreigners in the workforce, and some foreign capital invested in initiatives.

But the key here, that Goh Chok Tong have always seem to miss is that he always insist that these two must come in regardless of what, how and when, and in regards of the current situation.

What makes me feel even more unhappy is that he wants to continue this "no regulation by government; all self-regulation" approach to unlimited immigration and unlimited capital flows from outside and to outside- all which have caused higher-than-usual unemployment for locals, higher inflation, and bubble growth in the banking and housing sectors.

The presence of unregulated capital inflows and outflows and of foreigners(regardless of merit) in Singapore has also widen the gap between the have and have nots, making it harder to bridge the gap between the rich and poor. All these have contributed to the increasingly lack of cohesion within society, and higher migration numbers of local-born S'poreans to other countries.

So I don't understand what is GCT trying to say. I think he, as an extension of the PAP policies, have been pressing this "self-regulation" mantra for far too long. Its sad when a retired politician cannot face reality and continue to insist that if the PAP is allowed to do the same thing over and over again, somehow there would be a different outcome.

Ah Guan

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><TR>But S'pore must balance economic value with social and political costs </TR><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Kor Kian Beng & Goh Chin Lian

</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>
<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->SWISS national Richard Illi loves the drive of the Singaporean worker and the vision and efficiency of the Government and businesses.
But in the past few months, the 39-year-old has sensed some dissatisfaction among Singaporeans towards foreigners like him.
'I hear more and more Singaporeans expressing that we're stealing their jobs,' said the vice-president of Firmenich, a Swiss food-related company, who came here with his family four years ago.
However, a speech by Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong left him smiling.

This is why all the fucking FTs treat Sinkies like dummies --- because our fucking ministers keep praising them and hailing them as our saviours!

I can assure you all FTs are now laughing inside at how stupid Sinkaporeans are.

They are thinking why Sinkies voted for this kind of leaders.

In politics, lying is much easier than telling the truth. In order to tell a good lies is what PAP ministers and their dogs are trained to do in the last few decades thus they were constantly able to come up with speeches or write up:full of craps, and with the help of law (which they always acted above it) they forced the craps down peasants throat and wanted us to be content with it.

Gone is the talk that FTrash is used to depress wages during boom times and maintain wages during bad times. Where are the 66% goondus who voted for the Papayas to break their coolie rice bowls? Ate and died alone?

When I look at the cocky and arrogant body language displayed by our teenagers today, I really wish they can understand what the future holds for them. I believe it never cross their minds that they will most likely be burdened with a housing mortgage for the rest of their lives even with the combine income of their spouses. That's what our great leaders are telling them knowing it will never be comprehended by PAP nurtured ears. Keep wages low while inflation skyrockets and housing costs reaching for the moon. Have more children. Defend the country by serving NS with patriotic fervour. Cpf that you'll never touch in your lifetime in the form of cold hard cash in your pockets. And I say to myself, what a wonderful world, my Singapore.
When I looked into a Japanese fastfood restaurant yesterday, the restaurant was packed with teenagers, most of them wearing their school uniforms. A set meal in this restaurant is at least $6 per person.
I remember that when I was in school, having a burger was a rare and special event.
What is the world coming to? For their sakes, I hope their parents are all millionaires. But they are probably not.

Not to mention allowing entire savings of their parents kena conned by FTrash through "structured" financial scams!

retrench.jpg

The fact that PAP, has to accept, when licking foreigners ass will definitely end up seeing them kissing peasants' asses when election comes. The political damages have been done long ago. No fair words will change what all Singaporean are thinking now.

DerekLeung

With today's inflations, deflation and depression !

Spending even a mere 200K on an apartment is a absolute joke too !

Conan the Barbarian

The fact that PAP, has to accept, when licking foreigners ass will definitely end up seeing them kissing peasants' asses when election comes. The political damages have been done long ago. No fair words will change what all Singaporean are thinking now.

Hahaha, you are wrong. As far as Singaporeans are concern, no matter how downtrodden they are, they still believe in the 154th and how all these are good for the nation and themselves.

They will vote for PAP again and again in the years to come, no matter what.
At least enough to give them most of the seats. :rolleyes:

DIVISION1

Hahaha, you are wrong. As far as Singaporeans are concern, no matter how downtrodden they are, they still believe in the 154th and how all these are good for the nation and themselves.

They will vote for PAP again and again in the years to come, no matter what.
At least enough to give them most of the seats. :rolleyes:

That is because they know the right choice.