• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Women in MRT Train Incident -

Both the SMRT and the woman should be commended for the way they saw the situation and addressed it . A rare case indeed.

Two women trapped on train
SBS Transit admits serious lapse, staff disciplined
by Lin Yanqin [email protected] 05:55 AM Oct 09, 2009SINGAPORE - When the lights in the MRT train went out and the air-conditioning hummed to a stop, passenger Kalarani Shunmugasundram knew she was in trouble.

Asleep when the announcement came on asking passengers to disembark as the train was terminating its run at Punggol station, she woke up just as the doors were closing. Along with another passenger, she was stuck on the train for nearly an hour on Monday as it headed for the depot.

"I kept thinking maybe the train would stop somewhere," said Ms Kalarani, 40, a customer relations officer, who had been on her way to work. "But then it went right past all the stations, and then we entered something like a car wash for trains."

Ms Kalarani, who takes the train to work daily, had taken the train from Sengkang towards Punggol - the last stop on the North East Line - as she had wanted to secure a seat, assuming the train would head back towards Dhoby Ghaut once it reached Punggol.

Once the train had been scrubbed clean and blown dry, it pulled into the depot.

The two women activated the emergency call button and tried to signal for help.

A rescue team was despatched once the call button had been activated, but the two women were released before the rescue team arrived by staff, who had entered the train to put up new advertisements.

According to Ms Kalarani, the second woman, Mdm Yeoh Kau Mai had not disembarked the train at Punggol as she had not understood the announcement, even though it was made in four languages.

"She didn't get off because I didn't get off ... it was the blind leading the blind," said Ms Kalarani.

Expressing "dismay", SBS Transit, which operates the North East Line, acknowledged that the incident "could have been easily avoided if Standard Operating Procedures had been adhered to".

"Under normal operating procedure, the train would have been physically checked for any remaining passengers by our staff before it headed back to the depot. Unfortunately, this was not done ..." said SBS Transit vice-president for corporate communications Tammy Tan.

"It is a serious lapse on our part and we are not proud of it. We have since taken disciplinary action against those involved and added new measures to ensure that this does not happen again.

"This includes using our CCTVs to check the train cabins for passengers before the trains are returned to the depot."

Adding to Ms Kalarani's distress was the behaviour of the staff at Sengkang MRT station where she gone to lodge a complaint about the incident.

"He showed a complete lack of empathy and kept pushing a feedback form at me, and didn't even take down my contact details," said Ms Kalarani.

Ms Tan said the behaviour of the employee in question was "unacceptable" and he would be disciplined.

"Our staff should have exhibited greater care and concern. He should have comforted her and offered assistance but he did not," said Ms Tan.

Staff from SBS Transit visited Ms Kalarani her at home on Wednesday to apologise and presented her with a hamper and an ez-link card with stored value.

The operator is still trying to contact Mdm Yeoh Kau Mai.

Said Ms Kalarani: "To be fair, this is not entirely SBS' fault ... if someone had woken me up when they realised I was just sitting there, this wouldn't have happened. I think Singaporeans could do more to look out for one another."

So which is which, SMRT or SBST??

Fuck that lady who like to sleep, its her responsibilty to keep herself awake in the public transport.

Normally, somebody in green uniform will walk thru the train cabins to check. I wonder what happened this time.

a gd hard kick on ze arse 4 sbst ...

sorry, should be SBST

This should be a unmanned train terminating at Punggol and the staff from the station suppose to do a train clear before despatching back to SengKang depot.

If it is a manned train, CSO will be with the train all the way to depot, no such incident would happen.

Punggol Assistant Station Manager in big trouble liao. No bonus this year end hehe

They thought doing something stupid like that will bring them to a depot full of sweaty and horny men !

This is a serious security breach. It means Mas Selamat or Noordin Top could also easily gain access into the train service depot.

Said Ms Kalarani: "To be fair, this is not entirely SBS' fault ... if someone had woken me up when they realised I was just sitting there, this wouldn't have happened.

I think Singaporeans could do more to look out for one another."[/B]

Sinkies won't bother to look out for one another wan lah.

Our ministers had taught us to look after foreigners other their own people.
so sinkies oso learnt from their masters wan.

As long doesn't concern me....better act blind, act deaf.
You die ish ur own business.
MYOB.

More Goot Ears Ahead.

:o :( :o

Have to agree.

Sinkies won't bother to look out for one another wan lah.

Our ministers had taught us to look after foreigners other their own people.
so sinkies oso learnt from their masters wan.

As long doesn't concern me....better act blind, act deaf.
You die ish ur own business.
MYOB.

Fell asleep and got trapped, blame transport company, blame other people not waking them up (as if people owe you that duty, they also busy and hurrying). There's a universal standard rule in public transportation from taxis to buses to trains to ships and to planes. Everything left behind after a trip is unclaimed property at the discretion of the operator. If one leaves oneself behind, then this person should be responsible for the inconvenience caused to the operator and other passengers, and compensate for it by serving out some bondage (like sweeping floors, cleaning toilets) for a period of time before redemption and release.

This is a serious security breach. It means Mas Selamat or Noordin Top could also easily gain access into the train service depot.

This is the type of problem when some very higher ups, have to depend on their lower staff to carry out their duties diligently!

Ask Ah Wong about how he felt about this incident and his toilet escapade incident and he might say:

'Fuck, I get multi millionn dollar salary and only can get to sleep in Parliment House duirng sessions but my ISD guys wanted to sleep the entire day!" :D

Normally, somebody in green uniform will walk thru the train cabins to check. I wonder what happened this time.

Probably the last one thought he was a handsome train man and in the midst of his grand inspection, fell down. Everyone was laughing at him including the tourists and they probably decided to lie low for a bit.

That Mdm Lor Mai Kai or Yau Siu Kia or whatever her name is should be commended on her exceptional display of wit and intelligence by ignoring an announcement in 4 languages but instead follow a dozing passenger!

Epic fail!

All sleeping on the job...the CCTV is to google at Chio Bu's...two old toads...never mind...

SLEEPING ON THE JOB....gonna get the chop..maybe Foreign Talents is running the show...:p

To be fair..if you weren't fucking sleeping like a pig..u won't get stuck in the train...

This should not have happen. Very long time ago when I take the last train I still remember MRT staff will go through all the train before off the light.

How can this happen in the 1st place.
1. Sleeping passenger
2. Bo chap others passenger
3. Bo chap MRT train PIC.
4. Bo chap MRT depot station worker.

That two passenger must scare out of hell.

This should be a unmanned train terminating at Punggol and the staff from the station suppose to do a train clear before despatching back to SengKang depot.

If it is a manned train, CSO will be with the train all the way to depot, no such incident would happen.

Punggol Assistant Station Manager in big trouble liao. No bonus this year end hehe

Hmm u seem to know the SOP of the stn ops quite well ;)

Notice to be put up at MRTs and buses:

Commuters fall asleep at your own risks.
The management disclaims all responsibilities.
Asleep bodies left behind may be cremated or if still usefully alive, subject to cleaning floors and washing toilets for one full 8-hour shift to compensate for the inconvenience caused to management and other passengers, or in lieu, pay a compound fine of $1,000.
The management shall not be responsible for any useless body sent to cremation. The family is still liable and will be billed by the crematorium.