• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Women & Children First

We always hear this in disaster movies: "Women and Children first, let the women and children go first". In disaster movies with airplane incidents, fires, floods, earthquakes, etc. I wonder if this is practised in real life, but it can certainly be heard in movies.

I had the experience of this in the MRT recently. As I was about to alight from a not-so-crowded train, a gaggle of women (about 3) and their children (about 3 for each woman) wanted to board the train and without waiting for passengers to alight, started to board the train and rush for seats. I stood aside to let them board before alighting. Ok, I would normally have told someone off but as they were all women and young children (between the ages of 5 to 10), decided to let it go.

Would you have done differently? Would you have said something? Do you believe in the mantra of "women and children first"?

G

GordonGekko

In real life: First Class always first. Followed by Biz Class. Economy Class always last.

That's always the case when checking in at the airline check-in counter. When boarding the plane. When alighting from the plane. And when claiming luggages at the carousel as First Class passagers' luggages always come out first.

I had the experience of this in the MRT recently. As I was about to alight from a not-so-crowded train, a gaggle of women (about 3) and their children (about 3 for each woman) wanted to board the train and without waiting for passengers to alight, started to board the train and rush for seats. I stood aside to let them board before alighting. Ok, I would normally have told someone off but as they were all women and young children (between the ages of 5 to 10), decided to let it go.
Couple of years ago, there were a series of horrfic incidents within a short timeframe where US postal workers lost their bundle and massacred their colleagues and customers in separate incidents. It was felt that rude, overbearing customers, demanding workloand and deteriorating social and environment issues came together.

Nowdays, customers are overly polite, patient and understanding when they visit their local post office. Staff are nice to customer and to their colleagues. Its probably a tranquil spot in life USA.

Singapore might need the same before we come to our senses. I suspect after the Seng Han Tong incident, PAP MPs and PAP will start evaluating their role when serving society. The fact that he has headed the Taxi Operators Association has been downplayed.

NissanViP

The old's, women & Children should be the first no matter what circumstances.

This is very basic courtesy.

... Singapore might need the same before we come to our senses. I suspect after the Seng Han Tong incident, PAP MPs and PAP will start evaluating their role when serving society. The fact that he has headed the Taxi Operators Association has been downplayed.

me dun tink dat incident big enuff in knocking senses in2 sum tough skulls ...

In real life: First Class always first. Followed by Biz Class. Economy Class always last.

That's always the case when checking in at the airline check-in counter. When boarding the plane. When alighting from the plane. And when claiming luggages at the carousel as First Class passagers' luggages always come out first.
Are you trying to say that money talks?
Or that greed is good? :smile:

Couple of years ago, there were a series of horrfic incidents within a short timeframe where US postal workers lost their bundle and massacred their colleagues and customers in separate incidents. It was felt that rude, overbearing customers, demanding workloand and deteriorating social and environment issues came together.

Nowdays, customers are overly polite, patient and understanding when they visit their local post office. Staff are nice to customer and to their colleagues. Its probably a tranquil spot in life USA.

Singapore might need the same before we come to our senses. I suspect after the Seng Han Tong incident, PAP MPs and PAP will start evaluating their role when serving society. The fact that he has headed the Taxi Operators Association has been downplayed.
The guy in the SHT case should be allowed to speak. Let us hear his reasons and thought process, even if what he did was clearly wrong and against the law.
But of course, we know that this will never happen.

The old's, women & Children should be the first no matter what circumstances.

This is very basic courtesy.
I agree that in theory, this should be the case.
But in practice, it rarely happens, although I did try to do my part, albeit grudgingly. :smile:

DearestGodlikeWarlord

We always hear this in disaster movies: "Women and Children first, let the women and children go first". In disaster movies with airplane incidents, fires, floods, earthquakes, etc. I wonder if this is practised in real life, but it can certainly be heard in movies.

Would you have done differently? Would you have said something? Do you believe in the mantra of "women and children first"?

I think this is the ugliest and most ridiculous nonsense I have ever heard of in this forum, so far.

I hate to be rude, but I have to decline the absolutely stupid phrase. Like in major social disasters like 911 I don't think everyone trapped in the buildings panicking and all still thought of prioritizing women and children.

Women can't continue families so they are pointless. Children are small and with civilization yet properly drummed into their ears and backsides and so they are irrelevant either.

DearestGodlikeWarlord

Who are you to impose your views on others in the first place? If you tried to tell ME off ever I will sound you out myself, and if you ever go physical I will be most happy to play along too.

Mind your own business :wink:

DearestGodlikeWarlord

I like your riddle :wink::wink::wink:

I think this is the ugliest and most ridiculous nonsense I have ever heard of in this forum, so far.

I hate to be rude, but I have to decline the absolutely stupid phrase. Like in major social disasters like 911 I don't think everyone trapped in the buildings panicking and all still thought of prioritizing women and children.

Women can't continue families so they are pointless. Children are small and with civilization yet properly drummed into their ears and backsides and so they are irrelevant either.
Since children are useless, why should women be pointless because they can't continue families? Based on your logic, the men should be the pointless ones, since the children are useless anyway?
I may disagree with your reasoning, but I don't disagree with the conclusion.

Who are you to impose your views on others in the first place? If you tried to tell ME off ever I will sound you out myself, and if you ever go physical I will be most happy to play along too.

Are you really ready?
You sound like me 10 years ago, combative but still unsure. :smile:

NissanViP

I agree that in theory, this should be the case.
But in practice, it rarely happens, although I did try to do my part, albeit grudgingly. :smile:

Do best what is in your heart and mind, dont give a shit to others who think money speaks louder than the common courtesy.

VIBGYOR

We took a plane recently during a transit flight in Europe.

I was carrying my toddler, and was boarding the plane from a bus. We were standing at the back of the queue.

An Angmo suddenly tap my shoulders and said, you can go to the front, immediately the ground crews stop other biz class passengers from boarding, and let us through.

In my case, it was man and children first. But we felt really paiseh leh! :biggrin:

We have personally witnessed God's Grace first hand in them! Hallelujah!

lolabunny

Are you really ready?
You sound like me 10 years ago, combative but still unsure. :smile:

Guys guys, stop acting gay for once ok? We all know it's really hot for two guys to get physical with each other, but we don't really have to know that you two really want to kiss everywhere. :p:p:p