• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

why singaporean cant be patriotic ?

almost all japanese hate their own goverment ...but they still love their own country . why cant singaporean do the same thing ?

how to love your own country ...

1.Be an active citizen. Actively demonstrate your love for your country by being part of its political process. Continually strive for a better country for all!

2.Study the history of your country. What are some of the great things people have done and how they showed their love of their country? What are some of the things people have done with good intentions but poor results? Learn from your country's history -- both the good times and the bad times.

3.Focus on current events. For example, focus on what is also going on in the world as a whole and how your country is involved in it as well.

4.Read stories, tall tales, and patriotic legends of your country. You will be amazed with such the creativity and imagination of those who wrote or thought up them.

5.Have a hero. Someone who represents your country and is a good role model for you will make you proud to be where you call home.

6.Wear patriotic colors. Nothing shows you love your country more than showing it through clothing or accessories!

7.Fly a flag. You can purchase flags, bumper stickers, or any other emblems at a local store. Hang them on your car, your front lawn, or anywhere that can outwardly show you respect your country. Remember to treat the flag with the utmost respect.

8.Celebrate holidays. What happened in your country on this day in history? Did they win a war? Did they gain independence? Recognize that holidays are much more than just occasions for parties or, in some countries, sales at department stores. Acknowledge the solemnity inherent to certain holidays, especially those that commemorate a victory that involved bloodshed.

9.Encourage children to love their country so they will have respect someday as a citizen. This is the best way to set a positive example. As children grow older, explain to them why you feel they should hold their country in high regard. Remember that blind patriotism can be dangerous. Encourage your children to use their minds.

10. Don't be prejudiced or biased. Every country, religion, or racial group has its own beliefs. Like them you have your own so respect yours and respect them for theirs.

11.Abusing your country or taking advantage of any of its systems or programs is not a good way to show your love. Such corrupt action goes against the goodwill that should be at the core of your patriotism.

12.You certainly do not have to agree with every event and decision made in your country's history to love your country. Consider how the country recovered from mistakes, as well as its ideology as described in some guiding document (such as a constitution). Although such principles are not absolute, reflect on whether these precepts are conducive to a government you think would act with its citizens -- and humanity's -- best interests at heart.

warning :

1. For people to believe you love your country, make sure you know the verses to your national anthem, have some trivial knowledge of founding fathers, national history, current events, and cultural heroes.

2. Don't love your country so much that it makes you hate other countries. Each and every country on this planet is great in its own right.

3 . Don't succumb to blind patriotism.

SotongMee

So law-saw, law-lee-law-saw...one is enough!

If Singaporeans treat their own government like GOD, they will love the land like they love HEAVEN. Amen.

almost all japanese hate their own goverment ...but they still love their own country . why cant singaporean do the same thing ?

So law-saw, law-lee-law-saw...one is enough!

If Singaporeans treat their own government like GOD, they will love the land like they love HEAVEN. Amen.

japanese will never treat their own goverment like god . but if you are talking about long long time ago ..yes they do treat their emperor like god ..

SotongMee

Emperor's Court and Government are two different institutions.

Problem is nobody treats an elected garbermen as GOD.

japanese will never treat their own goverment like god . but if you are talking about long long time ago ..yes they do treat their emperor like god ..

Emperor's Court and Government are two different institutions.

Problem is nobody treats an elected garbermen as GOD.

my question is ...why japanese can be patriotic and not singaporean ? not which country treats their emperor or goverment as god . dude , dont be a sotong leh :smile:

moolightaffairs

drifter, i rather be loyal to my great motherland CHINA!!! i can sing China national anthem better than majulah sinkapoorlah. i think every Chinese in sinkapoor should learn to sing '义勇军进行曲' or the 'March of the Volunteers'. we Chinese in sinkarpoor should have dua citizenship one sinkapoor and the other one is our great motherland China!!!

祖国万岁!!!中华人民共和国万岁!!!

'义勇军进行曲' March of the Volunteers

起来!不愿做奴隶的人们!
把我们的血肉,筑成我们新的长城!
中华民族到了最危险的时候,
每个人被迫着发出最后的吼声。
起来!起来!起来!
我们万众一心,
冒着敌人的炮火,前进!
冒着敌人的炮火,前进!
前进!前进!进!

Translation:

Arise! All who refuse to be slaves!
Let our flesh and blood become our new Great Wall!
As the Chinese nation faces its greatest peril,
All forcefully expend their last cries.
Arise! Arise! Arise!
May our million hearts beat as one,
Brave the enemy's fire, March on!
March on! March on! On!

(Lyrics obtained from Wikipedia)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dwDkWzK24ZE

drifter, i rather be loyal to my great motherland CHINA!!! i can sing China national anthem better than majulah sinkapoorlah. i think every Chinese in sinkapoor should learn to sing '义勇军进行曲' or the 'March of the Volunteers'. we Chinese in sinkarpoor should have dua citizenship one sinkapoor and the other one is our great motherland China!!!

祖国万岁!!!中华人民共和国万岁!!!

'义勇军进行曲' March of the Volunteers

起来!不愿做奴隶的人们!
把我们的血肉,筑成我们新的长城!
中华民族到了最危险的时候,
每个人被迫着发出最后的吼声。
起来!起来!起来!
我们万众一心,
冒着敌人的炮火,前进!
冒着敌人的炮火,前进!
前进!前进!进!

Translation:

Arise! All who refuse to be slaves!
Let our flesh and blood become our new Great Wall!
As the Chinese nation faces its greatest peril,
All forcefully expend their last cries.
Arise! Arise! Arise!
May our million hearts beat as one,
March on! March on! On!

(Lyrics obtained from Wikipedia)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dwDkWzK24ZE

i dont really care if you are born in china .
And i know singapore goverment sucks , i just cant understand why singaporean cant be patriotic .

TeeKee

And i know singapore goverment sucks , i just cant understand why singaporean cant be patriotic .

what do you mean by patriotic?

suck up to MIWs? dun tell me if they give you a BMW, you'll be patriotic? :biggrin:

let say i want more people to know Jesus, isn't that an act of patriotism?

why? if more people in SGP believed in Jesus, the country will be blessed by God!

how patriotic can that be?

TeeKee

i think a herd mentality coupled with the 'godlike' image of a figurehead helps to instill blind patriotism...

like everybody supported the slaughter of millions of Asians during WW2...because they followed the crowd to support the emperor war efforts, driven by the PM for his own agenda...

why singaporeans are not patriotic i believe we do not have a herd culture, more individuals who think for their own interests than the interests of the group or the state.

our history is too short to instill any national pride that come with it. look at China thousands years or glorious history, people are still migrating and leaving the country.

furthermore we have a figure head who is not really god and continues to piss the people off....

so you have it, patriotism? you will be let down some day by this man made fantasy.

only beliefs in Jesus Christ will not let you down even towards the end of your earthly life.

God first, nation second, why? borders were drawn up by men....

if locals are leaving the country and going to a different country, instead of asking them to be patriotic by setting up false national education programs, or artificially stimulating patriotism, why not ask why they are leaving and do something about it?

i dunno maybe the target country has a better system than SGP?

so what did the gabramen do? by importing 50% of new population into the country within a few years..

do you know what are they doing? they are destroying the country's social stability.

you call this patriotism?

TeeKee

the most patriotic singaporean alive...

kena f so many times still speakup for singaporeans...not even lky could beat him for his courage...

singapore_chee_soon_juan.jpg

moolightaffairs

i am born in KK here!!! study "PAP" here! took PSLE here!!! last time cambridge "O" levels here!!! but just can't be loyal with things that i don't have a say. But im a Chinese, thats why sinkapoor should allow dua citizenship for Chinese to have sinkapoor and China citizenship. i love my motherland China since im a Chinese even im born in sinkapoor. maybe the gov should allow malay to hold dua citizenship too!!! local and mudlaysia!!!

TeeKee

i am born in KK here!!! study "PAP" here! took PSLE here!!! last time cambridge "O" levels here!!! but just can't be loyal with things that i don't have a say. But im a Chinese, thats why sinkapoor should allow dua citizenship for Chinese to have sinkapoor and China citizenship. i love my motherland China since im a Chinese even im born in sinkapoor. maybe the gov should allow malay to hold dua citizenship too!!! local and mudlaysia!!!

why only limited to dual?

have multiple mah!

what do you mean by patriotic?

suck up to MIWs? dun tell me if they give you a BMW, you'll be patriotic? :biggrin:

let say i want more people to know Jesus, isn't that an act of patriotism?

why? if more people in SGP believed in Jesus, the country will be blessed by God!

how patriotic can that be?

gayboy , read my post carefully ..did i say that singaporean must be patriotic to PAP ? if you hate PAP does it mean you also hate singapore ?

stop spreading your long-haired gay junkie boyfriend in this thread ..:oIo:

i think a herd mentality coupled with the 'godlike' image of a figurehead helps to instill blind patriotism...

like everybody supported the slaughter of millions of Asians during WW2...because they followed the crowd to support the emperor war efforts, driven by the PM for his own agenda...

why singaporeans are not patriotic i believe we do not have a herd culture, more individuals who think for their own interests than the interests of the group or the state.

our history is too short to instill any national pride that come with it. look at China thousands years or glorious history, people are still migrating and leaving the country.

furthermore we have a figure head who is not really god and continues to piss the people off....

so you have it, patriotism? you will be let down some day by this man made fantasy.

only beliefs in Jesus Christ will not let you down even towards the end of your earthly life.

God first, nation second, why? borders were drawn up by men....

if locals are leaving the country and going to a different country, instead of asking them to be patriotic by setting up false national education programs, or artificially stimulating patriotism, why not ask why they are leaving and do something about it?

i dunno maybe the target country has a better system than SGP?

so what did the gabramen do? by importing 50% of new population into the country within a few years..

do you know what are they doing? they are destroying the country's social stability.

you call this patriotism?

why everything posted here in sammyboy have a link to your long-haired junkie gay lover ? :rolleyes:

you already kena gongtau by your church holy shit water . :biggrin:

What! you want me to be patriotic while Ah Lee Baba and his entourage suck this country dry?

i just want singaporean to be patriotic no matter how fuckup PAP is . just like the japanese who hated their own goverment but still love their own country . if singaporean is patriotic then they should vote out PAP .

SotongMee

Jepun still got emperor and royal family.

Same same for Khun Thais,got Thai King.

Sinkapoor only got PM Lee and MM Lee.

my question is ...why japanese can be patriotic and not singaporean ? not which country treats their emperor or goverment as god . dude , dont be a sotong leh :smile: