• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Why is there no government action against Chinese Communist Party propaganda on Singaporeans?

kryonlight

My dad has been self-radicalising every night with extreme pro-China/anti-non-China propaganda videos. Anyone experienced similar behaviour? What should I do?

I write this from a point of fear and exasperation. My life at home revolves around avoiding and fearing my dad. But in the last year or so he has gained a new habit that scares and triggers me.

Every night (and every morning + afternoon since WFH started), he plays a series of videos about China. They are usually either videos with robot voices, or videos with a human talking angrily.

The views and content I've heard from these videos include:

• China is a lion, that is only sleeping right now
  • The islands in the South China sea are China's, because China got them first in a past dynasty. All other countries opposing China are flawed, barbaric, have violent histories, etc. and they should be ashamed; or they used to be under the barbaric rule of the west, and so should side with China instead
  • Back when the Hong Kong courts overturned the mask ban last year, one video said about the judges involved: "Foreigners are not Chinese, they don't have Chinese blood, that's why they don't care about China"
  • If I don't pay attention, all I hear is 中国的 (China's) and 美国的 (America's) on loop
All this began when our Chinese TV channels started showing mainly shows from China, and removed most shows from Taiwan. He got interested in watching those shows online, and got steadily into angrier-sounding videos via recommendations. Now every day and night I'm bombarded with anti-US videos with strident robotic voices, and my dad has been making increasingly extreme and hostile comments, like:

• Spouting conspiracy theories about SARS and COVID being a western weapon targeting Asian races, and when Germans first got infected he said "cannot be leh"
  • Using "angmoh" as an actual slur against any European/Australian/American white people
  • Gloating that more angmohs are dying from COVID, meaning they are inferior to the Chinese
  • Joking about invading the US because they seem weak right now
My mum is gradually being influenced too (she also gloated about the COVID deaths). I'm a major pacifist so all this makes me struggle to live peacefully at home.

I think that this behaviour is self-radicalisation, no less harmful than the kind promoting ISIS/terrorism that got people in trouble with ISA. Has anyone else observed those around them getting similarly radicalised? And does anyone know what I can do about it? I have been frantically searching for a suitable de-radicalisation video/article to drop into the family group chat, but most content I find discussing biased or rage-inducing media is US/UK-centric. Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Note: In case it's not obvious, I am neither pro- nor anti- China.

Second note: Can y'all not downvote comments unless they're really irrelevant? I'm not looking for an echo chamber. I'm willing to hear the other side as long as they're not ads or trolls.

Edit: Adding more anecdotes as I remember them. Plus more context in response to the comments here:

• My dad is tech-savvy (he worked in tech for many decades). His devices are controlled by him.
  • He's English-educated, in the best stream in his time, which was Engineering. But he's not educated in other areas like critical thinking, as he thinks anything non-science is arty-farty nonsense.
  • He was pro-Trump not long ago. And I think my parents occasionally watch Dr Oz
  • My dad has been to China with my mum, twice in the past year. I think they go to see scenic mountains.
  • To explain the fear I mentioned: My dad rules our family in an authoritarian way. Depending on his mood, sometimes no disagreements, opinions, or "likes and dislikes" are allowed. You never know what you might do or say to trigger his anger, violence and insults. Things have improved since everyone has gone grey-rock on him except my mum.
  • Second reason for fear: He's turned a lot more racist, and has a slur for any major race here + angmohs. He is also a voter. Can you imagine if an anti-"west" pro-war party appears in the next few terms?
  • I think some of the videos are from Whatsapp as well
What I'm trying:

• My preferred way to take action is non-confrontational, so I'd be most grateful for any links I can drop into my family group chat! Like this one
  • I have read about deep canvassing as a good method to reduce prejudice, and am trying out the ideas (non-judgmental listening, sharing more personal stories, nudging towards reflection)

One day later:

Thank you everyone for your comments, suggestions and stories! I've learnt some new things here and will continue reading through all of these.

I've concluded sadly that my observation is not uncommon, and also not the most extreme. I see that others are also struggling with inter-generational conflict. I might find time later to compile a list of good resources and ideas here.

My father also has been like that for decades and I almost fought with him on several occasions, only stopped by my mother.
He's the kind that will curse and swear when watching US military exercise on the news and grins proudly when seeing Tiong conducting military exercise.
What pissed me off was that he constantly indoctrinates my teen nieces how Tiong Cock is the good guy and US is the bad guy, and because we are Chinese so must support China all that kind of shit.
You can see many of his kind gathering at kopitiams and masturbating proudly and loudly to Tiong Cock's greatness.

My father also has been like that for decades and I almost fought with him on several occasions, only stopped by my mother.
He's the kind that will curse and swear when watching US military exercise on the news and grins proudly when seeing Tiong conducting military exercise.
What pissed me off was that he constantly indoctrinates my teen nieces how Tiong Cock is the good guy and US is the bad guy, and because we are Chinese so must support China all that kind of shit.
You can see many of his kind gathering at kopitiams and masturbating proudly and loudly to Tiong Cock's greatness.
These are the same group of people that keep PAP in power too. PAP and Chic Communist are children from the same mother, but different father.

PAP got no balls. Even when CCP cheated us on the Suzhou Industrial Park, LKY just shallow the CCP's cum and kept quiet.

CCP's win win definition is that CCP win 2 times while you loss.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Suzhou_Industrial_Park
After incurring losses of some US$90 million over 5 years,[7] the Singapore consortium lowered its stake to 35 percent, raising the Chinese consortium's stake to 65 percent from 35 percent and reducing the Singaporean share from a planned 70 km2 to just 8 km2.[8] The Chinese side appointed Wang Jinhua, vice-mayor of Suzhou and the former manager of the New District, as the new chief executive.

In 2001, one year after Singapore lowered its stake, the park made its first profit of $3.8 million.[9]

PRC dun give no sh*t

prcshit.jpg

The local Chinese media has been totally infiltrated by CCP propaganda.

Zaobao has an entire website dedicated to hyping up One Belt One Road.

https://beltandroad.zaobao.com/beltandroaden

There are also other tell-tale signs e.g. the tabloid Wanbao often has the entire backpage reporting on trivial news from different parts of China.

The local Chinese media has been totally infiltrated by CCP propaganda.

Zaobao has an entire website dedicated to hyping up One Belt One Road.

https://beltandroad.zaobao.com/beltandroaden

There are also other tell-tale signs e.g. the tabloid Wanbao often has the entire backpage reporting on trivial news from different parts of China.
Same thing happening in jiu hu.
Muslims becoming more muslim.
Chinese more chinese.

A bunch of Sinkie LOSERS ranting in this thread :rolleyes:

My dad has been self-radicalising every night with extreme pro-China/anti-non-China propaganda videos. Anyone experienced similar behaviour? What should I do?

I write this from a point of fear and exasperation. My life at home revolves around avoiding and fearing my dad. But in the last year or so he has gained a new habit that scares and triggers me.

Same, my Dad was very abusive and would beat me up very badly for small little things. I left home at 16. Because i know i will kill him one day if i don't leave so it's better this way lol............

Never felt more free and happy lol.........

On the contrary, my parents told me since young that CCP are crooks.

My grandmother's family was a wealthy landlord in China. After CCP took over, they were forced out of their properties and had their wealth confiscated by the CCP.
CCP then drove her uncle to suicide and had her parents killed. They didn't even suffer this kind of family breakdown when the Japanese invaded China, but the family was totally destroyed by CCP. She was still very young then and her aunt took her and her sister, escaped to Singapore where she had a tough childhood growing up. She hated the CCP to the core.

CCP are nothing but thugs and they care nothing about the people but enrich themselves by killing and robbing the common people.

On the contrary, my parents told me since young that CCP are crooks.

My grandmother's family was a wealthy landlord in China. After CCP took over, they were forced out of their properties and had their wealth confiscated by the CCP.
CCP then drove her uncle to suicide and her parents killed. They didn't even suffer this kind of family breakdown when the Japanese invaded China, but the family was totally destroyed by CCP. She was still very young then and her aunt took her and her sister, and escaped to Singapore where she had a tough childhood growing up. She hated the CCP to the core.

CCP are nothing but thugs and they care nothing about the people but enrich themselves by killing and robbing the common people.
slight correction if I may. they rob the common people and get them to kill each other. They don't even bother to do the killing themselves.

Hey motherfucker, why don't you go creampie your mother ?
English educated behaving like a crass durian seller. Tsk Tsk Tsk...

Your Chinese mother must have regretted getting fucked by your Chinese dad. She probably wished she was raped by a AMDK back then to give you some AMDK blood.

I almost thought my son was writing the post.

My dad thought me from young Chinese Communists are evil. He has never been to China. The only China Chinese person he knows is Mao Tse Tung. There was a crazy man in the little town I grew up... apparently he went crazy because Mao’s forces persecuted his family and he was the only person who escaped. In short my dad is someone who believes Ang Moh is the best. I grew up watching Hollywood movies and like everyone else, believed that America was the mightiest nation ever existed. The turning point was when I saw America bombed Afghanistan to ashes apparently to “smoke out” bin laden. And then the revealation that “Weapon of Mass Distruction” is nothing but bullshit. They just wanted the oil. Then the regime change initiated by US across several countries which resulted in total chaos. It was eye opening the extent to which US mainstream media lie to the world. I started to understand how indoctrinated all of us were growing up watching heroic America glorifying movie. As I investigated further, I started to understand as well how the west has lied about China. The rest is history...
shooo CECA shitskin PLA Spy shoooo go fuck back to India with your fake degree PLA bribes shoooo!

Your son is not so smart lah. If your son is smart, he would have disown a father like you. You can't even tell the difference between grandfather and grandmother.

Oui China Troll, so it was your dad that beat you? Looks like he tried to beat some sense into you, my boy. You see I tried to tell you, and even your dad tried to tell you that #1 in the world amazing America is truly the best. Period. For 75+ years and counting you know. And they will wipe China off the face of the planet too.

I cant wait!

tumblr_mf5ib7JxrW1qdvbxgo1_r1_500.gif

Good thing you have a critical mind to think. Some people snort up media bullshit and subjugate themselves to imperialism.

Since human beings invented walls and siege weapons the world has been at war between superpowers and that isn't going to change