• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why did people buy minibond in the 1st place?

JinGanKor

1) super low bank saving interest which is almost no interest.

i am not sure about other country but i remember aus bank give 8-9%, and if there is a need to transfer the money out of the country, it will be only 5-6%.
(need some expert here to correct me since it is my sis aus account and not mine.)

2) high inflation, non-stop hikes in daily expensese causes the worry.
with the ultra low interest and super high inflation, interest on saving is not really helping, even fixed deposit. But not all people know how to invest, so they would like something in between, with higher interest but still safe.

3) Structured products approve by regulator.
since it is approved, it should be safe la. this place so peaceful, no riot no protest, everything should be ok. thats the kind of mentality.

4) sold by local bank that is linked with the gahmen
so it should be safe, if not safe how can they sell such product? DBS=POSB=Gahmen leh.

5) Relation Manager assurance.
They will tell you dont worry, it is protected. But never tell you protected doesnt means 100% safe. And they did not tell you the worst scenario that could ever happen, instead they paint the best outcome to you.

So who should be responsible?

R4g3

in fact there are already alot of complains to the authority during 2006-2007. just that they jiak liao bee.

1)

People purchase high risk financial products because they're greedy.

They are only too happy for the chance to pocket the profits but go crying to the govt when they end up losing money.

They deserve to lose every penny they have. :rolleyes:

tiulehloumoh

1)

The brainless buyer should be responsible lah..... no body can force a cow to drink if it don't what rite....... this is all due to greed.....
Don't believe in every thing people tell you, use your brain.... and if you insist on believing, dont blame other hor.......:biggrin:

eeoror88

The brainless buyer should be responsible lah..... no body can force a cow to drink if it don't what rite....... this is all due to greed.....
Don't believe in every thing people tell you, use your brain.... and if you insist on believing, dont blame other hor.......:biggrin:

Exactly my sentiment.

If investment make money, celebrate eat abalone, drink champagne, lose money, cry father, cry mother, blame cows, blame neighbours, blame society and also gahmen !!:mad:

Relying on the so-called protection in structured capital protected investments is like believing that NSmen can protect Singapore. When nothing happens, you can sleep soundly with or without the protection. When something happens, then that's the test of how sound the protection is.

Lehman Brothers' senior executives and managers are all very rich and safe, just like Singapore's ministers and senior civil servants, with or without collapse of the protection. The investors and citizens would most likely be left in the cold fending for themselves or screaming for help.

R4g3

There isn't much option nowadays for those who doesnt know how to invest. The basic saving method doesn't work anymore, with almost no interest and facing high inflation.

btw what are the interest rate for other country? anyone knows?