• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why dictatorships cannot innovate

neddy

From a fellow migrant,

The USA, Canada, Australia & Israel are 4 countries that have a history diversity in their genes and are open liberal society.

What we migrants are discovering from our offsprings are people who are creative thinkers, people who grow up dealing with ambiquity and complexity - and most importantly, good collaborators.

These days, Noble Prize winners are usually collaborated effort, unlike in the olden days.

- - -

It takes 60 days for China to create a iPad knockoff, but they cannot innovate. Just head to the luxury car showrooms and brandname shopping outlets and see all the Chinese buying up new ideas, new creations and innovation.

In a totalitarian environment like Singapore, the leaders can only buy in foreign talents because the Singapore system do not accept destructive innovation. (to create a new product, the old one must die, vinyl to CD, VHS to DVD etc)

Looking at how Singapore protect its own industries and try to control the process of innovation - this kill innovation.

But luckily, as a small country, Singapore is able to adapt and find niche markets - the process I call scavenger economics - and they do it with limited success. Taking over talents from the London financial market, setting up "hubs" etc.

Creativity is not as important as stability.

Singapore and China are not dictatorships either.

Creativity is not as important as stability.

Singapore and China are not dictatorships either.

Dictatorship? That is not what the US State Dept thinks of Singapore. The Lee family in Singapore has reached God level - Just look at the old man's actions?

Stability is what Singapore lacks - where is the social welfare to support the retirees, the disabled and people who falls through the cracks of society?

You want stablility?
Then forums like SBF must be destablising for Singapore because it open up the pandora's box on what is wrong in Singapore, forummers here are nameless, faceless people who need an outlet to address the shortcoming of the way Singapore is run. This is unlike Hong Kong where the people there protest publicly.

Singapore is being run like a corporation, not a country. This is the sad part, where is the human compassion?

As for China, I am finding the misallocation of resources there seriously threatening. Food security is becoming an issue, esp with all the black-hearted food sending fear into the people. But vested interest will ensure that China will face serious stagflation. According to Chinese economists like Andy Xie.

There is no such thing as stability, eg Singapore is not even a country 60 years ago. Companies in the stock market - how many are still there from the last century? 40% of jobs in 2025 are not created yet. The computer will become outdated.

Multi-nationals are paying big money for creative people to join their corporations. People need to be adaptable. The Singapore I know today is different from one I left.

You need to accept a certain amount of risk, perseverance, out of the box thinking in order to migrate. That makes good innovators, and shows creativity as well. Singapore as a society, from early education, they have not tried to impart any of these in a sensible way. As for China, give it some time. Maybe 30-50 years time. Just like Japan, there would come a time when things would change for its people. I don't believe, in terms of innovation China is lacking in anyways compared to Singapore. The problem with Singapore is that it is too small. Everything is tightly controlled in Singapore. China does have its own sets of innovators and a lot of overseas chinese that emigrated have returned home to help out the country. Check out e-cigarette, definitely a Chinese innovation.

You need to accept a certain amount of risk, perseverance, out of the box thinking in order to migrate. That makes good innovators, and shows creativity as well. .

lancheow :oIo::oIo:

dun flatter yourselves. only losers who cannot find a decent paying job or money making business like you guys here (in the emi folder) need to migrate. :oIo:

dumbfucks all now become 2nd class citizens in some shit countries bragging yourselves silly in the internet trying to convince each other that you have 'made it'.

pathetic.

You need to accept a certain amount of risk, perseverance, out of the box thinking in order to migrate. That makes good innovators, and shows creativity as well. Singapore as a society, from early education, they have not tried to impart any of these in a sensible way. As for China, give it some time. Maybe 30-50 years time. Just like Japan, there would come a time when things would change for its people. I don't believe, in terms of innovation China is lacking in anyways compared to Singapore. The problem with Singapore is that it is too small. Everything is tightly controlled in Singapore. China does have its own sets of innovators and a lot of overseas chinese that emigrated have returned home to help out the country. Check out e-cigarette, definitely a Chinese innovation.

Let not forget the great 4 invention from China, paper, compass, the printing press & gunpower. But today's China does not have the environment that allows its innovators space to do useful things.
So far, having ideas like creating tainted leather milk or bleached seafood does not serve mankind.

There are a lot of frustration in this world today - see how the trolls are suffering and spreading frustration. But I do not think you are someone who get frustrated. I think you are thriving in an ambiguous and complex society. Beijing is one such society but it is a closed society and I learnt never to criticize the proud residents there. Australia & Canada are other societies that some people do not understand, but being open - there have open press which provide ammunitions for the unadaptable people.

Migrants from orderly society like Sg have difficulties adapting to countries like Australia & Canada mainly because Singaporeans are not used to dealing with contradictions. FTs from other societies are better able to adapt to Singapore. But you will hear Singaporeans complaining about the way these FTs go about reaching their objectives.

"Do you get it"? That is the important question or do you get bewildered by the strange things human do?

I find it odd though.

I agree with the part that due to the suffocating nature of the CCP towards 'out-of-the-box' thinking, China has now become a master 'copycat' than an innovator.

However, further east, Japan is quite a conservative and hermit-like nation with the seniority culture, but yet they have invented and improved on existing invention.

Really odd.

CHEEBYE neddy,

this month you did not pay your ex-wife maintenance $$ again. fuck u. faster pay up, dun be so 'smelly chow kuan'

KNNB stop pretending to be successful in aussie when you didn't even have the capability or integrity to pay up what u owe.

These days, countries such as Canada, USA and Australia are having more casual jobs. The nature of working has changed.

Eg my ICT manager need to employ a ELT programmer to do data migration. So, we got this guy in. For $45 per hour for a 3 month contract. He is quite happy to work full-time. Then it just happen that the stock market become active and there are less work for him. We agree on a $65/hr for part-time work (Mon-Wed-Fri) while he has time to sell his other product he develop, a stock trading system.

Also, I employ this Indian Financial Service staff to cover a staff on 1-year leave, but he can only work 4 days a week, because he and a few buddies run a Service Station as well. This is good planning, because he has a second income to fall back on.

Slash workers (people with more than 1 career on the go at a time) are becoming commonplace. Office staff who run a pub, play in a band, operate an ebay store at night.

- - - -

As we move into the 21st century, we are finding out that young people are no longer motivated by the same thing as their parents.

Employers are having to adapt to to footloose Gen Y workers with emotional needs (last time we have to keep emotion from the workplace). We just have to trust them and give up the notion of controlling them.

Our star employees who will carry the organisation forward are people who can interpret complex disparte information; willing to experience new solutions; able to figure stuff out even without expert knowledge, connected and live with interdependences; aware of global trends and willing to collaborate with a broad range of people.

https://www.yammer.com/
http://www.etsy.com/

We are getting very smart people who shudder at the thought of climbing the career ladder, they hate hierarchy and will wonder off since the job is no longer engaging and fun.

Migrants in this forum mention about lack of jobs in their adopted countries.
But the nature of employment has changed. We have to move beyond the post-industrial world.

The Creative Class, Post-Industrialism and the Happiness of Nations
http://research.martinprosperity.org/papers/CC Post Indust and Happiness of Nations-FORMATTED.pdf

The Rise of the Creative Class: Why cities without gays and rock bands are losing the economic development race.
http://www.washingtonmonthly.com/features/2001/0205.florida.html

The days when migrants come to Australia and claim unemployment for the rest of their lives are over. Anyway, if one claims unemployment, it is not possible to get a bank loan to buy house (only possible in US before the GFC)

hey you want toget fuck by me!

Find decent jobs? Is there such thing as decent jobs? You looking for decent jobs? Only backward thinking Sinkies like you want to find decent jobs. Is prosituting a decen job? If you so 'no' I fuck you, if you say 'yes' I also fuck you! why I fuck you because there is no such thing as decent job!

You consider yourself a 1st class citizens in Singapore? Maybe you are if you are PAP dogs and the rest is 2nd class citizens.

Oh yes, Singaporeans are creative and all for the wrong reasons like GRC, neoptism, gov owned SPH, MM and SM posting and yes now Emeritus SM what the fuck is it? And all these creative ideas only stifled the people but not progressive. So you go get fuck!

lancheow :oIo::oIo:

dun flatter yourselves. only losers who cannot find a decent paying job or money making business like you guys here (in the emi folder) need to migrate. :oIo:

dumbfucks all now become 2nd class citizens in some shit countries bragging yourselves silly in the internet trying to convince each other that you have 'made it'.

pathetic.

He is a well known troll here, don't get too upset by what he says. Sometimes playing a bit is ok, but don't over do it.

Find decent jobs? Is there such thing as decent jobs? You looking for decent jobs? Only backward thinking Sinkies like you want to find decent jobs. Is prosituting a decen job? If you so 'no' I fuck you, if you say 'yes' I also fuck you! why I fuck you because there is no such thing as decent job!

You consider yourself a 1st class citizens in Singapore? Maybe you are if you are PAP dogs and the rest is 2nd class citizens.

Oh yes, Singaporeans are creative and all for the wrong reasons like GRC, neoptism, gov owned SPH, MM and SM posting and yes now Emeritus SM what the fuck is it? And all these creative ideas only stifled the people but not progressive. So you go get fuck!

He is a well known troll here, don't get too upset by what he says. Sometimes playing a bit is ok, but don't over do it.

No worries. Trolls do not bother me too. They are my followers :D * I have learnt to live with unionised workers at my workplace, what are trolls? *

In fact, SIFU is like a mirror image of me. I got this feeling that he too-lan me (a migrant who found a new life abroad) - but he forgot that how I behave towards Singaporeans (in his eyes) is how a number of Singaporeans behave li towards Malaysians & Indonesians (to say the least).

He just have to bear with me, just as the Johorians have to bear with cheap cheap Sinkees.

The good news is that I am leaving again for my next holidays. So, the trolls can rest until I have something positive to contribute to this forum.

*** Now that I have achieve some success in Australia, I can lay back and relax like how I do in Singapore or I can think of other things to do. I do not have to work long hours here, moreover my job is getting mundane. The new thinking these days is that I wanna be able to have fun getting paid doing what I want, and still have a second career to pay the bills. Australia is one of the top 10 creative class countries in the world. I want to take a risk and have fun. ***

Hey, I still have another 5-8 to be like you... Lay back and relax... Me jealous sia..
neddy; said:
*** Now that I have achieve some success in Australia, I can lay back and relax like how I do in Singapore or I can think of other things to do. I do not have to work long hours here, moreover my job is getting mundane. The new thinking these days is that I wanna be able to have fun getting paid doing what I want, and still have a second career to pay the bills. Australia is one of the top 10 creative class countries in the world. I want to take a risk and have fun. ***

CB kaypoh fuck,

fuck u.

lancheow

dun flatter yourselves. only losers who cannot find a decent paying job or money making business like you guys here (in the emi folder) need to migrate.

pathetic.

CHEEBYE neddy,

this month you did not pay your ex-wife maintenance $$ again. fuck u. faster pay up, dun be so 'smelly chow kuan'

KNNB stop pretending to be successful in aussie when you didn't even have the capability or integrity to pay up what u owe.
:oIo::oIo: