• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why build an overhead bridge that no one uses?

Posted on 09 Aug, 2009 12:46
<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=530 align=center><TBODY><TR><TD>Why build an overhead bridge that no one uses?

A STOMPer wonders what's the point of LTA spending public funds to build this unsheltered overhead bridge when it is hardly used at all.

Pragmatist told STOMP via email today (Aug 9):

"This picture was taken at the overhead bridge for pedestrians in front of Lot 1 Shoppers' Mall at Choa Chu Kang Loop.

"There is no roof over this bridge and in the hot afternoon, no one bothers to use it.

"It is under utilised and I wonder if this bridge was put up just for show.

"Shoppers prefer to use the pedestrian crossing about 20m down the road.

"LTA should study the demand for overhead bridges before spending public funds to build something which is hardly used at all."

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

So that it can be upgraded later on like the PHoles without lifts to keep the jiat liao bees employed?

if they need to justify every public works, then how the pap cronies and pap dog make money?

why stomper cannot see even very basic thing?

Posted on 09 Aug, 2009 12:46
<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=530 align=center><TBODY><TR><TD>Why build an overhead bridge that no one uses?

A STOMPer wonders what's the point of LTA spending public funds to build this unsheltered overhead bridge when it is hardly used at all.

Pragmatist told STOMP via email today (Aug 9):

"This picture was taken at the overhead bridge for pedestrians in front of Lot 1 Shoppers' Mall at Choa Chu Kang Loop.

"There is no roof over this bridge and in the hot afternoon, no one bothers to use it.

"It is under utilised and I wonder if this bridge was put up just for show.

"Shoppers prefer to use the pedestrian crossing about 20m down the road.

"LTA should study the demand for overhead bridges before spending public funds to build something which is hardly used at all."

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

So that it can be upgraded later on like the PHoles without lifts to keep the jiat liao bees employed?

Overhead bridges are built as city decorative projects, want to use is good, don't want to use is nevermind. Anyway, cross under or near it, be prepared to pay fine.

Singapore is the only country I've seen that built solid expensively cemented and decorated overhead bridges without overhead shelters. The message is clear, it's not for pedestrians to use, it's for decoration only. Who would use overhead bridges without overhead shelters in a country where it either rain cats and dogs or sunshine burning like oven?

Which country or city can afford to build overbridges with solidly engineered concrete stairs and artistically decorative plants by the sides, and yet don't provide overhead shelters? Commonsense. Enough said.

TeeKee

Which country or city can afford to build overbridges with solidly engineered concrete stairs and artistically decorative plants by the sides, and yet don't provide overhead shelters? Commonsense. Enough said.

i din noe u also got a sense of humour! :biggrin:

borom

....built as city decorative projects, want to use is good, don't want to use is nevermind......Singapore is the only country I've seen...Commonsense. ..

Just like all those children playground, exercise stations,study areas ,handicap carparks and long and winding wheelchair slopes that hardly any one ever uses.

It looks good on statistics and even better for the contractors bottom line,but are the taxpayers being used asked whether they want it or (even if they want it) when and where to have it ?

No different from investing and losing billions of our reserves-they are very good at spending(and I may add LOSING) other people's monies.

TeeKee

Just like all those children playground, exercise stations,study areas ,handicap carparks and long and winding wheelchair slopes that hardly any one ever uses.

if you dun use, doesn't mean others are not using it...:biggrin:

... Which country or city can afford to build overbridges with solidly engineered concrete stairs and artistically decorative plants by the sides, and yet don't provide overhead shelters? Commonsense. Enough said.
u r rite! ...

dey shud oso cum wif escalators ... n lifts 4 ze handicapped ... :p

Ah Guan

STOMPer doesn't know it's actually for the "brothers and sisters" to use during lunar 7th month