• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why are there no back doors in HDB flats for fire escape?

kingrant

Can the HDB, SCDF or MND clarify why there are no back doors in HDB flats? All private condos have them except HDB flats. In a high rise environment, surely this is a very important thing to have. The many lives that were lost to fiires in HDB flats and shophouses could have been saved if they all had a fire exit. Why did the SCDF/FSB not insist it as a mandatory requirement for HDB? Instead, they got the town councils to divert attention by pointing to obstructions to fire escape staircases in HDB corridors.

Because HDB flats are modelled by the HDB flats designed by Teh Chang Wan
who was the HDB Architect and later became Minister of National Development until his sucide when he was under investigation for curruption by the CPIB.

So basically all HDB flats follow his 'master design'.

But they did gave yuo a bomd shelter right ?

If you are not roasted by the time the fire died down or dosed, you can come out of the bomb shelter then. No need to run.

See, HDB led by the great-foresighted (who can't see the demand-supply situation) MBT, did took care of that already. Only his humble self did not allow himself to highlight that to all of us, least we formed a negative impression that he is boastful of his foresight.

place a mirror behind you...bend over and look thru ur legs...u can see your back door there...

Now I know why your head is in yr arsehole!

If you are not roasted by the time the fire died down or dosed, you can come out of the bomb shelter then. No need to run.

See, HDB led by the great-foresighted (who can't see the demand-supply situation) MBT, did took care of that already. Only his humble self did not allow himself to highlight that to all of us, least we formed a negative impression that he is boastful of his foresight.

Looks like MBT also got his arsehole around his neck now.

like new york city, staircase at the back.

yes, but sinkies life are not very valuable to warrent such extra cost to hdb.

Like not having a lift landing on every floor for an aging population with walking difficulties. HDB forgot about the fire exit and they will soon list it as another upgrading program for residents. More of your CPF money will be deducted to pay for their gross oversight which is really a fatal DESIGN FLAW!

Can the HDB, SCDF or MND clarify why there are no back doors in HDB flats? All private condos have them except HDB flats. In a high rise environment, surely this is a very important thing to have. The many lives that were lost to fiires in HDB flats and shophouses could have been saved if they all had a fire exit. Why did the SCDF/FSB not insist it as a mandatory requirement for HDB? Instead, they got the town councils to divert attention by pointing to obstructions to fire escape staircases in HDB corridors.

These are pigeon holes, nothing much to expect. If you cant fly you die, simple as that.:p

Why have back door when your front door is safe? HDB flats have fire-proof front door to prevent fire from getting into your flat.

Other people have you must also have. I have a thick hairy moustache, can you have one?

Why have back door when your front door is safe? HDB flats have fire-proof front door to prevent fire from getting into your flat.

Other people have you must also have. I have a thick hairy moustache, can you have one?

You are a moron, an escape / back door is not just used for fire escape, what about 9-11 scenario where a plane crashes into the building? Kidnap / hostage situation, building collapse, increasing tremors which Singapore is experiencing, there are so many other scenarios that may need fire escape / back door.

Your thick hairy moustache comment makes you even more idiotic.

The bomb shelter in the flats!, I usually have a funny thought, what happened if the entire block was bombed; the column in which the shelter is, left standing. All the residents are in the bomb shelter, in that standing column, how are they going to come out?

The SCDF is doing a FINE job, no doubt about it, keeping the fire safety standards high here.

As usual, MEMBERS have their privileges, 'members' are often overlooked for infringments, the most a tap on the back, a shrug of the shoulders; or just a verbal advise!!.

But we non-MEMBERS, will be fined for some fire safety lapses ( you can find plenty in the code books) of $500...the place I work for, was fined recently before the holiday & bonus season. The entire year you don't see them!. Now, Christmas, New Year, & coming Lunar New Year, we had visits by NEA ( National Evironment Autthority), SCDF ( came, saw & FINEd), AVA, and a Nparks...yes, Nparks for foliages that were deemed to be their protection... and LTA for illegal parking outside ( entire year missing in caction) what will be next?..Vice squad?, gambling supression branch, loan sharking...whatever...

HDB flats if you look around, have many fire safety infringements, if these buildings belong to any of us lesser mortals o even CSJ, we will be fined till, we go naked on the streets.

MEMBERS have their privileges...:p

Standard fire safety notice posted near lifts and staircases - in case of fire, do not use the lifts. I thought that's supposed to mean, use the stairs, and therefore the standard stairs serve as fire escape too, provided that one can make it there in case of fire, especially if one's an unit along a common corrdior a long way from the stairs.

The HDB designed flats from the 1980's are safety hazards, don't believe me look around. Now we have to pay for them to improve these design errors, with lifts on every floor, but the lift comes with the lift wells for the car, no staircases at the side; in case of fire do not use the lifts, use the stairs.

But even with the lift improvements, safety isn't one on their mind, MONEY & making more is..so in case of fire, do not use the lifts...JUMP!:D

The HDB designed flats from the 1980's are safety hazards, don't believe me look around. Now we have to pay for them to improve these design errors, with lifts on every floor, but the lift comes with the lift wells for the car, no staircases at the side; in case of fire do not use the lifts, use the stairs.

But even with the lift improvements, safety isn't one on their mind, MONEY & making more is..so in case of fire, do not use the lifts...JUMP!:D

The trick is to squeeze peasants dry slowly with upgrading instead of a one time job. :p

The 66.6% just love being SQUEEZE..like the 'kam chia' the MIW"S are cycling the 'kam chia' ( Suger canes) through the mechanical squeezer, and gets the juices out...even dry 'kam chia' re cycled, & cycled...

The 66.6% are loving it being squeezed!....they are in seven heavens!:D

myo539: <<"Why have back door when your front door is safe? HDB flats have fire-proof front door to prevent fire from getting into your flat.

Other people have you must also have. I have a thick hairy moustache, can you have one?">>

Smoke inhalation kills before the fire even reaches the person, so a fire door at the front of the HDB flat nor the windows does very little in stopping the smoke and toxic fumes from killing HDB residents in a fire.

The key to survival is evacuating quickly and that cannot happen if the common corridor outside the fire-proof front door is blocked by fire and acrid thick toxic smoke. The presence of a back door or fire escape ladder at the back of the HDB flat could mean the difference between life and death.

HDB flats especially the older flats, point blocks, do not meet the fire regulations imposed on private developments.

Can anyone tell me how many cases for the past 30 years have you seen/heard fire in HDB started from the front door?

Please don't tell me things like it is preventive measure, life is precious... etc etc... I just want to see how useful it can be.. :D