• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why Are People Still Flying With Tiger Airways? & Then KPKB After That?

Mar 3, 2010

Bearing brunt of budget flight changes

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
WE HAD always intended to visit Langkawi during the school holidays, so when Tiger Airways had a promotion last year- end, offering tickets at nine cents (excluding taxes), we reserved 11 seats for the school holidays in June.
After receiving confirmation, we booked our accommodation, keeping in mind there will be high demand during peak periods.
However, our nightmare began soon after. In January, we received an e-mail from Tiger Airways telling us that, as a result of increased customer demand for its low-fare services, it had to reschedule our flight. The time of the flight had changed as a result. The airline apologised for any inconvenience, and promised to minimise any disruption to our travel plans by keeping rescheduling to a minimum.
We accepted the changes. Then we received another message from Tiger Airways telling us the new flight had been suspended, due to increased customer demand.
We realise there must have been a surge of demand for cheap air tickets during the Natas fair, but surely Tiger Airways should have anticipated this. If it cannot expect to meet this demand, it should have excluded the June school holidays from its promotion last year.
Tiger Airways has agreed to make a refund and said we should receive it within 14 working days. It has also offered an alternative destination of Penang at no additional cost. However, we have paid for our room reservation and cannot get a refund from the operator.
It is unfair that we have to bear the cost due to the haphazard way in which Tiger Airways operates. Surely the airline could be more responsible.
Ang Teo Tee (Madam)

Why is CASE silent on its malpractices? Caught off guard again?

People who buy Tiger Airways deserved that, Langkawi holidays are already so cheap, still want to stinge by traveling with the worst airline. Good!

Why Are People Still Flying With Tiger Airways? & Then KPKB After That? ...

Ang Teo Tee (Madam)
ah tee haven even fry thai ger airways ... but oredi kpkb! ... :eek:

There is a Chinese saying, "If you want to beat the dog, first look who is the owner".

There's also an ancient Persian proverb "If you want to draw the master to the open, first, kill the dog"

Mdm Ang is bullshit about the booking lah, do you book hotels 6 months in advance? siao 1 :D:D:D

You know what white elephants are for? Neither do i

CASE needs to exist becos there are too many relatives of the MIW wanting iron rice bowl. so lan lan goota create some bogus govern bodies to feed them.

why is the surprise? typical sinkie, vote pap and kpkb, then vote then kpkb and carry on repeat.....

why is there no organisation in singapore gov that fine tiger airways?

I taught 1st come 1st serve. Those book consider confirm how can anyhow Tiger reschedule, sue/claim Tiger for hotel booking refund and all the cost involving the booking.

Passengers kept in the dark about flight change

ON FEB 23, I booked and paid for a return flight to Penang on Tiger Airways. My departure date was April 1 at 5.10pm.

On that date, I was at the airport at 3pm. I approached the check-in staff at 3.20pm because I did not see a counter for my flight. It was stated on the itinerary that the counter would be open two hours before departure time. The officer told me the counter would be open shortly.

By 3.30pm, it was still not open and there was already a long queue. An airport officer then approached us and asked us our destination, because there was no flight scheduled to Penang. We showed him our itinerary and after checking, he said that day was the start of the summer schedule. Apparently, Tiger reschedules its flights twice a year. Our flight number had been changed and the flight would leave at 8.15pm instead of 5.10pm.

Tiger knew about this but did not deem it necessary to inform its passengers. Surely it could have contacted us as it had our telephone numbers and e-mail addresses.

There were no Tiger Airways staff at the airport for us to air our grievances to. We were given a ticketing hotline to call, which was perpetually engaged. Tiger's website does not have an e-mail address we could write to. What sort of service is this?

Monica Ung (Ms)

in these cases, would travel insurances have help? ie: to offset the increase in prices, no flights, etc.

No choice because the only budget airline. If others budget airline -AirAsia or Jetsttar for the same route sure Tigerair will have to declare bankrupt.
LKY do not allow competition. Last time bus/MRT but merge as a result now Starhub and Singtel fight for the TV right also asking to work together.
But the airline will be different because AirAsia belong to other country sure will chop Tigerair.