• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why are local election topics so shallow?

Cthulhu

Without fail, "hot" topics during elections will centre around lifts, walkways and upgrading. IMO, these are shallow, no-brainer municipal matters that all Singkees are entitled to regardless of who they vote for.

How come there are no discussions on actual matters of state like how to turn around the economy, creating jobs that cannot be outsourced, accountability and transparency, the role of SAF, caring for the environment and how FTs are changing the landscape?

Is it most Singkees are too stupid or anti-intellectual to follow such stuff?

Without fail, "hot" topics during elections will centre around lifts, walkways and upgrading. IMO, these are shallow, no-brainer municipal matters that all Singkees are entitled to regardless of who they vote for.

How come there are no discussions on actual matters of state like how to turn around the economy, creating jobs that cannot be outsourced, accountability and transparency, the role of SAF, caring for the environment and how FTs are changing the landscape?

Stupid, anti-intellectual, apathetic, ignorant, fearful.

Einfield

Dirty Harry already say, the majority of SG Locals are of bad gene stock, I hate to agree with him but I realize there are some truth in it.

eeoror88

Dirty Harry already say, the majority of SG Locals are of bad gene stock, I hate to agree with him but I realize there are some truth in it.

This national problem cannot be taken lightly !!

That is why you do not need rocket science to deduce the reason as to why so many qualified and educated foreigners are "encouraged" to study, work and settle here as citizens and PRs.

The paramount reason is the extremely low birth rate and the increase in the number of aged Singaporeans coupled with the increase in the number of singles and wretched divorcees here.

With the encouragement, more Singaporeans will be married with the foreigners and as such solve the low birth rate problem !!

cleareyes

Has election proper started?

if not, then how would you know these topics wont come out? or because ST dont report so you assume so?

miosux

no, it's because the media chooses not to stir debate on these important matters. any 'debate' on municipal matters is a confirm win for PAP because, as u said, its an entitlement to all singaporeans regardless.

PAP is top down management all the way (even the Young PAP copy the main party in terms of top down.) Bosses/ministars upstairs make decisions without consulting the people. even when a decision is proved to be subsequently wrong, they will still say its the right decision at the time it was made.

don't short change ur fellow citizens and see them no up, coz that's the PAP way: people are dumb sheep while PAP is the only wise shepard

You mean you expect something of quality coming out from a sinkie? I think you have not been living in sinkieland or you dun mixed around with sinkie much before.

But it is good that you stay away from sinkies from becoming like them.

Without fail, "hot" topics during elections will centre around lifts, walkways and upgrading. IMO, these are shallow, no-brainer municipal matters that all Singkees are entitled to regardless of who they vote for. ...
dey wanna divert attention 2 mundane topics lor ...

but last yr, dey more interested in asking ppl to cum clean ... spent sum 9 days on dat ...

denzuko1

What do you want to discuss? A little deeper and oppositions will be slapped with allegation of defamation, and it will be a sure lose case in koala court.

Lestat

a) Because the juicy topics are the topics which the scums in white has no 10 year series answers to.

b) Because our 154th/144th (whichever applies) does not post any news to talk about it.

c) Because Sinkies do not dare to openly ask the questions you mentioned.

d) All of the above

:biggrin::biggrin: